Motorcycle Riders

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 29th, 2009, 10:25 pm

guys...where do you get your bikes serviced????? I mean things like oil changes, tyre changes, brakes, etc. Is there a place where you can get a full service done???

suspeck

Postby suspeck » June 30th, 2009, 12:02 am

I do mine myself.What bike you riding? I can guide you along the oil changes. Hardest part about tire changes is getting the old ones off. Once you break the bead then everything else is easy. Cam chain is pretty easy if you have a manual tensioner already installed....and if you're not riding a 929 fireblade.Valve adjustment takes a while to get it right.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » June 30th, 2009, 8:43 am

ek4ever wrote:guys...where do you get your bikes serviced????? I mean things like oil changes, tyre changes, brakes, etc. Is there a place where you can get a full service done???

what kind of bike is it?? if its a CBR i have the service manual for it to share.. :D
takes you through everything bolt by bolt from which fairings u need to remove to every screw u have to remove and put back....
once u have a good set of tools and a torque wrench u good to go.. every damn thing in the manual had a torque spec :!: kinda annoying sometimes.. :lol:
although some experienced guys who do service told me not everything has to be specifically torqued.. better be safe that sorry i say :lol:
is not exactly a car... with doors all around :lol:

tyre changes u will need to check a shop.. greene's etc.. i know there is a place in central that does it never bother to find out exactly where it is as i am from north side...

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » June 30th, 2009, 10:15 am

Service is only limited to which area you are from friend, as there are a lot of bike mechs scattered all over the country, but just like in the car world there are plenty quacks too.
I'm from the east and I can vouch for Roshan, Gambo, Dale and Andy. There's Jerry from Orangefield, Mike Rambally, Kitch and Chainbrain...(Don't really know too much of the south bike mechs...).
Depending on which area you are from I can probably tell you who to check.
And believe me, once you're mechanically inclined you will realise that simple maintenance/ tyre changing etc can be be handled on your own.
I personally think Greene has gotten sloppy and his prices are way too rediculous...probably since he has his big Govt contract now the small man has to take the pillion seat...who knows.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 1st, 2009, 12:03 pm

probably since he has his big Govt contract now

bachannalllll lol... yahama ftw :?: :lol:

Central i can vouch for elif...
tyre changing etc can be be handled on your own.

need to learn this one..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 1st, 2009, 4:26 pm

Helmets Specs. as required by LAW:

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws/Chs ... cation.pdf

it does not mention DOT or SNELL approved helmets.......but i do not know if the DOT and Snell standards exceed the standards of those mentioned.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 2nd, 2009, 11:46 am

thanks guys...I'm in south and I have a CBR600RR...I also have the full shop manual so I can do things like the oil change....what I'm really looking for is somewhere to do tyre changes, brake pad changes and re-tension the chain since I do not have a stand for the bike.

Spring Chkn

Postby Spring Chkn » July 2nd, 2009, 10:37 pm

i'm interested in gettin a bike, always liked them and now in a position to afford one without havin to sell my car.. kinda.

i have a few questions:

1. Is there anywhere that gives lessons? if so, where? i dont really know anyone that has a bike so thats not an option.
2. Where sells bikes? i'm from the eastish area (champs fleurs) but im willin to go wherever the bikes are..
3. Im leanin to the CBR600 since a guy in my class had one and i liked it... after reading this thread i also find the R6 is a sexy ride.. but cant afford that right now.

Postby foss » July 3rd, 2009, 5:20 am

i knew there was a reason i did not open this thread before.. cuz it gets me all excited :oops:

i always wanted a sport bike and a trail..

one day :mrgreen:

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 3rd, 2009, 12:00 pm

1. Is there anywhere that gives lessons? if so, where? i dont really know anyone that has a bike so thats not an option.

Elif 7473543 Sells and teaches also... really good teacher/rider
Where sells bikes?

he is from the central area.... if he doesnt have a cbr in stock you can order one or he can look out for a used one for u...

Postby tr1ad » July 3rd, 2009, 12:27 pm

crash dummy,

can i have a copy of the CBR service manual please

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 3rd, 2009, 3:36 pm

u can also check horsey, saturdays about 3-6pm he does be there giving lessons in aranguez savanna.

40$ a session, seen alot of first time bike riders learn to ride for the first time, including people who never ride a normal bycicle

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 5th, 2009, 9:53 am

So any one with any fall stories....
From forgetting to put down the stand to a full out fight with the asphalt (which obviously the latter won)

On my third day or so i was on an incline on the top of the following street in my area. Balancing to pull off of the incline.. easing off the clutch, not giving it enough gas. After stalling like three times i decided to give it a little more gas :lol:

Still easing out the clutch giving it more gas the bike shoots off (well at that point what i thought was shooting off before i learnt to pull off quickly) it quickly eats up the little road i have before the pavement on the other side of the corner. Additionally i am now getting accustomed to keeping two fingers on the front brake and end up mashing gas and brakes :lol:

So this bike is jerking for all its worth and having high rpms already the exhaust is waling away which induces panic :lol:
well when it hit the curb it was slow but i still trying to hold up this heavy sheit... well when i realise that was an exercise in futility i spread my legs and the bike drops in between it thanks god i over 6" :lol: the frame slider dropped in the dirt so no damage to the bike just a small dig under the slider :lol:
So i look around there is this girl who saw the whole episode watchin me like wha d muh??? :shock:

Pick it up with temporary super human strength.. i swear it was like 5 pounds fus i shame :lol:
and buss out... Didnt have a problem balancing clutch then :lol:

a couple thousand miles later is a cool scene

Coming soon when my more experienced partner write off my darlin.. still coming to terms with that one :cry: somebody else take the "spirit stick" :lol:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 5th, 2009, 10:09 am

^^hehe same ting happened to me, why is it always a girl around to see the madness.

