My FD3S drag/ street project (Chevy V8)

TeamH2O

Re: My FD3S drift/ street project (SR20DET)

Postby TeamH2O » June 3rd, 2014, 11:30 pm

Yea, the pickup was modified to work properly for the extra oil. I wont lie, the guy does know alot of knowledge about the workings of mechanics and stuff. I usually do my work or like to do it but i just let him do it. Lots of stuff he did, soon when the AWD civic comes out, you would swear it was original.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 9th, 2014, 8:31 am

making space in my shop to park the RX7 so work can start. Plan is to get the V8 running again before removal.

still don't have an engine in-hand as yet for this build but the V8 is not what I'm looking for so it will be removed and engine room cleaned etc for the swap...of course pics will follow..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 9th, 2014, 8:51 am

sr20 is the most cost effective, as anything other than rotary would require some modification.....besides, an sr20 you get good gas mileage for the speed :D, drop some heavy cams and kinda get a rotary sound

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 9th, 2014, 3:38 pm

meh... 13b would be so much easier and cheaper to install, make same power, get more respect.., if you want a SR car, why not buy a nissan C33, A31, S13-15 etc?

so many purists would love to have a nice 3rd gen to build on... sad to see another butchered :x

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2014, 3:49 pm

Bezman wrote:meh... 13b would be so much easier and cheaper to install, make same power, get more respect.., if you want a SR car, why not buy a nissan C33, A31, S13-15 etc?

so many purists would love to have a nice 3rd gen to build on... sad to see another butchered :x

The amount of work around to fit the sr how does that even make sense?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 9th, 2014, 3:50 pm

cinco wrote:
Bezman wrote:meh... 13b would be so much easier and cheaper to install, make same power, get more respect.., if you want a SR car, why not buy a nissan C33, A31, S13-15 etc?

The amount of work around to fit the sr how does that even make sense?

Ditto

Postby Razkal » June 9th, 2014, 5:22 pm

c'mon guys, be mindful this is his project. fcuk the purists, let them buy and build an FD if they want.
every person I meet that rags on my build I let them know I enjoy driving the sheit out of it and direct them to Bezman's or Jason's build thread for something they'd prefer seeing.
build it and slide that sucker man.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 9th, 2014, 5:24 pm

Man cyah help but pray boy Razkal :lol:

Just like the Bezman say...so many people wish they could actually own a FD shell.

Doubt anything we say gonna change his mind.

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2014, 5:38 pm

Razkal wrote:c'mon guys, be mindful this is his project. fcuk the purists, let them buy and build an FD if they want.
every person I meet that rags on my build I let them know I enjoy driving the sheit out of it and direct them to Bezman's or Jason's build thread for something they'd prefer seeing.
build it and slide that sucker man.

Buh raz yuh car started off unloved. Ah legit fd is a rarity plus the work needed to fit the sr eh makin sense

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 9th, 2014, 6:34 pm

Haven't ruled out the rotary option guys but hear the simple facts..I already have a registered rolling shell with the looks that I want and I love the simplicity of an SR20.

For those who know me and my builds so far, I like things original because I don't build race cars. However in this case I'm building something that I know is going to be abused.

Also, I don't start or drive my cars often which is the biggest turn off on the rotary.

For those who support it, thank you. For those who keep saying to go rotary for this and that reason just remember the purpose of the car. I don't need to get respect or approval from anyone here.

Thanks again!

xapruda

Postby xapruda » June 9th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Sell me the car? =)

moti

Postby moti » June 9th, 2014, 7:34 pm

I totally agree with the guy that has the six rotor RB7.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 9th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Days of building to other peoples likings are gone....why waste your money on something you own to do something you feel is what people would expect?

Why can you build a car how you want it without some talk against?

But when you see something like a 2JZ S15 or something like that, men go crazy....especially the 2jz rx7, men went crazy.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 9th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Bleh

Postby Razkal » June 10th, 2014, 8:01 am

lots of FDs around man, I would rather bash myself than OP lol..a legit first gen is harder to find locally than an FC or fd.
plus it already started with a small block installed, he'd probably have just as much work to dump in a 13b now.

besides our irrelevant chatter in the man thread, I'm sure everyone would have been supportive
if the project was "13B-REW S15 drift build" lol

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 10th, 2014, 8:02 am

Nah

Postby turbosingh » June 10th, 2014, 8:40 am

Oh boy :popcorn:

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 10th, 2014, 9:29 am

When it was bought the 13B was left in the car for literally ONE day and pulled out to swap the V8. There was no intention then to "keep in Rotary powered".

The car was not hacked up and chopped to fit the V8 though, so if needed, the V8 mounts can be removed and below it is an original FD engine subframe with all electricals and mounting locations needed. Even the body harness wasn't hacked up but we got all the electricals working. Plan to do something along those lines with the build.

I'm still waiting for all these "purists" to recommend an engine builder to build me a 13B that can withstand what I have planned for it....drifting, occasional drag use, street/ traffic driving and parked for months with zero attention but when needed just turn key and start...not worry about seals breaking...and from what I've noticed, those unbreakable seals do in fact break...so what else?? Hence the reason for choosing the SR platform.

moti

Postby moti » June 10th, 2014, 9:49 am

That worry at the back or your mind of the seals on a rotary is one hellabitch to worry about everytime you start it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 10th, 2014, 9:58 am

Yea, especially finishing work and going to start and realize it wont start and luckily having some oil in a bottle to throw in and get a start lol

xapruda

Postby xapruda » June 10th, 2014, 10:19 am

i owned a fc3s n have to say its fun when it works properly but for the year i had the car it was parked up, had way to many bad experiences to ever go rotary again n the cost was ridiculous to maintain so i had to sell it but the layout n beauty of those rx7's r mesmerizing n wud support a sr20 conversion anyday, go tru wit it n have a blast, rite now i'm currently looking for a shell to do the same

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 10th, 2014, 11:07 am

unreliable rotary's come from bad owners.
I have friends who have engines that are over 5 years (i think reece engine was rebuilt over 8 years ago - he'll prob chime in), ported, couple daily driven, some NA, some Boosted.. some are started couple times a year and the snot revved out of them and flogged like a bad step child.

there are lots of recommended engine builders locally,. I never saw you ask :roll:, Steven's Rotary and Sean Ready seem to be the most recommended.

