T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby adnj » April 8th, 2024, 10:59 am

[quote="shake d livin wake d dead"]Everyone's different...its a car! It's not an asset.
Unless it's a project vehicle, I have never kept a vehicle more than 3 years. Never took a loan to buy a vehicle either (never saw the sense in paying interest for something that loses value).

Never bought a new vehicle nor do I intend to...Personally id just buy a decent used vehicle (quite a few around) and just sell after. Shrugs shoulders[/quote]
There are quite a few inputs for the car buying buying decision, but if budget is your number one concern, your post makes a lot of sense. However, increasing the length of time that you own a car will nearly always lower the total cost of ownership, also.

For people that keep a car or a truck for a longer while (and in good condition), buying new has some advantages and may even cost about the same as buying used.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » April 8th, 2024, 7:43 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Any tuners have real world experience with the new Qashqais with the 1.3lT engine and the Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross?

Have a test drive booked for the Qashqai next week and the sales rep at Ansa say when they get stock of the Cross she will call for a test drive there? But would like to know of any Tuner's who have these already.
Curious to hear your thoughts on a comparison of the 2 once you drive them both.

After researching, I myself have those 2 vehicles at the top of my list as contenders for my next vehicle. But written and youtube reviews only tell part of the story.

Also sounds like the same female rep I dealt with at ANSA when I went to look at the EC a few weeks back. They had a few in stock still. When I went to check the Qashqai the rep said they were out of stock but expected to get sometime in April.
Will do on the test drive reviews.
On another note the rep I spoke with was out of the Chaguanas showroom. Dunno if that narrows it down for you.

So far just based on interior design the Qashqai is miles ahead. It's just so much nicer granted the showroom has the two tone Exclusive model only which wouldn't be what I would buy (the two tone is 10k more than the standard Exclusive). Also I been taking my eight year old on all the visits so far and he concurs the Qashqai is nicest inside. I tell all the reps he is the one they need to convince not me and he told the Ansa rep he like yesterday's (Qashqai) car better. Needless to say she wasn't pleased. The lack of rear air con vents is a big loss on the EC bc even my current has those and for a kid stuck in the back seat it's a plus.

Other observations - Qashqai has a bigger trunk, bigger interior (weird bc the Eclipse Cross longer).

The positives of the EC are the AWD and the bigger engine. My current ride is 4WD and I have a leaning to one again so that's definitely a consideration.

EC dash belowPXL_20240326_171601221.jpgPXL_20240326_171559785.jpg

Yep - it was Chaguanas showroom self.

Agreed that the Qashqai’s interior is the clear winner. The fully digital dash on the AWD model and rear vents did it for me. The EC’s interior looks a decade behind.

I’m split on looks with the 2, both have some styling elements I really like and some I dislike.

A couple other things the EC has going for it over the Qashqai is it has both port and direct injection, which solves the carbon deposit issue on valves with direct injection. And a major factor for me is it’s sold in the US, so when I need parts and the local dealers dont have in stock as usual, i can easily ship it in myself. The Qashqai isn’t sold in the US.

Also with the Qashqai, since I am looking at the AWD (non-2 tone) model for the interior tech, the 20” wheels are a major concern for me with our roads (both ride quality and wheel damage).

I always wondered why Massy dont sell the E Power version of the Qashqai here. Even though its only front wheel drive its worth a shot. But the facelift is scheduled to come out sometime next week so we would see how it goes.

Postby A172 » April 8th, 2024, 9:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Everyone's different...its a car! It's not an asset.
Unless it's a project vehicle, I have never kept a vehicle more than 3 years. Never took a loan to buy a vehicle either (never saw the sense in paying interest for something that loses value).

Never bought a new vehicle nor do I intend to...Personally id just buy a decent used vehicle (quite a few around) and just sell after. Shrugs shoulders
so you come in the NEW car thread holding a "look at me" sign for something that ain't concern u?

typical tuner bvlla always studying wah other ppl doing

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 9th, 2024, 2:21 am

Looked at the new Nissan X-Trail this weekend and was impressed. Have to check out the CRV.

What do you guys think about the two vehicles?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2024, 5:46 am

A172 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Everyone's different...its a car! It's not an asset.

Never bought a new vehicle nor do I intend to...Personally id just buy a decent used vehicle (quite a few around) and just sell after. Shrugs shoulders
so you come in the NEW car thread holding a "look at me" sign for something that ain't concern u?

