Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

trini mk5

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby trini mk5 » September 9th, 2010, 7:18 pm

Rooki3 wrote:wait wait wait, isn't a drifter classified as a precision driver also?

Good :?:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 9th, 2010, 7:26 pm

*feels toy soldier key winding up in back*

I think people are missing the point and comparing which technique would be faster whereas the OP was questioning WHO would be faster...

I still say the better driver btw.

Postby wagonrunner » September 9th, 2010, 7:27 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:wait wait wait, isn't a drifter classified as a precision driver also?

Good :?:

i'd say yes. but "the fastest line".......................?

Postby crazybalhead » September 9th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Drifting wastes a lot of time.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 9th, 2010, 8:35 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Drifting wastes a lot of time.

I thought it was i alone thought so....but there is no denying it takes a lot of skill to do!

Postby Rooki3 » September 9th, 2010, 8:43 pm

scenario a lil too vague!!!

Postby wagonrunner » September 9th, 2010, 9:20 pm

since its a race right, least amount of time over a fixed distance.
has the stig ever attempted to post a lap (fastest) time for a car by drifting?
or does he do grip to post those times on the board?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 9:33 pm

Conrad wrote:*feels toy soldier key winding up in back*

I think people are missing the point and comparing which technique would be faster whereas the OP was questioning WHO would be faster...

I still say the better driver btw.

hehehe...but what qualifies one driver to be better....a precision driver that uses some drift/slide techniques to keep momentum or a drift based driver that can adjust on the fly and keep tha car pinned through the corners....

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 9:38 pm

SR wrote:precision
gimme back my spoon and i will prove it
did that run sunday morning early with the present ride
time was much slower than the spoon
chalk it up to lack of experience on the handling as well as some other factors which we discussed last week regarding throttle response on the NA

agreed....for the Rover is like a breath of fresh air now.....but im saying...put a drift aficionado in a Front wheel drive...can he post teh same time as a precision driver in the same car?

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » September 10th, 2010, 1:13 am

Well both has there Pros & Cons

Precision ,

Pros :- great entry into corners ( lines )
Cons :- there r some corners that would require some drifting ( very sharp 1s ) cuz they would hav 2 drastically slowdown to take them

Drifting :- can easily drift " S " bends & very sharp corners
CONS :- will lose alot of time on easy corners ( alot of unnecessary time executing drifts on highspeed corners

( My 00.2cents )
Last edited by shadowbird on September 10th, 2010, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » September 10th, 2010, 1:37 am

give the vehicle to Tiff he will use his skill and combine both styles
precision will always be faster tho no matter how slow you have to enter the corner the correct line and exit speed is what matters

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 10th, 2010, 7:33 am

4/front wheel drive + precision = win

rear wheel drive + drift = win

S2000? ...... i'd go with the Drifting techniques....

it's just a matter of logic, dexterity & physics.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 10th, 2010, 7:34 am

Rooki3 wrote:scenario a lil too vague!!!

:roll: i believe so too...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 10th, 2010, 9:23 am

It have no corner that i could think of over the lady young where drifting would be faster or drifting a car would be faster. A well set up tarmac car will be faster all the time with a good driver. Drifting in the true sense is more for show and not meant to be the fastest way around a course.
As for choice of car to use for a race around the lady young.
A FWD imo would be faster or better suited for that run.(i hate to admit that)
Peugeot 106 gti anyone?

scientist

Postby scientist » September 10th, 2010, 9:36 am

a precision driver knows when is the right time to put the car sideways, because precision driving does require use of the E-brake for hairpin turns.
Ever look at heavy competition Auto-X? those are precision drivers who spin cars around cones without the Flair of drifting. the car slides just enough to get it around the corner quickly. That by definition for me is a precision driver...Do what it takes to get the car around the course without the unnecessary flair.

Drifting on the other hand is all about Flair.

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2010, 10:03 am

mr. mindz wrote:4/front wheel drive + precision = win

how u arrive at that?
Based on your logic, F1 cars should be drifting round the circuit then.........

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 10th, 2010, 10:18 am

how u arrive at that?
Based on your logic, F1 cars should be drifting round the circuit then.........

In most cases rear wheel drive cars are faster around most circuits
1) the balance and weight distribution offered is the best for FR layouts
2)The front wheels steer while the back drives
3)real men drive RWD cars
4) Girls like men who drive RWD :twisted:

Precision driving can be done with any vehicle

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » September 10th, 2010, 10:24 am

^^^Girls actually know which cars does be FWD or RWD? :shock: ...or just yours? I'm sure you still had to tell her.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 10th, 2010, 10:25 am

^^ Hmmm yu sure?.....

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 10th, 2010, 10:38 am

Back2Studio wrote:^^^Girls actually know which cars does be FWD or RWD? :shock: ...or just yours? I'm sure you still had to tell her.

