The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 3rd, 2012, 10:40 am

trvs wrote:@Allergic2BunnyEars, I think I will order a Porter-Cable soon! Tell me how much it costs to clear when you get it in your hands. 8-)

Yeah will let you guys know total cost.

dok_tec wrote:stephon,its the PC 7424xp

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:"Your Amazon.com order of "Porter-Cable 7424XP 6-Inch..." has shipped!"

Yeeeeessssss!

good stuff, make sure and buy a velcro backing plate to use with meguiars/3m pads

First time ordering this stuff so dunno. Why do I need a velcro backing plate? Polishers don't come with everything required to use with pads?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » July 3rd, 2012, 11:44 am

^^^ nah the 7424 could only be used with porter cable pads which have a backing pad permanently attached to them so you need the velcro backing plate to use with hook and loop pads such as from 3m and meguiars pads

Postby Rainman » July 3rd, 2012, 12:54 pm

dok_tec wrote:^^^ nah the 7424 could only be used with porter cable pads which have a backing pad permanently attached to them so you need the velcro backing plate to use with hook and loop pads such as from 3m and meguiars pads

Maybe I misunderstood what you're trying to say, but I have a 7424XP, been using it for the past 2 years and have used many different combinations of backing plates and pads. Meguiars, lake and country, 3M etc...

Can you clarify what you meant?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » July 3rd, 2012, 2:59 pm

as is the 7424 needs the velcro backing pad to be used with hook and loop pads otherwise only the porter cable pads with already attached backing pad will screw in

Postby Stephon. » July 3rd, 2012, 3:24 pm

I need some help, so I washed my vehicles a few times, and I've used the Meguiars Hot Tire Shine on them. Now I realized that every time I try to wash the car, the rims keep getting harder and harder to clean, to the point where there is a particular spot on the rim on one of my vehicles that cannot get any of the dirt off, it seems to be "a part" of the rim, if that makes sense, and no matter how hard I scrub it this particular spot wont come out. I wipe off any of the tire shine that gets on the rim when I spray it, so this shouldn't be happening right? Advice?

Postby S_2NR » July 3rd, 2012, 3:26 pm

^is it a hard water stain?

Postby Stephon. » July 3rd, 2012, 3:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:^is it a hard water stain?

Not really, it just looks like dirt from regular driving stuck on the rim.

Postby S_2NR » July 3rd, 2012, 3:32 pm

if it looks almost embedded, its the same thing i have ..
go back a few pages where i asked karim about it.

or just power wash the b!tch if u brave enough, it helps.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 3rd, 2012, 3:35 pm

clay bar wouldn't get rid of that?

Postby Stephon. » July 3rd, 2012, 3:38 pm

Ok, thanks!

Postby Stephon. » July 3rd, 2012, 3:39 pm

Well I'm gonna try this first

Karim Khan wrote:S_2NR, if its a painted surface and it looks like hard water stains, try some of the cleaner wax, it should either remove it or there should be at the very least some improvement.

Blackbyrd

Postby Blackbyrd » July 4th, 2012, 12:26 pm

Where can i get a buffer machine like this? I don't want a very expensive one, it will be much easier than polishing by hand.

Also what pads should I use for applying and removing the polish ?

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » July 4th, 2012, 12:55 pm

Guys here are some pics of day one of my international Autoglym training course in England.

Front of the building

Wet bay

Me doing some detailing

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » July 4th, 2012, 1:25 pm

^^ daz wah we sayin

btw is autoglym really so good that yuh cud fahq up ur paintjob if ur not a pro?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 4th, 2012, 3:01 pm

This product is wicked . Check out the water beading in the pic . The secret with the Autoglym high definition wax is knowing how to apply it correctly.

Amazing isn't it !

trvs

Postby trvs » July 4th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Good stuff there Karim.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 4th, 2012, 5:58 pm

yuh wanna demo on one of my cars hahaha

Postby shogun » July 4th, 2012, 6:12 pm

Wow Karim. Good stuff.

Postby SR » July 4th, 2012, 6:30 pm

how many so called "local" detailers this dedicated and trained

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 6:34 pm

very impressive Karim!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 5th, 2012, 7:19 am

Stephon. wrote:Well I'm gonna try this first

would also try an apc, diluted of course

Karim Khan wrote:S_2NR, if its a painted surface and it looks like hard water stains, try some of the cleaner wax, it should either remove it or there should be at the very least some improvement.

jdeen

Postby jdeen » July 5th, 2012, 7:55 pm

FYI use coupon code "RT10" at checkout to receive 20% discount on pinnacle and Wolfgang products on their respective websites.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 6th, 2012, 3:35 am

That's me receiving my Autoglym certification @ the Autoglym International training centre in England.

I was able to get a tour of the Autoglym facility and it was amazing .

Here is a pic of me in the room where they make the Autoglym HD wax. Not much people get to see inside this room

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 6th, 2012, 5:25 am

well done again Karim.....raising the bar again...too bad so many detailers would never do this.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 6th, 2012, 8:01 am

Too bad for them but good for Karim :lol:. Has anyone ever seen a detailer with a certificate hung up in their place or under their house?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

Well done. Good to see Karim moving to a higher level of products now!

Postby gastly369 » July 6th, 2012, 11:11 am

lika bawse

Postby r3iXmann » July 6th, 2012, 12:05 pm

that's good stuff man...there's hope for trinidad after all

aidan

Postby aidan » July 6th, 2012, 12:44 pm

rip up man Karim!!good stuff!

Postby S_2NR » July 6th, 2012, 5:28 pm

Thread should be renamed to "Official Car Care Thread" or something of that sort. Would be more fitting now.