[BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Somewhere where to run?

[BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2010, 4:16 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post and see photos, please click here »

The new Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Anil Roberts along with the Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education, Fazal Karim, Member of Parliament for Talparo, Jairam Seemungual and Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, Stacy Roopnarine all met with a group of motorsport executives, drivers and other invited individuals to tour the "e Teck Tamana Intech Park" to see what was left of the old Wallerfield Racetracks.

The meeting and walk around was designed to take a look at the feasibility of returning motorsport to Wallerfield. Minister Roberts addressed the crowd before we entered the facility and stated that he wants to keep his promise of returning motorsport to Wallerfield. He said he likes motor racing and hopes it can get back into action as soon as possible. The Minister of Tertiary Education reminisced on drivers like Frankie Boodram, Brian Ibrahim and Andrew King etc who all raced n the old hey days on the circuit track.

From our initial drive around it was clear that alot of infrastructure work was done by e Teck in building their technology park and the southern drag strip and the straightaway of the circuit track are now covered with a two lane road with drains and pavement on both sides.

It was mentioned by Minister Roberts that the Government is not supporting the smelter and so Alutrint's building which is being built along the road which used to be the southern drag strip can perhaps be used as part of the racing facility.

The Northern runway though seems to have the most promise as there is space for the pit area and parking and at least 1/4mile of the racetrack was untouched. Another 1/4mile for stopping and shutdown can be cleared of sand and aggregate as the runway surface was not destroyed. There is a buried natural gas pipeline running across the runway at about 2000 down the track - the 20 foot+ wide trench dug for it will have to be filled.

Since the Northern runway will most likely be the home for motor racing some work will need to be done. In the intererim, it was proposed today that the long stretch of newly paved roadway near the old circuit track can be used in about two weeks for a motorsport "family day", not necessarily a day of racing. But it's a start.

Perhaps there can be street car racing along this stretch of road covering the southern track in the coming weeks, however Top Dragster world record holder Sheldon Bissessar today stated that road is too narrow for any serious racing. Sheldon closely examined the condition of the northern track and the old launch area and said this would be the best place to rebuild for a proper drag strip that could soon see big race cars from Puerto Rico and Aruba. Circuit racing champion, Tanko Baboolal, said the area could definitely be used for circuit testing in the interim. Some people took a drive around the old circuit track and stood in "Zigs" tower itn he old pit area as they too reminisced.

The Ministers promised to be in contact with Minister of Trade and Industry, Stephen Cadiz, as he is the one to give the go ahead to use Tamana Park / Wallerfield for motor racing again. They said they should have an answer by Friday 4th or early next week.

To read the original post and see photos, please click here »

Re: PLEASE CONFIRM

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2010, 4:40 pm

Listen to 102.1 FM now... Anil talking about it... says you can use it from next week!!!

V2NR 3.0

Anil Roberts @ Wallers Now - On Radio !

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 2nd, 2010, 4:45 pm

Just heard him on Power102fm saying wallers may be re-opened as early as next week for drags !

Re: Anil Roberts @ Wallers Now - On Radio !

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 2nd, 2010, 4:47 pm

all the doubters....

Postby A172 » June 2nd, 2010, 4:52 pm

weyy RASC?

quote if fass nah!

take pwnage iymc forthwith :arrow:

Postby noshownogo » June 2nd, 2010, 4:59 pm

WHAAAAAAAT!!!

Postby A172 » June 2nd, 2010, 5:05 pm

WTB. R888's

Postby Damien » June 2nd, 2010, 5:35 pm

Where all the doubtees,pnmites udfr

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2010, 5:58 pm

Right here, I'll still be laughing come the 7th...because the amount of "boy that was de wuss, parking was ah mess, security none existent, no where to sit, I cyar believe I pay money for that" threads it will have following will be enough to :lol:

Added to which, I thought he said NO FREENESS...unless there is a private company hosting the event-tax payers dollars are being used to host this? As I've been saying before, the dependency syndrome cuts both ways.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2010, 6:04 pm

RASC wrote:Right here, I'll still be laughing come the 7th...because the amount of "boy that was de wuss, parking was ah mess, security none existent, no where to sit, I cyar believe I pay money for that" threads it will have following will be enough to :lol:

Added to which, I thought he said NO FREENESS...unless there is a private company hosting the event-tax payers dollars are being used to host this? As I've been saying before, the dependency syndrome cuts both ways.

comeback FAIL!

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2010, 6:08 pm

You can say what you want bro. You forget:

"sour grapes"
"toting"
etc etc

But it's the same thing people on this forum have been arguing for years against, and now that ppl are presented with it, you're gladly lapping it up like some lemmings. After FREENESS is really PENIS because I dunno how anyone would sanction a gov't run track/track day. That's a recipe for disaster--->

P.S. I think you people are closet socialists. Y'all love to preach about other people being prone to taking handouts, but check the happiness over this foolishness. As I've said before, Jamaica has 3 privately run tracks, one of them being one(jamwest) of the BEST surfaces in the region-I ain't see no freeness yet. No freeness=better quality (most likely than not) But the majority of the motorsports fraternity in T&T are UNCOP supporters so I'm preaching to the choir. Anything they do is GOLDEN in allyuh books. Big Up!
Last edited by RASC on June 2nd, 2010, 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:08 pm

^^^ah tawt you selling?

