The Right Part

Postby Dave » November 21st, 2005, 11:01 am

Ok guys and gals, after having to search for good pads for meh ole man Almera and realising that choices are limited out there, I have decided to come out with this thread.
We going to have the different chassis made by Nissan and what brands with part no.'s and location of where we can purchase and possibly last price. Basically what works good in our cars
All old talk would be deleted so keep your comments strickly to brands and part no.'s with a brief comment
We would leave the forum for the discussion of the various opinions found from the different brands
We want this to be a Totally techincal thread so contribute wisely.
Last edited by Dave on November 21st, 2005, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » November 21st, 2005, 11:05 am

Let me start off
Local Almera (N16)carries different front brakes to the Foreign Used Almera which happens to have the same as the B15 Sunny.
The oe pads is $800 which is ridicluous.
I bought the Bosch, german made which seems to be working good on machined rotors so could just imagine when they bed in.
Will post part no later
Available from the local dealer, Automotive Supplies on Charles Street, POS for about $130
Appartently the calipers are the same in a R32 also.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » November 28th, 2005, 10:36 am

Mods please delete ole talk in this thread. I have tried Raybestos brake pads on my primera and they hold up pretty good but when hot they don't hold as good. They cost me $150 for the front. I got the Original nissan pads and they work much better and have hardly any brake dust and went for $450, motorist have them for $1036 for the fronts only. Actually the older model SSS and the primera carry the same front setup. When asking ask for the SSS brake pads, you get a better price.

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » December 1st, 2005, 9:20 am

krack korn a parts place on my side tacarigua on st.michael street.they have the bosch pads for $100.00

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2005, 11:17 am

SurGTR, yes same chassis but some operational parts are different and bear same use with the B15

speed king

Postby speed king » January 2nd, 2006, 12:57 pm

i use silver line pads on my hc33 medalist an dey work pretty well the only place i see dem sold is by sherrif the turbo club in couva has one called hawk my padna uses dem an says they work real good even wen hot they also dust less than the original nissan pads i hav yet to try dem they cost about 800 for d front of my car which is bout 100 more than d original

Postby wagonrunner » January 21st, 2006, 7:09 pm

Damn, i use the OHK B14 pads on my Y10 wagon for both street, and dex. repeated hard braking on the street does lead to some fade though. at dex, the braking is more controlled. it also dust's the rim lightly.

Outlaw Jones

Postby Outlaw Jones » February 5th, 2006, 9:04 pm

Right now I use the Wagner semi metalic brake pads..they are okay, doesn't dirty the rim too much. However, under heavy repeated braking conditions they tend to fade faster than the orginal brake pads....the orginal took a lil more time before it started fading.

If I had a choice I would use the OEM brake pads...

my 0.02 :fadein:

hornchile

Postby hornchile » March 6th, 2006, 2:40 pm

I am using the BOSCH on the front of the Y11 wingroad...came strongly recommended by the mechanic ...working great so far ... $120

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 2nd, 2006, 2:38 pm

I use schneider silver pads. bout $75 for the set and they work fine on the B15.

To divert from brake pads

After a long drawn out search for back shocks for our 4wd B15 it turns out that the 4wd B14 back shocks are an exact match. Most places in the bamboo would just outright blank you if you ask for the B15 ones. Most times they just refuse to even look and compare with used shocks.

Went to M&N opposite Grand Bazar and they were good enough to try. Lucky for me there was a used one on the pile. Exact match was found and new B15 4wd back shocks bought at $400 each (KYB)

Chances are they would jack up the price if anyone asks for B15 so just ask for the B14 ones.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » April 16th, 2006, 9:02 am

this pertains only to nissans n brake pads?
anyway..if not..old model laser n 323 parts are interchangeable..most anyway.
as well as the mazda 626 n ford telstar..
umm a ld28 clutch worked on my rb20det.
i think the z18 pressure plate also worked on a rb20det

Hotshot

Postby Hotshot » June 21st, 2006, 7:14 am

Currently I have Silver pads in the front and OHK pads in the back of my bluebird U13. Had them on for about 1 year. I don't drive that hard so didn't experience any fading to talk about. The silver pads leave dust on the rim though. Were a bit noisy for the first month or two, but they are quiet now.

