The *Official* Trinidad Spotters Thread!

ricky14

Re: Official Trinidad Spotters Thread!

Postby ricky14 » February 1st, 2011, 2:21 pm

yet another ... all of these locally are the lower spec ones though ...
IMAG0589.jpg

zorced

Postby zorced » February 1st, 2011, 10:05 pm

sry bout d quality, this was macod a good distance away when then yellow paint and huge intercooler caught my eye inside my building... only noticed it twice tho

Roche

Postby Roche » February 2nd, 2011, 3:32 am

^^ SZ-R converted to 2JZ-GTE, Auto tranny...

Postby SUPAstarr » February 2nd, 2011, 7:56 am

He get back a tranny?? He posted on facebook that he broke it doin burnouts on the avenue

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 2nd, 2011, 11:03 am

also heard that there's a Veyron on the port.
Time will tell I guess.

amsherwood

Postby amsherwood » February 4th, 2011, 2:36 pm

And this is what is getting me around the place right now - just added spacers and dropped on H&R springs.......Bless!
fed16876.jpg
8e21dbef.jpg

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 4th, 2011, 9:44 pm

^dude,your sig :|

errrrrrr

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 7th, 2011, 2:34 pm

^ LOL WTF

some pics from different threads/albums to keep things going

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 7th, 2011, 2:39 pm

white Range looks clean!

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2011, 3:00 pm

good thing I can't afford one..it would always be muddy and wearing big noisy offroad tyres

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 7th, 2011, 3:15 pm

there's a new PCS white range that looks even better than that.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » February 7th, 2011, 3:30 pm

My old RRS HST - went to Solihull to take delivery of it myself, drove it around the UK for 2 weeks and then stuck it in a container to bring it home. Had the finesse of an elephant attempting to do ballet

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 7th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Very nice.
You have ACC and black badging like mine. Only a few like that in the country.
Most of them have no ACC and green badging.

amsherwood

Postby amsherwood » February 7th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Wait nah, like some threads gone missing!!! Wow, but nice HST.....nothing looks as good as a well appointed rangerover

amsherwood

Postby amsherwood » February 7th, 2011, 8:26 pm

paparazzi wrote:My old RRS HST - went to Solihull to take delivery of it myself, drove it around the UK for 2 weeks and then stuck it in a container to bring it home. Had the finesse of an elephant attempting to do ballet

I think I saw this RRS advertised for sale somewhere online. Great looking!

gucci05

Postby gucci05 » February 7th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Image[/quote]

Nice :evilbat:

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 7th, 2011, 8:50 pm

no idea what this is

Postby K74T » February 7th, 2011, 8:59 pm

Postby eliteauto » February 7th, 2011, 10:27 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:no idea what this is

it's a B.U.V. which stands for Basic Utility Vehicle, it was built locally by Amar in the early 90's

that one looks mint wow

Ruff

Postby Ruff » February 7th, 2011, 10:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:

it's a B.U.V. which stands for Basic Utility Vehicle, it was built locally by Amar in the early 90's

that one looks mint wow

www.meppublishers.com/online/caribbean- ... d=cb5-1-63

Thank you,
Ruff
Last edited by Ruff on February 7th, 2011, 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2011, 10:31 pm

actually it was based on a UK kit car called the Rotrax, which used a Mk4 Cortina for engine and suspension.........it was only called BUV in T&T

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 8th, 2011, 1:33 am

the Amar BUV was based on what chassis and drivertrain?

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2011, 6:56 am

acesinghit wrote:the Amar BUV was based on what chassis and drivertrain?

no clue
I was familiar with the Rotrax b4 Amar started selling this thing, so when I saw it at Expo 88, I just laughed and walked away. Never paid it much interest Other than the Cortrina, I know it was adapted to the Nissan Patrol as well as Suzuki platforms in the UK as well........it's now called the Dakar

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2011, 7:15 am

eliteauto wrote:it's a B.U.V. which stands for Basic Utility Vehicle, it was built locally by Amar in the early 90's

that one looks mint wow

MG Man wrote:actually it was based on a UK kit car called the Rotrax, which used a Mk4 Cortina for engine and suspension.........it was only called BUV in T&T

elite, sorry. not land rover. this.

Lotus Caterham in disguise bizniss.

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2011, 7:53 am

the man asked what it is not what it's based on, it was sold locally as a B.U.V.

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2011, 8:09 am

Ruff wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

that one looks mint wow

http://www.meppublishers.com/online/car ... d=cb5-1-63

Thank you,
Ruff

that article is so fullashit

Guess in pre-internet days Amar figured everybody clueless

"The Basic Utility Vehicle, the BUV (each letter is pronounced separately), is the car that Amar built along the Ford principles"

"The reason we built this vehicle is that we were looking long-term," he says of himself and his team of engineers.

"Robert Amar set his engineers the task of designing the vehicle on computer three years ago--something that had never been done before in the Caribbean, the company claims"

"This, Amar claims, is the only vehicle that deserves to be called a Caribbean car. "

Man was selling a British kit car and claiming it was all his design
no wonder he made a mess of Toyota and Peugeot

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2011, 8:12 am

eliteauto wrote:the man asked what it is not what it's based on, it was sold locally as a B.U.V.

my bad for shedding some light............it was just annoying to see Amar running around touting 'his' design as though it was invented by his company
but more importantly. ah certain Rasta eyeing yuh merchandise real hard eh.when yuh passin?

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2011, 8:49 am

said rasta is the cause of I not passing, de MC better doh call me today

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2011, 9:10 am

lol jus mek sure and call first

Death-Row