T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Tezzadude

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Tezzadude » May 5th, 2025, 3:50 pm

No Joe, don't be misinformed. I never mentioned that I'm not interested in knowing how things work. I had a vehicle for over 20 years which I DIY'd on. So I know mechanical repairs up to a certain point. What I do admit is that I did not know the Ranger/Everest engine used a wet belt design. I don't think it's a big deal since it should be changed at 100k regardless of who says otherwise. What confuses me is the support these Chinese vehicles get on this board but possibly the best van in t&t is getting unnecessary hate due to the belt design. We should direct our attention to the technologies that some dealers are selling to us here that are problematic and they seem to be getting away with it (dual-clutch). That's why I went mazda and to-date my concerns are only a few which has nothing to do with reliability. The paint is too thin and easily subject to swirls and scratches. The rotor disks are undersized for this size and class of vehicle. The rims are too narrow which could do with an inch to half inch extra width for better handling. The skyactiv technology seems like it's a hit or miss thing since in theory I am supposed to be getting over 700-800kms per tank when in reality it's closer to 600kms (keep in mind we get the 2.0 fwd only and not the 2.5 awd as my rep initially said I have) and the ground clearance is actually less than a Subaru. I think Mazda needs to polish up some of these design/engineering quirks if they really want to have the luxury sport image down.

The Everest is 699 fully equipped according to fb or 2 cx5's lolz. 1 year down, 7 more to go. I not bothering up myself with car for a while again.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 5th, 2025, 8:36 pm

There is a reason people came up with the phrases
Fix Or Repair Daily
Found On Road Dead
There is also First On Race Day.
So how you look at it.

Very few reviewers talk about long term ownership of any vehicle.

I think Ford has the most wet belt vehicles on sale in T&T and that is why they are mentioned. There might be some VW or Jaguar, Honda put one in a civic but that wasn't sold here, and I don't think Peugeot, Citroen or Renault are sold here anymore.

The wet belts don't last 100k in the foreign markets... Time will tell how they fare in our's

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 6th, 2025, 3:05 pm

That new Mazda Pickup looking like the real deal

Saw a review on youtube and seem very capable off road as well

blacklight

Postby blacklight » May 6th, 2025, 4:56 pm

Yep.....LOOKING REAL MEAN...price went up to $346,000, and still no 360 camera and flare as offered in other markets. I think the Triton is the best deal at $339,000 with all the safety features.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 7th, 2025, 12:32 pm

PariaMan wrote:That new Mazda Pickup looking like the real deal

Saw a review on youtube and seem very capable off road as well

Last gen and this facelift still based on the dmax underneath ent?

Point to note that basic (one point nine) L dmax Is being showered with praises in the east for range and straight up wukkin so that’s a strong contender to replace the tired frontiers now

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 7th, 2025, 3:57 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 9th, 2025, 10:03 am

^ thanks Nick!

Proton e.MAS 7 electric vehicle with an introductory price of TT$299,000

deefd540-b609-44e7-ab8e-2828fbc4b914.jpeg

b0d69862-9be4-49bd-9123-4bf4d8461d2d.jpeg

429e880c-c1fc-4893-8b91-97892af7e3fb.jpeg

At ANSA Motors

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 11th, 2025, 4:19 pm

Seeing a good bit of the byd sharks on the road… at the current price tag I really don’t understand what’s the point of it.

-failed off-road performance tests
-hybrid might be iffy if you’re chasing just higher wading depths for flood insurance days
-definitely not a ‘wuk van’
- not particularly a grocery getter with its larger turning radius than a np300..