Yuh does know pantymen when it touch their feelings

It's my perspective ...I never said it's the way to carry on with your life.

Postby A172 » April 9th, 2024, 7:25 am

okie brokie

zando

Postby zando » April 9th, 2024, 8:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
A172 wrote:

Yuh does know pantymen when it touch their feelings

It's my perspective ...I never said it's the way to carry on with your life.
If no one bought brand new, there would be no used cars for you to buy lol

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2024, 9:54 am

blacklight wrote:Looked at the new Nissan X-Trail this weekend and was impressed. Have to check out the CRV.

They nice but the prices dawdi!!!!!
Both start closer to 400k in the respective showrooms.

Sat in the new CRV recently and my instant thought was why is it so small inside. I think it has a low roof.
When I set the driving position to my preference behind me had some space but not enough for an adult IMO. When I sat in the rear my head touched the roof. For an SUV that is somewhat shameful.

The XTrail is significantly bigger inside that the CRV.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 9th, 2024, 1:43 pm

carluva wrote:
foreignused wrote:
I hope you not trying to push him out of his hilux...if he like his vehicle leave him be.

Nah his shoulder has some bad arthritis and having to grip that handle to climb up into it is causing some bad pains. So even he is wanting to get rid of it.

He's surprisingly taken a liking to the Grand Vitara especially with that 5 yr warranty and price but we're not too familiar on the quality and dependability of Suzuki and worse now that it seems to be made in India.
I have a Suzuki Swift from 2014 and it's proven to be a very good vehicle and very reliable. Granted the technology now is different especially with the mild hybrid in the GV.

What I have found is that the parts for Suzuki are very scarce and don't even seem to be as accessible online.

I stand corrected, but I believe only LSM sells parts.

Parts from LSM are very expensive.

Don't be fooled that the GV mild hybrid is anything great too... The hybrid is only for initial pull off after which it switches to the engine which they recharges the battery. You will get no range on the hybrid as it is not separately connected to the drive train.

IMO, have a look at other vehicles out there before taking the plunge: Nissan and Toyota being some options as they have easy access to parts.

If you're fixed on Suzuki, maybe have a look at some of the other vehicles in the lineup.

This system does not work like that. In Suzuki's MHEV system at no point does the car switch from the Engine to the Integrated Starter Generator (ISG). The engine works all the time, the ISG basically kicks in at certain times (take off/accelerating) and basically gives the engine the lil extra help for around 30 sec intervals (when needed). You will never get the same range out of Mild Hybrid compared to a Strong Hybrid. MHEV's work best on open hway and the ISG does kick in while driving on the hway. Best range i've seen on them (real world thing) is between 700-750km on a tank of gas. Only advantage that a MHEV has is that if/when the battery pack fails, the car can still start and drive as opposed the strong hybrids that wont be able to be driven when the battery is dead. The best tool for fuel saving is ur right foot IMO.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » April 11th, 2024, 12:48 pm

Sold the nze and tez and got about 100k combined.

We never owned new cars before and new to the buying new scene. The paper work just to get a loan is crazy ridiculous. Begging we HR to follow up on job letter to send directly to loans officer cause apparently people submitting false job letters to get loan. We had to provide proof of dp, submit utility bills, ids, sign fiu docs, pay slips and house mortgage docs. Apparently combined we can’t service a mortgage and 2 car loans at the same time so we decided to buy a car cash and loan the next one for 8 years.

Most new cars are dog sheit, coming from a nze and teza. Naturally we gravitate to Toyota first. Wife say she want the Raize or Yaris cross but thanks to my investigation both were not true Toyotas or built in JDM. We went Honda and the crv is almost 500k for the fully loaded. Same as forester. Wtf? The smaller Crosstrek is shy of crv territory. Makes no sense.

Didn’t bother checking the mg, sunyong, proton, hyundai and kia. Them thing have no resale and is endless worries with them engines and transmissions. We can’t seem to find vehicles still made in Japan let alone a rear wheel one. We nze could still run with most new cars and it was a 1.5. My tezz was faster than most cars on the road stock for stock and it was over 20 years old.

