The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby r3iXmann » May 7th, 2012, 12:39 pm

Karim Khan wrote:So did anyone did any car washing this weekend???

too much rain :evil:

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » May 7th, 2012, 12:42 pm

r3iXmann wrote:

too much rain :evil:

x2 :(
Since Friday I say I would have washed mines, rained for the entire mc weekend.

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2012, 12:44 pm

I left the van in the rain....does that count?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 7th, 2012, 12:52 pm

If I use waxco rain repellent on the windscreen, would waxing remove it? (never waxed on my own before so excuse if is a chupid question)

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2012, 1:29 pm

you wax your windscreen?????

Postby S_2NR » May 7th, 2012, 2:02 pm

searchingone wrote:If I use waxco rain repellent on the windscreen, would waxing remove it? (never waxed on my own before so excuse if is a chupid question)

lolwhut?

Postby S_2NR » May 7th, 2012, 2:04 pm

nope, this rain is discouraging. when as soon as u wash ur car and pull out of the garage rain starts falling. :(

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 7th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Guys, i think i am the cause for all this rain ,, I did a full detail on Range Rover , avensis and my vehicle over the weekend.

Anytime i do this type of detail its guaranteed to rain. So its 3 days of straight rain lol.

I am going to start to call this detailing package ,...... MAKE IT RAIN ! lol

searchingone wrote:If I use waxco rain repellent on the windscreen, would waxing remove it? (never waxed on my own before so excuse if is a chupid question)

You don't use wax on your windscreen, this causes your windscreen to haze , so its not recommended.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 7th, 2012, 2:38 pm

I did a wash last night, quick thing.
Lots of rain these days.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 7th, 2012, 2:40 pm

oh sheit :|I always thought was the entire car, glass included....(good thing I didn't do it yet..... :oops: ) :arrow:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 7th, 2012, 2:47 pm

I think the only reason why it rains is because people wash their car.

Postby equipped2ripp » May 7th, 2012, 3:37 pm

^ co-signed :|

PM me your number Karim, I lost it... or send me a whatsapp message!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 7th, 2012, 4:00 pm

lol wazzz appp!!!

BassMekanik

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby BassMekanik » May 7th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Anyone know where to get a wash and rinse spray nozzle? The one that attaches to a hose and has the part for the liquid and mixes it?

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » May 7th, 2012, 5:16 pm

^^i think pricemart has them

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 7th, 2012, 8:17 pm

BassMekanik wrote:Anyone know where to get a wash and rinse spray nozzle? The one that attaches to a hose and has the part for the liquid and mixes it?

Bass, to be honest i really dont know where you can get it now , i had one from price mart years ago, and i used it with the car wash, but it was not all that.

If you want to use this tool to wash you car, you are better off with the normal bucket and hose method.

its just my 2 cents

jdeen

Postby jdeen » May 7th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Epic fail... Washed the van yesterday and today it looks like it hasnt been washed in a month :(

trvs

Postby trvs » May 7th, 2012, 10:40 pm

Same here. Washed mine last night as well. Real frickin dirty.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 8th, 2012, 12:09 am

I just used meguiars ultimate liquid wax on my car...it worked great!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 8th, 2012, 8:02 am

pics?

Postby cinco » May 8th, 2012, 8:18 am

i washed mine and hosed it off and didnt bother to dry
rain was pouring

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 8th, 2012, 12:25 pm

actually the best time to wax your ride is in the rainy season. Why you will see the benefits of the wax ( the water beading) and the vehicle will be much more easier to wash.

try it

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 8th, 2012, 12:44 pm

BassMekanik wrote:Anyone know where to get a wash and rinse spray nozzle? The one that attaches to a hose and has the part for the liquid and mixes it?

Pricesmart still has it. $199

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » May 8th, 2012, 1:17 pm

NR8 wrote:

Pricesmart still has it. $199

you should indicate which price mart , cause not all branches has the same stuff

Postby r3iXmann » May 8th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Karim Khan wrote:

Bass, to be honest i really dont know where you can get it now , i had one from price mart years ago, and i used it with the car wash, but it was not all that.

If you want to use this tool to wash you car, you are better off with the normal bucket and hose method.

its just my 2 cents

agreed

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 8th, 2012, 1:27 pm

^^ my bad. I was referring to the La Romaine branch. Saw it on Saturday and was contemplating whether to buy it. Karim Khan how would you compare this to the bucket and hose method? Any difference?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 8th, 2012, 2:23 pm

NR8 wrote:^^ my bad. I was referring to the La Romaine branch. Saw it on Saturday and was contemplating whether to buy it. Karim Khan how would you compare this to the bucket and hose method? Any difference?

If you are using the wash and rinse nozzle you would still need to use the bucket and hose to properly wash your car.

IMO its a nice nozzle and its long enough to wash the top of the car and under the fenders with little effort.

i say if you want it might as well get it. I am sure if it does not need your expectation you or someone else can find a suitable use for it.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 8th, 2012, 3:55 pm

That's exactly what I was wondering, whether it would remove all the dirt and dust or whether I would still need to use a chamois.
Thanks for the advice.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » May 9th, 2012, 6:25 am

^^You don't use a chamois to wash a car.

Only dry it.

Using a chamois when a car has dirt on it will cause swirls since the chamois is a flat cloth, and won't pull dirt away from the paint. If you use a microfibre cloth, that has fibres which pull dirt away from the paint, and so, act like a "buffer" of sorts.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 9th, 2012, 8:02 am

DSM_05 wrote:^^You don't use a chamois to wash a car.

Only dry it.

Using a chamois when a car has dirt on it will cause swirls since the chamois is a flat cloth, and won't pull dirt away from the paint. If you use a microfibre cloth, that has fibres which pull dirt away from the paint, and so, act like a "buffer" of sorts.

I fully agree with DSM - if you want to push it further get a quality wash mitt. It holds more solution than the cloth.