Unlike piston motors, rebuilding a rotary is VERY easy (i am on the verge of doing my rebuild myself), and you only really require a rebuild kit/seals and decide on your porting, average cost for a top of the line rebuild kit with seals is about $1500 USD and uses the same parts that the guys running in the 6's use (same kit i have) - MUCH cheaper than building a forged motor (been there done that)

lots of local fellas building rotaries in the past simply did allot of shiet when rebuilding, removing the oil metering pump without adding premix in the fuel, using old seals, water pump and apex seals and side seals etc..

A good tuner is going to be your biggest decision and problem, that I leave in your hands

it's your project, do with it as you wish, but dont bash the engine because of things ya hear and other peoples mistakes. If you have the money, do it right, buy the right parts, build it once, dont listen to the ype and feel you need to make 600hp.. 350-400 is VERY enjoyable on the streets, will run 12's and drift/solodex/drag and wind the nuts off most opponenets in trini, build something sensible and you'll enjoy the car for years, get the right turbo and you can have the ebst of both worlds, 300hp daiuly driver and 600hp drag monster... just need the ALS/RA Apex Seals and nothing will break in the motor..

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 10th, 2014, 11:48 am

I never bashed the rotary for being a bad engine, just the reliability issue knowing experiences of people locally. Yes it has a lot of potential but the biggest issue I have is lack of knowledge in the rotary arena.

The SR20 however is much more familiar to me and all I am looking for is 300-400hp. So while I still think and consider all options we will see how it goes.

But so far, rotary seems to be out of the game.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 10th, 2014, 7:24 pm

Boooo hisssss

Haha good luck with the build! Thank god you atleast have a good chassis to start with to make up for the engine :lol: :p

milkboyz

Postby milkboyz » June 10th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Pal do as u wish because it is ur money that will be spending an it is u that have to drive it an enjoy it for some inspiration take a look at this done by my bro an i
nari`s rx2-6.jpg

Glitch

Postby Glitch » June 11th, 2014, 7:12 am

Bezman wrote:unreliable rotary's come from bad owners.
I have friends who have engines that are over 5 years (i think reece engine was rebuilt over 8 years ago - he'll prob chime in), ported, couple daily driven, some NA, some Boosted.. some are started couple times a year and the snot revved out of them and flogged like a bad step child.

there are lots of recommended engine builders locally,. I never saw you ask :roll:, Steven's Rotary and Sean Ready seem to be the most recommended.

Unlike piston motors, rebuilding a rotary is VERY easy (i am on the verge of doing my rebuild myself), and you only really require a rebuild kit/seals and decide on your porting, average cost for a top of the line rebuild kit with seals is about $1500 USD and uses the same parts that the guys running in the 6's use (same kit i have) - MUCH cheaper than building a forged motor (been there done that)

lots of local fellas building rotaries in the past simply did allot of shiet when rebuilding, removing the oil metering pump without adding premix in the fuel, using old seals, water pump and apex seals and side seals etc..

A good tuner is going to be your biggest decision and problem, that I leave in your hands

it's your project, do with it as you wish, but dont bash the engine because of things ya hear and other peoples mistakes. If you have the money, do it right, buy the right parts, build it once, dont listen to the ype and feel you need to make 600hp.. 350-400 is VERY enjoyable on the streets, will run 12's and drift/solodex/drag and wind the nuts off most opponenets in trini, build something sensible and you'll enjoy the car for years, get the right turbo and you can have the ebst of both worlds, 300hp daiuly driver and 600hp drag monster... just need the ALS/RA Apex Seals and nothing will break in the motor..

I owned a series 8 for 2 years....and mixed driving, when I did drive was real rough up and some times I did not use for months and I had zero issues with the engine.

Once maintained I see no issues really with the engine as with any engine. And as quoted above proper tuning is key for ANY engine to last and perform well

With that said..SR's makes power very easy and reliable the hardest part of the install wikk be engine mounts and sump pan...wiring should be pretty straight forward
Last edited by Glitch on June 11th, 2014, 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 11th, 2014, 7:23 am

I think the chit chatter should stop and chat information on helping out with the build.

I mean, you wont want someone to say you have to eat something when your money is spending right?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 11th, 2014, 7:30 am

OP asked for our thoughts.

xapruda

Postby xapruda » June 11th, 2014, 7:32 am

Lols everyone's opinion is deifferent, what r u doin wid the sr to make the extra power?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 11th, 2014, 9:06 am

With the SR, the plan is T28 turbo or maybe a little bigger, exhaust manifold, FMIC, bigger injectors, fuel rail, full exhaust, aftermarket brain (undecided which right now)..ideally looking for 300-350hp.

Yes guys, I did ask for your thoughts so the chit chat is fine. Initially I was going to get a C33 or A31 and do a S13/S14 drivetrain swap on it...yes it will be easier and cheaper but it will involve buying another car and my garage doesn't have that much space. Then I remembered the RX7 parked in a corner collecting dust. Everyone I'm sure appreciates that the FD body is super sexy and I would much rather drive that around than a C33/ A31 lol