T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

metalgear2095

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2013, 7:35 pm

[quote="MadCrix"]al the hate I have for Toyota I will change the moment they make an interesting car

look at merc and bmw, complete change now I LOVE all mercs, doh really like bmw anymore, kinda liking the x6 and them rims hoss the RIMS!!![/quote
X6 is sweet. Best looking suv for me. Always liked bmw sedans but must admit they look less attractive last few years

sent via carrier pigeon

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 21st, 2013, 8:37 pm

BMW sedans all look the same to me, dunno why

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2013, 8:42 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:BMW sedans all look the same to me, dunno why

True

sent via carrier pigeon

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 21st, 2013, 11:02 pm

No flair and nothing stands out in their design. The interior tho is a different story all together.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 22nd, 2013, 7:49 am

I can picture the adds from all now :lol:

2014 Corolla will be equipped with:

1.5 INZ-FE engine with 4-speed auto
dual airbags
manual a/c
4-wheel disc
fabric seats
front cupholders
keyless entry
mats
tint
reverse sensors
mud guards
full size spare tyre
multi-reflector halogen head lights
third brake light
mc person strut front suspension
rear torsion beam suspension
15" steel rims with wheel covers
tilt/telescopic sterring
AM/FM/CD/MP3 4-speaker stereo
front and rear crumple zones
side impact door beams
rear child safety door locks
STARTING SPECIAL PRICE of $195k

FULLY LOADED with:
sunroof
fog lights
spoiler
tachometer
ABS/EBD/Brake Assist
auto climate control
Special intro price of $245k

Remember folks consider the value of a good name.....Toyota!!!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 22nd, 2013, 10:12 am

Just now having sponge in the seats will be a feature :|

jaspermorison

Postby jaspermorison » May 22nd, 2013, 10:14 am

Well these prices are so old... What for the new prices. is there any other topic where i can find the new prices of the cars ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 22nd, 2013, 10:19 am

jaspermorison wrote:Well these prices are so old... What for the new prices. is there any other topic where i can find the new prices of the cars ?

The problem really is that few who post here actually considering buying a new car, hell some of the biggest pundits on new cars rely on daddy or purchase 2nd hand vehicles.

So they really dunno the price of anything and few really go to dealers to ask their pricing to report back here so the info isn't updated.

Surely it would be appreciated if you conducted your own research in pricing and shared it here.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 22nd, 2013, 12:35 pm

acesinghit wrote:I can picture the adds from all now :lol:

dual airbags
manual a/c
4-wheel disc
fabric seats
front cupholders
keyless entry
mats
tint
reverse sensors
mud guards
full size spare tyre
third brake light
tilt/telescopic sterring
side impact door beams

FULLY LOADED with:
sunroof
fog lights
spoiler
tachometer
ABS/EBD/Brake Assist
auto climate control

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ acesinghit. Very generous of you to offer 'EBD' and 'brake assist'.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 22nd, 2013, 1:31 pm

NorStar2K wrote:

dual airbags
manual a/c
4-wheel disc
fabric seats
front cupholders
keyless entry
mats
tint
reverse sensors
mud guards
full size spare tyre
third brake light
tilt/telescopic sterring
side impact door beams

FULLY LOADED with:
sunroof
fog lights
spoiler
tachometer
ABS/EBD/Brake Assist
auto climate control

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ acesinghit. Very generous of you to offer 'EBD' and 'brake assist'.

and 'ABS' for that matter....

and as regards BMW's they all have the same design cues if you go on their website they say as much...merc's seem to be a little more willing to innovate in terms of design...audi mashing up that segment of the market internationally though....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 22nd, 2013, 3:26 pm

acesinghit, the Automotive Dealers Association should consider importing new cars WITHOUT indicators (turn signals) as a cost saver cuz we DON'T use them anyway! :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 22nd, 2013, 3:30 pm

I hear that cars now have this magical lever that sprays water onto the glass :shock:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 22nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

dual airbags
manual a/c
4-wheel disc
fabric seats
front cupholders
keyless entry
mats
tint
reverse sensors
mud guards
full size spare tyre
third brake light
tilt/telescopic sterring
side impact door beams

FULLY LOADED with:
sunroof
fog lights
spoiler
tachometer
ABS/EBD/Brake Assist
auto climate control

Starting price of 195k??? Knowing toyota they will have their starting price above 200K

Caesar_T

Postby Caesar_T » May 22nd, 2013, 10:18 pm

DJ Q wrote:Just now having sponge in the seats will be a feature :|

aidan

Postby aidan » May 22nd, 2013, 11:44 pm

MadCrix wrote:al the hate I have for Toyota I will change the moment they make an interesting car

look at merc and bmw, complete change now I LOVE all mercs, doh really like bmw anymore, kinda liking the x6 and them rims hoss the RIMS!!!