Seems like a placeholder vehicle to make money from leasing vs ownership?? This actually seems to be lafast recipe these days, company leased vehicles are properly on the rise.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2025, 9:51 am

Shalom Vanamson wrote:
zando wrote:On another note, no pun intended since it's a Nissan im posting about lol I see they have the new quashqai here... Sure they gonna increase price. 1022595940.jpg1888369415.jpg

They did raise the price

When I was checking out the Qashqai in May last year the Base was $285k, the mid spec was $305k and the top was $355k (365 for the two tone paint).
This refreshed model is $299k for the base, $315k mid spec and $365k (375k for the two tone) for the AWD top spec

Yh that gone up which means its more than the Tucson Platinum Hybrid and the new HS Hybrid in top spec trim despite it being the smaller vehicle.
The Qashqai is deceptively large from what it looks like. Some of the dimension differences aren't all that much greater to the Tucson.

Given that the Qashqai is taxable more than the Tucson Massy probably making more on each Tucson sold. One of my cousin in the market for a vehicle. He issa Govnt employee so he has tax breaks. Once he found out the showroom price for the Tucson is what he would be paying since there is no MVT and VAT to get off he stop looking at that vehicle. Screenshot_20250228-153925.jpg

We get the LWB version of the tucson locally and its similar size with the Xtrail which is a weird thing since its size is also close if not similar with the CRV. However interesting point you made there with your cousin and those tax breaks :shock:

Based on a flyer for the Hybrid Tucson by one of the Massy reps it is not the LWB version Tucson we are getting
Those are the dimensions of the non LWB body and the flyer specifically says Short Body as well.
Capture.JPG

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » May 12th, 2025, 10:05 am

Shalom Vanamson wrote:
zando wrote:On another note, no pun intended since it's a Nissan im posting about lol I see they have the new quashqai here... Sure they gonna increase price. 1022595940.jpg1888369415.jpg

They did raise the price

When I was checking out the Qashqai in May last year the Base was $285k, the mid spec was $305k and the top was $355k (365 for the two tone paint).
This refreshed model is $299k for the base, $315k mid spec and $365k (375k for the two tone) for the AWD top spec

Yh that gone up which means its more than the Tucson Platinum Hybrid and the new HS Hybrid in top spec trim despite it being the smaller vehicle.
The Qashqai is deceptively large from what it looks like. Some of the dimension differences aren't all that much greater to the Tucson.

Given that the Qashqai is taxable more than the Tucson Massy probably making more on each Tucson sold. One of my cousin in the market for a vehicle. He issa Govnt employee so he has tax breaks. Once he found out the showroom price for the Tucson is what he would be paying since there is no MVT and VAT to get off he stop looking at that vehicle. Screenshot_20250228-153925.jpg

We get the LWB version of the tucson locally and its similar size with the Xtrail which is a weird thing since its size is also close if not similar with the CRV. However interesting point you made there with your cousin and those tax breaks :shock:

Based on a flyer for the Hybrid Tucson by one of the Massy reps it is not the LWB version Tucson we are getting
Those are the dimensions of the non LWB body and the flyer specifically says Short Body as well.
Capture.JPG

I see what youre saying there friend but this clearly shows the information on their website is wrong. I have seen the SWB version and its very noticeable the length especially in the wheelbase. If I am to believe that flyer that would mean the sportage and the tucson would be roughly the same length when side by side it would also mean the tucson would be shorter than the new xtrail but when side by side they are the same size.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2025, 11:53 am

Shalom Vanamson wrote:

They did raise the price

Capture.JPG

I see what youre saying there friend but this clearly shows the information on their website is wrong. I have seen the SWB version and its very noticeable the length especially in the wheelbase. If I am to believe that flyer that would mean the sportage and the tucson would be roughly the same length when side by side it would also mean the tucson would be shorter than the new xtrail but when side by side they are the same size.

Is the Tucson Hybrid the same size as the gas? The flyer is specifically for the three Hybrid versions and I have not been to the showroom or seen a Hybrid next to any other like SUV?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2025, 9:35 am

Further to the above and based on Massy's flyer for the gas version they do specify it is the LWB version and the dimensions are bigger as listed. So at least going on what they have published the Hybrid is differently sized to the gas Tucson locally.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 13th, 2025, 9:30 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Further to the above and based on Massy's flyer for the gas version they do specify it is the LWB version and the dimensions are bigger as listed. So at least going on what they have published the Hybrid is differently sized to the gas Tucson locally.