Postby Damien » June 2nd, 2010, 6:08 pm

Well yuh can't please everybody if you doh like then stay to fack home can't expect a first class facility overnight

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:14 pm

RASC wrote:Right here, I'll still be laughing come the 7th...because the amount of "boy that was de wuss, parking was ah mess, security none existent, no where to sit, I cyar believe I pay money for that" threads it will have following will be enough to :lol:

hoss honestly yuh talking sheit, that is what tax payers monies should be used for, not for building churches & paying prophetess salary!! :?

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2010, 6:17 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

hoss honestly yuh talking sheit, that is what tax payers monies should be used for, not for building churches & paying prophetess salary!! :?

Like I said...you guys are closet socialists :wink:

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:17 pm

RASC wrote:You can say what you want bro. You forget:

"sour grapes"
"toting"
etc etc

But it's the same thing people on this forum have been arguing for years against, and now that ppl are presented with it, you're gladly lapping it up like some lemmings. After FREENESS is really PENIS because I dunno how anyone would sanction a gov't run track/track day. That's a recipe for disaster--->

P.S. I think you people are closet socialists. Y'all love to preach about other people being prone to taking handouts, but check the happiness over this foolishness. As I've said before, Jamaica has 3 privately run tracks, one of them being one(jamwest) of the BEST surfaces in the region-I ain't see no freeness yet. No freeness=better quality (most likely than not) But the majority of the motorsports fraternity in T&T are UNCOP supporters so I'm preaching to the choir. Anything they do is GOLDEN in allyuh books. Big Up!

dude stop being sour, motorsports has been treated like the anus of sports in our country for too long, the past administration had no problem with "building" the failed brian lara stadium, we could have had a sufficent place to race with 1/3 of what was spent there

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:19 pm

RASC wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

Like I said...you guys are closet socialists :wink:

so?

& you home replacing keyboards like crazy :roll:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 2nd, 2010, 6:22 pm

*runs out to load this on trailer*

2JZ stock internals ;)

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2010, 6:24 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
RASC wrote:You can say what you want bro. You forget:

"sour grapes"
"toting"
etc etc

dude stop being sour, motorsports has been treated like the anus of sports in our country for too long, the past administration had no problem with "building" the failed brian lara stadium, we could have had a sufficent place to race with 1/3 of what was spent there

I don't support the building of ANY sort of stadia by the gov't. Don't you get what I'm saying?

Instead of building Stadia, the gov't should be given incentives to PRIVATE developers and corporations in the form of tax breaks and concessions. You spur private investment both from local and international firms!

THAT is how it is done in most prosperous CAPITALIST nations. What we are doing is SOCIALISTIC in nature. That's my entire argument. This disturbing trend was started by the PNM way back when it was needed. When there weren't any multi billion dollar local firms. Fast forward to today, with Ansa et al posting profits in the 100's of Millions, there is no need for this foolishness to perpetuate.

It needs to stop SOMEWHERE!

This is what I want for T&T...

Private firms, Private developers, Private money!
Look at the innovation, quality and competitiveness of this project :o
You think the U.S. gov't could replicate this level of quality? Worst yet for T&T...This is what I want for my land.
Last edited by RASC on June 2nd, 2010, 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 6:29 pm

YES IT HAS BEEN CONFIRMED!!! just talk 1 of the stakeholders who had a 2 hour long meeting with anil roberts - and wallerfield is to be used for racing - it wont be handed over to any one organization but will allow all of them to use the facility

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:32 pm

RASC, as usual, yuh make some good points & they are noted, but the guys still need somewhere to race!!

Nobody's talking about building a world class facility, but its as simple as opening a locked gate so vehicles can have access to a strip, dais all!!

yuh cyar give them that, isaac hunt take way the track, from what i hear was motivated by personal grudges, everybody here pays tax & i still think we entitled to that atleast!!!

halfdef

Postby halfdef » June 2nd, 2010, 6:37 pm

buzz wrote:buh we going down tonight

ah hear r3iXman comin down wid he K20 del sol , buh RB20 powah go destress dat 0X

yuh really feel so ............i will see about that :D

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:40 pm

RASC - youre welcome to come to the races - dont get no harrars buddy

Postby tr1ad » June 2nd, 2010, 6:47 pm

all i want to know is why these "racers" need a handout from the government

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 6:48 pm

This is what I want for my land.

well pioneer this effort!!!

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 2nd, 2010, 6:53 pm

Good points RASC... :idea:

buh on d real ppl....is it CONFIRMED?

Goolie

Sports Minister Visits wallerfield today

Postby Goolie » June 2nd, 2010, 7:35 pm

saw it on the tv6 news. Media showed the track at wallers and minister Roberts urged TTASA and others to put differences aside for the good of the motorsport industry. He says there are plans to develop the area as opposed to looking for a new area for a home for motorsports.

skyline dett

Re: Sports Minister Visits wallerfield today

Postby skyline dett » June 2nd, 2010, 7:39 pm

yeah i saw it to thank god its about time

Re: [BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Postby Mark! » June 2nd, 2010, 7:47 pm

ohh pics

Goolie

Re: [BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Postby Goolie » June 2nd, 2010, 7:47 pm

Thank you Duane, I was wondering why my post got deleted..

Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”