T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

PapaC

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby PapaC » March 21st, 2017, 10:19 am

Seeing the Ford Focus Ecoboost being touted on FB.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 21st, 2017, 11:00 am

New Kuga is almost in show rooms 299k for the basic 345 for the leather.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 22nd, 2017, 5:49 am

So collected the Baleno last week, and I here is what I have experienced thus far:

- Averaging about 10.2km/l thus far
- Electric steering could take some getting used to
- Fuel tank is really small, took approximately $120. to brim
- You might not win any races, but chuck it around a smooth windy road and boy will you love it
- Uneven road surfaces on corners may cause the car to sort of loose the line you took when entering the corner (nothing a little steering correction can fix)

Still getting used to the car and will add as I go along. My verdict, if you want a compact car to take you from point A to point B and don't really care about the few extras, go with the GL. If you have the money however, the upgrade to the GLX will be worth it

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2017, 6:23 am

What essentially does the glx give u over the gl?

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 22nd, 2017, 6:38 am

Dave wrote:What essentially does the glx give u over the gl?

Keyless entry and push button ignition
LED daytime running lights with HID lights
Factory rear tint
Spoiler over the third mount stop lamp
Rear disc brakes

That's off the top of my head, not sure if I missed any

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » March 22nd, 2017, 6:53 am

Suzuki have a promotion going on now.... $2,000 down and $2,000 a month on the ciaz and baleno. The suv's and dem I think is $3000 down and $3,000 monthly

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2017, 7:53 am

pablo_tt wrote:

Factory rear tint
Rear disc brakes

Wow nothing needed there. What the cost diff?
Thanks

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 22nd, 2017, 7:54 am

Dave wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:

Factory rear tint
Rear disc brakes

Wow nothing needed there. What the cost diff?
Thanks

GL was like 150k something thereabouts and the GLX 169,950

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 22nd, 2017, 10:41 am

pablo_tt wrote:- Averaging about 10.2km/l thus far

That's pretty low for such a small car.
My '08 fielder is currently averaging 12.54km/l
Highest I ever got to a tank was 15.72km/l

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2017, 12:40 pm

With my experience mileage gets better with age. Saw the same with a local nze. Used to return about 100 to first qtr and off late was returning 140-150 for same first qtr
But then again if that zuki is hefty that maybe the region it would be in.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 25th, 2017, 5:45 pm

Any opinions on the 2017 Colorado? How is the resale of the older generation? Anyone can speak to the reliability? I personally like them but I feel if you buy one you are stuck with it till you run it down.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 25th, 2017, 6:04 pm

When I once asked the chevy sales guy about resale value of their cars he said people who buy these cars keep them in the family and do not sell ... Which basically means a big fat good luck if you try to sell cause you gonna need it.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 25th, 2017, 9:55 pm

Yes, the guy fed me the same line. He said that they had a trade in option. The Colorado is very nice though and the reviews from Australia has been +ve, I'm wondering if they can turn their reputation around in Trinidad like Kia.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 25th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Last I heard lifestyle was having a trade in too...so you can get it assessed and traded for a newer model

Postby RedVEVO » March 26th, 2017, 2:48 am

^ Lifestyle : Trade in values are very low. Resale value on these .. zero .

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 26th, 2017, 10:02 am

Once its not Toyota, Honda and Nissan, resale value would be a huge issue. I've seen the resale of South Korean brands improve over the years and the Ford and Chevys. Hyundai/Kia, Ford and Chevrolet in 2017 is far superior to what they offered back in the early 2000's and before. When buying a new vehicle, resale would take a huge hit in the first few years. Try and keep it for minimum 5 and then re-assess from there.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 26th, 2017, 4:52 pm

I'm trying to get some local reviews on the Colorado and Chevy in general. Compared to the Hilux the Colorado gives you so much more. Also having owned a Toyota brand new I've found Toyota's customer service to really bad, but I guess when you buy a used car you not going back by the dealers.

stevo_d

Postby stevo_d » March 27th, 2017, 12:05 am

Think they will bring the Elantra Sport to Trinidad? 200hp, 196 lb-ft torque from a 1.6T and independent rear suspension sounding cool.

http://www.hyundai.com.au/cars/small-ca ... elantra-sr

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 27th, 2017, 7:55 am

Yup all the reviewers saying they got the suspension and handling down ... Now they just need to work on steering and transmission programming and response.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 27th, 2017, 9:42 am

I've asked several person and the response has been no. It's not carded for our region. I guess it might eat into Sales of the Sonata.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 27th, 2017, 9:47 am

Based on my search, budget and needs I'm looking at the Basic sportage, the basic Tuscon and the 4x4 Colorado. Also in the running is the HRV. The Colorado has the most features even more that some higher end cars but that resale has be concerned. The Sportage seems to be the front runner as it has more features than the Tuscon.

Postby eliteauto » March 27th, 2017, 9:58 am

Buy a vehicle that gives you the best value and experience over your ownership period. Resale value becomes moot once you've enjoyed your time with a vehicle. Buying a vehicle with selling it in mind is best for straighteners and painters

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 27th, 2017, 10:02 am

Dave wrote:With my experience mileage gets better with age. Saw the same with a local nze. Used to return about 100 to first qtr and off late was returning 140-150 for same first qtr
But then again if that zuki is hefty that maybe the region it would be in.

Well after driving it some more, I am now up to 11KM/l

First service is tomorrow, so will update with further progress

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 27th, 2017, 10:05 am

So one upon a time I did that, there was this car that looked awesome, the drive was awesome and had more standard features when I bought it.I loved it .....but then after a few years reality struck and not only did the transmission fail, the windows fell down, the door locks failed the compressor failed, that car was a failure. I'm speaking about a Bora. What I've realized that resale tends to be an okay indicator of perceived reliability. I loved driving it I hated owning it.

Rafaelhic

New Car Prices in T

Postby Rafaelhic » March 28th, 2017, 9:25 am

Mazda only won in their category. The best new car will be announced at the auto show.

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2017, 5:17 pm

Today after a very long time I saw a first gen TCC Colorado. Looks that it was kept well and also does what it was meant for. Mud was spewed all on the side of the vehicle. Kudos to the owner.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 30th, 2017, 8:51 am

My brother bought a manual colorado last year. I have seen him haul bricks, gravel and sand with ease. One time the van got struck in mud with gravel in the tray. He switched to 4x4 and came unstuck with ease.

I drove it couple of times and loved it. The last time I did drive it and returned it to him, I watched my B15 and steups.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 30th, 2017, 10:39 am

Page 1
Last edited by agent007 on April 19th, 2017, 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » March 30th, 2017, 11:00 am

The Australian and US reviews of the new model have been complimentary

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 30th, 2017, 4:47 pm

^^ yupp

Wondering how the amarok users going??? Haven't heard anything on them at all