Motorcycle Riders

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 22nd, 2009, 2:47 pm

thanks guys....lots of good info here for the newbie....looking forward to enjoying my bike.

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 22nd, 2009, 2:48 pm

Be sure to post up some pics ASAP.lol :)

Re: Motorcycle Riders

Postby honda hoe » January 22nd, 2009, 4:26 pm

suspeck wrote:
honda hoe wrote:whats a cager?

Lol.
A term used to describe somebody driving a car since the car is like a big metal cage around the driver.
:D

ok cool :lol:

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 23rd, 2009, 8:51 am

Has anybody ever imported a vehicle from abroad?I'd like to find out the proper procedures to follow and what documents i need to collect so that everything would be in order.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » January 23rd, 2009, 11:43 am

Nice discussion. Good to see saftey is of primary concern to the new riders....it will save your a$$ (literally).
In terms of jackets I have an Icon and a Fieldsheer, both made of fighter mesh. Contrary to what a lot of people believe fighter mesh jackets do offer superior protection from road rash and no they don't burn into your skin when you go down.
Group rides are safer due to the fact that a group is a lot more visible than one biker; and with the quiet bike exhausts around these days you are usually only noticed when right up on a car... When riding with a group that you are unfamilliar with you should be in a staggered position behind the bike in front of you and you should also be at least two bike lengths behind so as to ensure that you can swerve away from any difficulty the rider in front experiences (potholes, sudden stops etc). A group of regular riders should also have hand/foot signals they use to indicate to the other riders at the back that there's trouble ahead (diesel, road variations etc).
IMHO, riding is not about maxing out your speedometer till the wind tries to force you off your bike; riding to me is about cornering and learning to manouver you bike so that when danger suddenly lurks manouvering becomes second nature as high speed emergency stops usually end in disaster if not done correctly.
Learn to read tyres, as certain tyres offer excellent traction in the dry but needs to be warmed up to offer any traction in the wet.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 23rd, 2009, 11:52 am

Ok....tried on the helmet and jacket last night

Helmet fits really good and also looks pristine so I think it hasn't been dropped...also it smells new too...has that synthetic chemical smell...the 'new car scent'

Jacket is top-notch...has built in chest, back, forearm shields and as I said before..it's very heavy. Also very hot so now I'm thinking I can't use this in hot/sunny weather....any suggestions??

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 23rd, 2009, 11:59 am

^^^if it has ventilation you wont be able to feel it unless you are riding in it......so dont go out and buy another one unless u've ridden with this one........

what brand is the helmet? and the jacket?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 23rd, 2009, 12:11 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^if it has ventilation you wont be able to feel it unless you are riding in it......so dont go out and buy another one unless u've ridden with this one........

what brand is the helmet? and the jacket?

Yeah....forgot to note that...I'll check it again and post up tonite :mrgreen:

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 23rd, 2009, 2:49 pm

Keyser Soze wrote:Contrary to what a lot of people believe fighter mesh jackets do offer superior protection from road rash and no they don't burn into your skin when you go down.

Group rides are safer due to the fact that a group is a lot more visible.....

Textile jackets are fine but leather provides much better protection in case you go down.

Group rides allows you to be more noticed on the roads and in case something goes wrong you have a lot of people to assist you.However on numerous occasions i have witnessed multiple bikes go down because one person in the formation wasnt paying attention.Im not trying to fight down group rides or anything, just trying to point out the fact that it can be more dangerous.Its your safety and entirely up to you to decide if you want to put it in someone else's hands.

ek4ever, when you have the helmet on,and you shake ur head from side to side does the helmet move loosely or is it fairly snug on ur head?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 23rd, 2009, 5:13 pm

suspeck.....helmet fits snug...not uncomfortably tight or anything....no movements when I shake my head as you indicated...visor is clear

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 23rd, 2009, 5:25 pm

ek4ever wrote:suspeck.....helmet fits snug...not uncomfortably tight or anything....no movements when I shake my head as you indicated...visor is clear

Good.What kind of helmet it is?Look into getting a tinted visor.Send the model too and i'll look around.
BTW, do you have any idea on the procedures to follow when importing a vehicle as well as costs?

