Old School Projects

Sanctifier

Re: Old School Projects

Postby Sanctifier » May 25th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Razkal wrote:Image

Lucky fella!... On the road already and lookin good. My Lancer build starting in Jan 2013. :(

btw what rims on that Lancer?... Looks similar to Evo 6 TME but that's 5-hole!?!

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 4:51 pm

i'll pass the compliments on, trying to get him to join tuner and post his own business :lol:

the wheels are generic 17x6.5 (ASA is the brand i think??) units...but from the local 'new wheel' market i think its the best looking wheel he could have gotten. the blue on white combo looks really good!

he already lost some nickel strips and the front right indicator to ..umm.. 3rd and 4th gear...
anyone of you guys have extra rear glass nickel strips? or a right side front indicator?

nigie

Postby nigie » May 26th, 2012, 7:44 pm

Fabricating the box lancer bumper...please dont try this at home.. :D

mold
maguiars wax
gel cote
matting line up
resin
release
ta daaa
finishing....
Last edited by nigie on May 27th, 2012, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby black start » May 26th, 2012, 9:24 pm

^bumper looking real nice...

nigie

Postby nigie » May 29th, 2012, 12:33 am

FIRST ON RACE DAY

Postby Razkal » May 30th, 2012, 9:34 am

^holy Mary sweet mother of Jesus that's beautiful!! :shock:

my old man just had a mini seizure peering over my shoulder, gonna make sure he's irie.

Postby Razkal » May 30th, 2012, 9:51 am

guise..i need help finding a proper image that shows the factory mounting location for a FC3S (second gen rex) front stabilizer/anti-sway bar...

can't find a pic online that isn't a race car or modified to fit a larger bar...the FC bar compared to the factory first gen bar is already a great upgrade..from 14mm to 25mm or thereabouts.. need to mount my bar asap and see if i need to make allowances for fitment

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 30th, 2012, 10:15 am

Razkal, drop of the steering rack and steering column and avoid overspray.

Postby Razkal » May 30th, 2012, 11:33 am

i did eventually do that, its on the car now..all bolted up and ready to mate with the sway bar...used the same crap ACE chrome thing spray though...so the finish isn't quite triniGT standard (:P) but atleast it looks 100% more presentable than originally.

your builds really inspired me to start cleaning the engine bay and de-rusting, strengthening and neatening up electrics and mounting locations for accessories..so much thanks!
got alot of progress so far, stripped all unnecessary wiring and gonna attempt hidden harness install..just need some guidance from my electrician as there are some sketchy bits.

moar comments if ya got any!

Postby Razkal » May 30th, 2012, 11:43 am

btw, i need suggestions on a good clear coat spray paint or clear sealer...something that does that job from a can basically.

Postby Razkal » May 30th, 2012, 11:49 am

pic of the motor before in the earlies..me eh shame nuh, it stink oui!

moar pics as i get glad with the fine sanding and spray paint

Postby black start » May 30th, 2012, 1:03 pm

nigie wrote:FIRST ON RACE DAY

If I didn't see the PAE plates, I would have never believed it was local.

Prop to the owner of this car. You sir are a boss :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » May 30th, 2012, 6:16 pm

did some cleaning around and came across
a springalex steering wheel in mint condition like above but leather
is this a high end item? it came off a escort like 10 years ago and its beautiful looks real well built

^ anyone can tell me whats that doh?like a proper name

i tried it on some 13" rims and its looking wicked

anyone interested in it for a project i have a set of 4 in mint condition

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 30th, 2012, 6:28 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Image

^ anyone can tell me whats that doh?like a proper name

i tried it on some 13" rims and its looking wicked

anyone interested in it for a project i have a set of 4 in mint condition

Wheel embellishers/ beauty rings.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 30th, 2012, 8:34 pm

OLD VS NEW.... :mrgreen:

who win?

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 31st, 2012, 12:13 am

which 1 is the manual ,i'll take it

moti

Postby moti » May 31st, 2012, 11:35 am

Razkal wrote:Image

pic of the motor before in the earlies..me eh shame nuh, it stink oui!

moar pics as i get glad with the fine sanding and spray paint

Razkal,

you need to start a thread of your own please.........that way i can macko properly.

