1980 GH Sigma SR20DET/VVL RWD, Shell For Sale :(

Re: Coming Soon: Trini's 1st , Prettiest? SR20DET/VVL RWD

Postby turbosingh » April 4th, 2011, 2:23 pm

NXTREME wrote:so no management?

I think these guys say they dont need any Standalone just a Jim Wolf Upgrade :lol:

dry

Postby dry » April 4th, 2011, 3:45 pm

if you use the 20V or VET CAS you can get by with the stock ECU and a piggyback, or something like a power fc.

i opted to use the mazworx hall sensor kit with the aem ems standalone i had before.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 5th, 2011, 7:21 am

Hmmm probably some JWT maddness :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 5th, 2011, 7:27 am

dry wrote:

Talk done, Dry when I can pass to macko and steal dem fenders????

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » April 5th, 2011, 2:47 pm

dry wrote:

Uploaded by rw1686 on Feb 23, 2011
hmmmm , yeh it start up b4 mines but when was the motor assembled? :)

Fugitive
Last edited by FugiTECH on April 6th, 2012, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 5th, 2011, 3:48 pm

Does it matter which was assembled first buddy, bragging rights or trophy?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 5th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Nice setup.

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm

btw Definitely not the prettiest, and for SURE it isn't the first :lol: ....but it's nice either way

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 5th, 2011, 9:57 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Does it matter which was assembled first buddy, bragging rights or trophy?

exactly , didn't dry post a pic of his rwd vet yrs ago?? lol , and look how humble he is on this topic.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » April 5th, 2011, 10:03 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:btw Definitely not the prettiest, and for SURE it isn't the first :lol: ....but it's nice either way

Well i wish i coulda see some pics mr media of the better looking rwd ve-t locally built lol

BlueIce wrote:
.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Does it matter which was assembled first buddy, bragging rights or trophy?

exactly , didn't dry post a pic of his rwd vet yrs ago?? lol , and look how humble he is on this topic.

truu? wanna see this too pls

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 5th, 2011, 10:05 pm

Don't really know much about nissan but isn't it just using the engine from the FWD and using a RWD box? Similar to what the 4agze guys do with the t-50 gearbox?
How hard is this conversion really? might need a rwd plenum, sump and a ecu?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 5th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Not as simple as that rx80. The VVL negine is only FWD so we use the head on a RWD block but requires quite some work.I don't want to clutter the guy's thread with a how to but it's the epitome of the SR. VVL mated with boost and high high revs.
tap block for vvl solenoid feed.
relocate solenoids
re-route heater lines
go from distributor to CAS
from plugs to coil packs
custom intake plenum
and so forth.

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 5th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Oh ok my bad, nice build though...

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 5th, 2011, 11:30 pm

MG Man wrote:hmm..having read everything in this ched, I have no clue what y'all talkin about ;-p

:lol: :lol: you and that Epilepsy emoticon(;-P)

Good stuff in this thread though !! 8-)

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 6th, 2011, 9:04 am

So um, what PRIZE does it have for being the first anyway? Seeing that this thread is sounding as if there is something special to be won....YAY!!!!!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 6th, 2011, 9:11 am

i know some men wen they click for VVL they lose power :mrgreen:

smell

Postby smell » April 6th, 2011, 9:57 am

Whats the advantages of using this configuration with variable lift as compaired to a S15 type vtc engine?
Any side by side comparisons?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 6th, 2011, 10:02 am

Better flowing head. Word down under is even after an expensive head job on a RWD SR head it still can't flow the numbers of a VVL.

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 6th, 2011, 10:06 am

^yup....well...something like that....its all about application.... there IS something like 'too much flow' yunno :?

...so again..it's all about your application....in other words... efficiency is key...you don't want to run a car with a gt47 and your goals are 300whp.....

...or likewise you don't want to run your car on a gt35r and expect upwards of 900whp :?

....sooo....the stock head is enough for the practical user and just happens to suit just about any average application

dry

Postby dry » April 6th, 2011, 10:17 am

a vvl head has a shitload of advantages:
- biggest being a solid valvetrain rather than hydraulic lifters
- as is, much better flow than the DE head.
- the low cam has the built-in overlap similar to VTC that gives low-end torque
- the high lift 20VE cam is just about equivalent to an aftermarket 264 cam, 16VE is 280

it's a win-win situation.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 6th, 2011, 11:11 am

Yep, the solid rocker setup setup allows you to swing insane rpms without wondering whether a rocker will jump and destroy your head. For me right now I am not seeing the need for it, maybe when I start doing some more mods or get a VE for small money I may look at the option, to much bolt-ons on the S15 engine to warrant spending now on a VE. Hey props to you anyway Fugitive on your build. Hope all goes well and post some figures, it's not about competing against eachother but more so see what others have done and what we can learn from it, goodluck on the project ;). What clutch are you gonna be running?

dry

Postby dry » April 6th, 2011, 11:25 am

i'm sure our goals are very different. my goal is a responsive all-round car doing 400-450whp max with a BROAD powerband -- 3500-9000rpm.

clutch -- ORC-409D single plate
turbo -- gtx3071r

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 6th, 2011, 11:36 am

I am hunting for that response as well but I know the limits of my powerband / rpm range and have no problem sticking to that for now. I guess when I think I can handle that kinda power on the streets comfortably then I may look at upgrading. Actually the clutch question was for Fugitive not you Dry I done know the entire scoop on you :lol:. Wanna make a spin by you weekend to check out things and let you check out my project as well, but ah parking outside :D.

dry

Postby dry » April 6th, 2011, 11:41 am

:lol: no scene. currently under-going upgrades already. hoping to be done by weekend, but pass through and see what's what.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 6th, 2011, 11:49 am

dry do you have a shop/garage?I'd like to come see it if thats the case when I visit in a few weeks.
z

smell

Postby smell » April 6th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Ok....didnt know they had solid lifters

Well from the comments it looks like if aiming for anything over 400rwhp and swing over 7k its worthwhile doing this

Nice work on the build ...too bad these forums couldnt be more tech and less bull

dry

Postby dry » April 6th, 2011, 12:12 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:dry do you have a shop/garage?I'd like to come see it if thats the case when I visit in a few weeks.
z

nah no shop. this is all a hobby. just me and a few friends that like to dig up.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 6th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Digging up is the name of the game for sure!!! Dry have more stuff than some of the shops locally, I ain't backward myself.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » April 6th, 2011, 12:55 pm

ACT Extreme PP and the obvious 6 pad copper , aiming for around 300 hp on my gt28r on this build.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 6th, 2011, 1:32 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:So um, what PRIZE does it have for being the first anyway? Seeing that this thread is sounding as if there is something special to be won....YAY!!!!!

yuh unnnastan!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: