WTK AVG price of Evo IX

Silvermike

Re: WTK AVG price of Evo IX

Postby Silvermike » October 7th, 2014, 12:09 pm

for the price, e9 is a waste. a good 03-05 e8 would be 50k cheaper at least and is a good a base as a stock e9 to start, with mod money in ure back pocket.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 7th, 2014, 12:42 pm

IX is the evo to have.
But I wouldn't pay more than $210k for one.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 7th, 2014, 1:23 pm

Basically its the evo 5 and the 10 are my two fav.
The 5 is the first to come with brembos ,easily modded
. And the 10 traction control / electronics are the bomb.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 8th, 2014, 5:14 pm

VI TME or VI RS2 > Evo IX GSR or GT (unicorn) for JDM market or SE for US (5 speed FTW) > Evo VIII GSR

Anything with the 6 speed, ie MR doesn't even make it in the list. A fun evo starts around 400whp and the 6 speed can't take much more than that. As far as the X...if you want a sports car with a nicer interior why bother with the X just go straight to a nice S3 or S4 chassis Audi, Porsche Cayman S, E46 M3 upward BMW or C class AMG Mercedes. The X never made sense to me with it's higher price tag at the expense of a nicer interior+creature comforts. Chances are if you can afford a X new you can afford european luxery/performance coupe/sedan. Don't know what Mitsubishi was thinking trying to make a more refined evo for that market sector of buyers :roll:

You buy an evo for the performance and 4 door practicality before the comfort. Moreover, the 4B11 for all it's technology and improvements seldom makes power like the 4G63 and MMC compensated for the extra weight of the CZ4A chassis with electronic wizardry. The MR loses a sheit ton of power to the wheels with it's crappy SST system.

For the corners: there's a reason the top Time Attack teams like Tilton, Cyber/Voltex and HKS use/used the CT9A chassis. Beyond that in every day terms the IV under steers out the box and run the risk of crank walk, V less chance of crank walk but can't compare to the VI in terms of performance. If you are drag racing best to go with a II or III and save yourself the weight all together.

VI gets my top vote because it maintains the best overall balance of performance and dd manners but leans more toward the performance side of things - which is why you buy the car in the first place. The CT9A chassis is a bit more refined but I prefer the slightly more raw and direct feeling with the CP9A chassis

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » October 8th, 2014, 5:34 pm

BTW silvermike you need to change your TriniTuner "Location". :P

Postby Morpheus » October 8th, 2014, 6:33 pm

Great stuff R. Mutt. Thanks

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 8th, 2014, 6:42 pm

R. Mutt wrote:VI TME or VI RS2 > Evo IX GSR or GT (unicorn) for JDM market or SE for US (5 speed FTW) > Evo VIII GSR

Anything with the 6 speed, ie MR doesn't even make it in the list. A fun evo starts around 400whp and the 6 speed can't take much more than that. As far as the X...if you want a sports car with a nicer interior why bother with the X just go straight to a nice S3 or S4 chassis Audi, Porsche Cayman S, E46 M3 upward BMW or C class AMG Mercedes. The X never made sense to me with it's higher price tag at the expense of a nicer interior+creature comforts. Chances are if you can afford a X new you can afford european luxery/performance coupe/sedan. Don't know what Mitsubishi was thinking trying to make a more refined evo for that market sector of buyers :roll:

You buy an evo for the performance and 4 door practicality before the comfort. Moreover, the 4B11 for all it's technology and improvements seldom makes power like the 4G63 and MMC compensated for the extra weight of the CZ4A chassis with electronic wizardry. The MR loses a sheit ton of power to the wheels with it's crappy SST system.

For the corners: there's a reason the top Time Attack teams like Tilton, Cyber/Voltex and HKS use/used the CT9A chassis. Beyond that in every day terms the IV under steers out the box and run the risk of crank walk, V less chance of crank walk but can't compare to the VI in terms of performance. If you are drag racing best to go with a II or III and save yourself the weight all together.

VI gets my top vote because it maintains the best overall balance of performance and dd manners but leans more toward the performance side of things - which is why you buy the car in the first place. The CT9A chassis is a bit more refined but I prefer the slightly more raw and direct feeling with the CP9A chassis
Hi Mutt How yuh goin?

Yup, IMHO your comments hit the nail on the head...
VI TME or VI RS2 > Evo IX GSR or GT (unicorn) for JDM market or SE for US (5 speed FTW) > Evo VIII GSR...
Yup, that's what the Road Tests & Reviews said over the last 15 years.

4G63T > 4B11T... Yup, for greater RELIABILITY, torque, power and LOWER COST when modified
... and with a hell of a lot less headaches to achieve even better engine performance than the 4B11T!

MMC compensated for the extra weight of the CZ4A chassis with electronic wizardry... Yup, they had to deal with 800 lb. extra.

CP9A chassis > CT9A chassis > CZ4A chassis... Yup, for better handling, "turn-in", brakes, driver feedback etc.

Yup, you can make an E10 competitive... almost anything is possible with enough $$$$.
But somehow I just don't see the point.

