My FD3S drag/ street project (Chevy V8)

GTR Fever

My FD3S drag/ street project (Chevy V8)

Postby GTR Fever » May 28th, 2014, 1:08 pm

So thread has been renamed to reflect the actual project. Haters gonna hate more now? :drinking: :drinking:

Anyways, pops and I have decided to "try out" the V8 setup before pulling it out. With that said, she was dropped off by V8 Boys on 12th July for some work to be done and come out as a potential daily driver/ gas guzzler. All amenities like A/C, power steering etc etc and a proper working V8 powerhouse.

Coilovers should be in hand within the next week or two to lower the back, stiffen the front and transfer some of the weight to the back, hopefully gaining traction.

There are some pics somewhere around with the V8 in it so I'll try finding them. (taken in 2011)

Last edited by GTR Fever on August 25th, 2014, 8:34 am, edited 3 times in total.

moving

Re: My FD3S drift/ street project (SR20DET)

Postby moving » May 28th, 2014, 1:54 pm

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 28th, 2014, 2:01 pm

saw that post and a few others.

Don't plan to cut the firewall at all to avoid trouble at licensing office. Might need to move the steering rack and do some other custom work to make it fit.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 28th, 2014, 2:05 pm

good look bro....if you need any help lemme know

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 28th, 2014, 7:19 pm

Thanks bro

Does anyone know what modification is needed without cutting the firewall?

Dropping the subframe with a spacer is not an option

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2014, 9:50 pm

meh
this finally move from behind the dentist office :lol:
i watch it and shake my head in shame everytime i see it

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 28th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Lol it didn't move yet..has been there for a few years.

Will move next month to begin the build.

Speedhunterzz

Postby Speedhunterzz » May 28th, 2014, 10:44 pm

y put an Ees arr 20 and u already hav ah small block in there?,run ah gear box and street management on the small block and use as a streetcar ...bonnet jus gonna look like a over size subaru ram..lol

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » May 28th, 2014, 11:00 pm

Pit a 2jz TT and call it final , real power consistent and durable , can't go wrong

Postby Ted_v2 » May 29th, 2014, 4:25 am

Good work. Power is power.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 29th, 2014, 5:36 am

To keep the V8 is a lot more work that that as the car's balance is way off. That means that the suspension will have to be re-done throughout and the rear suspension will definitely need a big upgrade to handle the power.

And after all that it still won't turn out to be what I want.

2jz requires even more cutting because of the engine length and a 2jz and gearbox is very expensive as compared to the SR20. Remember the idea is for a light-ish 300-350hp RWD fun car.

Postby turbosingh » May 29th, 2014, 8:43 am

I say stay rotary powered.

Postby j.o.e » May 29th, 2014, 8:53 am

20B fadda

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 29th, 2014, 9:00 am

Chris, the best advice i can give you is plan your project and stick to it. there are a lot of people especially on tuner who like to "cyah cyah" and eh know sheit.....

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 29th, 2014, 9:15 am

Agreed Aaron..I specifically said in the initial post that I'm unfamiliar with rotary and the car doesn't even have a rotary right now so sticking to rotary isn't that easy.

Checking out engines now so when a decision is made the build will start

moti

Postby moti » May 29th, 2014, 2:02 pm

Won't be the first 3rd Gen with the SR20 swap locally.

I know of one in Longdenville with a S15 engine.
It pulls mean.

Nice engine choice, and glad to know you looking at getting the car balanced once again.
I'll see if I can get the guys number and you can call him and inquire about his swap.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 29th, 2014, 2:37 pm

Thanks moti. Yeah I know of another one from Pasea side, going to check it out over the weekend. Was told he modified the sump and oil pick-up from front sump to mid/ rear sump. That way you won't have to modify the steering rack position, no cutting of firewall, shifter ends up centred in the hole etc etc..

So that is definitely an option since it's much safer for the purpose of the car.

For the "die-hard rotary guys" someone is interested in the V8 currently in the car and he happens to have a nice 13B parked at home for a few years waiting for a chassis to put it in.

Who is a reliable and good rotary mechanic as the only way that could possibly go in the car is if it's rebuilt with unbreakable seals and ported so it shouldn't have to come out again.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » May 29th, 2014, 4:11 pm

please don't molest it.

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » June 1st, 2014, 9:20 pm

Here you go bro.......
    1. Parts galore
    2. Use your own transmission
    3. Not another SR swap

ImageImageImageImage

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 1st, 2014, 9:41 pm

Thanks for the suggestion but if I'm going RWD 4 cylinder turbo I'll keep a platform I'm familiar with, SR20.

Those swaps look neat though!

Postby turbosingh » June 2nd, 2014, 8:54 am

I believe Rasheed in pasea has a 3rd gen with an Sr so you cu check him....

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 2nd, 2014, 7:19 pm

Rasheeds 3rd pulls mean!

SR20 is the best bet for it, and i would figure you want reliability and minor modifications.

Its not that hard once you have the correct builders.

Or you can just turn crazy and drop a 26 in it lol...

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 3rd, 2014, 2:34 pm

I still haven't made the time to go check out Rasheed's RX as yet..spoke to him a few times though.

Wondering how difficult it will be to build a custom sump pan or modify the existing one to work because cutting the firewall isn't an option, dropping the subframe isn't an option and my previous idea of moving the steering rack forward and lower a little seems to be problematic after some research.

It will cause bump steer and since the car is being built for street, I want to keep the handling characteristics as driver-controlled as possible.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 3rd, 2014, 3:05 pm

Why are you against lowering the subframe?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 3rd, 2014, 4:06 pm

The car is going to be lowered already so lowering the subframe will do two things:

1) make ground clearance a big problem since it's a street car

2) cause bump steer as it has done in many other FD swaps

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 3rd, 2014, 5:38 pm

Safer to rebuild the sump, if you need someone to do the work, i can point you to someone, he does really good work, but is located in Pt. fortin

Here is a pic of a oil sump makeover for an rb25 in a van, did not want to mod the subframe or cut, so i just wanted a quick make over thing, nothing neat or fancy, so you can get work to perfection from him if u require it, but to me, nobody is gonna be looking at your sump anyway
99999h.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » June 3rd, 2014, 6:36 pm

Good work considering sumps are a touchy thing to weld

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 3rd, 2014, 8:43 pm

Yea it does take some time to figure out how to do it, but if you notice too, my one slightly bigger on the relocation as I wanted 2 more quarts to be held in there without flooding the engine, this was for heavy cornering (or drift) purposes

Postby Ted_v2 » June 3rd, 2014, 8:59 pm

How's did the oil pickup work with the mods? Extended or stock?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 3rd, 2014, 9:24 pm

That sump looks good! Ideally I want the same thing, a quart or a little more extra since it will be pushed hard.

The oil pick up will have to be modified to lie wherever the deepest part of the sump is so it will have a easier job of picking up the oil.