Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 25th, 2007, 2:12 am

TriniGT wrote:Thanks bro, I was gonna go for the RB25 because at first I was looking at the cost but then I decided to save and go all out on it or bust on the RB26DETT. We'll see how it goes. I don't expect the car to be back in a hurry so I am gonna concentrate on the engine now, I need to finish the port and polish, hopefully by next week that should be done and I am thinking about ordering some supertech valve springs and retainers for it as the head is off already. I would keep the stock cams for now until money permits but when I get some swapping wouldn't be hard at all. I already have the Gredy adjustable cam gears to dial in the stock cams for some extra HP.

I will be ordering Wiseco pistons, with rings, wrist pins and locks along with either the cheaper eagle rods and ARP connecting rod bolts or if I see some extra I will go with the pauter rods. Calico bearing will need to be ordered but I will need to check the clearances first as the RB26 is totally different from other SRs as there are markings engraved into the block and on the crank that need to be add together I think to calculate what bearing size is needed. Each RB26 bearing size differs. After ordering the pistons and rods and bearings it just the Tomei Baffle Plate that needs to be ordered and by then I should have gotten the crank back from being machined with the JUN crank collar and had the sump modded for a RWD only application i.e. remove the transfer case housing and weld it shut. Once the crank and pistons and rods are along with the bearing I will begin to mount the block.

After that it will just be to drill the back of the head and get the needed Aeroquip fittings and make a return from the back of the head to the sump and get the Tomei headgasket with the needed restrictor to limit the oil flow to the head. Widening the oil galleries is already in progress and also smoothening of the head for a better oil flow, likewise the block will get the same treatment to remove any factory imperfections where the block was molded and may throw off the oil flow, no grinding just some smoothening. Will start updating with some pics as well hopefully by next week. :)

All I'm missing is another S15 T28 Turbo, someone holla back SR20VE where are you???

One S15 T28 is good for upto 330bhp of airflow and was an idea that was toyed with but...times have changed.
www.greenline.jp is where most of the parts fitted to the yellow one were and are still being obtained.
That had the bottom end rebuilt with Total Seals and CP pistons.
We made the restictor to limit oil to the head.
Sump had a greedy extension welded on and the oil pump was uprated to N1 spec as was the water pump. Fortunately we had a 24U block and crank as against your 5U motor so the oil pump did not need a collar as the crank was modified by Nissan to cure premature oil failure.
If you plan on taking the motor to 8500revs then you should also fit an ATi damper as this also saves the oil pump an crank flex
Head ports where cleaned up and exhaust ports biased. and the top was freashed up with new valve stem seals as you do.
New Tomei bearing shells were fitted
Jun fasteners keep everything in place with a Tomei 1.2 head gasket.
This long block is now rebuilt and can support what ever is thrown at it.
The motor has HKS cams and springs, adjustable cam gears fro greenline uprated injectors to suit our power levels and a BNR32 HKS FMIC
I recalibrated the PCM to suit the hardware.
As this hardware has changed again drastically, the OEM PCM is going to be junked and an aftermarket one installed and a new calibration done from scratch.
We have owned a few of these cars and have an OK idea of what breaks on them and some of the suble changes Nissan did throughout they models BNR 32, BCNR33 and BNR34.
If youneed to know anything about this conversion or engine improvements please feel free to drop me a pm or email.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 25th, 2007, 6:55 am

I was thinking about getting the Greddy Sump setup but was worried about how low it would sit below the sway bars in the S14, so I am thinking about epxanding the setup surface area-wise and using the Tomei Baffle setup. As for the oil problem I am smoothening all all galleries, using the Tomei 1.2mm headgasket with built-in restrictor and also boring the back of the head to run a return directly to the sump and also widen the oil galleries. I always planned to get the ATI Dampener and also to order identically weighted pistons and rods so as to minimize harmonic vibrations at higher RPMs but I don't intend to have this car singing at 8500rpm but in the event that I were to ever misshift I should be covered.