Our Image

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » October 8th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Cheers Morpheus. Busy with life Sanctifier but all is well :D How is the RS2 treating you? Gem of a car you have there.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 8th, 2014, 7:30 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
IMHO a stock E10 is just too heavy (E6 RS=1260 kg_2778 lbs... Evo X MR=1630 kg_3594 lbs... 816 lbs more than an E6 RS) and doesn't have the turn-in, handling or acceleration that I want... and E10 maintenance costs are ridiculous.

My Image

I do agree the EVO X is much heavier, as are most newer cars, but is it really fair to compare the weight of a RS model to a MR?

Postby nervewrecker » October 8th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Didn't some guy in the mistu forum bring in a IX wagon some time back?

It looks so sexy on the road.

Postby 16 cycles » October 8th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Was looking at weight of fq360...it not as much as 800lbs over ct9a...was somthn like 300lbs iirc...unless given wrong stats...

Head to head on a circuit..not much seperates x from ct9a or gdb...grb chassis...

If you dont wanna go heavier but more creature comforts and close performance...buy an sti

Silvermike gonna kill me now...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 8th, 2014, 8:39 pm

The 4b11 makes 350/350 at the wheels easier than the 4g63. Above that I suppose the 4g is cheaper. The added weight of the e10 and driving feel kills it tho.

Cp9a is great. Sucks for part availability as compared to the ct9a.

I guess it all depends on what u want an evo for.

A quick and fun daily driver. E10
A 500+ whp project. Ct9a.
A 3-400whp weekend / track car. Cp9a.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 8th, 2014, 8:41 pm

No I agree. When u wanna puss out. Go sti. They will throw in the pink badge for free

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 8th, 2014, 9:59 pm

how easy to attain that 350/350 on the X

Postby Morpheus » October 8th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Silvermike wrote:No I agree. When u wanna puss out. Go sti. They will throw in the pink badge for free

^^LoL.

Too bad Evo IX too old to bring in now......legally

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 9th, 2014, 5:01 am

Ive tuned an sst to 330whp with a fmic and catback with wmi. 345whp on a. 5sp with same mods. Stock injectors max around there.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 9th, 2014, 7:18 am

I agree.. BUT for a fun and reliable/ weekend autocross/dex car and easier on the wallet, I have driven and to my surprise... enjoyed the RalliArt (X look-alike).. I think it was 300/300 with a Evo x turbo and fmic transplant... SST was impressive and when left in D was not herky jerky like the MR..

Postby Morpheus » October 9th, 2014, 9:58 am

Yeo wrote:I agree.. BUT for a fun and reliable/ weekend autocross/dex car and easier on the wallet, I have driven and to my surprise... enjoyed the RalliArt (X look-alike).. I think it was 300/300 with a Evo x turbo and fmic transplant... SST was impressive and when left in D was not herky jerky like the MR..

That's my kinda info dey. Was kinda set on a Galant Fortis Ralliart but was thinking why not bunp up to Evo?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 9th, 2014, 12:18 pm

Big price difference between the two.
The galant and the evo.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 9th, 2014, 1:39 pm

The Ralliart is available exclusively with the TC-SST transmission. The TC-SST transmission equipped in the Ralliart offers 2 modes (Normal, Sport) rather than the 3 modes the same transmission offers in the Lancer Evolution X MR (Normal, Sport, S-Sport). The car also includes a simplified version of the Evolution X's AWD system, with a simple "mechanical limited slip" rear differential.

For 2012, car tuners/mechanics have figured out how to successfully update the Lancer Ralliart's transmission with the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X MR TCU (transmission control unit) firmware, allowing/enabling the Ralliart's TC-SST to be operated in the 3 transmission modes available in the Evo X MR (Normal, Sport, S-Sport).
Mitsubishi Corp. has issued a service bulletin to void repairs if a vehicle is found with this update.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » October 9th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Yeo thusty! All that research...you must be looking to upgrade soon lol

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 9th, 2014, 2:27 pm

i can't do the SST thing... just can't. really kills it for me.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 9th, 2014, 2:32 pm

@ R. Mutt & Silvermike :lol: :lol: :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 9th, 2014, 2:42 pm

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 9th, 2014, 4:00 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Big price difference between the two.
The galant and the evo.

nope, not from japan,the difference is like 5k, is bess u put d extra & get the real deal

Postby Morpheus » October 9th, 2014, 4:42 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
The galant and the evo.

nope, not from japan,the difference is like 5k, is bess u put d extra & get the real deal

Yup the difference isn't that much....

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 9th, 2014, 8:12 pm

I'll just place these here:

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 10th, 2014, 9:58 am

Morpheus wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:
The galant and the evo.

Yup the difference isn't that much....

Take into account the difference in maintenance costs, insurance.. and u know you will want to mod it.

Postby Morpheus » October 10th, 2014, 12:33 pm

Yeah was just the purchase price really.....on auction. Cost of ownership will be different. Just those brakes alone.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 10th, 2014, 1:18 pm

Firstly all evos are lovely cars.
While my personal preference is for the IX, the X is an awesome car.
The X is more comfortable and easier to drive, but despite her added weight she can still hold her own quite well.
The 4G63 engine is a most impressive engine.
The IX is much more harsh and rugged than the X. But is is also much simpler due to it not having all the electronic wizardry of the X. To me this makes it more fun to drive.
So while everyone is saying which is the best, I say they are all awesome.