Well toyota and BMW might have a sports car on the horizons.

http://www.autoblog.com/2013/01/25/bmw-toyota-outline-new-tech-joint-venture-new-sports-car/

Postby equipped2ripp » May 23rd, 2013, 12:50 am

new Hilux set to come out at the end of this year or early 2014.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 23rd, 2013, 12:52 am

Hopefully Toyota Trinidad wont be pricing it.... :shock: :D :o

Postby j.o.e » May 23rd, 2013, 6:20 am

^ So who will? :?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 23rd, 2013, 7:27 am

^^ Lifestyle motors

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 23rd, 2013, 9:48 am

Thing is if the entire brand thou change and get with the times, worldwide sales will continue to drop.
Stop making deary cars slowyota

U ever siddong in de new rav? Good god it hideous. Sharp lines cheap plastic low quality equipment

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 23rd, 2013, 9:49 am

MadCrix wrote:Thing is if the entire brand thou change and get with the times, worldwide sales will continue to drop.
Stop making deary cars slowyota

U ever siddong in de new rav? Good god it hideous. Sharp lines cheap plastic low quality equipment

Toyota sales dropping?

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 23rd, 2013, 1:39 pm

j.o.e wrote:^ So who will? :?

My bad I meant that if they do price it it will be some exorbitant sum like 600 k for a 2.0 litre non aspirated engine with basic features like 2 airbags and abs , not dissimilar to the ridiculous price of the ft 86...or the lexus gs twins...
And as far as toyota sales dropping I know that Audi sales rising :) :fadein: and by extension the Volkswagen group...Toyota needs to start innovating otherwise their competitors will continue to eat away at their market share...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 23rd, 2013, 1:53 pm

Yes worldwide Toyota sales are dropping. I referenced worldwide in my last post. Not sure if u interpreted that as Trinidad sales :-|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 23rd, 2013, 3:20 pm

It was more a question of amazement their sales really dropping due to be being bland. I don't think Toyota is doing anything wrong. Their sales are dropping in China due to the territorial dispute and backlash but that's about it.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 23rd, 2013, 4:45 pm

They're not doing anything wrong but they not doing much right either...sticking to decades old tech in their vehicles and not innovating and keeping up with the times is not going to help them...when kia and hyundai which nobody took seriously up till a few years ago now can reach and surpass you in terms of standards , reliability and innovation then you need to adapt...and when the germans continue to make better and better cars in your segments and you make little or no appealing innovations then thats not doing much right either...locally the brand continues to rely on their reputation and brand loyalty but just look at the roads and you can see more and more kias, hyundais, volkswagens...which means less and less toyotas...and globally the same is true...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 23rd, 2013, 5:14 pm

Toyota as a business is doing things right. You don't get to be number 1 in sales for years for no reason. You may not like their cars but clearly several million people do. If it was as easy a you guys say Toyota would have been knocked off their thrown quite easily.

Not everyone wants outright speed or three wings on their cars. Not everyone wants a number sheet they can boast about too. If I am laughing to the bank why change it to please persons in this thread who not even buying new cars?

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 23rd, 2013, 5:24 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Toyota as a business is doing things right. You don't get to be number 1 in sales for years for no reason. You may not like their cars but clearly several million people do. If it was as easy a you guys say Toyota would have been knocked off their thrown quite easily.

Not everyone wants outright speed or three wings on their cars. Not everyone wants a number sheet they can boast about too. If I am laughing to the bank why change it to please persons in this thread who not even buying new cars?

whoa low blow dude... :shock: and for my perspective i disagree with nothing you've said , however the original point remains that toyota has been number 1 for years but now is slowly but surely losing that position because of some of the factors we've mentioned and some we haven't...whether we buying no cars or not is irrelevant...those who are are not going for the toyota badge in droves like they used to...and those are facts sir...no personal grouse against toyota for heavens sakes i drive one...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 23rd, 2013, 7:01 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Toyota as a business is doing things right. You don't get to be number 1 in sales for years for no reason. You may not like their cars but clearly several million people do. If it was as easy a you guys say Toyota would have been knocked off their thrown quite easily.

whoa low blow dude... :shock: and for my perspective i disagree with nothing you've said , however the original point remains that toyota has been number 1 for years but now is slowly but surely losing that position because of some of the factors we've mentioned and some we haven't...whether we buying no cars or not is irrelevant...those who are are not going for the toyota badge in droves like they used to...and those are facts sir...no personal grouse against toyota for heavens sakes i drive one...

