Looking for advice in choosing a good reliable new vehicle

Postby aaron17 » July 31st, 2023, 9:47 am

Looking for advice in choosing a good reliable new vehicle( I assume Japanese). Steering in the direction for crossovers instead of sedans due to floods and bad roads. And my previous car, it getting too much to expensive fix with those abs sensors in the relation to where I commute/live. I not sure if a car is better. Depends on the advantages.

I just want to have ease of being safe, confident on the road. My current vehicle i always have to be scared in driving ..cause abs sensors does not make the car drive safely . And since flood does always happen... its a frequent occurance.

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- Thick tyres profile of 60 or above
- Reliable for everyday commuter
- This is where I commute/live (to go through pothole , bad roads, mud, dusty environment, flood, wet roads). So I need something tough to handle that kind of pressure
- Must have Sunroof, good music system
- No dct, I guess cvt or traditional auto
- Decent boot space
- No hybrid , may be a headache when it fails.

Cars thinking of:
- Toyota raize, yaris cross?
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

Any feedback will be appreciated. Thanks.
Last edited by aaron17 on July 31st, 2023, 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

wing

Re: Looking for advice in choosing a good reliable new vehicle

Postby wing » August 1st, 2023, 7:31 pm

aaron17 wrote:Looking for advice in choosing a good reliable new vehicle( I assume Japanese). Steering in the direction for crossovers instead of sedans due to floods and bad roads. And my previous car, it getting too much to expensive fix with those abs sensors in the relation to where I commute/live. I not sure if a car is better. Depends on the advantages.

I just want to have ease of being safe, confident on the road. My current vehicle i always have to be scared in driving ..cause abs sensors does not make the car drive safely . And since flood does always happen... its a frequent occurance.

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- This is where I commute/live (to go through pothole , bad roads, mud, dusty environment, flood, wet roads). So I need something tough to handle that kind of pressure
- Decent boot space

Cars thinking of:
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

Buy a vehicle without abs sensors. Nissan sunny b11, Hillman hunter, Datsun 120y, Daihatsu charmant don't have abs sensors.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » August 4th, 2023, 6:47 am

260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- No dct, I guess cvt or traditional auto.
- Decent boot space

Dct more reliable than CVT.
new cars now have some sort of hybrid systems due to the Paris convention .
The only vehicle I can think of for you is a Petrol Prado , CRV , Rav 4.
Be prepared to change ABS sensors constantly no matter what vehicle you purchase ...but it's very easy repair.

Check out Rush Performance Imports in South .

david12

Postby david12 » August 4th, 2023, 7:30 am

Just a heads up but the Subaru 'XV' is no longer available, it's refreshed and now uses the Crosstrek name. The base price increased by 100k or so because of the 2000 cc engine. I think the CX3 is the best option there and it'll be in your budget.

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2023, 7:50 am

sr20ve wrote:
260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- No dct, I guess cvt or traditional auto.
- Decent boot space

Dct more reliable than CVT.
new cars now have some sort of hybrid systems due to the Paris convention .
The only vehicle I can think of for you is a Petrol Prado , CRV , Rav 4.
Be prepared to change ABS sensors constantly no matter what vehicle you purchase ...but it's very easy repair.

Check out Rush Performance Imports in South .
So any vehicle if i purchase due to the bad roads etc. in my area, I would get the same abs problem? Like if i buy a new toyota? Was thinking that reliable brand.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2023, 7:52 am

Forget anything Kia/hyundai...

If was me, a good used hilux and you bad!!!

As per your options...yaris cross and cx3 and in your price range. Id say wait until next year for the new yaris cross

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2023, 10:49 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Forget anything Kia/hyundai...

If was me, a good used hilux and you bad!!!

As per your options...yaris cross and cx3 and in your price range. Id say wait until next year for the new yaris cross
Ent the yaris cross is jus a suped up raize?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2023, 3:02 pm

My opinion is not to bother with the wheel speed sensor. Get better tyres(well known brand, slightly wider and taller) and better brakes. Learn the car as it approaches the limit (open road, wet road).

On the reliable vehicle front... Not sure how you feel about a manual pickup
Dmax and maybe Nissan might be in your budget with a manual transmission... Not sure about the automatic versions

In reference to the options you mentioned like the Yaris cross... It isn't much taller than a tiida.

Postby A172 » August 5th, 2023, 4:04 pm

aaron17 wrote:Looking for advice in choosing a good reliable new vehicle( I assume Japanese). Steering in the direction for crossovers instead of sedans due to floods and bad roads. And my previous car, it getting too much to expensive fix with those abs sensors in the relation to where I commute/live. I not sure if a car is better. Depends on the advantages.

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- Decent boot space

Cars thinking of:
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

raize & yaris cross have no sunroof so scratch them off your list

non-hybrid yaris cross outside your budget, it have a reason u never see one locally

Capleton

Postby Capleton » August 7th, 2023, 10:37 am

A172 wrote:

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- Decent boot space

Cars thinking of:
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

non-hybrid yaris cross outside your budget, it have a reason u never see one locally

Suzuki Grand Vitara $270K GLX awd, $255K GLX 2wd, $235K GL 2WD

- Priced in your range
- Good ride height/ comfort
- Tyre profile of 60
- New vehicle, so should be reliable plus Suzuki's 5 yr warranty
- Good boot space
- No DCT tranny
- Mild hybrid set up so even if the battery pack fails the vehicle would still be able to drive
- No Moon roof, but the sound system is ok

Not the most exciting vehicle, some say the engine is a bit under powered, but you should check it out. LSM also has a service package on offer presently.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2023, 7:30 am

I have a question ..are you better off in a normal sedan like a new corolla size rather than a subcompact crossover (if I am correct) like Raize, yaris cross, vitara , honda hrv in terms of a crash?

