The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby shogun » April 24th, 2012, 12:20 am

MG Man wrote:full Smart Wax treatment......including interior........car went from meh to WETTTTT
In the interior shot, the drivers seat wasn't treated yet.............everyone who saw the car before and after were totally amaZed with the transformation

great job.

amazed at the headlamps....no oxidation or yellowing. Usually a dead give away to the age of a car.

As said above. All it needs is a leather polish and it'll look showroom ready.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » April 24th, 2012, 12:29 am

turtle wax is actually good ino ppl

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2012, 12:35 am

recommend a degreaser please

want to clean the plastic wheel arch panels, engine area, suspension from road grime

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 24th, 2012, 6:32 am

Meguiar's Super Degreaser !!!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 24th, 2012, 8:41 am

karim, will APC work for what duane suggested as well for the under carriage?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 24th, 2012, 12:06 pm

The APC is a good product but it might not be as strong enough for the intended purpose.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 24th, 2012, 5:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:recommend a degreaser please

want to clean the plastic wheel arch panels, engine area, suspension from road grime

Adam's APC. One of the best out there. And for the record, I don't sell/market any particular brand so I'm not biased. I recommend based on what I've used myself.

Of course, you'd have to buy online. In case people might be wondering, Adam's is one of those "boutique"/high end detailing brands, along with stuff like Miglore, Dodo Juice, Griots, Menzerna etc.

Personally, I'd use Adam's APC by itself to clean the engine bay....well...along with some sort of brush. I use one of those small wheel detailing brushes.

For wheel wells, consider using the same Adam's APC, along with a dedicated wheel well brush like those from Mothers (assuming it's a van or something with decent ride height where you can reach under the wheel wells).

If you can't reach under the wells with a brush, then spray the APC, let it sit, then rinse off with a hose. Follow up with an Undercarriage Spray, like the one from Adam's as well. It'll hide any residual dirt and give an even finish.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 25th, 2012, 3:48 pm

Meguiar's Super degreaser works well on many automotive parts

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2012, 3:58 pm

how does that compare to the ol standard purple blaster ?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 25th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Purple blaster will stain your engine block

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 25th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Just got my SM stuff. cant wait till weekend to try it out.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 25th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Shinning Monkey Monkey products is really good!! i got some samples from DE AUDIO and when i used it i was impressed. jdeen let us know how the shinning monkey works for you

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 26th, 2012, 8:22 am

Got it at glenn's in montrose.

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » April 26th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Great will check them when I get chance

trvs

Postby trvs » April 28th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Ok so I got two buckets from a friend who did some drywall stuff recently.

Are these buckets safe to use to wash a vehicle? I cleaned them out and have them soaking in water a couple days now.

Karim, I was going to call you earlier this week to organize for sunday but then I realized the meguiars show is Tmr :(

Lol

Postby Chimera » April 28th, 2012, 7:58 pm

*hugs car*

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 28th, 2012, 9:15 pm

tryin to post images of my car from the SM stuff today but i keep gettin:

"Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached."

supp with that?

Postby K74T » April 28th, 2012, 9:16 pm

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 28th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Thank alot.

Images after the work with the SM stuff.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 28th, 2012, 10:06 pm

^^Love your car - yuh selling orrr :oops: ! Take some more pics in the sun - is that a Greddy exhaust on there?

Postby K74T » April 28th, 2012, 10:11 pm

Sweet Impreza, didn't realise that it's a LHD.

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 28th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Yea lhd and greddy exhaust. Not for sale lol. Thanks tho I love it too :D

jdeen

Postby jdeen » April 30th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Its all snowing again in TnT

typically how long do you leave it in this state?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 30th, 2012, 4:57 pm

typically how long do you leave it in this state?

Until the foam falls off the vehicle.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 3rd, 2012, 9:18 pm

Ok guys i really had a long and exhausting weekend. The Meguiar's show took alot out of me

but here are some pics

This is one of the vehicles that i worked on especially for the show

while at the show

Here i am helping out at the Meguiar's booth
That's Andrew from Meguiar's

Here i am showing Andrew from Meguiar's how we do it in TnT

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2012, 9:16 am

Really nice man!

jdeen

Postby jdeen » May 4th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Those cars looked great. good stuff.

jdeen

Postby jdeen » May 4th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Karim, for a black intercooler, you think i can use the SM tire shine after i clean?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 4th, 2012, 2:52 pm

Jdeen, if the SM tire shine is water based then you can use it with out any issues .

if the tire shine is solvent based i would be a bit cautious when using it.

How you would know if its solvent based- if it feels very oily like silicone or black jack tire shine then its solvent based.

Let me know how it works for you.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 7th, 2012, 12:33 pm

So did anyone did any car washing this weekend???