We checked out the Benz GLC300. It’s a 4 cylinder engine btw. If you want the 6 then you got to go gle450 for well over a million dolllars which is currently more than our mortgage. The GLA and GLB have 1.3 engines shared with Nissan. Look it up lol. BMW selling 3 cylinder cars and saying it’s twin turbo lol. To get the 6 you need to spend same million plus like with the Benz. Sorcery to the highest in this country.

So after all that we ended up with 2 Mazdas, a cx3 and cx5. When we drove the cx3 n cx5 for the first time, the feel was so secure and sharp. Both of them hold the road well with true automatic transmissions. Damn impressive and the media system that comes factory installed on the cx5 is world class. Better than some Benz and bimmers. Mazda came good cause they partnered with Toyota now. It’s a shame we have no sunroof but say what.

Hopefully these 2 will take us to retirement cause based on what trinidad have to offer in terms of new cars today, I see people throwing their money away on mediocre products and they already forcing this hybrid electric sheit down our throats.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 11th, 2024, 2:11 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Sold the nze and tez and got about 100k combined.

We never owned new cars before and new to the buying new scene. The paper work just to get a loan is crazy ridiculous. Begging we HR to follow up on job letter to send directly to loans officer cause apparently people submitting false job letters to get loan. We had to provide proof of dp, submit utility bills, ids, sign fiu docs, pay slips and house mortgage docs. Apparently combined we can’t service a mortgage and 2 car loans at the same time so we decided to buy a car cash and loan the next one for 8 years.

Most new cars are dog sheit, coming from a nze and teza. Naturally we gravitate to Toyota first. Wife say she want the Raize or Yaris cross but thanks to my investigation both were not true Toyotas or built in JDM. We went Honda and the crv is almost 500k for the fully loaded. Same as forester. Wtf? The smaller Crosstrek is shy of crv territory. Makes no sense.

Didn’t bother checking the mg, sunyong, proton, hyundai and kia. Them thing have no resale and is endless worries with them engines and transmissions. We can’t seem to find vehicles still made in Japan let alone a rear wheel one. We nze could still run with most new cars and it was a 1.5. My tezz was faster than most cars on the road stock for stock and it was over 20 years old.

We checked out the Benz GLC300. It’s a 4 cylinder engine btw. If you want the 6 then you got to go gle450 for well over a million dolllars which is currently more than our mortgage. The GLA and GLB have 1.3 engines shared with Nissan. Look it up lol. BMW selling 3 cylinder cars and saying it’s twin turbo lol. To get the 6 you need to spend same million plus like with the Benz. Sorcery to the highest in this country.

So after all that we ended up with 2 Mazdas, a cx3 and cx5. When we drove the cx3 n cx5 for the first time, the feel was so secure and sharp. Both of them hold the road well with true automatic transmissions. Damn impressive and the media system that comes factory installed on the cx5 is world class. Better than some Benz and bimmers. Mazda came good cause they partnered with Toyota now. It’s a shame we have no sunroof but say what.

Hopefully these 2 will take us to retirement cause based on what trinidad have to offer in terms of new cars today, I see people throwing their money away on mediocre products and they already forcing this hybrid electric sheit down our throats.

Good choices, Mazda still maintains their sure and steady and relatively fair price status. Hopefully your after sales service experience is good

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 11th, 2024, 2:52 pm

Yup I have to agree.. Cx5 is a solid af vehicle!

My options were the crv, forester and cx5.. Decided on the forester because of the sale ongoing at the time and purely 90% of my personal childhood longing for a forester lol

mr_scotty_buttons

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby mr_scotty_buttons » April 12th, 2024, 5:14 am

Great personal review. I’m in the market for a midsize SUV as well and considering the CX5 or RAV4 or CRV or personal importing a midsize electric SUV like an etron or EQC or maybe even the iX3. Just wish I could get that battery warranty internationally.

Only thing I’d correct you is that BMW doesn’t call those smaller engines twin turbo; they call it a Twin POWER turbo engine. Which is just marketing lingo for twin scroll turbos. And it’ll fool some ppl into thinking it’s twin turbo. Heck I see some ppl selling their 316i and saying they have a twin turbo engine
Last edited by mr_scotty_buttons on April 12th, 2024, 5:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

mr_scotty_buttons

Postby mr_scotty_buttons » April 12th, 2024, 5:20 am

blacklight wrote:Looked at the new Nissan X-Trail this weekend and was impressed. Have to check out the CRV.

I had a look at the mid spec Xtrail last weekend and wasn’t impressed one bit.
The fully loaded Qashqai was much better.
The fully loaded Xtrail would more or less have the same interior as the fully loaded Qashqai but can’t justify that price tag nah.
What blew me out of the water was when I checked the fully loaded ioniq 5 just for kix. That thing is seriously impressive for interior space, design and quality. The 499k price tag is a bit steep though. The only other thing keeping me back from making that jump is the Hyundai badge unfortunately.
But it does have an 8 year / 160,000kms warranty on the battery.

zando

Postby zando » April 12th, 2024, 8:17 am

mr_scotty_buttons wrote:

I had a look at the mid spec Xtrail last weekend and wasn’t impressed one bit.
The fully loaded Qashqai was much better.
The fully loaded Xtrail would more or less have the same interior as the fully loaded Qashqai but can’t justify that price tag nah.
What blew me out of the water was when I checked the fully loaded ioniq 5 just for kix. That thing is seriously impressive for interior space, design and quality. The 499k price tag is a bit steep though. The only other thing keeping me back from making that jump is the Hyundai badge unfortunately.
But it does have an 8 year / 160,000kms warranty on the battery.
Ioniq 5 is nice, however I've read about two international stories about the battery protection being inadequate, minor damage can cause the car to be written off as the cost to replace the battery is more than what the car is worth even after it being a year or two old.

I'm seeing that for some reason Hyundai battery replacements are more expensive than the norm, don't know what they're doing different for it to cost more.

Postby j.o.e » April 12th, 2024, 9:45 am

Those Mazdas won’t lead you wrong. Reliable and fun to drive.

zando

Postby zando » April 12th, 2024, 2:09 pm

Question, howcome you didn't consider one of the Honda vezel? I know the foreign used companies bringing them in brand new.

wing

Postby wing » April 12th, 2024, 6:00 pm

"I see people throwing their money away on mediocre products and they already forcing this hybrid electric sheit down our throats"

Doesn't seem to be a fan of hybrid tech.

Postby Habit7 » April 12th, 2024, 8:04 pm

The Mazda CX5 is a great SUV. But it is the same design since 2017. Out of the Rav4, CRV and CX5, the CX5 has the least room. The CRV has the newest design but that 1.5T engine had problems in the past. The Rav4 is the old faithful but can be boring and overpriced.

The Xtrail deserves an honourable mention, especially with its good price, but the longevity of its hybrid system and transmission is yet to be trusted. The Forester is expensive and I don't trust 4-stroke Subaru engines.

Kritical01

Postby Kritical01 » April 12th, 2024, 8:54 pm

I have had the Qashai 1.3T. Purchased the mid spec Advance spec- 19” wheels, glass roof, blind spot monitoring etc.
Usually get approx 700kms per tank (Premium recommended)
Small engine but very peppy engine and excellent acceleration. Test drove the eclipse cross which is also a good vehicle but the build quality on the interior as well as the NVH (road noise) on the Qashai is great - not CX-5 level but great.
Crossed 12,000kms as I do south to pos runs 3 days per week and it’s a very comfortable vehicle on the hway with excellent braking. The 19” wheels are continental, the top spec has 20” Michelin tyres.
After 6 months and 12,000kms, would I purchase again? Most def. Very fuel efficient and these engines are used on various models.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » April 13th, 2024, 9:06 am

Appreciate the positive feedback. To answer that user, we doh want nothing to do with hybrid or electric yet. Will explain later. We don’t like CNG either. Don’t like turbos as well. For over 20 years, I watch people come and go with their new cars whilst I stuck with 1 car during that time. All of sudden, people now have an opinion on we cars. We didn’t exist before but the driveway have two Mazdas now and critique flowing like flood water.

I tell a coworker and a neighbor to hhmc cause it’s my money and I can do whatever I want with it. The reason why we purchased these vehicles now cause we work fxuking hard and can’t even go outside to enjoy anything in this country. So we might as well enjoy our commutes to and from work with all this flipping traffic. Soon we had was to paint over the old cars and do little pieces of work here and there which all adds up. I just get real tired and sold them off.

Tbh I never gave a damn about cars but coming from what we had before, allowed us a relatively good start in life to focus on more important things. So 2 decades later we want to treat we self and I figured why not. To come back to the why not hybrid question. Go on yt and watch the agenda right now in terms of the auto industry. They forcing this hev sheit down our throats. They making cars deliberately to become disposable.

