The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Karim Khan » April 23rd, 2015, 4:52 pm

Just a little teaser of my recent training at Modesta Pluscon Global Training and Conference 2015

I was specially invited by the Modesta distributor for the Americas. I was told that i am the only person representing Trinidad and Tobago and the entire english speaking caribbean.

Here i am using the Rupes BIg Foot Polisher, blue foam pad and Modesta P-01A Glass Coating Primer on this Bentley Continental GT Speed.

If your going to do high end training you should be trained on high end vehicles!!!
Last edited by Karim Khan on April 24th, 2015, 6:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » April 23rd, 2015, 6:08 pm

Where do I get pads for the griots garage polisher locally? Looking for good pads but nothing too ridiculous price wise.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 24th, 2015, 6:50 am

Look for any of the Meguiars soft buff polishing pads. They get the job done!

Postby DVSTT » April 24th, 2015, 8:38 am

Karim Khan wrote:Look for any of the Meguiars soft buff polishing pads. They get the job done!

That'll work with the uc compound to get out swirls and minor oxidation?

kbetz

Postby kbetz » April 25th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Representing well there Karim, heard a lot about your work, see you give good advice as well.
when I grow up I wanna be just like you... 8-)

kbetz

Postby kbetz » April 25th, 2015, 1:59 pm

cinco wrote:Did u check price club?

Checked price club, lubetech, Carplus, Bel Air, Unipet in marabella and others no luck. Just ended up ordering it.

Now I'm content
20150425_072313.jpg

I also got the Meguiars DA polisher and some pads
20150425_073024.jpg

Can't wait to put this to use

Postby DVSTT » April 25th, 2015, 3:52 pm

kbetz wrote:
cinco wrote:Did u check price club?

Checked price club, lubetech, Carplus, Bel Air, Unipet in marabella and others no luck. Just ended up ordering it.

Now I'm content
20150425_072313.jpg

I also got the Meguiars DA polisher and some pads
20150425_073024.jpg

Can't wait to put this to use

The backing on those pads are velcro? You bought them locally?!

kbetz

Postby kbetz » April 25th, 2015, 5:00 pm

DVSTT wrote:The backing on those pads are velcro? You bought them locally?!

Yes the backing is velcro or as it is normally called hook and loop fasteners. I ordered them with the DA but they are available locally at Price Club and you should get them also at lubetech

Postby DVSTT » April 25th, 2015, 8:34 pm

kbetz wrote:

Yes the backing is velcro or as it is normally called hook and loop fasteners. I ordered them with the DA but they are available locally at Price Club and you should get them also at lubetech

Thanks man!

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2015, 7:38 am

kbetz wrote:

I use chemical guys buffing pads. The hexagon shape holds the polish from slinging

Postby DVSTT » April 26th, 2015, 8:23 am

cinco wrote:
kbetz wrote:

I use chemical guys buffing pads. The hexagon shape holds the polish from slinging

Never tried those. I used Griots pads but they started unsticking from the velcro part and disintegrating. Plus I found the pad didn't cut enough with the UC.

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2015, 5:12 pm

DVSTT wrote:
cinco wrote:
kbetz wrote:

Never tried those. I used Griots pads but they started unsticking from the velcro part and disintegrating. Plus I found the pad didn't cut enough with the UC.

Which ones did you use?

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2015, 5:13 pm

Did some shining up today

aidan

Postby aidan » April 27th, 2015, 10:32 am

looking good cinco.

DVSTT, them griots pads is sheit. They fall apart too quickly after, even after the first wash. I start using the chemical guys pads, much more durable, and I find easier to work with.

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » April 27th, 2015, 10:06 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430186791.134291.jpg

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 27th, 2015, 10:28 pm

i prefer the Meguair's Pads over most of the top brands. Very good build quality and they take a lot of licks and delivering the results i desire.

Remember guys, using the best tools, chemicals and equipment will only represent 30% of the job but the next 60% is a combination of experience and knowing of how to properly use the above and the last 10% is pure passion.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 27th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Apparently the snow foam is becoming a huge thing in Trinidad, nearly every car wash is using this technology. I remember when it was probably only me that was using this technology commercially.

Anyway this is how its properly done!

Enjoy

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 28th, 2015, 4:47 am

Yup, funny enough a lot of the car washes are using cheap car wash liquids thinking it would foam

Postby MG Man » April 28th, 2015, 9:51 am

foam means nothing if you using crap chemicals.....but a lot of people are falling for what is now becoming a marketing gimmick

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 28th, 2015, 10:10 am

MG Man wrote:foam means nothing if you using crap chemicals.....but a lot of people are falling for what is now becoming a marketing gimmick

exactly....i remember washing my car by a car wash in gulf view...i stopped the guy when he washed off the "foam", payed him and left. i washed my car myself when i got home....

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2015, 10:19 pm

recently got:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ITNLD4W/
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0055PD1H4/
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002G29LLE/ (Because finding a piece of foam is hard)

gonna try this soon:

I hadda order those CG products though... sadly. Does anyone carry CG's products locally?
that silk shine looking great! I'm assuming that I'll need to cover d ECU as well (Thanks toyota), my battery and alarm horn?

I noticed Meg's has this:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P9OF04I/
for the lights... however it's an aerosol... and we all know air freight and these dont go along... anyone saw this locally?

Also, the rubbers and the plastics in my wheel well looks horrid :( (well to me... not the average joe... people find it looking normal but... yunno...) I think it is old/affected by the wheel cleaner/degreaser... Would that Meg's ultimate black work to restore it? I was hoping it will...

aidan

Postby aidan » May 12th, 2015, 11:31 am

M_2NR, techmotive imports in aranguez has CG products, but their prices hot, it comes up better if you order online. But if you want something fast, they are an option.

that megs headlight restorer decent, but buy the 3M kit instead. Works just as good and you end up with a 3" velcro backing plate that you could stick pads on to for future use. And it's half the price. I use Meguiar's G17110 Headlight Protectant to protect the headlamps after cleaning and re apply whenever I wash the car. Never had any yellowing after restoration.

The plastics you talking about is like the wheel arch liner? What I do is clean it properly with simple green and some carwash mix (for underbody I does use cheapo Gablex car wash). Then let it dry properly and use 303 Aerospace protectant on it. It looks like new, and lasts.

Advent

Postby Advent » May 26th, 2015, 7:16 pm

Any rim cleaning products in TNT and where , like black magic ?

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » May 26th, 2015, 9:14 pm

Best cleaning solution is to remove rims and use purple tuff raw it works like a boss

Postby MG Man » May 26th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Eagle One A-Z wheel cleaner...safe on all types of rim finishes

Postby cinco » May 26th, 2015, 9:41 pm

R.P.J wrote:Best cleaning solution is to remove rims and use purple tuff raw it works like a boss

Great way to destroy yuh rim clear coat/finish

Postby cinco » May 26th, 2015, 9:43 pm

Can't stop staring at her when she is this shiny. Combination of 845 and white diamond glaze done 3 weeks ago car was washed Saturday pic was taken today

Advent

Postby Advent » May 27th, 2015, 9:22 am

MG Man wrote:Eagle One A-Z wheel cleaner...safe on all types of rim finishes

any stores ?

aidan

Postby aidan » May 27th, 2015, 11:05 pm

cinco, looking rel bess man