Well I didn't quote you or call your name but if you feel it fell in your garden then you know what to do. I don't see how it's a low blow. If you not buying a new car you not buying a new car.

You say Toyota is slowly but surely losing their spot but if you look at figures as opposed to your gut feeling you'll see that things aren't as straightforward as you make it seem.

I haven't seen anyone state the possibility that the persons who don't go to Toyota were never going to get one any way. If people were really leaving in "droves" Toyota Trinidad would not be expanding nor would they be number 1 currently and experiencing growth in several markets without the territorial disputes.

All I saying essentially is that you may hate or dislike toyota's vehicles but they clearly appeal to a large different cross section of people. There is more to car sales than spec sheets, hood vents and swoopy lines.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 23rd, 2013, 10:02 pm

Toyota will probably leave a lasting impression on people's purchasing for a long time to come. From the 1980's to the end of the 1990's I would say for over 2 decades, Toyota made some of the world's most reliable vehicles. The US market success also filtered into many minds thanks to cable tv and the internet. So naturally, Toyota is like a default pick but that has since been changing slowly but surely. Toyota themselves recognize the conservative market position of their cars and trucks but they continue to sell well despite lacking competitively in features, performance and style to name but a few. So this current 10th gen E140 series Corolla which is almost to its end is simply another bland compact to many but it appears that is what consumers want! Perceived reliability which affects resale value together with some of the world's most efficient petrol engines make them the powerhouse they are.

I acknowledge this and I would not forget where I came from but times change and thanks to competition, we are open to options. When purchasing an automobile, I will consider all the options and I will recognize the differences that make driving the automobile even more special. The harder the manufacturer works to please me in terms of value for money, safety, performance and style would convince me. These manufacturers who are not strong in resale value and reliability due to previous years ratings are doing more now for you, the consumer to change this. That is why just like in North America, Hyundai, Kia, Volkswagen and Audi just to name a few have improved in these ratings a lot.

For many, we look past perceived reliability, we look past the resale value and consider how much the purchase means to us. You see, for my Wife and I, we value Safety and Security first.

I come from a large family and I am proud to say, from a predominantly Toyota and Nissan background with the odd Mazda and Mitsubishi in between, we welcomed in the space of 18months:

Audi A4 (obvious)
Volkswagen Jetta
Chevrolet Cruze
Ford Focus
Hyundai Elantra
Kia Cerato

My Uncle once told me years ago: "if it ain't Nissan then it ain't worth sheit". The PCX cerato he drives which replaced a local PBB Sentra SuperSaloon (B14) continue to exceed his expectations. After reminding him of his pro Nissan statements he tells me hush, I drive a VW. lol

Toyota maybe still strong, they maybe losing some market share internationally but they will never regain that clear #1 position they once had.

Some facts for you:

The Hyundai Elantra is now the 6th best selling compact in North America (US and Canadian sales combined) - the world's most critical market. With 95,863 units sold it means more and more people are thinking similar to me (perhaps) but clearly they didn't go to Toyota!

Some more figs:
Chevrolet Cruze - 87,606
Ford Focus - 91,946
Volkswagen Jetta - 60,211
Kia Forte (Cerato) - 23,417

as for the Japs:
Toyota Corolla and Matrix sales combined - 117,052
Honda Civic - 115,423
Mazda 3 - 48,332
Nissan Sentra - 48,331
Mitsubishi Lancer - 10,450 (yes you saw correctly, it's not a typo)

It's only a matter of time.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 23rd, 2013, 10:29 pm

^^^ one thing to, Toyota may be getting #1 sales right now, but if every 6 months Orr year, the up and coming brands each have increases in sales, eventually 1 will pass Toyota, then another, then another. And Toyota will drop down quicker.

No disputing Toyota is probably the same reliable car everyone knows, but now people want more than reliable, they want extra safety and comfort features, directional headlamps, sensors to detect and prevent collisions, etc. I am not really seeing Toyota vehicles having anything much extra than what their vehicles had years ago. They moving like Apple, running on brand loyalty and not keeping up with the tech change in the world