Which Vezel will last over 20 years or Aqua? Until we don’t have a choice, I will buy one but we figured now was the time to buy we regular engined vehicles before it disappears for good. Many new replacement models now will come standard with battery pack and electric motor propulsion sandwiched somewhere in the engine bay. Not me and freaking that.

I get that previous I came across as a Toyota douchebag but fact is Toyota makes very reliable vehicles. What I see today is overpriced mediocrity. The Rav ugly af. Hilux and Fortuner overpriced. The little SUVs and them are not true Toyotas. We gettin poor 3rd world Asian spec sheit cars for 1st world price.

Many friends came and gone with CVTs over the years and we conventional automatics pushed on with no trouble. I see men pull up with they tucsin and Jetta and bawl down the road with them DCT sheit. Many friends, neighbors, family and coworkers purchased new cars whilst we kept our relics over 20 years and end up selling the vehicles cause of problems.

Mazda was never my first choice. It have brands I just don’t bother with. I’m a Toyota guy and if I had to deviate it would be Honda and Nissan. But the level of overpriced sheit them selling is astounding. Most of them SUVs today are either CVT or DCT. Ah lie? Go ahead and count it. Nissan is pure sheit today. Real sorry if I offended yuh. Honda crv is overpriced. If it was like 425k with a true transmission then yes. The Mitsubishi cross was nice but CVT. Subaru have great reviews but CVT again. Suzuki nice cause no CVT but you bend ova to lifestyle only for parts.

Coming from the nze and Teza to drive anything Hyundai or Kia or dem new brands kmg, gwm or proton and sanyong is a woft.
Landing on Mazda kept things traditional enough to keep the proper transmissions, no turbos and support available outside Trinidad easily if I decide to tell southern sales goodbye.

Btw southern sales showrooms is probably the shittiest in the country. The Mazdas we get come with narrow 225 tyres and probably 7.5 width rims. The exhaust system looks performance oriented but it’s not. It’s a single pipe split in two lol. The skyactive 2.5 in the cx5 pulls surprisingly nice but little top end. The cx3 drives sharper. I done see that those stock narrow wheels will get replaced with a wider set eventually. The powered tailgate is something I need to get used to. It needs a sensor to prevent it from hitting low ceilings or objects.

I still look over my shoulder and use mirrors to reverse but having reverse cameras are amazing. First time my ass sitting on leather. It weird but I like that it easy to clean. Electronic seats to me is not necessary cause I done set my position already so no need to adjust it again. The auto glare mirror seems like a gimmick. The brake rotors seem small for new vehicles but they work fine. The AC is colder than our older cars in the first fan speed lol. I find I was switching it off cause it got too cold. The Bose system is unbelievable. I have a Pricesmart soundbar for my tv at home and my cars music system sounds better lol.

Haven’t gotten used to push start yet. I still trying to rotate key in ignition. Anther waste feature imo. Controls on the steering wheel is welcomed, I love it. We did not get any free service or insurance package like ANSA does. If the Mitsubishi had a regular transmission we would have taken that one instead cause the rep was offering the inone pkg deal.

What a difference 25 years brings to car tech. We each have airbags protecting us all over the cabin. So far both vehicles are more fuel efficient than the older ones so we already knew there would be savings to that end. Got some phone quotes to ceramic coat them which I said no thanks. 9k for two cars no thank you. I thought it was like 1500 per car or even 2000?

Basically that sums it up. Maybe I’ll check in when we service them and report back how it went. Bless

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 13th, 2024, 11:33 am

Has anyone ordered a BMW or Merc from Japan and if so, any issues with the idrive translation?

wing

Postby wing » April 13th, 2024, 12:23 pm

worksux101 wrote:Has anyone ordered a BMW or Merc from Japan and if so, any issues with the idrive translation?
Many of the modern infotainment can be flashed to the UK or Australian version. Only issue will be the radio tuner. Either swap it out or use an app. I know because I did it already.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » April 13th, 2024, 3:00 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Appreciate the positive feedback. To answer that user, we doh want nothing to do with hybrid or electric yet. Will explain later. We don’t like CNG either. Don’t like turbos as well. For over 20 years, I watch people come and go with their new cars whilst I stuck with 1 car during that time. All of sudden, people now have an opinion on we cars. We didn’t exist before but the driveway have two Mazdas now and critique flowing like flood water.

