The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » May 23rd, 2012, 7:34 am

gfbl wrote:seeing the megs clay is more aggressive does it cause marring of the finish?

Aggressive clay bars does cause some degree of marring

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 23rd, 2012, 1:56 pm

Karim, did you try the Blackfire wax yet? Where's the review!?

For large tar spots I think clay isn't always sufficient. I use AG intensive tar remover for those.

As for wheel cleaners, if it's strong, it's most likely acidic and hence the reason it damages skin. Supernatural is a very mild cleaner(Actually washes off brake dust if you spray enough, but leaves on sealants), and the AG Custom wheel cleaner is the strongest I go. They claim that's non-acidic and it seems to work fine.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 23rd, 2012, 5:14 pm

Hey Nemesis, the Blackfire wax is really amazing especially if you use the Blackfire Wet Diamond All Paint Protection before you apply the wax. This combo is called the Blackfire Wet over Ice finish and it makes any dark color paint pop. Its the best combination i have seen thus far.Once things go according to plan i may use the wet over ice combo to a dark color vehicle this weekend. I just hope the owner post some pics. 8)

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 23rd, 2012, 6:52 pm

Interesting. "best combo' is saying a lot. Would have to see that irl myself. Pics are nice, but don't always work.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 23rd, 2012, 6:59 pm

fackin rain. what is the best way to remove the "sand" that clings to bumpers/fenders? i wax my car with spray wax so no rain spots really, and the sand and other dirt can be wiped off (buh i doh wah fack up meh paint job in d process)

so yea is there any quick fix for this? spray detailer?

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 23rd, 2012, 7:26 pm

^^^ if the rest of the car is relatively clean, why don't you just spray off the bumpers and fenders with a hose and then dry with a microfiber/ terry cloth?

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 23rd, 2012, 7:40 pm

^^ nice suggestion. i actually tried spraying with the hose, but seemed to mess up the scenes. and well im afraid of using the terry cloth on the paint unless i know the surface is clean. (new paint job)

btw i use mothers fx spray wax. i would of course like to try something more potent (anything exists that repels the muddy water -_- ?)

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 23rd, 2012, 7:59 pm

you could use the hose and wipe with a microfiber cloth while you spraying. Should've said that before, my bad.

Postby gastly369 » May 23rd, 2012, 8:15 pm

what brand paint sealant would you recommend to buy pplz?

Wolfgang
Klasse
Smartwax
Meguiar's<< cant find anywhere :(

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 23rd, 2012, 8:20 pm

I wouldn't try to remove any of that 'sand' or grit with just water. Actually if you've got a lot of it I don't think there's any way getting around a proper wash. Good lubricity and foam are what will remove those best without damaging your paint. Spray detailers, while they are good for dust, aren't something I would risk with a lot of grit.

As for resisting water, it has to be a lot and you have to be moving well for most waxes to allow runoff good enough that it doesn't require washing. Although, in these cases the back bumper changes color with the amount of dirt it collects. Driving around slowly on wet road with the light splashes always screws up the car to the point of needing washing. Try switching to the actual wax rather than the spray on and see if you get a better finish. It'll at least be more durable. For spray on waxes I've found the Aqua wax works pretty well.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 23rd, 2012, 8:33 pm

^^ i wash (+ amateur detail) every week dese days, kinda hard in this weather to put actual elbow greeece in waxing (with propa wax) only to have it completely destroyed within 10 mins of driving. spray wax is still quickly completed.

i guess i will experiment with washing (megs wash+wax) the panels which got coated with the dirt (damn rogue splashes).

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 24th, 2012, 8:11 pm

nemesis wrote:Interesting. "best combo' is saying a lot. Would have to see that irl myself. Pics are nice, but don't always work.

You should try it sometime

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » May 24th, 2012, 11:12 pm

got some new toys this week.will post pics and my attempt at a full detail on my car

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » May 25th, 2012, 12:27 am

Hey what do you guys think about this? Just wash and dry. (No rinse)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000E9 ... d_i=507846

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » May 25th, 2012, 12:56 am

Autoglym Resin Polish
Lost the other pics.
Will take out some more when I wash and polish.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » May 25th, 2012, 7:40 am

^^You should top that with some sort of wax, since SRP isn't very durable by itself. Any "NON cleaning" wax will do.

