The TriniTuner 2008 F1 Season Thread

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 12th, 2008, 9:37 pm

FIA = Ferrari In Authority

Bourdais was penalised instead of Massa for their collision. Where the hell did the Race Stewards want Bourdais to go? They were both fighting for position and they should have penalised Massa or just call it a racing incident.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 12th, 2008, 11:47 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:FIA = Ferrari In Authority

Bourdais was penalised instead of Massa for their collision. Where the hell did the Race Stewards want Bourdais to go? They were both fighting for position and they should have penalised Massa or just call it a racing incident.

(strokes goatie beard)...

hmmmmmmmm

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 14th, 2008, 10:06 am

Well, as it is now, its a two man race for the title.

I recall in the beginning of the year I said that Massa was the man to watch despite all the hype surrounding Hamilton. I seen him race before F1 and he was phenomenal.

I still like Massa for the championship, he has proven himself to be a better driver than Kimi and he deserves to be in the position he's in now.

I would like to see Alonso in a Ferrari next year.
Maybe Vettel in a McLaren (may not be possible though).

I made some predictions about Kovaleinen as well but for some reason he hasnt found his groove. I expect him to be a serious contender next year.
I expect next year to be tougher for Hammie, not easier.

Postby MG Man » October 14th, 2008, 2:43 pm

I suspect Alons will stay where he is
Massa FTW
Hammy for the biggest loser in F1

And all those why say F1 is mor eentertaining with Hammy (BANZAI), remove him form the season, adjust the points, and you will see it still makes an interesting / entertaining season

Postby noshownogo » October 14th, 2008, 3:07 pm

Hamilton is a good driver but his ego may have gotten the better of him in the Japanese GP. He drove too aggressively into the first corner locking up and causing all sorts of problems for the other drivers.

Massa got retribution for what happened to Kimi in the start when he and Hamilton went into a corner almost side by side when Hamilton came out the worse of the two as he spun.

I must admit, I was never a Massa fan but he has the cool and skill of a F1 champion! Kimi is now looking more likely to be the one to exit the team sooner than later. Has anyone noticed Kimi's body language in the interviews; he just doesn't look like he really cares anymore, even when he was potentially running for championship with Ferrari.

Postby Maserati » October 14th, 2008, 3:08 pm

backing Massa
Kimmi do crap this season.
Hammy in control of his destiny only he/his team can lose it now.
He's up by 5 points with 2 races remaining.

Postby Maserati » October 14th, 2008, 3:09 pm

noshownogo wrote:Kimi is now looking more likely to be the one to exit the team sooner than later. Has anyone noticed Kimi's body language in the interviews; he just doesn't look like he really cares anymore, even when he was potentially running for championship with Ferrari.

lol that's the Iceman for you but he's a guy who would not mind leaving F1 from what I've read.

Postby MG Man » October 14th, 2008, 3:23 pm

Hammy is an ok driver
There are lots of middle order finishers who would equal his results if given his car

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 15th, 2008, 3:53 am

Maserati wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Kimi is now looking more likely to be the one to exit the team sooner than later. Has anyone noticed Kimi's body language in the interviews; he just doesn't look like he really cares anymore, even when he was potentially running for championship with Ferrari.

lol that's the Iceman for you but he's a guy who would not mind leaving F1 from what I've read.

The man is an adrenaline junkie, he just looking for any kind of thrill.

The first appearence he was SUPPOSED to make with Ferrari, he never showed.
Meanwhile somewhere in Scandanavia, a mystery driver by the name of James Hunte or something won a snowmobile endurance race.

When the helmet came off after the race; guess who? :lol: :lol: :lol:

TREX

Postby TREX » October 15th, 2008, 9:02 am

MG Man wrote:Hammy is an ok driver
There are lots of middle order finishers who would equal his results if given his car

Wrong there sir.

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2008, 9:04 am

^ :lol: I remember reading bout that

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 15th, 2008, 9:08 am

James Hunt is former Australian F1 world champion, twice.

Kimi is a very fast driver but he likes to drink and party a lot. He is not a very good test driver, he prefers to jump in a car and just race. Ferrari lost quite a lot when Schumie retired. He was a boss test driver, very technically skilled. Kimi is about as technically skilled as Sarah Palin. He is also not a good media person. Very nervous and uncomfortable infront a camera as you can see in all his interviews, he prefers to be in the back drinking with the boys rather than talking to the media.

Alonso on the other hand is quite an excellent test driver, its one of his strenghts and I could see him being a very good replacement for Schumie at Ferrari.

One of the things you have to remember about racing, some drivers have very sharp learning curves, others more gradual. I think that because of Hamilton's sharp learning curve he surpassed all expectations early in his carreer. However, the other young drivers are catching up, their skill level is coming up to par and playing field is beginning to level out. Loeb is a driver with an incredibly steep learning curve, its why he is considered possibly the best driver in the world. He has the ability to drive a stage really quick and on the second run through it absolutely blow everyone else away. I remember hearing Gronholm talk about it. Gronholm had no response for that ability.

Is it me alone? or does anyone else here really miss Williams, what the hell is going with Williams ?? They used to be my favourite team. BMW took away their engine from them and are now beating them with it. Thats kinda embarassing.

Postby noshownogo » October 15th, 2008, 10:27 am

I will bank on an Alonso/Ferrari merger soon and when this happens, Hamilton will have his hands full because as we all know and some hate to admit it, Alonso is a fantastic driver with very similar technical ability to Michael.

Rumor has it that Kimi wants to enter WRC, so his stranger than normal body language may suggest an exit from F1 into this new venture.

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2008, 11:13 am

yup Alonso is a damn good driver just in a not so good car this season.

As for Loeb the man leading the WRC by 14points 2 more rallys to go he just destroying all in his path.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 15th, 2008, 11:36 am

Alonso could drive yes, but he's a big cnut and a lil sell out cry baby; phoq him!

As for MG Man's statement that Hamilton is an OK driver, I disagree - the man is a very good driver, he just need to settle his A§§ down.
He unfortunately was thrust into the spolight too quickly, I hope he's able to get over it.

As for Kimi, he's the BOSS, but not as disciplined as most F1 champs, I just hope he gets a world championship before skating out.

Would love to see him in WRC though!!!

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 16th, 2008, 12:20 am

Not many F1 drivers have been able to successfully transition to WRC though. In fact I know of only one person in history who went from F1 world champion to Rallying champion, the Great Jim Clark.

He actually is the only man to be world champion in every motorsport discipline, F1, Rally and world Motocross.
An unbelievable champion.

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2008, 8:00 am

Senna would have made a brilliant rally driver
It was proven in 1986

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2008, 9:21 am

MG Man wrote:Senna would have made a brilliant rally driver
It was proven in 1986

Tiff wuda make a great F1 driver...but heck he still shooting "flims">..

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2008, 9:25 am

MG Man wrote:Hammy is an ok driver

as much....as much as i am a Hammie fan.. hadda agree with Viva Racer boy here. I think giving the same platform...alot of middle order drivers would suprise Hammie..even Alonso..

Now Alonso in a Ferrari?...that is enough to make golden boy Hammie go and "mashup all he corgi cars"....>Hammie is getting slight spoilt eh...and Ron Dennis aint doing anything to help that...

I love his style..his "wah...yuh eh see ah space dey? ZOOOOM!!" attitude....but he's getting spoilt..and i not talking about his skill/talent eh.

Viva Racer boy cud understand where i coming from...
Last edited by Monk BANzai on October 16th, 2008, 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2008, 10:07 am

WOW
*Vivaboy prints Banzai's comments and mounts it on a brass plaque and hangs it next to WB Blydenstein on the garage wall*

Postby Maserati » October 16th, 2008, 11:46 am

lol was reading this on BBC
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsp ... 673125.stm
Kimi Raikkonen, who is out of the running for this year's title, has said he will do what he can to help team-mate Massa win the championship.

"Our goal is a one-two win," said the 2007 champion. "I'll give it all to help Felipe and the team to gain the results we want."

Alonso, who fell out with McLaren during a tumultuous season as Hamilton's team-mate last year, was quoted last week by Spanish newspapers saying that he would help Massa if he could.

And at the news conference on Thursday, the Spaniard was asked about his comments.

"I was waiting for this question. When I said this in Fuji, what I meant is now we have a competitive car it seems we are able to fight sometimes with Ferrari and McLaren.

"First of all we need to have a competitive car in Shanghai and in Brazil to be fighting with Ferrari and McLaren. If we do that and Felipe wins the race and I can be second or third, I will be happy to help Felipe take as many points as possible."

Hamilton, sitting alongside, responded: "I don't really have an opinion on it. I focus on my job and the most important thing is to be competitive this weekend and try to earn some points. I want to be at the front and what the others do is none of my business."

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 16th, 2008, 1:27 pm

Oh yea, French GP cancelled for next year

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2008, 1:34 pm

djaggs wrote:James Hunt is former Australian F1 world champion, twice.

sorry mate, James Hunt was British

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 16th, 2008, 2:28 pm

Sorry, youre right, my mistake. I was thinking about Alan Jones.

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2008, 3:00 pm

bloody right
James Hunt is one of our national heroes mate
make that mistake again and me and me mates will 'ave to give you a good going over!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » October 16th, 2008, 3:01 pm

hamilton sucks

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 16th, 2008, 3:04 pm

Excellent input there Mike :lol:

Postby Maserati » October 16th, 2008, 3:13 pm

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2008, 3:16 pm

gots me a new sig :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2008, 5:37 pm

MG Man wrote:bloody right
James Hunt is one of our national heroes mate
make that mistake again and me and me mates will 'ave to give you a good going over!

thais right!!!.....bloody Aussies!!!