Ratsun 1200 Sedan - SOLD - New Photo added 08/12

TriniGT

Re: My little Datsun 1200

Postby TriniGT » August 10th, 2010, 8:19 am

Great job there. Was swamped yesterday but will be getting all the bits needed and send you a PM today when I get home from work.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 11th, 2010, 4:27 pm

breds i have not been so excited to get a car back on the rd in so long, everything bolted up so well, this 37 year old car has better suspension than my Silvia lol.. this should be real fun to drive.. once back on the rd i want to make the next solodex and drift events and see how she really handles when pushed.

thanks Jason, I found/bought allot of the bolts already, I dunno if i am using the right grade bolts etc, but it will have to work as i am extremely impatient right now :P

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 11th, 2010, 9:18 pm

Just get treated/black steel bolts with proper lock washers and you should be good.

Postby pete » August 13th, 2010, 3:37 pm

Next Solodex is the 29th of this month. Hope to see it there! :)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2010, 5:12 pm

thanks pete, i'm trying really hard to have her back on the rd next week or so...

turbohead

Postby turbohead » August 14th, 2010, 3:15 pm

im not sure if this would have worked to keep the original track but did you try to use back your original track arms on the s13 spindle. you jus need to slacken the two 17mm bolts that hold the shocks an remove the plate on the ball joint an see if the ball joint will work with the spindle. if the balljoint is to big you cud taper the spindle to accept it. or try usin the a31 or c33 ball joints an see if they work on you arms. just an idea, i was fishing around with this setup for my gramps laurel but i didnt have money for the coilovers and the springs were to low. brakes wise the master had to change also

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 14th, 2010, 7:55 pm

thanks turbohead, i have read that others have used ball joints from other nissans, getting the angle right is the trick otherwise you end up with ridiculous positive camber, i'll try to get my hands on a C33 ballj

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2010, 8:42 pm

This afternoon I mounted up the S13 Tein coilovers with what I thought was the stock B110 control arms just to see what the difference in length would be and the angle of the balljoint etc.. I then realized upon measuring that the car had B310 control arms installed when I got it.
So I went down to the local parts place and grabbed some balljoints for the B310 and they bolted straight up to the control arms I had. Next I fitted them to the cross member to see if the S13 spindle would lign up and slide on, and voila… It all went up.. the only downside is that I have lost some camber because of the difference in taper between the S13 control arm and balljoint and 120Y control arm and balljoint differences. The plus side is that all the original castor rods line up. I was also able to use S13 outer steering ends that went onto my tension rods without any problems. I just need to get another tension rod for the passenger side.

She is sitting on 205 50 15′s at the moment which are too big for the front, I will need to run 185′s or something so that it doesn’t rub on full lock and on the springs. I’ll be taking her to the alignment shop to see how bad the camber is, and if it’s too bad, I’ll be forced to use the S13 control arms, if not, I’m going to rock this for a while. The longer B310 control arms are better than the B110 arms as they increase track a bit adding camber to the setup. I also rolled the fenders the old school way with an old wooden baseball bat – More updates soon.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2010, 10:44 pm

Looks like I need some KE70 front control arms and that will add some more camber into the mix and angle the balljoint a little more, anyone have any for sale??
Need this ASAP!!! thanks

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 18th, 2010, 1:33 am

^^saw the car on the road a few weeks back, really stands out!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 18th, 2010, 7:38 am

Good stuff!!!

speed

Postby speed » August 18th, 2010, 9:22 pm

hoss u cah get ah ca18 engine and box fuh me tuh buy

rogerharripersad

Postby rogerharripersad » August 20th, 2010, 7:13 am

Hey nice to see this car again..we used to own this.. it had an sr20 in it at one point in time( nitros,turbonetics turbo, forgedpistons, greddy intake, ported head everything... and before us the car was owned by Terrance of Barackpoore....The car ran 11's in wallers...al send you some pics..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 20th, 2010, 9:23 am

please do Roger, i was also trying to figure out the diff (what/where it came from & ratio etc) and any other history of the car. Please either post the photos or PM/Email me them please, thanks!!

rogerharripersad

Postby rogerharripersad » August 20th, 2010, 10:53 am

Nissan Phatfinder diff not sure about the ratio but the car worked like a baby.The car was quite wild on third gear(the car is quite light) also if you look at the back fenders it's also cut to fit bigger/taller slicks or tires.I have to look for it on my old computer but once I find it al send it to you.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 20th, 2010, 11:14 am

AHHH PAthfinder :) and those are the 4 links from the pathfinder??

