The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 3:20 pm

It pretty much cleans anything really, and safely. A gallon goes a long way too. You can mix it to suit your need, megs suggest 4:1 for exterior and 10:1 for interior.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 16th, 2013, 6:12 pm

I tried it on a spot, no luck
cleaned a little but there are still some round oxidation marks on the rubber

any other stronger products?

after some googlin' most pointing towards to the "forever black" product

trvs

Postby trvs » April 16th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Great work cadence. Looking forward to some before and after shots of your work.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » April 17th, 2013, 9:38 am

cadence i'm liking the detailed description of the products you use.....i can definitely learn a thing or two from your post
Great work btw

cadence

Postby cadence » April 17th, 2013, 10:53 am

trvs wrote:Great work cadence. Looking forward to some before and after shots of your work.
AYE_SOLDIER wrote:cadence i'm liking the detailed description of the products you use.....i can definitely learn a thing or two from your post
Great work btw

Thanks for the kind words, glad i am able to assist. I tried to upload some before/after pics lastnight, however pictures are too large for the upload. Will have to resize and post accordingly..
Once I complete my powerseller account, i would be offering all Meguiars products both professional and consumer lines and a few other detailing supplies from 3D, Klasse, Rupes etc.

Stay Tuned!

Auto Spa
Professional Detailing Services & Products.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 18th, 2013, 1:06 am

Interesting. We have a sanding guy here now. Also interested to see your before and after work. Even better would be to see what results can be offered without the sanding step. Like a half and half hood comparison.

Coppershot : Try a wheel/tire cleaner. Or some rubber prep product. The rubber prep may be a little weaker, but may still work. If your problem is what I'm thinking of, I normally use P21S TAW for it. But if the Meg's APC didn't work, definitely try a wheel/tire cleaner. Might be a little stronger. Keep in mind you may have cleaned off the surface problem already but the rubber may be discolored, in which case you won't be able to get rid of that. Will just have to dress it and hope for the best.

And for allyuh that bad talking using a paintbrush, it does work real good eh. I have both Daytona brushes, the full set of Raceglaze brushes and a few others, and I still find myself using a paintbrush for certain wheels. :)

cadence

Postby cadence » April 18th, 2013, 7:05 am

Nemesis,

I honestly like that name “sanding guy” but in all fairness only about 5% of my detailed vehicles have been sanded to remove orange peel. Its a rare request coming from vehicle owners who are more concerned about carshow appearance than clear cloat protection :)
Usually all my sanding pertains to scratch correction work.

Postby pioneer » April 18th, 2013, 8:11 am

Anyone knows what happened to the slim black guy who used to buff for Andy's car care by kay donna?

He had some skills and it looks like andy's shut down

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Rainman » April 18th, 2013, 8:33 am

The PTG- 3500 is a nice affordable meter. Want to pick one up in May, nice to see a deifferent spin from a pro.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 20th, 2013, 12:00 am

Soo, what uses you people to get rid of old tyre dressing? Anyone using those long lasting dressings and have had problems with removal?
I know wheel cleaners, rubber cleaners and APC's usually work. But not always. What in your experience has been the weakest and strongest? What is your normal go-to tire cleaner?

Postby pioneer » April 20th, 2013, 12:17 am

Megs APC 1:10 works bess on ole tyre dressing

Postby cinco » April 20th, 2013, 7:54 am

Westleys Bleche White destroys tyre grime with ease

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 20th, 2013, 9:06 am

i used some tire cleaner then applied a forever black, good to go
not perfect but it will work

bought this

clean fabric that i thought was clean, water comes out black
not bad at all, removed some tuff grease stains that i tried to remove with "tuff stuff" a couple times and was unsucessfull

GoS

Postby GoS » April 20th, 2013, 10:22 am

copper_shot wrote:i used some tire cleaner then applied a forever black, good to go
not perfect but it will work

bought this

clean fabric that i thought was clean, water comes out black
not bad at all, removed some tuff grease stains that i tried to remove with "tuff stuff" a couple times and was unsucessfull

where u get this to buy and what pirce i needs one

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 20th, 2013, 10:24 am

amazon

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 20th, 2013, 10:57 am

I find AG Custom Wheel Cleaner and Simple Green works to clean up tyres well.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 20th, 2013, 11:37 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366472211.650481.jpg

Finally getting the Benz sorted after the crap done on the paint at the dealership

Postby pioneer » April 20th, 2013, 12:39 pm

I bought one of those bissel via raptor

Was too shame to post de color of de water

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 21st, 2013, 12:42 am

spend 4 hours washing last sunday...not the bess pics. i do apologize..

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 21st, 2013, 7:21 am

Looking good Kurma man , Keep it up

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 21st, 2013, 7:59 am

I pickedup the Mothers wheel cleaner, biggest waste of money ever.

Nothing works as brilliant for me as the Trixx from carpro for my rims. Brilliant results each and every time.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 21st, 2013, 10:58 am

very impressed...and with elbow grease..good way to do a simple wash& polish

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 21st, 2013, 12:03 pm

crazychinee wrote:I pickedup the Mothers wheel cleaner, biggest waste of money ever.

Nothing works as brilliant for me as the Trixx from carpro for my rims. Brilliant results each and every time.

After you clean with TRIX, try coating the rims with Collinite 845 Liquid Wax. It will take some time, but it is worth it. It will be tons easier to clean the next time.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2013, 1:39 pm

Personally been using a lot more chemical guys products recently and my personal opinion, ,meg, mothers and a lot of the other of the shelf "popular" brands you get in shops locally are a waste of time.

Most chemical guys, if not all, products are shipped concentrated and have to be mixed either 3:1 or 4:1 with water. A lot more value for money..

aidan

Postby aidan » April 21st, 2013, 2:47 pm

Aaron 2NR, what did u use so far? Did you bring it in yourself or you got it from advanced performance concepts in sando?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2013, 3:40 pm

Bring in everything myself

Got the leather kit
Some tire gels
Interior plastic dressings
V36
Mr pink car wash n foam wash
Towels
Wash mits

Have some more stuff on order

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 21st, 2013, 3:48 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366573646.513110.jpg

Seats like brand new now.

Postby pioneer » April 21st, 2013, 5:56 pm

Wha it taste like copper_shot?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 21st, 2013, 7:11 pm

cadence

Postby cadence » April 22nd, 2013, 9:45 am

nemesis wrote:Interesting. We have a sanding guy here now. Also interested to see your before and after work. Even better would be to see what results can be offered without the sanding step. Like a half and half hood comparison.

Vehicle- 2009 Audi A4
Colour- Deep Sea Blue
Paint Assessment- Severe scratches (Owner Dogs), heavy swirls/marring, heavy bonded contaminants etc.
Paint Correction- Based on Audi's hard paint and severity of scratches; Flex Rotary, Sanding Unigrit 1500, 2000, M105, Meg's wool pad/Foam Cutting 6". Polishing/Waxing steps were followed after correction of paint defects..

Paint Defects, Heavy Scratches;
Paint Correction without sanding process
Paint Correction with sanding (unigrit)

Will post pics of the fully detailed car at a later time...