The Official Car Care Thread

nemesis

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby nemesis » March 30th, 2012, 7:53 pm

I like not that Meguiars wash mitt. Nor the mothers. The Griots not bad.

Waschpudel ftw though!

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 30th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Anywhere locally sells Wolfgang products?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 31st, 2012, 7:13 pm

^^LOL yeah right. Can't get that locally pal.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 31st, 2012, 8:00 pm

For the snow foam guys here are some pics!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 31st, 2012, 8:27 pm

Haven't seen Wolfgang locally.
Hadda git me one of dem dere foam cannons sometime too. Looks like fun.

Postby shogun » April 1st, 2012, 12:56 am

nemesis wrote:
Hadda git me one of dem dere foam cannons sometime too.

ditto.

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » April 1st, 2012, 12:09 pm

^^ trust me it's all fun!!

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 2nd, 2012, 6:08 am

Karim Khan wrote:^^ trust me it's all fun!!

Ever heard of leatherique conditioner?
thought?S
:D

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 2nd, 2012, 7:54 am

karim what car wash do you use with the cannon?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2012, 8:54 am

I would only recommend a high foaming car wash for the foam cannon. I use a product that import called citrus wash. Its specifically designed for this purpose.

Postby 16 cycles » April 2nd, 2012, 9:03 am

had some tape residue, varnish and other unwanted contaminants on granite from a small project.....used a razor blade to scrape of the larger bits..
.... followed by mother's clay bar + showtime detail ...
.....followed by rubbing alcohol to prep surface before using a sealant....

the clay bar worked well in removing the very fine contaminants...

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2012, 9:39 am

^^^ Post some pics

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2012, 9:52 am

Karim Khan wrote:I would only recommend a high foaming car wash for the foam cannon. I use a product that import called citrus wash. Its specifically designed for this purpose.

damn van too big
I just run it thru Peakes car wash every two weeks
Karim, u have anything to clean / protect a canvas convertible top? (inside and out)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2012, 1:58 pm

^^^ Yup

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

PM me some details nuh........got me a convertible to see about now

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 3rd, 2012, 6:33 am

I just run it thru Peakes car wash every two weeks

A recipe for lots of swirls and hazing. Those car washes are hard on paint.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 3rd, 2012, 8:26 am

MG Man wrote:PM me some details nuh........got me a convertible to see about now

303 has a convertible top cleaner

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 3rd, 2012, 9:33 am

^^^ that's right. the problem though is to find it

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2012, 9:44 am

Karim, still waiting on details :P
DSM, so far, so good......damn pickup too frickin big to hand wash

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 3rd, 2012, 6:15 pm

Same thing a fella with a black corolla told me the other day.

"Nah man, car doh have swirl!"

When the sun hit that paint.....cobweb swirling like WOW.

Most ppl don't know what to look for to start with.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 3rd, 2012, 8:58 pm

Couldn't you just use most normal car washes in the cannon also?
Many of them say they're useable in the cannon but you just need to dilute it quite a bit.

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » April 4th, 2012, 8:46 am

Guys where can i get a fender brush to buy today?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 4th, 2012, 3:25 pm

Depends on how much space you have between your tire and fender shield.
Quite a few brushes are available at places that sell car care items. You from north or south? Carplus has a few different ones if you're in south.

If you do buy one of those big brushes though, just turn your wheels full lock and do closer to the outside, then turn the opposite direction and slide the brush up behind the tire. It's what I gotta do. But it works.

Postby MG Man » April 4th, 2012, 6:34 pm

DSM_05 wrote:

van grey
it doh bother me
I hand wash the cars

Karim Khan.................u have the convertible stuff or not?
sheesh

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 5th, 2012, 8:25 am

nemesis wrote:I like not that Meguiars wash mitt. Nor the mothers. The Griots not bad.

Waschpudel ftw though!

wow, its a bit expensive, why you prefer it to the mothers or the megs?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 5th, 2012, 9:33 am

DSM_05 wrote:

van grey
it doh bother me
I hand wash the cars

Karim Khan.................u have the convertible stuff or not?
sheesh

Hey MG man , i just checked my stock , but unfortunately i don't have any extra to sell , i only have for personal use.

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » April 5th, 2012, 11:06 am

meguiars heaven :shock:

Postby Chimera » April 5th, 2012, 11:10 am

^^^ wheres that? lol

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2012, 11:11 am

Karim Khan wrote:
Hey MG man , i just checked my stock , but unfortunately i don't have any extra to sell , i only have for personal use.

oh good grief :|

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 5th, 2012, 1:31 pm

gfbl wrote:
nemesis wrote:I like not that Meguiars wash mitt. Nor the mothers. The Griots not bad.

Waschpudel ftw though!

wow, its a bit expensive, why you prefer it to the mothers or the megs?

The sponge body is easier to hold. The fibers stay fluffed out better rather than just fall flat as soon as they get wet, and it washes clean easier.
Have to try it to feel the difference I guess. But I think a good wash mitt is a basic necessity so the price difference isn't really that bad.

MGMan, order online! Amazon does wuk good!