Yeah I knew that Navin dealt some damage to some motors in his time and I hope he has learnt, I heard he recently damaged one of the HKS turbos on the project engine. Getting boost happy is a real problem, nothing I have to worry about. Hopefully next week I will be ordering the pistons, thinking about just staying with the stock bore rather than boreing and getting it crosshatched and decked. First on the agenda is the bottom end and then from there the head will be worked on. After that I will start to mockup the T28s in a top mounted format. We'll see how it progresses. gtiman lookout for some PMs. Also if money permits I'll be going with the Tomei Oil Pump and an N1 Water pump for sure.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 25th, 2007, 10:43 am

Narvin knows what time it is with boost happiness as we do things very scientifically on that motor. The GT2530s were tired so the CHRA cartidge collasped which renders the huffer as junk. The project motor is the only one we have had teething problems with as he attempted to extract more from it due to calculated targets. It was almost killed when a certain calibrator put "super" in and started to put more advance in the spark maps then run 14-18psi in testing causing the rings to hug up the pistons tight! Should have known "super" is not "superunleaded 97+". Fortunately damage was minimal and time was taking to uprate the internals and some externals to produce/support our target torque levels. This motor was tranferred to a light shell which required a change in operating parameters then back in the PS13 again (which had a STD RB26DETT daily driver engine)but with different set up which requires a change to the original set-up.
So the same engine is being used not a replacement.

In your car this conversion is a bit easier as you got more space.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 25th, 2007, 10:55 am

Well I'll let you know as things progress. Hopefully the build will be a good one, I can't afford a rebuild on this, not as yet at least.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 25th, 2007, 11:57 am

Yes The RB26 lumps get expensive when 500+ is needed reliably.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 25th, 2007, 8:27 pm

Whey boi TriniGT now das ah project, gud luck wid it. Would luv to see it when its completed. If ah could ah woulda help yuh eh but d ting is i eh versed in dis ting like allyer men, ah know ah lil bit eh but not nearly enoufgh.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 25th, 2007, 9:15 pm

yea i woulda like to help out cause i like this kinda thing, all the work would be worth it just to see the end product but i dont have the kinda experience alyuh men have.

i wanna get a lil old project car of mine soon so i could do most ah de work myself so i would learn some stuff.

good luck.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 25th, 2007, 9:44 pm

Doh get tie up eh, I ain't know quarter of what other tuners here know. I am actually learning on this project, I did a hell of a lot of research and I wanna go with tried and tested on this project. The information is out there it's just a matter of finding it.

Postby Maserati » June 25th, 2007, 9:49 pm

yuh cant just jump into it got to research your stuff well b 4 and plan it out good

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 25th, 2007, 9:58 pm

^^ Yeh yeh for real eh.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 26th, 2007, 11:51 am

well right now im saving for a lil box lancer project car, will save a lil 12K and then look for one but yea thats what ima do also, do all of research and then try on the car. hopefull all goes well and i would have a lancer with ah lil sirus 2000 or a RB20 in it at the end ah de day.

project looks really nice to be doing. when your done with that car you gonna loveeee that car lol.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 26th, 2007, 8:43 pm

** Off the Topic **

Ting to make you Jealous TriniGT :twisted:

Advan Rims hmmm :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 26th, 2007, 10:30 pm

When I'm done I won't be jealous.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 18th, 2007, 12:47 pm

Okay over the past two weeks I have had some new developments. For one I have acquired the turbo I have now finally decided to use on the GTR14 Project, I'm going with the HKS T04R turbo, it is in excellent condition, even though it used and only oil cooled I tihnk it will do the job. The reason for using it is that even though it is only oil coolerd it is an HKS which develops higher-end more responsive turbos and also the fact that it is twin scroll and has zero shaft play. I have already seen the manifold I will be using to help further with spooling, an HKS twin scroll manifold but money will have to be saved.

As for the crank it has been sent out and should be back this week, heard the job done was excellent, yet to see it myself. I have ordered ARP connecting rod bolts as well as tensioner and idler replacement pullies. Next on the list is the CP stock 86mm pistons and bearings. The reaosn I went with stock bore pistons is that I wanna leave the option open in the remote event that something were to happen to the block that I could rebore in the future. Once the pistons are brought in I can check all clearances and start the rebuild of the block. The sump was suppose to be tapped for a oil return from the head but since I am going with a big single I have decided to use one of the oil return for the twin turbo setup as an easier route to return oil form the head to the sump, makes sense.

Now the for the updates on the S14 body itself, well hmmmmm........ how can I put it, I have been contemplating it for some time and on one of my expeditions hunting for parts I came across a trunk cut of an S15 in the bush, no lie, in the bush amongst other ole iron. I immediately yanked it out form underneath the ole iron and looked at the state.

