T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

speedwerk

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby speedwerk » July 23rd, 2013, 8:34 pm

fellers, I have to decided between a 2012 Tucson and a 2013 Vitara both cost $229k but the Vitara has a few more fetures and its had a better resale history I believe. Going tomorrow to buy one just not sure which, so please post reviews thanks.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 23rd, 2013, 9:06 pm

I would say go with the Vitara. I have heard lots of stories on the new Tuscons. I am not a fan of Suzuki, but on that comparison the Vitara wins easily

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 24th, 2013, 7:23 am

I will have to agree with dogichi...hearing too much horror stories wit dem tucsons (not like the SGV is mutually exclusive) but given the choices. Co worker of mine has a current gen SGV PBX, a 2005 model which he paid off since 2010. Time flies so quickly since this vehicle is in its 8th year of production going on to 9! Dated design but selling ok locally. Note that Suzuki declared bankrupt in North America and as such they pulled out of the market. Suzuki got less and less interest in the US and Canadian markets and that says a lot for me.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2013, 7:40 am

acesinghit wrote:I will have to agree with dogichi...hearing too much horror stories wit dem tucsons (not like the SGV is mutually exclusive) but given the choices. Co worker of mine has a current gen SGV PBX, a 2005 model which he paid off since 2010. Time flies so quickly since this vehicle is in its 8th year of production going on to 9! Dated design but selling ok locally. Note that Suzuki declared bankrupt in North America and as such they pulled out of the market. Suzuki got less and less interest in the US and Canadian markets and that says a lot for me.

Suzuki demand in US rises after bankruptcy

http://m.autoblog.com/2012/12/26/suzuki ... ankruptcy/

Postby Habit7 » July 24th, 2013, 7:53 am

SGV attracts carjackers. A friend of mine pregnant wife got hers stolen by was recovered with GPS, and recently there was that carjacking in Lange Park with the baby still inside.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2013, 7:56 am

Habit7 wrote:SGV attracts carjackers. A friend of mine pregnant wife got hers stolen by was recovered with GPS, and recently there was that carjacking in Lange Park with the baby still inside.

They both suffer the same level of target for car jacking. The sportage, the Tucson and the grand vitara. To me, I wonder if the popularity of these models will lead to some of those safety issues?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 24th, 2013, 8:09 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:I will have to agree with dogichi...hearing too much horror stories wit dem tucsons (not like the SGV is mutually exclusive) but given the choices. Co worker of mine has a current gen SGV PBX, a 2005 model which he paid off since 2010. Time flies so quickly since this vehicle is in its 8th year of production going on to 9! Dated design but selling ok locally. Note that Suzuki declared bankrupt in North America and as such they pulled out of the market. Suzuki got less and less interest in the US and Canadian markets and that says a lot for me.

misleading post. Check the date of publication and sadly North America still said goodbye to Suzuki. Nice try.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2013, 8:15 am

acesinghit wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

misleading post. Check the date of publication and sadly North America still said goodbye to Suzuki. Nice try.

I know it's From December but there was a scramble import a few batches on hearing of the bankruptcy. Still they have left and suzuki just didn't make it in the USA.

JStaples

Postby JStaples » July 24th, 2013, 9:57 am

Where selling the ford ranger and those prices??

JStaples

Postby JStaples » July 24th, 2013, 9:58 am

Sorry "at" those prices

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 24th, 2013, 3:52 pm

Speedwerk, if you could spend a little more, you could get a better SUV. The Suzuki Vitara has its own issues, more with bandits it seems. Keep checking around

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 24th, 2013, 10:59 pm

After 5 years my uncle's SGV is rusting on the doors just behind the sealing rubber.

speedwerk

Postby speedwerk » July 25th, 2013, 9:32 pm

Bpoght the SGV yesterday should get it by next Friday. For the price and features it was the better deal, Test drive the tucson twice and two different ones and got the same noise with the brakes. The rep said it has to be adjusted before they deliver it to the buyer. BS! As for being car jacked that can happen with any car thats why there is insurance. The SGV is for the wife not me

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2013, 9:48 pm

I like the look of the SGV. Simple lines age better than swoopy ones.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 26th, 2013, 6:19 am

Congrats speedwerk

Postby Habit7 » July 26th, 2013, 10:34 am

speedwerk wrote:Bpoght the SGV yesterday should get it by next Friday. For the price and features it was the better deal, Test drive the tucson twice and two different ones and got the same noise with the brakes. The rep said it has to be adjusted before they deliver it to the buyer. BS! As for being car jacked that can happen with any car thats why there is insurance. The SGV is for the wife not me

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 26th, 2013, 10:36 am

Habit7 wrote:
speedwerk wrote:Bpoght the SGV yesterday should get it by next Friday. For the price and features it was the better deal, Test drive the tucson twice and two different ones and got the same noise with the brakes. The rep said it has to be adjusted before they deliver it to the buyer. BS! As for being car jacked that can happen with any car thats why there is insurance. The SGV is for the wife not me

same thing i was wondering...yes any car can be jacked but some tend to be jacked a whole lot more than some others...and you assuming that they will take your car and tell you bye bye...some will kill you with one shot to your chest then take the car.

eel7

Postby eel7 » July 26th, 2013, 12:00 pm

Jus bookmarking. Lol

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » July 26th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Hi, I am looking to purchase the new Rio Hatch or possibly the Kia Soul, do any of you know from experience/friends etc. if there are any known issues with them or anything I should be wary of please? The SX4 Hatch is also an option, I would appreciate your views.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 26th, 2013, 2:53 pm

The Rio Hatch is (IMHO) the BEST car in it's class locally!

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Rode in a Rio already. Suspension was pretty rugged on harsh terrain, i really liked that. The acceleration was excellent, left quite a few tire marks. Overall is a pretty nice car, ideal for a small family

Postby gastly369 » July 26th, 2013, 3:36 pm

^^ also optima has a pretty stiff suspension(sport package) also for size for vehicle it corners nice

only problem for me (not rest of family who drives it) .. my hair on my head touches the roof ever so slightly when i set the driver seat to drive then again i eh standard height n all and prob need hair cut ..rocking cave man style right now :S

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2013, 9:35 pm

I doh biz bout what some say. D new Octavia styling not bad at all. I wish they would bring this version here:

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 26th, 2013, 9:38 pm

Don't hold your breath for this one allergic

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2013, 10:11 pm

I won't but even a lower spec trim new Octavia will look nice and even compete with Jetta, A4, A class and 1 series.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 27th, 2013, 2:44 pm

that octavia rs is sey

Postby Morpheus » July 27th, 2013, 3:03 pm

:shock: That Skoda looking hott

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 27th, 2013, 11:54 pm

Octavia resembles the Jetta too much IMO

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 28th, 2013, 12:29 pm

anyone knows the pricing scale of the 3 series and the 5 series BMW?
I know the 3 series starts at 435k....anyone?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 28th, 2013, 12:44 pm

316i starts at 370k.