Dizzy's right - at least about the flyer. First flyer (SWB) is the hybrid flyer, 2nd one (LWB) is the ICE flyer.

Only issue is I can't put my head on a block that the flyers are 100% accurate from Massy. Note that both the 1.6 T-GDi and 1.6 T-GDi HEV variants appear on both flyers, so we're still not sure which version it is we're getting :headbang:

What I can say is that both the ICE and HEV body styles look the same (at least with my old eyes), so they're both either SWB or LWB.

Will pull a tape measure on mine and check the wheelbase tomorrow to hopefully confirm
9660.jpg
9661.jpg

zando

Postby zando » May 14th, 2025, 1:16 pm

Tezzadude wrote:No Joe, don't be misinformed. I never mentioned that I'm not interested in knowing how things work. I had a vehicle for over 20 years which I DIY'd on. So I know mechanical repairs up to a certain point. What I do admit is that I did not know the Ranger/Everest engine used a wet belt design. I don't think it's a big deal since it should be changed at 100k regardless of who says otherwise. What confuses me is the support these Chinese vehicles get on this board but possibly the best van in t&t is getting unnecessary hate due to the belt design. We should direct our attention to the technologies that some dealers are selling to us here that are problematic and they seem to be getting away with it (dual-clutch). That's why I went mazda and to-date my concerns are only a few which has nothing to do with reliability. The paint is too thin and easily subject to swirls and scratches. The rotor disks are undersized for this size and class of vehicle. The rims are too narrow which could do with an inch to half inch extra width for better handling. The skyactiv technology seems like it's a hit or miss thing since in theory I am supposed to be getting over 700-800kms per tank when in reality it's closer to 600kms (keep in mind we get the 2.0 fwd only and not the 2.5 awd as my rep initially said I have) and the ground clearance is actually less than a Subaru. I think Mazda needs to polish up some of these design/engineering quirks if they really want to have the luxury sport image down.

The Everest is 699 fully equipped according to fb or 2 cx5's lolz. 1 year down, 7 more to go. I not bothering up myself with car for a while again.
Issue on a wet belt ranger, check the video out

https://youtu.be/DdF-9yYpphQ?si=cTa4doWXmPdU39DE

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » May 14th, 2025, 7:37 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Further to the above and based on Massy's flyer for the gas version they do specify it is the LWB version and the dimensions are bigger as listed. So at least going on what they have published the Hybrid is differently sized to the gas Tucson locally.

Dizzy's right - at least about the flyer. First flyer (SWB) is the hybrid flyer, 2nd one (LWB) is the ICE flyer.

Only issue is I can't put my head on a block that the flyers are 100% accurate from Massy. Note that both the 1.6 T-GDi and 1.6 T-GDi HEV variants appear on both flyers, so we're still not sure which version it is we're getting :headbang:

What I can say is that both the ICE and HEV body styles look the same (at least with my old eyes), so they're both either SWB or LWB.

Will pull a tape measure on mine and check the wheelbase tomorrow to hopefully confirm

This is all very interesting because if thats the case why didnt they bring the Hybrid in LWB just as they did with the ICE version in the prefacelift? Its not like that configuration isnt available and in RHD.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 16th, 2025, 12:17 am

The wheelbase on the hybrid is 105 inches (pulled a tape measure from center cap to center cap). That’s 2667 mm.

So it seems the hybrid we get is the SWB, as the LWB brochure says that wheelbase is 2755mm. The SWB hybrid brochure doesnt have a wheelbase figure to verify my measurement.

Hopefully someone could physically confirm the wheelbase on our 2025 ICE version.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2025, 5:55 am

Kamla has promised to revert to the six yeae limit for foreign used cars

When this happens, the price of all cars new and used must go down.