So with all these parts I guess you can put one S15 trunklid and one S15 trunk panel together and what does give you .................. yep an S15 rear conversion. Yeah there will be haters but I think if done right and having an S15 myself would help the process of lining all things properly. I have also acquired a rightside front fender, just looking for a left side front fender and then also I am picking up a right side S14 fender as well and I will then proceed to mate the two fenders into an S14.5 front fender. If the doors form the S15 were a direct fit I would have change the doors and use the S15 front fenders but the front door pillars are angled differently so I have to use the S14 doors and anyway I already got my bomex S14 door mirrors already so I'm gonna use that. I am going to have metal work done to the S14 doors to have the lines from the S15 rear panel run straight to the lines on the S15 front fenders, should be fun. I will be there for the entire process to oversee the whole thing and ensure that it is done to my liking.

I already have the rear conversion, trunklid, tailights, right side front fender, fibreglass vented bonnet, B-Monkey Magic front bumper, S15 nose cut frame and components, and a right side headlight that I may modify. It took a while to get where I am but I still need a left side S15 fender, and headlights so if anyone comes across a set and the fender holla at me. Hence the reason for the S14 Kouki Conversion going on sale. I decided to get an entire nose cut as well because I was not satisfied with the job done attaching the current nose cut onto the frame. Well that's it for now and hopefully by next week the S15 rear end with be in place and work will begin running the metal framing to it and extending it and working it into the doors. Will keep you'll updated, and yes pics will come soon :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .
Last edited by TriniGT on April 4th, 2008, 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » July 18th, 2007, 6:53 pm

TriniGT wrote:Okay over the past two weeks I have had some new developments. For one I have acquired the turbo I have now finally decided to use on the GTR14 Project, I'm going with the HKS T04R turbo, it is in excellent condition, even though it used and only oil cooled I tihnk it will do the job. The reason for using it is that even though it is only oil coolerd it is an HKS which develops higher-end more responsive turbos and also the fact that it is twin scroll and has zero shaft play. I have already seen the manifold I will be using to help further with spooling, an HKS twin scroll manifold but money will have to be saved.

This would leave a "hole" in the Fuel and Spark cals if using a std PCM caibrated to work with fast spooling twin turbos

Postby Maserati » July 18th, 2007, 7:33 pm

cant wait to see the pics :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 19th, 2007, 7:22 am

thegtiman wrote:This would leave a "hole" in the Fuel and Spark cals if using a std PCM caibrated to work with fast spooling twin turbos

What do you suggest for going big single then, I was thinking something like 740CC injectors and also having Splitfire coilpacks and I am using a Power FC. I am going to be using a wideband and tuning it, do you forsee problems with spark? Information like this I need to help in making decisionson my choice of items, but I would still like to use the HKS turbo.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » July 19th, 2007, 8:06 am

Ah..Power Fc is cool. Thought you were using a oem JECS unit with some kind or eprom in it.
STD coil packs will be fine. If running under 500bhp and 390lbft then 550cc wil be enough.
Huffer should be on by around 4-4300rpm. VEs should be high from here to around 6500 then slowly drop to around 7400-7700 rpm bhp peak depending on cams. If you cannot hit your AFR targets for the intended torque level and you are sure that your Fuel Pump is up to the task then you may want to go to 620cc units then 680cc. Spark control is down to optimising for best VE and and max revs. This is too elaborate to discuss here.
Choice of turbo in trini is down to desired feel and price. Twins are great and make the 2.6 feel like one big engine from anything around 3000rpm onwards. But they are pricey to buy from abroad. So the next compromise is to go for a single that will be more laggy but cheaper from the US. From what I have seen from japan and from the numerous Hyper Rev booklets on the r32-r34 I got here, the trend is when going to single, the block is carried to 2.7 or 2.8 along with the usual oil flow enhancements, fasteners, pistons, cams, head work, EMS recal or stand alone and so on. This helps low down response on a T04Z, T88, T51kai etc. Else its the regualar pair of GT25/40/R, AX53Bsetc that do the job.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 19th, 2007, 8:12 am

Thanks, will think things over and see what I can come up with. I actually can get another S15 turbo right now and I am contemplating purchasing it.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 19th, 2007, 8:17 am

greddy T-88 ftw!

punisher

Postby punisher » July 19th, 2007, 1:24 pm

TriniGT, nice project.....but you are sounding like you want to do to many things all at once.....

my advise to you.........see about the body work first......make sure you get an A class job on it, since it rolled.......

then take your time on the engine building ,tuning and electronics......

