T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

carluva

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby carluva » June 27th, 2021, 1:30 pm

Camry has always been pitched as a "luxury" vehicle, hence the "luxury" price.

Postby Gladiator » June 27th, 2021, 4:40 pm

Priced the Camry Hybrid for $800k whereabouts the other day from Toyota Trinidad IIRC

CB Style

Postby CB Style » June 28th, 2021, 12:26 am

Gladiator wrote:Priced the Camry Hybrid for $800k whereabouts the other day from Toyota Trinidad IIRC

Are you joking? 800k yuh say dey?
The 2021s are nice but 800k. Not worth it at all.

CB Style

Postby CB Style » June 28th, 2021, 12:27 am

carluva wrote:Camry has always been pitched as a "luxury" vehicle, hence the "luxury" price.

This is true and may appear like it here but to me, a Camry is just a mid-sedan with nice features. When I think Toyota luxury, I think Avalon or the Lexus line.

CB Style

Postby CB Style » June 28th, 2021, 12:35 am

nick639v2 wrote:
CB Style wrote:
j.o.e wrote:It’s unfortunate. I absolutely hate SUVs particular soft car based ones. I prefer bigger sedans for my money.

When the Camry got the facelift in 2015, I enquired at TTTL if they were getting that model. The sale person told me it will only be on special order. He couldn't give me an exact quote but it was around base price $450k and up depending on the package.
I didn't even bother going further because I don't want a vehicle that is special ordered and not mainline.
Since then I only saw one here but not sure if its local or RORO.
Same situation. My dad loved the Camry after we rented one in Miami... Such a solid vehicle, it's sad we don't price them reasonably when they even reach here

Funny you mentioned that because that’s what happened to me. I rented a 2014 SE in Orlando in 2014. I didn’t like the shape too much but after driving it for 5 days I was sold. The funny thing is, I couldn’t remember and didn’t even check to see if it was the 4or 6 cyl. when Toyota came out with the facelift model I wanted it. Sadly, it didn’t work out.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 30th, 2021, 10:00 pm

Toyota with their $800k 2.5 Camry. Meanwhile, you can get a 2021 Subaru Outback 2.5 special ordered into this country for less than $600k and a Nissan Pathfinder 3.5 for just under $800k. SS should just bring the CX9 2.5T and price it at $650k and it will sell also. Toyota is milking their name locally all in the name of profit.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 2nd, 2021, 6:14 pm

If that's the price of a Camry, imagine the price of a CROWN or even a Lexus sedan!!!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 2nd, 2021, 6:38 pm

Imagine the tax you buying
sweeks wrote:If that's the price of a Camry, imagine the price of a CROWN or even a Lexus sedan!!!

rebound

Postby rebound » July 7th, 2021, 7:56 pm

agent007 wrote:Habit, it’s $305k to $364k, subject to verification.
I got that same price from Toyota

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » July 12th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Awww! Did Toyota empty you guys' nos tanks? lol

Well, it's expensive, yes (VERY) but that is the belief_ it should last!
Plus, the foreign exchange rate here is bogus so expect the high TTD prices.

On another note, you all can get out and test drive (enviously lol) from July 12th.
I'll see you all around. lol

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 12th, 2021, 4:50 pm

Cross Low $305K
Cross Mid $350K
Cross High $364K
Cross Hybrid $435K

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » July 12th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Yes, these are the fees.
Personally, I found them beyond expectation for the value of the product.
Toyota Trinidad really brought an inferior version with the low/G from the Philippines/Indonesian market and started the price at approximately USD$45'000.00. That blew my personal expectations OUT OF THE WATER!

... BUT, you're paying for the name badge of "Toyota".
Either that or a Yaris Cross AWD.

Postby Gladiator » July 12th, 2021, 11:02 pm

ALady4ALady wrote:Yes, these are the fees.
Toyota Trinidad really brought an inferior version with the low/G from the Philippines/Indonesian market and started the price at approximately USD$45'000.00. That blew my personal expectations OUT OF THE WATER!

Toyota Trinidad's overpricing based on their "brand" is getting very annoying... that vehice is way overpriced and looks as boring as hell.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 13th, 2021, 6:28 am

Anyone know the engine displacement by chance?
triniboi49 wrote:Cross Low $305K
Cross Mid $350K
Cross High $364K
Cross Hybrid $435K

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » July 13th, 2021, 8:23 am

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 13th, 2021, 10:51 am

They seem to be pricing the Corolla cross to compete with Sportage, CR-V, XV and Tuscon. The Hybrid price in X1 and Q3 range.

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » July 13th, 2021, 2:11 pm

Agreed.

The pricing seems to place it with the big cars but its class isn't quite there. and never will be. That's what the RAV4 should do.
CC cannot match a basic CRV or Subaru Forester & Outback. Never. Simply, just not in that class, size, technology or safety.
Hybrid does not make it skip a grade, especially in a country where a hybrid = taxes and not tax-breaks, like everywhere else in the world (but that's another discussion).