I tell a coworker and a neighbor to hhmc cause it’s my money and I can do whatever I want with it. The reason why we purchased these vehicles now cause we work fxuking hard and can’t even go outside to enjoy anything in this country. So we might as well enjoy our commutes to and from work with all this flipping traffic. Soon we had was to paint over the old cars and do little pieces of work here and there which all adds up. I just get real tired and sold them off.

Tbh I never gave a damn about cars but coming from what we had before, allowed us a relatively good start in life to focus on more important things. So 2 decades later we want to treat we self and I figured why not. To come back to the why not hybrid question. Go on yt and watch the agenda right now in terms of the auto industry. They forcing this hev sheit down our throats. They making cars deliberately to become disposable.

Which Vezel will last over 20 years or Aqua? Until we don’t have a choice, I will buy one but we figured now was the time to buy we regular engined vehicles before it disappears for good. Many new replacement models now will come standard with battery pack and electric motor propulsion sandwiched somewhere in the engine bay. Not me and freaking that.

I get that previous I came across as a Toyota douchebag but fact is Toyota makes very reliable vehicles. What I see today is overpriced mediocrity. The Rav ugly af. Hilux and Fortuner overpriced. The little SUVs and them are not true Toyotas. We gettin poor 3rd world Asian spec sheit cars for 1st world price.

Many friends came and gone with CVTs over the years and we conventional automatics pushed on with no trouble. I see men pull up with they tucsin and Jetta and bawl down the road with them DCT sheit. Many friends, neighbors, family and coworkers purchased new cars whilst we kept our relics over 20 years and end up selling the vehicles cause of problems.

Mazda was never my first choice. It have brands I just don’t bother with. I’m a Toyota guy and if I had to deviate it would be Honda and Nissan. But the level of overpriced sheit them selling is astounding. Most of them SUVs today are either CVT or DCT. Ah lie? Go ahead and count it. Nissan is pure sheit today. Real sorry if I offended yuh. Honda crv is overpriced. If it was like 425k with a true transmission then yes. The Mitsubishi cross was nice but CVT. Subaru have great reviews but CVT again. Suzuki nice cause no CVT but you bend ova to lifestyle only for parts.

Coming from the nze and Teza to drive anything Hyundai or Kia or dem new brands kmg, gwm or proton and sanyong is a woft.
Landing on Mazda kept things traditional enough to keep the proper transmissions, no turbos and support available outside Trinidad easily if I decide to tell southern sales goodbye.

Btw southern sales showrooms is probably the shittiest in the country. The Mazdas we get come with narrow 225 tyres and probably 7.5 width rims. The exhaust system looks performance oriented but it’s not. It’s a single pipe split in two lol. The skyactive 2.5 in the cx5 pulls surprisingly nice but little top end. The cx3 drives sharper. I done see that those stock narrow wheels will get replaced with a wider set eventually. The powered tailgate is something I need to get used to. It needs a sensor to prevent it from hitting low ceilings or objects.

I still look over my shoulder and use mirrors to reverse but having reverse cameras are amazing. First time my ass sitting on leather. It weird but I like that it easy to clean. Electronic seats to me is not necessary cause I done set my position already so no need to adjust it again. The auto glare mirror seems like a gimmick. The brake rotors seem small for new vehicles but they work fine. The AC is colder than our older cars in the first fan speed lol. I find I was switching it off cause it got too cold. The Bose system is unbelievable. I have a Pricesmart soundbar for my tv at home and my cars music system sounds better lol.

Haven’t gotten used to push start yet. I still trying to rotate key in ignition. Anther waste feature imo. Controls on the steering wheel is welcomed, I love it. We did not get any free service or insurance package like ANSA does. If the Mitsubishi had a regular transmission we would have taken that one instead cause the rep was offering the inone pkg deal.

What a difference 25 years brings to car tech. We each have airbags protecting us all over the cabin. So far both vehicles are more fuel efficient than the older ones so we already knew there would be savings to that end. Got some phone quotes to ceramic coat them which I said no thanks. 9k for two cars no thank you. I thought it was like 1500 per car or even 2000?

