So I have evidence now!

Postby Monk BANzai » August 16th, 2006, 11:13 am

(clap clap) yu Rang?......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 16th, 2006, 11:30 am

Zodiaque - you need some suspension work - badly

you will be amazed at how stiffer shocks and springs will affect that car and how much more you will enjoy driving, then you'll really know what its like to drift and not plow through understeer untill the car looses traction in teh back because all the weight is in the front and the open whele diff pulls one side around..

but it sure looks like fun ;)

i had softish (only now by comparison) in teh silvia, and between brute power, a VLSD and good suspension i could get it to drift every now and then, but between the VLSD not allowing both tires to spin continiously through the corner i wuld pick up traction and my soft suspension would allow weight transfer to the front and understeer out some of my speed - sometimes perfectly, but most of the time, at the most wrong moment..

NOW - with the Altezza on good coilovers, i have to be carefull, esp in the wet, the car is so nearly perfectly balanced (no body dipping foreward or back and hardly any side to side) i can step on it on some corners, not even at signaficant speed and get the car to step out and perfectly steer deeper or step out of it at practically any moment, with a better LSD i can only imagine how this thing would (possibly) be able to dorifto dori..

get some good stiff suspension, my roommate used to use KONI Hilux rear shorcks and KONI yellows up front too.. and get some seriously stiff springs and use the adj shocks to adjsut damper and ride... (may not be ideal for the rd, but you will like yourself)

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2006, 2:06 pm

I don't agree 100% with stiff springs and shocks. That will make his car very twitchy and the tendency will be towards snap oversteer, rather than controllable oversteer. I do agree that he needs suspension work, but nothing so extreme as hilux shocks.....
The MG runs adjustable Konis and I used to have the back as stiff as the front and the car was damn near uncontrollable. Now I run the backs softer, and the car goes from neutral to mild oversteer, which can be controlled by throttle alone. The car stil rolls like hell, but it handles better

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2006, 2:07 pm

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:(clap clap) yu Rang?......

***gasp***gasp***
need...............***koff***koff***
need........cold..........red.............top..........room..............getting..........dark............***gasp***

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 16th, 2006, 3:25 pm

I agree it needs work, the springs are over 20 years old now and they were not very stiff to start with. The shocks are brand new all 'round, but the frnt are oil. I could not get gas for the front, where it needs it.
I have no problem with the back, from the pics you can see that the back does not lean as much as the front. This is a big improvement over when I now got the car. I replaced the shocks with gas Tokicos and also replaced all the suspension bushings back there.
I figure if I work on the front suspension It will balance off with the back, I just need to find springs that will work, as well as gas shocks if I can find em. If i get some money I will also replace all the bushings there as well, some with poly, not all, just the main ones. The rest will go back in rubber. The front feels real floaty these days.
Bear in mind my primary use for this car is not drifting, drifting is just something I would try once in a while. It's my daily driver, extreme suspension modification is not necessary for me because it handles pretty ok on the road. It's the tight corners at solodex that brings out the bad handling tendencies.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 16th, 2006, 3:35 pm

RS200 wrote:then you'll really know what its like to drift and not plow through understeer untill the car looses traction in teh back because all the weight is in the front and the open whele diff pulls one side around..

Actually, even with the poor suspension, I have controlled drifts. All I have to do is sudenly gear down right befor entering the corner, then power out. This causes the rear wheels to suddenly loose traction and initialises the slide.That's the main method I use, I don't touch the handbrakes because for one, I don't think that is the true way to initialise a drift, and secondly, my handbrakes just won't work :lol: . This works alot better on open road than at solodex or drift and comes in handy sometimes when I want the power to be continued after the corner.

But like you said, the suspension needs work, well, not necessarily needs, but if i am to continue using the car in competition and not only road use, it would be very advantageous :lol:

MarcusGronholm

Postby MarcusGronholm » August 16th, 2006, 7:05 pm

[quote="MG Man"]MarcusGronholm
BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAAAAAAAAa
Ay Marcus, is really true u switchin to ah 1969 Mini for the 07 seasonso u can WIN a rally???

Actually MG Man, I much prefer the '72 Clubman for competition but I am having a hard time finding sponsors and Timo is not quite sure that we should give up the Focus.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 16th, 2006, 8:21 pm

^I guess it's because of lack of room in there aye?
You don't want to be that close to your co-driver one time! :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 17th, 2006, 4:06 pm

MarcusGronholm wrote:
MG Man wrote:MarcusGronholm
BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAAAAAAAAa
Ay Marcus, is really true u switchin to ah 1969 Mini for the 07 seasonso u can WIN a rally???

Actually MG Man, I much prefer the '72 Clubman for competition but I am having a hard time finding sponsors and Timo is not quite sure that we should give up the Focus.

best u talk to Mr. Banzai...he seems to fancy the clubman

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 17th, 2006, 10:37 pm

man why do you always have to try to be a collective naye sayer ? and at the same time try to make so much talk by trying to criticise all that i post , no wonder this is a bachanal site

Postby MG Man » August 18th, 2006, 8:58 am

actually I doh try nuh
is like ah God-given gift :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

besides, I just followed the tone you set for this thread

smokey1275 wrote:that's too much wishfull thinking , more look like a slide till a spin out

ie don't know diddly-squat about the issue at hand but coming down all high and mighty from behind the keyboard

Postby wagonrunner » August 18th, 2006, 11:32 am

smokey1275,
if you spew rubbish, shouldn't we, as fellow tuners, point that out?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 19th, 2006, 2:01 pm

smokey1275 wrote:man why do you always have to try to be a collective naye sayer ? and at the same time try to make so much talk by trying to criticise all that i post , no wonder this is a bachanal site

But you start this in almost every thread you post in Smokey1275. Is as though you like the bachanal.

Postby MG Man » August 20th, 2006, 9:27 pm

well he is ah MINI Man eh.............maybe he need to compensate for sumthin :mrgreen:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 21st, 2006, 2:51 pm

^Oh no! shot below the belt!

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 21st, 2006, 2:58 pm

MG Man wrote:well he is ah MINI Man eh.............maybe he need to compensate for sumthin :mrgreen:

compensate u say...:lol:
pressure... :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 21st, 2006, 3:10 pm

presha does buss pipe, so allyuh betta watch out :mrgreen:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 21st, 2006, 3:21 pm

*sigh*

This is what I does be missing in the car park? Now I really seeing why alyuh gunning for smokey. Must visit here more often.

linker

Postby linker » August 21st, 2006, 3:32 pm

sweet!!! it right there in colour... doh bash!! :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 21st, 2006, 3:51 pm

all we was doin was govin Zodi ah lil props for he driving flair
de man tek ah 1.4 box lancer and always does a great drive at Dex. A 1st and 2nd in his class debut...not too shaby, PLUS asked to do a lil drift by CARS :!:

MarcusGronholm

Postby MarcusGronholm » August 22nd, 2006, 11:29 pm

Precisely :twisted:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 23rd, 2006, 1:56 pm

:oops: