The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 20th, 2012, 10:45 am

used autoglym on my car weekend..

looks as though it now rolled out the showroom..!!

Postby pioneer » March 22nd, 2012, 9:24 pm

Karim wha soap to use wid this gilmour gun?

You have the detailers foam to sell?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 22nd, 2012, 9:48 pm

I have used the above product but did not like the results that much , I have something that is really nice, call me if you are interested

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 26th, 2012, 8:13 pm

anyone hear about adam's polishes?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 26th, 2012, 9:32 pm

yes. hope to try them soon.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » March 27th, 2012, 8:42 am

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2012, 12:28 pm

recently switched to Smart Wax after trying it out.........absolutely love it.......easy to use, good results.
I especially love the dressing they have for vinyl and rubber....one small bit does all the plastic on the BT50

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Hey, what foaming gun/cannon do you guys use or recommend? Amazon links are welcomed :!:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 27th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Vehicle I recently did. Only did paint well. Didn't have time to do complete job that day :

Griot's polish 3 -> 4 -> Chem guys Wet Mirror Finish -> AG Extra Gloss Protection

Phone pics eh so doh study quality:

The Chem guys product worked pretty well I think. Need to put something over it for it to last and bead well though.

Did another with Griot's polish 4 -> AG Super Resin -> Migliore original wax.
That one has the look I prefer, but didn't get any good pics. Somehow the characteristic I like about it doesn't show in pics anyway. It's one of those 'need to see irl' deals.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 27th, 2012, 7:49 pm

Nemesis very nice pics !! Keep up the good work !!

G-Dub give me a call

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:09 pm

Oh so you're just gonna ignore my question? That's cool.

Postby Chimera » March 27th, 2012, 8:11 pm

Stephon. wrote:Hey, what foaming gun/cannon do you guys use or recommend? Amazon links are welcomed :!:

i believed it was mentioned quite a bit before

https://www.amazon.com/gp/css/order-his ... 305055&sr=

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:30 pm

That link didn't work :? - I'll read through the thread though thanks

Postby Chimera » March 27th, 2012, 8:45 pm

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Thanks! :D

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 27th, 2012, 9:48 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Nemesis very nice pics !! Keep up the good work !!

G-Dub give me a call

Thanks. I guess since you saw the Migliore finished vehicle you know what I'm talking about with the different look of the finish.
Debating what to try next. Also considering actually using out some of the products I have first too.

What do you guys recommend for wheels for brake dust resistance?
Recently I've been using the Red Mist Tropical on the wheels because it resists water quite well, I've seen reduced brake dust buildup, and it's as shiny as you can need. However, if you let the brake dust sit there, then get wet, and not wash it, it spots. Spots badly.
Need to try something else.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 28th, 2012, 7:44 am

use rejex or wheel wax

Postby Stephon. » March 28th, 2012, 11:15 pm

OK I think when my foaming gun arrives I'll have everything, going to actually wash my Mazda, sometime during next week or next weekend. Will post results if it's worth it :lol:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 29th, 2012, 8:30 am

Sooo.....what wash mitt/sponge you going to use with that foam gun there Stephon?

Again, the wrong type of mitt = you'll inflict swirls on your paint anyway (foam gun or not).

Postby Stephon. » March 29th, 2012, 9:18 am

I need to use a sponge? I was going to use a yellow cloth. Which one you recommend?
Oh and can I use regular mothers shampoo in the foam gun? Or do I need something special for that too?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 29th, 2012, 9:27 am

Well if you read through the previous pages, you'll see where I commented that no matter how hi tech or ultra $$$ your foam gun or car wash is, using the wrong mitt/cloth will still leave you no better than a gunta-car-wash from dong-de-road.

Swirls are micro scratches inflicted on your clear coat. Look at your car in direct sunlight (today seems fairly clear), you may very well see some (looks like spider webs or light scratches).

Use a microfibre wash mitt, and ensure that you rinse the mitt periodically between panels so that you don't keep rubbing accumulated dirt (from the mitt) onto your paint. You don't want to use the mitt continuously over the ENTIRE car without a periodic rise of the mitt as you go along. Also, it'd be a good idea to wash from the TOP of the car, down. Leave the lower panels of the car for last (they often have more dirt).

If not a microfibre mitt, at least consider a microfibre cloth (which won't be as good since it won't have enough "pile"/depth as a mitt to hold trapped dirt away from your paint).

Also, you should still employ the two bucket method IMHO - use a separate bucket to rinse out your mitt (not the bucket with teh soap).

If all of this seems too complex, you shouldn't have bothered with a foam gun in the first place (not trying to be insulting).

Oh and can I use regular mothers shampoo in the foam gun?

yes you can, but it won't foam as well as specific foaming shampoos.
Last edited by DSM_05 on March 29th, 2012, 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » March 29th, 2012, 9:31 am

Cool thanks for the advice!

Postby Chimera » March 29th, 2012, 9:37 am

Stephon. wrote:I need to use a sponge? I was going to use a yellow cloth. Which one you recommend?
Oh and can I use regular mothers shampoo in the foam gun? Or do I need something special for that too?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000RX ... 00_details

Meguiar's Microfiber Wash Mitt

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 29th, 2012, 3:05 pm

^^^ Very good wash mitt

Postby MG Man » March 29th, 2012, 3:11 pm

bleh..ole jockey shorts ftw

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 30th, 2012, 6:44 am

^^^ lol

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » March 30th, 2012, 7:14 am

Auto Glym

Postby Chimera » March 30th, 2012, 9:19 am

nw start to wash meh car...and water cut off, too lazy to use buckets so i abandoning that plan unless water come back within a 30 mins

Postby Stephon. » March 30th, 2012, 9:20 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:nw start to wash meh car...and water cut off, too lazy to use buckets so i abandoning that plan unless water come back within a 30 mins

So only piece of your car clean? :lol:

Postby Chimera » March 30th, 2012, 10:00 am

Stephon. wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:nw start to wash meh car...and water cut off, too lazy to use buckets so i abandoning that plan unless water come back within a 30 mins

So only piece of your car clean? :lol:

lol yup roof and bonnet lol