Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2010, 4:06 pm

cool
the tide was uncharacteristically low by the lighthouse on Sunday, and the water remarkably clear
fwhich is why I think those turtles were taking the clance to frolick there......extreemely calm

Postby Razkal » September 14th, 2010, 6:51 pm

making it this weekend again, more for outdoorsy vice than the thread would have you believe...hail meh if you OR KARL feelin' froggy :D

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 7:28 pm

karl in bago. mr. wukaholic.

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2010, 7:51 pm

nah bai Razzie, thinkin about ah trek to piparo to check out de big heap ah mud

Postby Monk BANzai » September 14th, 2010, 9:28 pm

ppl geh quiet boy....lol....

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 9:43 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:ppl geh quiet boy....lol....

allyuh eh have enough time to clock me. (calendar years).

Postby Razkal » September 14th, 2010, 11:47 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:ppl geh quiet boy....lol....

2:50:**
2:45:**

hill climb only...not me and downhill! (sans brembos :lol:)

that 2:20 was one way or both?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 15th, 2010, 6:10 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Porn Star wrote:Kept up? You fail to remember that Nibert and I were way ahead of you guys. You kept up when we encountered traffic. :lol: :lol: :lol:

in my defense...i was being blocked by a S2000...

:evilbat:

Banzai, back in the days we had a run like that,
it would start at texas style ( kfc in maraval) to maracas and back.
tried as much as i did, there was only one car that i could not beat, it was a very nice worked up datsun 120y owned by dave maraj that had some janspeed parts in it.
PAJ 3199 was the number.
i liked that car so much then that i bought it lol

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2010, 6:50 am

Metrobriad, you haz my number
call me when you ready

moti

Postby moti » September 15th, 2010, 12:01 pm

banzai, you close that door real hard jed....... :?

cool run though

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 15th, 2010, 1:13 pm

moti wrote:banzai, you close that door real hard jed....... :?

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2010, 1:38 pm

notice, correct sequence as demonstrated by Banzai: select gear first, then release parking brakes
we won;t comment on his occasional chipmunk grip (both hands at 12:00)

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 15th, 2010, 3:50 pm

I've read alot of the responses and realized almost everyone is making the same deduction in that drift is slower than precision...which i agree is true...BUT we've lost sight of the topic abit; in that its not an all out drift versus a highly precise driving...but true life roads with gravel, road undulations, etc.
From having less than 1% skill of Tsuchy, Orido, T.Mak, etc I may lean more to the fact that a driver with some drift experience may be able to push a car quicker. For example: let's say there's water running across a random part of the road. A drifter could be following the ideal line and upon hitting that water and losing all grip, use that lack of grip to steer the car throughout with the rear end; whereas the precision driver may hit that water and totally back off in order to regain grip.
But then again these are just hypothetical instances and as such if i were to include a rally driver (like ole Ari Vatanen),which is the combination of the 2...i'd say he'd be quicker on a real life road.

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2010, 4:08 pm

Dev, while that may be true, NOBODY RING ME PHONE YET :-(

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 15th, 2010, 4:11 pm

doh worry...month end ah payin mih phone bill

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2010, 10:30 pm

lol sweet

Postby noshownogo » September 16th, 2010, 3:50 pm

Is the drifter ever faster from point a to b? I would put my money on the precision driver because he would consider maintaining traction throughout the run which, ultimately should make him faster...

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2010, 4:48 pm

I think the drift supporters missing one point tho
there seems to be a line of thought that indicates the drifter will react better / better handle the unforseen............however............
like circuit drivers, drifters also follow a predetermined course, and can be caught out just the same
And even though circuit drivers drive to maximize line and grip, the talented ones do have the skill and reflexes to catch a car when it loses traction...........F1 drivers today have lightning reflexes in order to catch their cars when the back end steps out..............
so in terms of the unpredictability factor of the road, I think skilled drivers from either discipline will fare equally......................which brings us back to which line / route through a corner is fastest.....

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 16th, 2010, 7:24 pm

^^out-in-out line :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
hmmm....initial D stage 4 all over again lol

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2010, 7:47 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:^^out-in-out line :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

yuh mean the episode i posted on page 1 of this? :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 16th, 2010, 9:22 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:^^out-in-out line :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ahhhhh
now that's the heart of the matter
what young Fujiwara does in that series is not like what the guys in D1 do
ID is closer to rally driving than style drifting
Even in Drift Bible, yuh namesake demonstrated the difference in high and low speed drifting

Postby ..77. » September 16th, 2010, 9:42 pm

Precision driver for sure , if you mean a circuit race driver .
I put it like this . what is the quickest drive style you know ? . A get away driver . No flash , no fancy sideways turns , just get the job done to the point . Drifting is cool , and I,m sure a drifter could make most a little tense in the passenger seat on a ride . But a race driver has one mission , to get to the end first .
Could you imagine one drifter driver in the grid at a F 1 race , now that would be funny to watch ..77.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 17th, 2010, 11:48 am

but we're not talking about drifting the course are we...its the skill set of the driver not so?

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2010, 11:56 am

i not sore nuh
I jus throwin up ideas for discussion :-)
but Fujiwara pwned circuit racers, a rally driver, and took God Hand AND God Foot to task :-)
His style to me became more rally driver than drifter as he developed tho.....using momentum and breaks in traction to set the car up for the ideal line without losing speed..............his drifts started becoming more exit oriented
In ref to ...77's F1 reference, prior to wings, ground effects and insane downforce, it was common to see F1 cars sideways round corners..........but now with so much downforce, they can rely on insane traction and unreal acceleration, rather than momentum, so no need to come out of a bend sideways.....

Postby Rooki3 » September 17th, 2010, 12:02 pm

wait this fujiwara is from initial D??

the CARTOON :?

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2010, 12:03 pm

you would be surprised how much you can learn from ID
you know who their technical adviser was?

Postby Rooki3 » September 17th, 2010, 12:20 pm

i know tsuchiya had something to do with the series, not sure exactly, you can hear him speaking about sometimes on some BMI vids!!

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2010, 12:23 pm

watch the whole thing from stage 1 to stage 4 and you'll see what I'm talking about

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 17th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Rooki3 Tsuchiya was an old affiliate of Bunta, in fact Bunta was supposedly as good or better a driver in their young days but only Tsuchiya went on to make it pro as Bunta had married...unfortunate for him his wife also left him which is why he is a drunkard.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 17th, 2010, 2:58 pm

^^Well, according to the story anyway. They even have a "convo" with Bunta and Tsuchiya in the Stage 1 episodes IIRC... I think it was somewhere around the time Takumi was going up against the black R32 (Night Kids) or Ryosuke's 7.....not sure.

I stand to be corrected of course.