One time I was up at Neal and Massy parts dept. and heard the sales guy selling a B12 customer the silver pads. He said they were as good as the original nissan pads. Don't know how true this is though.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2006, 1:59 am

lookin for the correct back shocks for the a32 cifero..

hard to find.. everyone wants to mod one to fit.. i want the original thing..

anyone knows where and wat price?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 8th, 2006, 1:18 pm

^^^^^ u found out?

i bought an oil filter for my VQ20DE and on the box it has listings for the B14 with the SR18DE and the S14 SR20DE and SR20DET

Neo

Postby Neo » April 9th, 2007, 12:38 am

my experiences with OHK pads in a B14 wasn't thats good at all it was noisy right true and it don't last long at all

the wagner pads for the b14 is pretty good i can't remember hearing any noise coming from it and it lasting long

the silver pads for i got for the Y10 wingroad it was noisy at first but its lasting and working not too bad for the price

personally my preference is the wagner pads it cost a lil more but its worth it

even the foreign used almera's carry different pads

eitech

Postby eitech » May 6th, 2007, 5:07 am

wagner works great on b15..no brake dust, no noise, no fade

fats

Postby fats » June 30th, 2007, 11:58 pm

not thing works like orginal brake pads.

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » January 19th, 2008, 8:47 pm

Wagner brake pads is what I always use in my foreign-used Almera. It is the closest I have felt to the OEM brake pads.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 4th, 2008, 9:21 pm

Anyone know has any info on the A31 brake shoes (all four if their is a difference)? Might need to look into the e-brake shoes as well.

lubna

Postby lubna » April 17th, 2008, 4:22 am

Conrad wrote:Anyone know has any info on the A31 brake shoes (all four if their is a difference)? Might need to look into the e-brake shoes as well.
hi
2009 NISSAN MAXIMA IS GOOD I LIKE THAT.

Find great deals, reviews, and demos on one of the most popular tube amps for guitar. http://fenderbluesjunioramps.com

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » September 25th, 2008, 9:06 am

i used schneider which is german worked good.tried to get the bosch but its very hard for the b14 to get.fterall thats the oem for bmw.now since i did the brake upgrade im using ebc red stuff and all i can say is damnnnnn

WY11

Postby WY11 » January 22nd, 2009, 4:32 pm

need a best price on y11 headlights and indicator lights???
0X 0X

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 31st, 2009, 4:12 pm

trinidrift wrote:i used schneider which is german worked good.tried to get the bosch but its very hard for the b14 to get.fterall thats the oem for bmw.now since i did the brake upgrade im using ebc red stuff and all i can say is damnnnnn

I use National disc pads on my B14 with AD22VF calipers, works well, but a little on the dusty side, bought by TJ's on the eastern main road heading east after Bon Air Gardens.

trinidrift how dem EBC RED STUFF treating your rotors?

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » May 13th, 2009, 11:59 pm

hawk HPS on both the 240sx and the 300zx...excellent daily driver / occasional spirited driving stoppage performance for the price (imho)
*note however that proper breaking in procedure must be adhered to to avoid uneven wearing of the brake material :idea:

fabulous1

b12 parts for sale

Postby fabulous1 » January 3rd, 2010, 9:52 am

local b12 engine parts for sale in good condition

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 3rd, 2010, 11:34 am

Friction coefficients for various materials are all different....I will always use OEM on my vehicles. They were engineered for a particular purpose & matched exactly for a particular application. Yes they do cost alot more but in relative terms however,when compared to the cost of a vehicle or life well whats a few hundred bucks more.

Coefficients of friction are sensitive to atmospheric dust and humidity, oxide films, surface finish, velocity of sliding, temperature, vibration, and extent of contamination & i can guarantee that substitute pads will not do this.

Hence on motor week on sunday mornings, when testing new vehicles they always show braking distances i.e you pay for all these things when purchasing a new vehicle.

bhishamseenath

Re: The Right Part

Postby bhishamseenath » December 10th, 2012, 10:12 am

looking for original parts for 2006 teana 230jm

MotoRex26

Postby MotoRex26 » May 15th, 2013, 2:36 pm

i have a U14 SSS with P11 M6 11" rotors and use HAWK HPS pads works really good

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » November 13th, 2013, 7:57 pm

OEM Parts and info most of you guys are looking for see stick below

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=539052

Uteftepita

The Right Part

Postby Uteftepita » October 17th, 2017, 3:45 pm

Hey guys, new to the forum, I wasnt sure where to post this, My R31 was stolen 2 weeks ago, ive posted in other places about it, but just want more exposure. Is this the right forum to post in?