Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Conrad

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby Conrad » October 19th, 2010, 7:10 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:heading out with a R32....will let yall know how the mighty ARR BEEEE 26 wukking...

Please say it's not a big turbo, drag built RB26. I could already smell Evo/STi nut lickers snickering if it doesn't do such a good time.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 19th, 2010, 9:42 am

Car: Nissan Skyline R32
Engine: 2.6 Turbo
Drivetrain: 4WD/Manual
Tyres: Foreign Used Continentals 255/40 r 18
Ambient Temperature: 31 degrees
Time 1:15AM
Extra weight: 2"something" ( i drove)

Running start from hilton to the lookout: 2:30:70.
Timing: Blackberry stopclock.
Dead start from lookout to hilton: 1:56:22.
Timing: Blackberry stopclock.

Ok.....first of..BIG PROPS to the owner for having faith in the Rasta in driving his car. Owner wishes to remain annonymous (as they all do). Taking that advice of Wagonrunner we parked the Legas in Hilton Carpark and headed out. Went downhill to the roundabout by the QPS and immediately realized that this car is set up for Touge. It's dialed in expertly. Owner gives me a few short notes on how the car handles under pwoer and we set off...

I was doing about 100kph in front of Hilton when we started and pressed.....by the S's i was doing 160 (UPHILL) and had to brake hard to enter.....then i totally ignored the owners first note, "the car understeers horridly"...i pressed coming out of the apex and found myself on the opposite side of the road. Lesson learnt.

The car is quick. Set up tight. i was...again....thinking "yes we doing a 1:50-52" with this.....then alas...just before the last three corners we came up on a TTDF truck, with some very startled soilders.

Run scrubbed. 2:30:70.

Return run. Dead start from the look out. Paying heed to the understeer issue i found it difficult to find a balance point for the tight corners....the car tends to step out when you apply the power and that is mainly becuz of the Tyres. Not NEAR gri[[y as the others I ran (including the LEgas F1's) But still...that aside...the car is picks up speed effortlessly. i had a cautious "S" run this time and coming out of the second bend i pressed downhill and we hit close to (speed withheld).

1:56:22.

I love this car. though. Wish I had more seat time with it to discover its demons and how to counter it...

The owner and myself had a interesting discussion about using a Go-Kart on the LYR. Said it was doen last year (3 karts...) but its all hush hush. would'nt doubt it.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 19th, 2010, 9:52 am

^^^ Hmm Nice write up.. Good going rasta!!

Postby MG Man » October 19th, 2010, 9:53 am

ras u need to watch the R32 ep in Stage 1

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 19th, 2010, 10:16 am

I love the detail review.

Postby Rooki3 » October 19th, 2010, 10:18 am

i have access to "D" plates (almost anytime), would it make sense buying an AE86 & doing a few of these runs???

Postby wagonrunner » October 19th, 2010, 10:22 am

Rooki3 wrote:i have access to "D" plates (almost anytime), would it make sense buying an AE86 & doing a few of these runs???

in your case.............. most definitely.

Postby cinco » October 19th, 2010, 11:35 am

Rooki3 wrote:i have access to "D" plates (almost anytime), would it make sense buying an AE86 & doing a few of these runs???

sure but D plates not supposed to be on the road after 6 or was it 8

Postby Rooki3 » October 19th, 2010, 1:04 pm

^^^didn't know it had a time limit

Postby Monk BANzai » October 19th, 2010, 2:31 pm

^^ yup...cant be used after 6pm

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 19th, 2010, 3:25 pm

i have access to "D" plates (almost anytime), would it make sense buying an AE86 & doing a few of these runs???

Ent we told ya?

Initial d bug has bitten thee.

Postby Rooki3 » October 19th, 2010, 3:38 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:

Ent we told ya?

Initial d bug has bitten thee.

Postby eliteauto » October 19th, 2010, 4:29 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ yup...cant be used after 6pm

Massy, Southern sales, Lifestyle, TTTL etc know that? :|

Postby wagonrunner » October 19th, 2010, 5:06 pm

eliteauto wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ yup...cant be used after 6pm

Massy, Southern sales, Lifestyle, TTTL etc know that? :|

the Sawateeh's do not approve.

Postby Rooki3 » October 19th, 2010, 5:18 pm

i wouldn't attempt driving with those after 6pm, my is nappy i.e its not my time now!!!!

moti

Postby moti » November 8th, 2010, 1:21 pm

rasta, no more runs?

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » November 8th, 2010, 1:31 pm

yeah what he just said!

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 18th, 2010, 10:00 am

Soon I'll be posting my times.
Car is stock, for now.

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 5:12 pm

Pornie sometimes I reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally does wanna hate you yuhknow

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » November 18th, 2010, 6:09 pm

:shock: can't wait

Postby Monk BANzai » November 23rd, 2010, 12:27 am

just came back from a practice run with...

Alot of car to handle. Thats all for now.....official run later in the week.

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » November 25th, 2010, 11:56 am

why is your house pink?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » December 13th, 2010, 2:05 pm

Alright which one of allyuh beyotches putdown that set of sick "s" tyre marks just off the lady young lookout. Looked like someone flicked out the back of something RWD real nice!!

Postby Rooki3 » December 13th, 2010, 4:58 pm

Advil wrote:why is your house pink?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 13th, 2010, 5:40 pm

I happen to like pink. You have a problem with that?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 13th, 2010, 7:05 pm

paparazzi wrote:Alright which one of allyuh beyotches putdown that set of sick "s" tyre marks just off the lady young lookout. Looked like someone flicked out the back of something RWD real nice!!

guilty... :oops: :oops: ...did u see the uphill second hairpin right hander??? :twisted:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 13th, 2010, 7:26 pm

was going an call u eh pornie but didn't kno if u'd come way down chaguramas to meet us
after 11 pm...

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 14th, 2010, 11:06 am

Next time call nah man. The worst that could happen is that I cant make it. :D

Postby Monk BANzai » December 20th, 2010, 2:31 pm

just an addition.....Manzanilla (from by the Cove) to Grande. 7:40. That fast or slow?

Postby noshownogo » December 20th, 2010, 2:49 pm

that stretch any good? either way 7:40 sounds rather quick for the distance covered...