The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Compound, pad and PC soon to be deployed

trvs

Postby trvs » October 26th, 2012, 7:14 pm

You have proper lighting dude?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 26th, 2012, 7:25 pm

whey...like u gonna have your hands full there boy pios

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 26th, 2012, 10:33 pm

pioneer wrote:Compound, pad and PC soon to be deployed

You ent done yet lol

Make sure and post some pics man

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Yeah will do, will start tomorrow afternoon

How soon after the megs compound can I use SRP?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 26th, 2012, 10:56 pm

^^^ Right after no waiting time for the SRP

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 27th, 2012, 9:32 pm

^^ I've been impressed with the Mothers products so far karim. What's a good wax to try , thats not too hard to buff off with hand?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 27th, 2012, 10:00 pm

crazychinee wrote:^^ I've been impressed with the Mothers products so far karim. What's a good wax to try , thats not too hard to buff off with hand?

If you how the the Mothers products are working for you, try the Mother California Gold Synthetic Wax. According to Mothers it suppose to be a easy on easy off formula. You can also try the Shinning Monkey line.

All detailing products are good, just find something that works for your and keep using it.

Postby pioneer » October 28th, 2012, 1:56 am

Well I had one REALLY long day...came back home LATE and tried to do a bit...sorry for the crappy pics my camera battery was dead and gov't not buyin me an iphone...but you can get a slight idea of what's happening so far...

This is what I had to deal with BEFORE... :sick:

Time was creeping up on me and I was dead tired...I managed to do the hood alone with the meguiars ultimate compound using Karim's advice and method...I also did a hand coat of SRP just for giggles

Second pic you can see a direct contrast of the hood and the fender....it's not 100% perfect you can still see some very slight swirls but it's a start for me

I hope to finish it off later and at least an entire hand coat of SRP...maybe EGP too

Meguiars UC is full of win.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 28th, 2012, 6:53 am

Looking good Pioneer.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 28th, 2012, 7:20 am

Karim Khan wrote:
crazychinee wrote:^^ I've been impressed with the Mothers products so far karim. What's a good wax to try , thats not too hard to buff off with hand?

If you how the the Mothers products are working for you, try the Mother California Gold Synthetic Wax. According to Mothers it suppose to be a easy on easy off formula. You can also try the Shinning Monkey line.

All detailing products are good, just find something that works for your and keep using it.

Carnuba wax much harder to rub off?

And Karim that ashwood Trim I have, does it need any special protection? Or just wipe it off every so often.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 28th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Not bad pioneer. Surprised you went with the Meg's UC for that though. Looks like you may have gotton away with a milder product.

chinee products vary greatly between lines. There are sealants that are extremely easy to use, and some very difficult. Same with waxes. Generally you'd find that waxes are a little more difficult to work, but even then if they're applied thinly you shouldn't have any problems.

btw people I'm doing some detailing some days now. Something to do when I'm in Trinidad. If anyone is interested you can contact me. It just won't be too many for now though.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 28th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Karim Khan wrote:

You would not believe how my car looks over a week after that last wash. I did nothing different than when I would used the megs.

Is getting a foam gun worth it?
I'm looking at
http://www.amazon.com/Autogeek-Half-Gal ... s=foam+gun

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 28th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Good to hear man . With respect to the foam gun it may be a great tool of your detailing arsenal.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 28th, 2012, 7:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:My Evo is now 10 years old and the A/C was starting to smell moldy when i turned it on in the morning.
I don't like using strong air fresheners in the car as I typically like lighter scents like fresh linen and crisp breeze etc even around the house.

I also have allergies and take antihistamines from time to time so this moldy smell was making me sneeze and feel congested in the car.

I used this Liqui Moly Klima Fresh and it was pretty amazing how well it worked! No more moldy smell and no strong over powering scent either.

It's anti-bacterial and sanitizes your a/c system evaporator and vent ducts

I used this a while back as well as the AG version. The Auto Glym lasts a bit longer though. But the best cleaning system I found was Lysol!.
I remove my glove compartment and cabin filter, put some plastic on the floor of the passenger side and on the bottom parts of the dashboard (to prevent staining), then i start the car and put on the AC and use a piece of duct tape to stick down the nozzle of the can. I use the smaller lysol can and leave it until it empties. I leave the car for a next 15 minutes then switch off. Park the car in the garage with the windows down for the night/next day, and boom. Nice fresh AC.

Postby pioneer » October 28th, 2012, 9:55 pm

I am dead tired...didn't get to do the black trim as yet...or clay/polish the glass or polish/seal the headlights

Here's a lil sumn in the dark for now

Megs UC
Autoglym SRP
Autoglym EGP

Can't wait to see what it looks like in daylight

btw it's gonna rain tomorrow

Postby cinco » October 28th, 2012, 9:57 pm

1lick
when yuh doin mine?

Postby equipped2ripp » October 28th, 2012, 10:09 pm

pioneer :shock: :shock: :shock:

it lookin wet dan, yuh ready fuh de car show now 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 28th, 2012, 10:13 pm

daiz a lot of elbow grease boy saood...looks really good

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 28th, 2012, 10:28 pm

wow....it looking better that it did out the showroom yes!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 28th, 2012, 10:56 pm

Looking good. What you intend to do with the glass?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 28th, 2012, 10:58 pm

(Y) 1sm

Postby pioneer » October 28th, 2012, 11:19 pm

Thanks, lotsa help/advice was had from this thread...alot still to be done

nemesis - I might try a clay bar on it...there seems to be an oiley film on the glass

Once it's cleaned i'll use AG fast glass, then AG glass polish and maybe rain-x...I have new wiper blades ready to change once I sort the glass out

Postby cinco » October 29th, 2012, 7:25 am

toothpaste d dam glass

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2012, 9:36 am

Got into the carpark this morning, saw the pigeons lined up on a ledge.

This will not end well.

trvs

Postby trvs » October 29th, 2012, 1:02 pm

Meguiar's new products for 2013

http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/fo ... ay.php?172

These look good..

Water Spot Remover
Black & White Wax
Bug Splatter Sponges

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2012, 1:34 pm

pad cleaner w00t

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 30th, 2012, 10:08 am

Liqui Moly Klima Fresh can be purchased at these outlets in south
Federal Tyres ( both Branches)
Lv Markateing
you can call for more info 6228415

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 31st, 2012, 5:00 am

http://www.amazon.com/Autoglym-HDWAXUS- ... s=autoglym

Worth a buy?
Where in east trinidad has a good stock of mothers products; and can I use my plain quick detailer witha clay bar or should i get a red bottle one that comes with the meguairs kit.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » October 31st, 2012, 7:21 am

you can use any quick detailer with a clay bar