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2023, 8:42 am

aaron17 wrote:I have a question ..are you better off in a normal sedan like a new corolla size rather than a subcompact crossover (if I am correct) like Raize, yaris cross, vitara , honda hrv in terms of a crash?

ANCAP says that Yaris Cross and Corolla are both 5-star crash rated. HR-V is 4-star rated.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2023, 10:05 am

But if you collide with an full sized suv , the smaller subcompact vehicle would be more unlucky in terms of damage and injuries?

Postby Dave » August 8th, 2023, 10:05 am

Do those rating apply to our vehicles and the imports we receive?
I know America has redesigned bumpers and more energy absorbing materials we don't see for their crash ratings.

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2023, 9:23 pm

ANCAP is Australia. NHTSA is USA.

Most major markets have their own crash test safety results database. Find your car in a major market and look it up.

Most of the information across models is simply shared between the different databases. The ratings criteria may not be exactly the same, but changes to fascia or safety features will be accounted for.

Postby Dave » August 9th, 2023, 7:32 am

My car in a major market wasn't made for that market. It was made for the export market.
Maybe the European vehicles subscribe to those rating but the rest by and large don't.
What laws do we have here for crash ratings?
adnj wrote:ANCAP is Australia. NHTSA is USA.

Most major markets have their own crash test safety results database. Find your car in a major market and look it up.

Most of the information across models is simply shared between the different databases. The ratings criteria may not be exactly the same, but changes to fascia or safety features will be accounted for.

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2023, 8:47 am

Dave wrote:My car in a major market wasn't made for that market. It was made for the export market.
Maybe the European vehicles subscribe to those rating but the rest by and large don't.
What laws do we have here for crash ratings?
adnj wrote:ANCAP is Australia. NHTSA is USA.

Every road vehicle in a major market either met destination country homologation requirements or received a regulatory deferral. Trinidad is the same. Though Trinidad does not have particularly unique requirements, imported vehicles must meet requirements from NA, UK/EU, Oceania, etc.

Other than safety features, such as tire type, ABS, air bag, etc., OEMs do not typically change fascia or body structure for rest-of-world export due to the cost of separate assembly processes and of carrying additional inventories.

It is possible to see an export only vehicle that no longer meets the current safety or emissions requirements of the country of manufacture.

Postby aaron17 » August 11th, 2023, 3:48 pm

This still stands?

Postby Country_Bookie » August 11th, 2023, 11:37 pm

Since your original post mentions maintenance cost of your existing vehicle being a big issue, you should also consider the maintenance cost of the vehicles on your list.
Best way to get this info is directly from people who have owned these vehicles for a while, as maintenance cost goes up with age.

Old talk forum had a discussion recently on hybrid maintenance costs compared to ICE maintenance..... but nobody quoted actual numbers so I still not sure if the savings on gas with a hybrid makes up for the higher maintenance cost.

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2023, 11:21 am

Capleton wrote:
A172 wrote:

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- Decent boot space

Cars thinking of:
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

- Priced in your range
- Tyre profile of 60
- Good boot space
- No DCT tranny
- Mild hybrid set up so even if the battery pack fails the vehicle would still be able to drive

Not the most exciting vehicle, some say the engine is a bit under powered, but you should check it out. LSM also has a service package on offer presently.
So lsm dont bring any suzuki with sunroof?

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2023, 11:21 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Since your original post mentions maintenance cost of your existing vehicle being a big issue, you should also consider the maintenance cost of the vehicles on your list.
Best way to get this info is directly from people who have owned these vehicles for a while, as maintenance cost goes up with age.

Old talk forum had a discussion recently on hybrid maintenance costs compared to ICE maintenance..... but nobody quoted actual numbers so I still not sure if the savings on gas with a hybrid makes up for the higher maintenance cost.
I will look it up thanks.

death365

Postby death365 » August 13th, 2023, 4:01 pm

Yeps priced themselves out of the market....

Last base version was 239k (1.6 engine)

New base version is 389k (2.0 engine)
david12 wrote:Just a heads up but the Subaru 'XV' is no longer available, it's refreshed and now uses the Crosstrek name. The base price increased by 100k or so because of the 2000 cc engine. I think the CX3 is the best option there and it'll be in your budget.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » August 13th, 2023, 6:17 pm

Niceness
Last edited by Tezzadude on April 11th, 2024, 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » August 14th, 2023, 9:01 am

aaron17 wrote:
Capleton wrote:
A172 wrote:

- 260,000 or less
- Good ride height
- Decent boot space

Cars thinking of:
- Suzuki vitara
- Mazda Cx3?
- Subaru xv?
- Kia seltos?

- Priced in your range
- Tyre profile of 60
- Good boot space
- No DCT tranny

So lsm dont bring any suzuki with sunroof?

Nope these current Grand Vitara units at LSM don't come with the Panoramic sunroof. Not sure if they will get in the future.

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2023, 9:10 am

I am seeing kia seltos gt line comes with sunroof but idk about that car brand in terms of reliability... to much stuff to break.