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 19th, 2007, 2:34 pm

Yeah I know it sounds like a lot of work but I have finally decided on what to do with the car and I think that will be final. The straightener I will be working with to make sure everything is satisfactory and at the same time parts are coming in for the build, both things in parallel but two different things, as I want when the car is done that most of the engine is done so that I can do some trial fitting of the engine. Should be fun as soon as the car comes back home. I got all the adjustable suspension stuff waiting installation and coilovers and braces and whatnot. Talk bout a kid in a candy store when the car returns.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 19th, 2007, 2:39 pm

On another note I was looking at my S15 yesterday watchign the lines and realized that there will be a little snag in the conversion and the door handles run in line with the curve and lines on the S15, so I have now decided along with the metal work to run the metal curve from the rear of the S15 trunk panel to the front fender I will need to remove the S14 door handles and run an actuator setup as the curve brongs the handles outward and all the mechincs of it will be interferred with so drop the talk and condemn the handles because using the S15 doors is not an option. Yeah will be a lot of work but should be alright.

punisher

Postby punisher » July 19th, 2007, 7:15 pm

Good stuff TriniGT, but before you condemn the handles, whats the law and safety issues concerning this?......... in case of a crash??

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 19th, 2007, 10:01 pm

Inside will still be functional just the outside.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 23rd, 2007, 7:21 am

Did some work on the head this weekend, porting should be done by midweek, latest end of week. After the port the exhaust side will be polished and I want to ensure that the exhaust side is also knife edged to allow for quick flow of the exhaust gases. After that it would just be to deck the head and drill the oil galleries wider and tap the back of the head for my oil return. Should all be done by weekend and then I am think about ordering the tomei metal gasket setup with builtin restrictor, and also I have to match port the intake manifold and also drill the head at three points to run a different coolant setup to allow for better cooling via a coolant overflow tank, known as the GT cooling mod. That should be it for the head, modfying-wise. I will also try to order supertech double valve srings and retainers, and maybe change the lifters as these stock ones are not looking so hot but I will keep the stock cams for now until I get the extra cash to order some Tomei or JUN cams.

The sump is currently being modified cutting the transfer case out and welding the sides shut. I have still to order the pistons and ARP connecting rod bolts as some other expenses have come up but will try and get that ordered by next week. Once I get those in I can start work on the block. I also have to size the bearings as well but I wanna get the pistons in first so that I can check clearances and ensure that everything is spot on.

As for the car it will be worked on from this coming week, the guy is gonna begine cutting the rear panel and start to mock up the back, I will help somehow with removing the front setup and he will cut the nose cut off and attach the S15 nose cut and from there will attach the bonnet and make sure that everything is straight and is an easy bolt on. Should go well.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 6th, 2007, 11:39 am

Okay finally the car has been rolled into the shop, the guy has cleared up all the other small jobs that were pending and has dedicated his time to my car. I have only yesterday completely got all parts for the conversion. He along with his two sons are very eager to get there hands on this project.

I have since gathered,
Two metal S15 fenders
One metal S14 fender (looking for a damaged right side fender just for the ends to replace the S15 fender ends)
S15 Fibreglass Bonnet - Thanks Azis
S15 Nose Cut Radiator Support Panel
S15 Headlights
S15 Spec R Factory Flared Front Bumper with fogs
S15 Trunklid
S15 Rear Tailight Support Panel along with some of the side to help with running the right lines to the front fenders
S14 Version Select III Sideskirts and Rear Bumper

Still contemplating on the colour but most probably Matt Black with the Matt clear coat as well. I am also gonna be using a matt red and matt black engine bay combination along with interior. Matt coated interior and cage. We'll see how it goes. Ever since I saw the RAUH S15 earlier this year I have been amazed by it and I wanna do it similar but with some of my own ideas. Full Custom Defi Instrument Panel maybe if money permits a stack unit, Bride or Recaro Red seats, may go with some Volk Time Attack wheels or Bee*R wheels

This is what I am shooting for, fingers crossed

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 6th, 2007, 11:43 am

:faint:

This is what I am shooting for, fingers crossed

even the Flat black colour :?:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 6th, 2007, 11:50 am

Yep Flat Black, hope it all turns out good. Will get some before and after straightening pics and then before and after prepping pics and we'll go from there. I wanna make sure the car is prepped properly first with matching primer and then let them spray it hopefully without runs, then hit it a couple matt clear coats.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 6th, 2007, 11:53 am

u sure u wanna do that :|