Indeed. the class/group the CC can compete with is the smaller set: Honda HRV, Suzuki Escudo/G. Vitara, Nissan Juke/Kicks/Dualis, Subaru XV (which is still better esp AWD), the small Mazda, small VW and Seltos/Creta. These are the playroom friends.

Honda HRV 2021/2 is one to keep your eye on, though. Even in Japan, the HRV has more clout than the Toyota. We'll see how a post Covid-19 T&T warms up to the "new" entry in the local market.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 13th, 2021, 2:29 pm

I still think the fact that It’s a Toyota will drive demand. As a one time Toyota owner I do not feel it’s lived up to it’s reputation. As a current Honda owner- my experience has been +ve except for one issue with the AC which was changed under warranty.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 13th, 2021, 2:50 pm

People will watch the cross and still not buy an XV?? Crazy!!!

zando

Postby zando » July 13th, 2021, 3:12 pm

Cross Mid $350K
Cross High $364K
Cross Hybrid $435K
Haaa!!!!!! Dem crazy, for 306 you can get a fully loaded Mazda cx-30 with a bigger engine and I'm sure more features than a BASE Corolla crap, also I'm very sure when those u.s. journalists get the Corolla cross to test, the Mazda cx-30 will review better.

zando

Postby zando » July 13th, 2021, 3:15 pm

triniboi49 wrote:I still think the fact that It’s a Toyota will drive demand. As a one time Toyota owner I do not feel it’s lived up to it’s reputation. As a current Honda owner- my experience has been +ve except for one issue with the AC which was changed under warranty.
Interesting, I have a friend with an hr-v she bought brand new and she had ac issues also, they had to Rio apart the dash and change the evaporator, under warranty, but still that's a lot for a new car, wonder if that's a Honda thing now.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 13th, 2021, 3:55 pm

So it is a 1.8 based on the engine name in the brochure.
I agree that it is a little too expensive

Postby A172 » July 13th, 2021, 6:15 pm

zando wrote:
triniboi49 wrote:I still think the fact that It’s a Toyota will drive demand. As a one time Toyota owner I do not feel it’s lived up to it’s reputation. As a current Honda owner- my experience has been +ve except for one issue with the AC which was changed under warranty.
Interesting, I have a friend with an hr-v she bought brand new and she had ac issues also, they had to Rio apart the dash and change the evaporator, under warranty, but still that's a lot for a new car, wonder if that's a Honda thing now.
had to change an evap in a brand new vezel sometime last yr, failed right under the 1yr mark

changed countless shocks & shock heads in both hrv & vezel too

always have those parts in stock how common it is

Postby Dave » July 13th, 2021, 6:22 pm

Heard a few transmissions in HR-Vs also all under warranty

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 13th, 2021, 8:54 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Toyota Trinidad's overpricing based on their "brand" is getting very annoying... that vehice is way overpriced and looks as boring as hell.

nick639v2 wrote:People will watch the cross and still not buy an XV?? Crazy!!!

kamakazi wrote:So it is a 1.8 based on the engine name in the brochure.

How much you three want to bet the first shipment will still sell out? And then the price will go up, because no dealer in their right mind will drop the price after the initial shipment sells like hot bread at 'introductory pricing'.

Postby Gladiator » July 13th, 2021, 11:48 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

How much you three want to bet the first shipment will still sell out? And then the price will go up, because no dealer in their right mind will drop the price after the initial shipment sells like hot bread at 'introductory pricing'.

Yeah boy I hear yuh...you know if Toyota Trinidad start a political party they can give PNM and UNC a good run, they have loyalists spanning decades and generations.

Postby aaron17 » July 14th, 2021, 6:41 am

I like the top of the line current hybrid hrv/vezel but the dsg transmission hindering me back.

Postby aaron17 » July 14th, 2021, 6:43 am

zando wrote:
Cross Mid $350K
Cross High $364K
Cross Hybrid $435K
Haaa!!!!!! Dem crazy, for 306 you can get a fully loaded Mazda cx-30 with a bigger engine and I'm sure more features than a BASE Corolla crap, also I'm very sure when those u.s. journalists get the Corolla cross to test, the Mazda cx-30 will review better.
Corolla maybe more reliable.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 14th, 2021, 4:53 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Yeah boy I hear yuh...you know if Toyota Trinidad start a political party they can give PNM and UNC a good run, they have loyalists spanning decades and generations.

You're definitely right about that.. :lol:

Nick is right though..a fully loaded, XV is only $10k more than the basic Corolla Cross. This dinky thing is starts at $25k more and $15k less than a manual and automatic Hilux, respectively.

Can someone explain Toyota's pricing/marketing strategy to me, because I'm lost. :?

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 14th, 2021, 9:59 pm

That’s the thing they will be sold out, waiting list all to drive demand and keep the price high. I’m sure it’s a reliable ride but that price. They know that can get the price because it’s a Toyota.