I would advise anyone thinking about purchasing a car now to hold their hand

Massy motors have already smelled the rat and are offering a 10000 discount on all their vehicles

Postby Dave » May 16th, 2025, 6:22 am

Japanese used cars are already high mileage..do we want a cheaper grade vehicle for the lower salary scales to have problems fixing with the inferior parts we get locally?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 16th, 2025, 10:37 am

PariaMan wrote:Kamla has promised to revert to the six yeae limit for foreign used cars

Massy motors have already smelled the rat and are offering a 10000 discount on all their vehicles

ANSA trumping them. The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross has dropped by 30k for May and one of the versions of the Proton X50 is now below 230k.

If that Eclipse Cross was just a bit more modern I would seriously consider it. The interior is pretty dated by 2025 standards but it drives nicely.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2025, 11:21 am

Dave wrote:Japanese used cars are already high mileage..do we want a cheaper grade vehicle for the lower salary scales to have problems fixing with the inferior parts we get locally?
Singapore models tend to have low milage

The b14 was a big hit for the smallman and some came used but practically new at four five and six years old

Their are no longer b14s on the road.

The small man needs access to cheaper cars to replace an aging fleet

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2025, 2:58 pm

Was speaking with a massy rep in Massy this morning. She said both gas and hybrid comes in LWB and SWB and they only know which one they have when the shipment comes in. The Hybrids they received in the most recent shipment is the LWB.

Also if you want a hybrid Tucson the next available shipment is 4 months away assuming you put your name down now.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 17th, 2025, 4:38 pm

PariaMan wrote:Kamla has promised to revert to the six yeae limit for foreign used cars

ANSA trumping them. The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross has dropped by 30k for May and one of the versions of the Proton X50 is now below 230k.

If that Eclipse Cross was just a bit more modern I would seriously consider it. The interior is pretty dated by 2025 standards but it drives nicely.

So the top spec EC is now $319k?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 17th, 2025, 4:41 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Was speaking with a massy rep in Massy this morning. She said both gas and hybrid comes in LWB and SWB and they only know which one they have when the shipment comes in. The Hybrids they received in the most recent shipment is the LWB.

Also if you want a hybrid Tucson the next available shipment is 4 months away assuming you put your name down now.

Hmmm
Have a co-worker who just took delivery of a hybrid last week. Will see if i can check the wheelbase on hers, but visually and physically (I sat in it as well) I didnt notice any difference

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2025, 5:41 pm

dredman1 wrote:

So the top spec EC is now $319k?
Think it's only the base version they have the special on.

slim1005

Postby slim1005 » May 18th, 2025, 2:49 pm

Interested in buying the new Yaris cross (Thailand model)
From what I see the Roro dealers have the higher spec'd model for a bit lower price compared to the mid spec available from Toyota.
Heading in the direction of Japan Motors as they are around a while now.
Any useful advice/suggestions welcomed
TIA

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 26th, 2025, 9:47 pm

BYD Shark 2 week economy run

IMG_2609.JPG

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 26th, 2025, 9:57 pm

[attachment=]IMG_26.JPG[/attachment]
IMG_2609.JPG

death365

Postby death365 » May 27th, 2025, 11:48 am

heading into Aranguez ah see ah Proton Saga... yeah 4 reals... was too much in shock to even take ah pic .

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2025, 9:15 am

All those gray market dealers who bringing in "new" cars, are they all legit?

One of them advertising new Xtrails and do include the chassis # under the list of details for vehicles on their website. They also listed the Xtrail as a 2024. When one looks up that chassis number on SBI it brings up an Xtrail registered in Feb 2023 with 6,000kms on it.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » June 5th, 2025, 5:26 am

I'm sure I saw a Lotus
Eletre flying down the highway this weekend. I did not have time to take a pic.