Postby Razkal » May 31st, 2012, 11:48 am

not enough going on to warrant an entire thread, when its 13b time, then yeah :D

for now i'll just update here :)...if you're interested, its no problem to come check it out anytime.

moti

Postby moti » May 31st, 2012, 12:44 pm

Razkal wrote:not enough going on to warrant an entire thread, when its 13b time, then yeah :D

for now i'll just update here :)...if you're interested, its no problem to come check it out anytime.

[in the voice of the rock]finally a great engine will return home[/voice of the rock]

no scene pal, just keep at it.

Postby Razkal » May 31st, 2012, 5:33 pm

dun know :lol:

honestly that (13b) is gonna be the last step..i've started with a stock gsl-se sa22c car with the nissan lump pictured.
It worked fine so i left it and dragged a couple times, dexed when it would feel to, drove to san souci to surf..then started doing suspension mods (woohoo dex!). It started with FC rx7 shock/spring complete with the brakes also. That worked like crap mostly, bad planning.
Changed a bunch of rear ends to whatever would last..did lots of poly bushings..then did a full rear FC irs subframe swap, after like a century it seems, have the car home again and started this full FC front swap. the only complications arose because it's an rb instead of a 13b. but just small hiccups, no 'bun down project' headache yet :lol:..
Left to complete, is the gearbox mount needs to be redone, and an exhaust brace re-welded. going to change the way the rad sits in front as well and as a result the ic will need to move also. Tires and that's about it. dex time :)

future plans are a complete tear down and chassis refurbish, as best as can be afforded. re paint, good seats, maybe half cage, definitely better coilovers and sway bars..then 13 b. ZG flares would be awesome, but i'll stay content for now. can't rock ZGs with shiddy wheels :P

nigie

Postby nigie » May 31st, 2012, 6:41 pm

Memoirs of the 80s.......

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2012, 6:44 pm

dan dan dann

those lights , where i could get similar to those? really love that look with the light covers

2/ i have a question

how does one go about lowering a 120y not dropping suspex low but just a bit to cover some staggered rims and get a good stance

my ideas was to take out the spring and get a shorter spring or something a bit longer that can compress easier? Or cut some coils

and then replace shock with something to work with the said spring

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 1st, 2012, 10:11 pm

nigie wrote:OLD VS NEW.... :mrgreen:

who win?

Hear nah.......doh start that again nah!!!!!

[Classic wins every time]

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » June 1st, 2012, 11:59 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
2/ question

how does one go about lowering a 120y not dropping suspex low but just a bit to cover some staggered rims and get a good stance

my ideas was to take out the spring and get a shorter spring or something a bit longer that can compress easier? Or cut some coils

and then replace shock with something to work with the said spring
[quote="sound boy 64"]dan dan dann

take it to joe corbin in barataria on the street alongside royal bank eastern side, joe is the last of those great blacksmiths and i'm sure he will give you what you want.

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » June 3rd, 2012, 12:26 am

lost soul wrote:
nigie wrote:FIRST ON RACE DAY

If I didn't see the PAE plates, I would have never believed it was local.

Prop to the owner of this car. You sir are a boss :lol:

Cammed pinto it runs like a beast!!!!!!! sounds like it wants to cut off when it's idling :D memories of rolling in da car!

Postby black start » June 3rd, 2012, 3:02 am

^previous owner business?

Postby MG Man » June 3rd, 2012, 4:21 am

bigchief3679 wrote:
nigie wrote:OLD VS NEW.... :mrgreen:

who win?

Hear nah.......doh start that again nah!!!!!

[Classic wins every time]

I owned one of each..............guess which one I sold :mrgreen:

moti

Postby moti » June 3rd, 2012, 8:17 pm

both?

nigie

Postby nigie » June 4th, 2012, 9:13 am

Old school corty....dunno the power plant.....roadracer please inform... :mrgreen:

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » June 4th, 2012, 11:07 am

^^same person owns both the escort and red cortina wagon!!