I've used Optimum No Rinse. It's ok, and it has quite a rang eof uses. I mixed/diluted mine to use as a Quick Detailer. You can also use it as an addition to your existing car wash, or even as a stand alone spray on car wash.

I've tried it as a Spray on car wash as well. Not half bad, but it leaves a strange beading effect.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 25th, 2012, 7:58 am

pyung99 : Don't think of it as a waste or being destroyed. It'll protect your paint and prevent it from getting as dirty as quickly. When you try the wash+wax let me know how it goes. The dodo juice sour wash does work I believe. If you use it too soon after waxing it hazes as if the vehicle was waxed too soon after the first coat. That's really my only proof of it leaving behind any wax. That being said, I wonder if the wax in the wash will cling well to a vehicle that wasn't waxed previously?

Karim : I do intend to try it. Will be my next purchase. They're owned by autogeek now though right? I wonder if autogeek will allow them to slot in above the pinnacle? I still have the supernatural to try, so the blackfire will come in a few mths. When I run out of AG EGP I will go with their sealant though.

Kaylomilo: Rinsing is probably the easiest part of washing. No rinse might not be the best means for saving time. Then again, I've never really checked out that product.
I'm guessing you used first generation SRP? Anyone found the 2nd gen locally yet? Interested in trying it.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 26th, 2012, 6:48 am

Today is a really nice day to do some detailing guys what you think?

Postby Trini Hookah » May 26th, 2012, 9:13 am

^ Agree!

kaylomilo nice rims you got there, they suit the car.

Can anyone recommend a good tyre shine? Looking for something that won't leave residue on the rims if it accidentally runs on it.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 26th, 2012, 10:27 am

I don't know if this was covered already, but what would you guys recommend for cleaning interior plastics?
eg:

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2012, 10:31 am

Trini Hookah wrote:^ Agree!

Can anyone recommend a good tyre shine? Looking for something that won't leave residue on the rims if it accidentally runs on it.

Any silicone based tyre shine work, just allow enough time to dry

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » May 26th, 2012, 1:17 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Hey thanks guys.
Yes nemesis I use first generation SRP. Can't find the 2nd generation locally (yet).

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » May 26th, 2012, 1:19 pm

tourniquet wrote:I don't know if this was covered already, but what would you guys recommend for cleaning interior plastics?
eg:

Hey tourniquet you can try this.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 26th, 2012, 2:02 pm

Interior Plastics I use AG Rubber and Vinyl Care or Griots Vinyl and rubber dressing. Both I put on and wipe after drying to maintain a matt finish. Both of these just look black, not fake shiny. Whichever you do use wipe off the excess to prevent it from collecting dust too quickly.
If you want a shiny look there are many many options.
Either way if you haven't used any such product in a while apply more than one coat and then remove the excess so it'll look more even.

Hookah : Anything that runs or slings should really go outward if it happens while you're driving. If it runs inward while you're applying perhaps you're using too much and should let a lesser coat dry and then apply again and let dry if you want extra shine. And if something slings it's either it didn't dry properly first or enough was applied that it is removed quickly with a little water. Try applying, allow to dry, then wipe the tires again so they are just left looking black, but do not have excess product. This of course will not work if you want your tires very shiny.
Some products that are not supposed to sling much are tyromania(supposed to be very matt looking though. Wouldn't suit many trini's) and the Griots long lasting dressing if you want to order online.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 26th, 2012, 9:56 pm

tourniquet wrote:I don't know if this was covered already, but what would you guys recommend for cleaning interior plastics?
eg:

This is a very good product for both cleaning and protecting interior components

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 27th, 2012, 6:08 am

Is it an amourall looking finish or a matt finish? Or does it require removing most to get matt?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 27th, 2012, 7:01 am

^^^ its a matt finish, cleaning and protecting in one wipe. The Meguiar's Interior Detailer is something you have to try!

Postby MG Man » May 27th, 2012, 10:52 pm

hmm.............I just use a damp cloth and a detailing brush.........

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 28th, 2012, 5:40 am

I always dread cleaning my rims, whats a good brush to geT?

Also, even after I wash and use quick detailer...a lil rain and after the dust beads up and looks horrible.

SIgn that it need waxing again?

jdeen

Postby jdeen » May 28th, 2012, 6:44 am

kaylomilo wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Hey thanks guys.
Yes nemesis I use first generation SRP. Can't find the 2nd generation locally (yet).

Shining Monkey Tire Shine!