Yeah i told her that RWD is better than FWD and since i drive RWD my car is better than most cars on the road.....and she got so wet and horny when i told her that :shock: :shock: needless to say it was rel guts out later in the stallion. :lol:

Postby Razkal » September 10th, 2010, 1:56 pm

i'm sorry sir, you'd be wasting a perfectly good run in an S2K...i drove Bill's car at dex once, not at the limit or even near it, but the car feels incredibly planted and dedicated to your right foot's best intentions...very rewarding car to drive, which i think would be diminished by drifting it to attain the fastest time on the run in question.

its the only Honda i would "waste" money on. period.

anyway...

precision is an attribute of both techniques here, accuracy is more important though..for the fastest time that is...

aiming for and hitting each apex with enough momentum and trueness of line to efficiently gobble up each successive one is where the fastest time might lie...atleast by my internal reasoning...

a drifters line HAS to be precise, not the fastest..but precision must be observed. accuracy of line is different. there is only/can only be one fastest line through the run (exclusive of overtakes)...

Postby Razkal » September 10th, 2010, 2:01 pm

2 + 2 = 1.96364823863945346 < Precision

2 + 2 = 4 < Accuracy

just as cxc physics said you can be precise, but not right. but never accurate and wrong.

i think you can be very precise in this situation, but not necessarily fast. however, you can't be accurate and slow...or atleast the slowest.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 10th, 2010, 4:27 pm

trini mk5 wrote:A FWD imo would be faster or better suited for that run.(i hate to admit that)
Peugeot 106 gti anyone?

in a rwd car.... drifting actually eliminates excessive braking on corners....
and prevent the chaser from following their proper line in a touge run...
n.b touge refers to mountain pass runs alone.... eg; lady young...

Rear wheel drive can be used for tight corners because the power originates from the rear and in fact can pivot the front of vehicle around a corner & apply torque and power from the engine during a curve to slightly change the angle of the vehicle.

rwd achieves the fastest times with finesse....

Too much throttle and you will spin out. There is a careful balance that must be achieved to use this technique. One wrong move, & your off the track........

in a fwd car.... u can actually throw the car into the corners...

Rear wheel drive tends to slide out, while all-wheel drive tends to nose plow similar to front-wheel drive.

And MG...... F1 cars are setup quite differently.... very low centre of gravity, and the vehicle's geometry is set up very differently..... tyres are another factor as opposed to street tyres in a street car......

i guess after logic, dexterity & physics.... it all boils down to the driver :)

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » September 10th, 2010, 6:00 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
Back2Studio wrote:^^^Girls actually know which cars does be FWD or RWD? :shock: ...or just yours? I'm sure you still had to tell her.

Yeah i told her that RWD is better than FWD and since i drive RWD my car is better than most cars on the road.....and she got so wet and horny when i told her that :shock: :shock: needless to say it was rel guts out later in the stallion. :lol:

Well padna marry her one time because i dont think you'll ever find a girl in life again who not only believes your b.s. but actually gets turned on by it....you sure it wasnt just the cologne you were wearing...or the 1,2,3...8 stags she had previous to being driven to the middle of a cane field or seashore and taken advantage of? No offense eh dan is just I doubt it have women that dumb.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 10th, 2010, 6:34 pm

:popcorn: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby eliteauto » September 10th, 2010, 6:55 pm

^^the win factor just multiplied by 11 :lol: :lol: :lol:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 10th, 2010, 6:56 pm

Back2Studio wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:

Well padna marry her one time because i dont think you'll ever find a girl in life again who not only believes your b.s. but actually gets turned on by it....you sure it wasnt just the cologne you were wearing...or the 1,2,3...8 stags she had previous to being driven to the middle of a cane field or seashore and taken advantage of? No offense eh dan is just I doubt it have women that dumb.

Nah boi i doh feel she is marriage material.... :|

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 10th, 2010, 7:03 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
.....but im saying...put a drift aficionado in a Front wheel drive...can he post teh same time as a precision driver in the same car?

if thats the debate here... i say NO. unless he's also a boss behind a fwd...

fwd is an entirely different drive from rwd...... no drifting techiques could be applied in this instance..... there is a total readjustment in driving techniques.

ever heard of a NMMR Run? long time men used to run from mon repos round-a-bout, to mayaro.. plaisance beach after 1am on a week night. . who touch sand first win a $1000 & a case of beers... well that was back in the days... no one does that anymore.

but it was always the n/a fwds to always beat the turbo rwds........... kno what used to kill them........ corners. until men start to get s13s , 180sx, fd3s & fc3s.... and stop braking on corners, and start sliding into corners. the fwds used to get leave out by mere villages.....

circuit courses and actual winding roads are 2 totally different race worlds..
the same goes for highway runs & country road battles.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 10th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Banzai, I did that run not too long ago at 5:30am one Sunday morning with my legacy, started at the bottom of lady young at the roundabout near Hilton and when i reached the look out it was 2:40 later.
i dont know if thats slow or fast.
(btw, when ah reached de lookout meh heart wanted to bust out meh chest lol)
Legacy has some parts in it with some real sticky tyres

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » September 10th, 2010, 9:48 pm

I really want to see this run take place and have an assortment of cars participate..at least one FWD, RWD and AWD. In the togue videos with Tsuchiya and Co. the rwd cars dominate, they brought a rally evo which lost to the AE86, a Skyline which lost to an rx7 or s2000 i believe, and a n/a civic hatch which locked up around a corner and crashed. For FWD I want to see Reyos with his n/a VVL B14 and Ignorant Ignis with his...Ignis, AWD Crazybalhead with his EVO 9 and the guy who drives the R35 GTR :D and RWD....QWKWHIP S14 and any of Trini GT's cars....I just hope all them men know what toe and heel is ....or better yet...know how to use it. Should be a great contest.