I coming off an incline day after i get bike, and end up hitting to much gas and letting off clutch too quick, bike shoot off the incline and went up, open to wide and at the angle, let off clutch and it cut off skidding the back tyre to fall.

After yuh pick it up and feel vex and bad, yuh plan to never fall again and thas what i been doing so far. cant fear the bike again, hadda be in full control and the boss of it lol :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

The addictive ting is when yuh start hitting over 8000 rpms and that speed feeling controllable! Right now i hitting 7000 these days on my learning days and it hard to put down the bike, whole day is riding :lol:

Postby foss » July 5th, 2009, 4:23 pm

sigh.. i want one :(

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 5th, 2009, 5:02 pm

tr1ad,
pm sent.
foss,
what is stopping you :twisted:
The addictive ting is when yuh start hitting over 8000 rpms and that speed feeling controllable! Right now i hitting 7000

8000 u only halfway there man :twisted: :lol:
i remember my first redline.. sighhhh it was so sweet.. just feel the rpm cut kick in.. i was like burr.. quick glance down i was like woi woi :D :D
and Mr Yoshimura in the back soundin excellent if i do say so myself...
have heard a lot of exhausts in my short stint but i love that tone, Two Brothers close by but a little too loud for my taste..
u know what else is funny when u first start 30/35 feels like you going realll fast :lol:
light speed... well for about a month i thinkin is in km/h till i realise is mp/h :lol:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 5th, 2009, 11:25 pm

^^haha, i set my one on km/h, i was doing 40 and thinking that km/h rel fast until i see it set on mph

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 6th, 2009, 2:11 pm

crash dummy....it's amazing how much strength yuh get from shame....I was always worried about putting down my bike cause I thought i'd never be able to lift it alone....the first time it happened I lift that 400+lb bike like it was a bicycle :mrgreen:

spring chkn the CBR600RR is an excellent starter bike...great power and very nimble handling...you will see why Honda dominates the 600cc class with this bike...go for it. Also there are many great learner videos on youtube which take you through the basics and some of the more advance riding techniques......great to look at then go out and practice

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 7th, 2009, 8:57 am

ek4ever,
i just hold that thing by the rightside handlebar and pull it straight up :lol:
cbr's are the lightest though..
watch my partner pull up his yamaha Fazer and is pressure :lol:
he had to squat backwards on the fallen side of the bike and lift with his legs i thought the bike was going to fall over on the other side :shock:

A useful tool for managing the weight of the bike especially when pushing backwards on slight inclines is to bump the front shock. Basically you hold the front brake push down and time the shock recoil and use that momentum to carry you back. Its a life saver :lol: muchhhhhh less effort. After a couple tries you should master it :lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 7th, 2009, 2:44 pm

^^^I'll keep that in mind....imagine if a GoldWing fall on yuh..... :shock:

One thing I forgot to do was put the stand down so when I lifted the bike back up it wouldn't fall over on the next side....but all you think about is getting the bike back up....good thing it didn't fall over again

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 9th, 2009, 2:26 pm

Right....got my oil....using Red Line 10W40 Motorcycle oil and a K&N filter...gonna change oil this weekend and see how the redline oil feels on this bike....also changing to some Dunlop Road Smart tyres as these Michelins are almost finished....new disc pads....and battery and I should be set for a while

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 9th, 2009, 2:34 pm

note that K&N oil filters flow more oil at the cost of filtration, since the pores are larger........thats the general feeling of people who use them on cars.....i dont think bike filters would be different. :!:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 9th, 2009, 4:50 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:note that K&N oil filters flow more oil at the cost of filtration, since the pores are larger........thats the general feeling of people who use them on cars.....i dont think bike filters would be different. :!:

That's true of the air filters but tests show that the filtering capability of the K&N to be second only to the Mobil 1 and Purolator Gold...other than that they are probably one of the best filters in terms of construction....since the Mobil 1 is difficult to get here I use the K&N

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 9th, 2009, 5:06 pm

oh.....well that was the general feeling on some of the yamaha forums as well......*shrug*

still on filters......stay far from Fram :| especially on a bike.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 9th, 2009, 6:37 pm

I left my bike outside in the sun and did'nt even see that rain cloud and it washed my bike and made me mad.

Now its idling bad and sound as if its missfiring on low rpms and about 4500+ it sounds smooth.

Im thinking about changing the plugs one time but i dont no what plugs to use on an R6.

Anyone have experience on what to put?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 10th, 2009, 12:07 am

^^^download the owner's manual from yamaha's website........it should be in that. :!:

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » July 10th, 2009, 8:56 am

cacasplat3 wrote:
note that K&N oil filters flow more oil at the cost of filtration, since the pores are larger........

Heard this from an experienced bike man also.. i bought one to change but i think i will go with the original Honda Filter.. better filtration
left my bike outside in the sun and did'nt even see that rain cloud and it washed my bike and made me mad.

Now its idling bad and sound as if its missfiring on low rpms and about 4500+ it sounds smooth.

Strange :!:
i mean they are designed to take weather... How many km is the bike doing?
stock plugs are normally platinum so i dont think they are ready for a change yet. didnt u like real recently get the bike with low mileage :?:
Heard plugs are changed every 12,000km or so

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 10th, 2009, 9:09 am

was the air filter, was dirty lol, works perfect now :mrgreen:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 13th, 2009, 12:44 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:oh.....well that was the general feeling on some of the yamaha forums as well......*shrug*

still on filters......stay far from Fram :| especially on a bike.

x1000000000000

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » July 13th, 2009, 12:47 pm

hey, you chunas wanna meet up for a ride?
:mrgreen: