Y12 Fuel Cleaner

Chris00007

Y12 Fuel Cleaner

Postby Chris00007 » January 3rd, 2021, 10:51 pm

Redline Sl-1 safe to use in a Y12 Wingroad or it too concentrated?

I cleaned injectors about 12 months ago (10k km) but I realised the fuel efficiency drop a slight bit and maybe a lil cleaner could fix it up

Re: Y12 Fuel Cleaner

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2021, 8:17 am

what does the instructions on the bottle say?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 4th, 2021, 9:50 am

Just want to highlight a concern among car owners, but feel confident to tell mih get off Yuh post...

When I got a used sedan (1.6 engine) some 8 years ago, did all the oil changes, etc, and did a gas tank cleaning and fuel pump service (use to run it below gas light to gas light). Ran it for first 2 years on redline every 4th fill up, then stopped. Had sheety gas mileage since bought but I wasn't bothered much... 2yrs ago I went to service injectors. Injectors cleaner than under my fingernails, no joke. And, I was one who got into the mixing regular with super/premium craze.

I full up all over, and never used any treatment in 6yrs constant use.
If your injectors keep getting dirty maybe do a gas tank cleaning. From my experience the gas station filtration system never fail me.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2021, 10:23 am

lots of factors can contribute to injector deposits, other than fuel alone

Postby Dave » January 4th, 2021, 10:39 am

Especially in those HR engines there is alot of blow by and that is a major factor in the efficiency.
Can be addressed in a few ways.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 4th, 2021, 10:55 am

I also know direct injection have issues. was thinking about injectors only. Didn't have any egr so head and manifold hardly got gunk buildup for me. Blow by never seem to cause problems

Postby Dave » January 4th, 2021, 11:24 am

Blow by doesn't only come from egr systems. Your pcv also has oil.
I recently did a plug change in a well maintained local Qashqai (75k km) and used an entire spray bottle of kerosene and some throttle cleaner to clean the intake manifold.

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 4th, 2021, 1:05 pm

or perhaps you babying the car too much and its not getting a good blow out
i have never used an injector cleaner
early 2019 i did a service and the injectors were very clean
i drive hard (not reckless)
no problems with my gas mileage
it lasts a good while
my motto is the faster it gets to 4th gear, the less gas i burn

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 4th, 2021, 3:50 pm

I like to use redline products but there gasoline injector cleaner doesn't really clean. I use it for fuel system lubrication more than anything.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 4th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Blow by doesn't come from egr systems at all
Dave wrote:Blow by doesn't only come from egr systems. Your pcv also has oil.
I recently did a plug change in a well maintained local Qashqai (75k km) and used an entire spray bottle of kerosene and some throttle cleaner to clean the intake manifold.

Chris00007

Postby Chris00007 » January 4th, 2021, 5:42 pm

Catastrophist wrote:or perhaps you babying the car too much and its not getting a good blow out
it lasts a good while

Nah I does mainly do highway runs. Averagely around 2-3k rpm for about two hours each day. So it getting consistent "blow out".

What's your mileage averaging at?

Chris00007

Postby Chris00007 » January 4th, 2021, 5:44 pm

MG Man wrote:what does the instructions on the bottle say?

Says the entire bottle for up to 20gal of fuel. But my car is only 10gal so that's why I asking if a whole bottle is overkill

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 4th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Chris00007 wrote:
Catastrophist wrote:or perhaps you babying the car too much and its not getting a good blow out
it lasts a good while

Nah I does mainly do highway runs. Averagely around 2-3k rpm for about two hours each day. So it getting consistent "blow out".

i sure he mean the old italian tune up once in a while

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2021, 7:51 am

Chris00007 wrote:
MG Man wrote:what does the instructions on the bottle say?

Says the entire bottle for up to 20gal of fuel. But my car is only 10gal so that's why I asking if a whole bottle is overkill

use half bottle
Don't go over the recommended concentration

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » January 5th, 2021, 1:56 pm

I usually use half bottle and that works fine

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 5th, 2021, 3:53 pm

What would pure kerosene do in a gasoline engine?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 6th, 2021, 4:22 pm

Smoke excessively and knock horribly
Sundar wrote:What would pure kerosene do in a gasoline engine?

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 6th, 2021, 8:03 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
Chris00007 wrote:
it lasts a good while

i sure he mean the old italian tune up once in a while

yes i meant the italian tune up
that 2-3k rpm for 2 hrs each day is consistent babying
get it around 5-5 and 1/2k rpm @ 2nd gear (dont go to the redline)
i carry mines to the redline but thats me
i dont want you breaking your car then coming back here saying ohhh you mash up my car boy

my average is 13.9-14.3, it is shown on my dash

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2021, 8:19 am

kamakazi wrote:Smoke excessively and knock horribly

really depends on the ratio, but safer to not answer questions like that when unknown internet clowns ask stuff like that

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 7th, 2021, 12:30 pm

kamakazi wrote:Smoke excessively and knock horribly

really depends on the ratio, but safer to not answer questions like that when unknown internet clowns ask stuff like that

Thank you.