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » January 24th, 2009, 9:08 pm

Now seeing this thread. Really pleased thus far.
A few things...riders need to understand the limits of their bike and themselves, too many times i've seen/heard of guys wiping out trying to follow the pack. If you prefer to ride in a group, dont try to impress, esp if you are new.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 25th, 2009, 11:03 am

perfect example of why to wear gear:
http://www.r6-forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=75646

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 25th, 2009, 11:10 am

AHHHH!! Anybody here likes KTM bikes?
I love them. After watchin this video i started to droool.I've been thinking about getting one for a while now,but now this video is pushing me to get it ASAP!!
Enjoy!
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=PM0WfbPS7 ... its-bikes/
:twisted:

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » January 25th, 2009, 11:30 am

CAN ANY 1 CAN HELP ME GET A 250 OR 400 ROAD BIKE ON TERMS OR FOR SMALL MONEY,ITS SOMETHING TO START UP ON.(ONLY 17) SO BE REASONABLE.TARGETED THIS THREAD CAUSE IT CONCERNED MOTORCYCLES SO THERE SHOULD BE ALOT OF BIKE RIDERS HERE,HOPEFULLY SOMEONE WOULD ACKNOWLEDGE MY REQUEST.THX

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » January 25th, 2009, 12:37 pm

CAN ANY 1 CAN HELP ME GET A 250 OR 400 ROAD BIKE ON TERMS OR FOR SMALL MONEY,ITS SOMETHING TO START UP ON.(ONLY 17) SO BE REASONABLE.TARGETED THIS THREAD CAUSE IT CONCERNED MOTORCYCLES SO THERE SHOULD BE ALOT OF BIKE RIDERS HERE,HOPEFULLY SOMEONE WOULD ACKNOWLEDGE MY REQUEST.THX

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 25th, 2009, 1:40 pm

ADRENALINE KID wrote:CAN ANY 1 CAN HELP ME GET A 250 OR 400 ROAD BIKE ON TERMS OR FOR SMALL MONEY,ITS SOMETHING TO START UP ON.(ONLY 17) SO BE REASONABLE.TARGETED THIS THREAD CAUSE IT CONCERNED MOTORCYCLES SO THERE SHOULD BE ALOT OF BIKE RIDERS HERE,HOPEFULLY SOMEONE WOULD ACKNOWLEDGE MY REQUEST.THX

You might be able to get a newer 250.How much were you looking to spend?I can see if i can find out about a Ninja or an old Honda Hurricane.

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » January 25th, 2009, 4:00 pm

ON TERMS ILL SAY LIKE 10-12K

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 26th, 2009, 7:30 pm

One of the things i hate the most while riding is an idiot tailgating me.I usually tap my brake pedal a couple times to encourage them to fall back a bit, but it seems dangerous.Pulling over to the side works fine.But it gets annoying having to pull over more than 3 times so dumb cagers can pass.How do you guys deal with tailgaters?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 27th, 2009, 4:48 pm

adrenaline kid....stop shouting

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2009, 4:53 pm

ek4ever wrote:adrenaline kid....stop shouting

it's the adrenaline

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 27th, 2009, 5:13 pm

ek4ever wrote:adrenaline kid....stop shouting

it's the adrenaline

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 29th, 2009, 9:54 am

suspeck....the helmet is Altura and the jacket is NitroRACING

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 29th, 2009, 12:26 pm

Guess how much i love my bike and riding

:mrgreen:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 29th, 2009, 3:43 pm

suspeck wrote:Guess how much i love my bike and riding

:mrgreen:

LMFAO!!!!

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » January 31st, 2009, 4:02 pm

Question why these bikers now a day like to pull out and overtake and run straight up on the oncoming vehicle??? They doh realize they could seriously get fawked up because of a miscalculation on the car they overtaking part......or the oncoming car part.....??? Some of these fellas riding and tailgating like is a car or van they in.......and plenty of them NOT WEARING PROTECTIVE GEAR(IDIOTS). Is almost like they doh realize when they hit the car.....or ANYTHING is just dem and road....and we in trinidad so yuh likely to end up sk8in through some wasa pothole too

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 31st, 2009, 4:51 pm

^^^pretty much cuz they are too arrogant to accept the fact they they are not invincible.....no matter how invincible the bike makes them feel......

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » January 31st, 2009, 9:06 pm

^^ very good answer explains alot about their stupidity(No offense eh bikers but these fellas dotish), I cah begin to say how much times i save a biker from hospital pulling away from them.....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 31st, 2009, 10:26 pm

note my response does not apply to all bikers....but some.

in the last couple months i've seen a large increase in the amount of them on the roads, and with the increase i see a large improvement in how they ride, compared to a couple years ago. in addition more of them are using protective gear....its been a while since i've seen someone on a sport bike riding in a t-shirt and short pants........the attitude of riders is changing slowly.....ant its changing for the better.....unlike driving habits. :|

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 2nd, 2009, 11:18 am

^^^ Very true.....maybe it's from all the road carnage we're seeing involving cars. The guys I ride with have all spent good money on protective gear and when riding in a group space themselves out very well, ride safely obeying all traffic rules if ur gonna pass a vehicle there has to be enough room for the pack or enough road spacing to allow the pack to pass in parts and form back up... in fact their saying is "2 wheels on the ground...all the time"....yet still they have a helluva a great time....so safety and fun are not mutually exclusive.

As a rule the more experience riders are up front ...decreasing in experience as you move to the rear of the pack. When required we'll even have an experienced rider drop to the back when the road gets more technical.