Basically that sums it up. Maybe I’ll check in when we service them and report back how it went. Bless

I thought we only get the 2.0 l in the CX 5 here in TT. Also, the powered tailgate is height adjustable. The manual covers it. A good paint sealant is far better that doing a ceramic coating. Enjoy your purchase.

Postby A172 » April 13th, 2024, 11:01 pm

worksux101 wrote:Has anyone ordered a BMW or Merc from Japan and if so, any issues with the idrive translation?
bmw & mb from Japan have English selection built into the options since 2013

zando

Postby zando » April 14th, 2024, 1:04 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Appreciate the positive feedback. To answer that user, we doh want nothing to do with hybrid or electric yet. Will explain later. We don’t like CNG either. Don’t like turbos as well. For over 20 years, I watch people come and go with their new cars whilst I stuck with 1 car during that time. All of sudden, people now have an opinion on we cars. We didn’t exist before but the driveway have two Mazdas now and critique flowing like flood water.

Firstly I not offended lol I was curious because by June I'm looking for a new vehicle, I think I narrowed it down to a Mazda 3 or a Honda vezel.

I don't think agree with the hybrid assertions, electric vehicles still need to mature, that we can agree on, but hybrid tech has been out since the first Prius which was in 1997 so that was 27 years ago, so I think they've pretty much worked out the kinks in hybrid vehicles manufacturers basically share the tech anyway, batteries would always be an issue in any thing that uses battery tech, down to phones also, but I think it's pretty safe to have a hybrid for 8-10 years without any major issues.

I really like the new quashqai also but I'm looking at price and monthly payments also.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 15th, 2024, 4:22 pm

Watching to see how those Nissan VC turbo engines holding up. It is a fairly complicated design

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » April 15th, 2024, 7:45 pm

K thx for the feedback so far.

The person above who corrected me on the twin turbo thing from bmw is correct. I looked it up. Twin power turbo don't mean twin turbo. My boss is a member of a local bmw club and he says the 1.5 3cyl turbo is unreliable but still quick in those 218s. He has the older X3 and its been fairly faithful.

I honestly thought my cx5 was a 2.5 because the sales rep said so initially but my certified copy says 2.0. Guess that explains why it doesn't feel any faster than my old car. The cx3 feels just as punchy tbh and its a 1.5

I really can't talk much about the qashqai but I paid the same amount for a bigger vehicle with a bigger engine. I was unimpressed with both that and the xtrail which coming Hybrid only.

I remember in the 2000s when those CVT Lancers came out and CVT Primeras. Had friends with those and they got rid of them. Told myself long time ago not me and that. Then dual clutch came out and owners got licks. Like a rotary engined RX, some vehicles are to stay far from. Honestly don't understand why CVts took over now. True automatics are hard to find.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 15th, 2024, 9:00 pm

Tezzadude wrote:K thx for the feedback so far.

The person above who corrected me on the twin turbo thing from bmw is correct. I looked it up. Twin power turbo don't mean twin turbo. My boss is a member of a local bmw club and he says the 1.5 3cyl turbo is unreliable but still quick in those 218s. He has the older X3 and its been fairly faithful.

I honestly thought my cx5 was a 2.5 because the sales rep said so initially but my certified copy says 2.0. Guess that explains why it doesn't feel any faster than my old car. The cx3 feels just as punchy tbh and its a 1.5

I really can't talk much about the qashqai but I paid the same amount for a bigger vehicle with a bigger engine. I was unimpressed with both that and the xtrail which coming Hybrid only.

I remember in the 2000s when those CVT Lancers came out and CVT Primeras. Had friends with those and they got rid of them. Told myself long time ago not me and that. Then dual clutch came out and owners got licks. Like a rotary engined RX, some vehicles are to stay far from. Honestly don't understand why CVts took over now. True automatics are hard to find.
The top end Qashqai is a four wheel drive vehicle though with basically all the bells and and whistles You are not really comparing apples to apples there.

With that said based on your posts I really feel I will check out SS and Mazdas in my current window shopping.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 16th, 2024, 7:20 am

The only drawback on the CX5 vs the field is the exterior styling which hasn’t changed since 2017, interior build quality and engineering is class leading, it’s probably a big reason why the price has held for the most part. Whenever the model is refreshed expect the price to jump locally.

Yes I acknowledge that nobody wants to buy a car today that looks 95% the same as what the neighbour bought 7 years ago