I did notice the wheel wells were modified a bit in the rear - and area bout to be more modified
Thanks again for the info, you have no idea how much it is appreciated :)

Looking forward to the photos and will be sure to let you know when it's would be at an event so you can see her again.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 20th, 2010, 12:03 pm

rogerharripersad wrote:Hey nice to see this car again..we used to own this.. it had an sr20 in it at one point in time( nitros,turbonetics turbo, forgedpistons, greddy intake, ported head everything... and before us the car was owned by Terrance of Barackpoore....The car ran 11's in wallers...al send you some pics..

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...this is where i know it from!! uncle still have the Hillman that bussin up Turbo Cars?...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 23rd, 2010, 2:49 pm

** stewps **

unless i can pull off a miracle and rob a bank at the same time i dont think I can make Solodex on the 29th :(

I have so much on my immediate ToDo list and not enough time or money:

1) New Brake Lines, bleed brakes, bleed clutch
2) Machine passenger side Steering Rod
3) Purchase New Gas Tank & re-do fuel lines and pump fitting etc
4) Lower Rear 2" and fit Tein Shocks (remove springs from rear teins)
5) Get new 15" Wheels and tires (185 55 15 front and 205 50 15 rear)
6) Get New Seat and fit 4pt Race Harness
7) Fit Hydraulic Ebrake
8) Get car Balanced and aligned - make final ride height adjustments etc.

I would be able to get allot of this done this week if I had the cash to throw at the project, but I am on a budget here... and I also have a wedding on Sat, so this kinda leaves me little time to get this stuff done.. I am tempted to get the car by the mechanic and ask him to knock out some of this stuff, but I am hesitant to let her out of my sight.. anyone want to sponsor the car for this weekend and get this stuff knocked out for me hahahaa

droppa

Postby droppa » September 27th, 2010, 10:40 am

Bez what happen man, work stopped on the 12.........

whats the latest upgrades???

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 27th, 2010, 11:31 am

I heard Barrackpore and my ears perked up. Was this really Terrence's 1200, the white then blue?
Loved it too bad. His brother has shop up here he'll be glad to see where it has ended up.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 28th, 2010, 9:53 am

Prozac, this is Terrance's car ;)

as far as updates - Waves have been around for weeks because of Hurricane Igor, I have been busy surfing, so everything has taken a back seat to that ;)

other than that I got a bride bucket seat and some other stuff.. i'm now waiting on a big bag of money :lol:

rxforever

Postby rxforever » September 30th, 2010, 9:48 am

i waitin on a bag of money myself....wonder if any washin up on the shores of cedros????...goin and check...be bac soon,,,

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » October 8th, 2010, 11:26 pm

Nice work boss.........

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 10th, 2010, 10:08 pm

Bezman wrote:** stewps **

1) New Brake Lines, bleed brakes, bleed clutch - DONE
2) Machine passenger side Steering Rod
3) Purchase New Gas Tank & re-do fuel lines and pump fitting etc - DONE
4) Lower Rear 2" and fit Tein Shocks (remove springs from rear teins)
5) Get new 15" Wheels and tires (185 55 15 front and 205 50 15 rear)
6) Get New Seat and fit 4pt Race Harness - DONE
7) Fit Hydraulic Ebrake
8) Get car Balanced and aligned - make final ride height adjustments etc.

got some things done this weekend and got it started for the first time in a couple months.. just need some wheels, another driver side tie rod and will get her on the road again.. lots of stuff still to do..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 11th, 2010, 12:11 am

Hey just a bit of history from talkign with some guys.The last rendition when Terrence owned it was white and had the SR(type x). It was in this car he ran off the road in Bpore after the steering wheel locked on him. The car had a push button start but he forgot the put the key in and the wheel locked ona shallow bend. He broke is ankle and ended up with steel pins and hasn't really raced competitively since but still builds some good stuff.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 11th, 2010, 9:22 am

hey zak i am looking for a number for terrance, see if you can help me locate him plz..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 11th, 2010, 9:32 am

done.
Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on October 11th, 2010, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 11th, 2010, 8:31 pm

thanks but umm, take the man info orrwwff the the intraweb :P

rxforever

Postby rxforever » October 11th, 2010, 9:43 pm

good info there mam bez...one man's mistake may assist another guy from seriously injuring himself...good info

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 12th, 2010, 11:32 am

well i see he turned the steering colum so the ignition cant lock the steering :lol: so that cant happen again :P

you believe is ONE FRIGGING tie rod bolt holding me back from getting her on the rd... STEWPS!!! i going caribbean fasteners and make something work!!! brb