The Official Car Care Thread

ase_tt

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby ase_tt » April 10th, 2012, 8:51 am

I used the compound, sealant and polish when i was done...my car was lookin like glass!

Postby Stephon. » April 10th, 2012, 9:49 am

RICHFOREVER

Postby RICHFOREVER » April 10th, 2012, 12:55 pm

anyone knows where i can source grit guards (meguiars or otherwise ) locally ?

Postby Stephon. » April 10th, 2012, 1:35 pm

I went to a particular store in San Juan close to auto village that I was pointed in the direction of by Meguiars TT.

Me: hi
Guy: hello goodday may I help?
Me: yeah you have meguiars NXT?
Guy: WHA IZ DA?

:?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 10th, 2012, 7:19 pm

the smart wax is really a nice wax

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 11th, 2012, 8:35 am

i read that its a slightly different formula to the chemical guys stuff, not sure how true that is.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 11th, 2012, 9:09 am

Smartwax is made by the same people as chemical guys. it's like their "economy" line.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 11th, 2012, 6:40 pm

True dat. Would be nice to see a comparison half/half on a vehicle.

Postby De Dragon » April 11th, 2012, 6:42 pm

ase_tt wrote:Image

I used the compound, sealant and polish when i was done...my car was lookin like glass!

Even the bishes on de car impressed by the rack!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 12th, 2012, 8:59 am

guys that use a polisher, how many pads do you use to finish an entire car?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 12th, 2012, 7:38 pm

When doing what? Polishing depends on how much cutting you're doing and waxing is usually just 1.
For polishing maybe 2. Depends on the grades of polish used.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 12th, 2012, 11:08 pm

compound,pre wax cleaner, wax and sealant

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 13th, 2012, 1:09 pm

Get atleast two each

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 13th, 2012, 2:26 pm

ok thanks

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 13th, 2012, 6:07 pm

And if you haven't used a machine before, I'd advise you start with the pre-wax cleansers and wax or very light polishes until you get a feel for the machine. Don't just spread compound and go for it. Sounds obvious, but believe me it happens.
Which sealant are you going to use with the machine?

Postby Bizzare » April 18th, 2012, 7:38 pm

Today I cleaned a yellow Lamborghini using Meguiar's sponge. Took me only 20 seconds too. I must say it did a pretty good job.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 19th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Thats great man

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 1:45 pm

full Smart Wax treatment......including interior........car went from meh to WETTTTT
In the interior shot, the drivers seat wasn't treated yet.............everyone who saw the car before and after were totally amaZed with the transformation

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 19th, 2012, 1:49 pm

It looks good man ,,, Did you do the detail all bu yourself ?

Postby gastly369 » April 19th, 2012, 1:49 pm

"shampoo ledda" business

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 1:52 pm

nah, I too lazy for that....the nice people who sell SMART products (Advanced Performance Concepts) did all the work..........I was short on time too, so they rushed it in about 2.5 hours.........they say they normally need a full day

GoS

Postby GoS » April 19th, 2012, 7:40 pm

where sells these fantastic products at a good price in the south area and besides car plus

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Its all snowing again in TnT

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 10:02 pm

GoS wrote:where sells these fantastic products at a good price in the south area and besides car plus

the SMART people have a banner on this site, and they in sando......wax, compound, buffing pads, etc
387 0646 / 0647
Last edited by MG Man on April 19th, 2012, 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trvs

Postby trvs » April 19th, 2012, 10:26 pm

Where sells nice buckets locally for the grit guards?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 21st, 2012, 4:48 pm

I need new buckets soon also. Let me know what you find.

Car looks much better than previous pics MG.

In other news, tried Swissvax yesterday for the first time. The cleaner fluid regular is much easier to use than the only other cleaner I've tried which was HDcleanse. Goes on a little harder but is significantly easier to remove. Cleans the paint really well. Just don't let it dry, then it's difficult to remove. Also, worst smelling car product I've ever come across in meh life. I know that doesn't affect how it works, but it's nice to have.
Mirage wax was pretty easy to work with. It's hard and grainy, but goes on smoothly, dries quickly and is the easiest wax to remove that I've come across yet. Spreads well. Barely put a dent in the sample tub so it may not actually be bad value. Smells like Passion fruit. Don't understand why they didn't try to do the same with the cleaner fluid.
Due to time constraints it was just a cleaner fluid/re-wax day after work. Didn't do any polishing or correction in any form. Less than 1000km since last wax and car is covered often so no claying was required.

Wax looked pretty good and had an above average feel. Will see the vehicle again tomorrow in sunlight to see if it was really worth it though. Also will wash it then to comment on the beading. Will get some pics too hopefully.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 22nd, 2012, 9:32 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Mothers-05101-Mag ... _ai_ps_t_6

What you guys use on your rims?. To clean and then protect?
Also; what is the use of a Citric Acid spray?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 22nd, 2012, 9:38 pm

crazychinee wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Mothers-05101-Mag-Aluminum-Polish/dp/B0009H519Y/ref=acc_glance_auto_ai_ps_t_6

Crazychinee, your vehicles dont need the mothers mag and aluminum polish.

Use a dedicated rim cleaner designed for automotive wheels.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 23rd, 2012, 5:38 am

Karim Khan wrote:
crazychinee wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Mothers-05101-Mag-Aluminum-Polish/dp/B0009H519Y/ref=acc_glance_auto_ai_ps_t_6

Crazychinee, your vehicles dont need the mothers mag and aluminum polish.

Use a dedicated rim cleaner designed for automotive wheels.

so no protectant?
cool

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 23rd, 2012, 11:47 pm

trvs wrote:Where sells nice buckets locally for the grit guards?

Got me new buckets in Bhagwansingh's today. $46tt. And buy a cover for one then stack em. Wukking good.