The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby Rooki3 » February 11th, 2010, 12:33 am

Advil wrote:Image

Wow, one of the few old cars that get my piggy attention :?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 11th, 2010, 2:59 am

Sweet Kingswood.. Any more 2 doors left in Trinidad? Dragist, what became of Ravi's burn shell?

This is how those cars used to look back in the day... Big difference huh :lol:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 11th, 2010, 10:05 am

Thanx Advil .

RoTaRyBoYz

Colin's Old Monaro last I knew was still owned by Andy Clarke's Bro .

Dang I haven't seen that ride in years .

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2010, 11:09 am

sweet ride but was 'premeir special' really necessary?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 11th, 2010, 11:22 am

MG Man wrote:sweet ride but was 'premeir special' really necessary?

Agreed it also has some stupid plastic thingys on the front window frames .

I followed it down Wrightson Road the other day it has a really nice tone .

Yeo

Postby Yeo » February 11th, 2010, 2:55 pm

Dragist, wasn't there a 2 door Kingswood, metallic blue in Curepe/St. Augustine area?

Full hood scoop, black tint... no stickers... very clean. It had to have been back in '87-'88.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 11th, 2010, 3:04 pm

^ that sounding like Mack Rampersad son car.. Metallic blue, very clean looking with spray. Unfortunately he had a nitrous backfire & it burnt to the ground one Sunday afternoon coming from drags.

How bout the fella who had the red/orange GTS on El Socorro. That still dey?

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » February 11th, 2010, 6:58 pm

Dragist wrote:Agreed it also has some stupid plastic thingys on the front window frames

i asked him what those were, he sad it's a wind visor, u put em up when ur driving with the widows down, to stop the air from hitting u in ur face when doing ridiculous numbers...

said it was a flick back in the day, but if ur stone aged ass don't know what it is, he must be mistaken, cuz AH HEAR u was around when they named the Ford Model T

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 11th, 2010, 7:29 pm

Advil wrote:
Dragist wrote:Agreed it also has some stupid plastic thingys on the front window frames

i asked him what those were, he sad it's a wind visor, u put em up when ur driving with the widows down, to stop the air from hitting u in ur face when doing ridiculous numbers...

said it was a flick back in the day, but if ur stone aged ass don't know what it is, he must be mistaken, cuz AH HEAR u was around when they named the Ford Model T

:shock: :shock: ROFL :lol: :lol: :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 11th, 2010, 7:50 pm

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Advil wrote:

they are called wind deflectors
they were typically used on British roadsters back in the 1950s when wind protection was basically a flat pane of glass.....no door glass, no window frames, no roof etc...you also had separate cycle fenders or running boards instead of fenders, so stones tended to fly when going around bends.....in this regard, they were functional...

on a 'modern' sedan or coupe, I would call this rice................or at best one the same level of tackiness as a metal windshield visor.....

Advil

Postby Advil » February 11th, 2010, 11:02 pm

10 points to old guy number2! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 12th, 2010, 12:03 am

for sale too :!:

Advil

Postby Advil » February 12th, 2010, 12:35 am

i'm sure he wants 1 billion dollars for it

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 12th, 2010, 12:45 am

Advil wrote:i'm sure he wants 1 billion dollars for it

lol not quite. his asking price isnt bad considering everything is original (so he says)

Postby wagonrunner » February 12th, 2010, 2:01 am

MG Man wrote:they are called wind deflectors
they were typically used on British roadsters back in the 1950s when wind protection was basically a flat pane of glass.....no door glass, no window frames, no roof etc...you also had separate cycle fenders or running boards instead of fenders, so stones tended to fly when going around bends.....in this regard, they were functional...

on a 'modern' sedan or coupe, I would call this rice................or at best one the same level of tackiness as a metal windshield visor.....

Thankfully you said sedan or coupe, else I would be tacky to the core.
It came so, and i have no interest in removing them.
It also allows for the vehicle to be parked without the glasses being fully closed, thus allowing some of the heated air inside to escape.

Hmm, all of them here have it as well. Seems the manufacturer did prefer rice over function.

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2010, 10:03 am

MG Man wrote:they are called wind deflectors

Thankfully you said sedan or coupe, else I would be tacky to the core.
It came so, and i have no interest in removing them.
It also allows for the vehicle to be parked without the glasses being fully closed, thus allowing some of the heated air inside to escape.

Hmm, all of them here have it as well. Seems the manufacturer did prefer rice over function.

wheel and come again grasshopper

what you have there is different
those are so you can leave your windows down a bit so the car can vent heat, while keeping rain out.......

and once again, nothing new is really new..............
and contrary to popular beilef, it's not a Japanese innovation

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2010, 10:33 am

werent those originally designed to let the smoke out when its raining since everyone smoked pipes an shite back in england?
i read that somewhere but cant cite the source so i might be wrong

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 12th, 2010, 10:44 am

Advil wrote:

Remember what Henry Ford said about the Model T " You can get it in any colour once it's Black "

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2010, 10:51 am

cinco wrote:werent those originally designed to let the smoke out when its raining since everyone smoked pipes an shite back in england?

you are probably correct. I never dug much into the origins of it....

I know that there was a time Rolls Royce lost sales with a new model because of it's sleeker roofline...apparently the European aristocracy was perturbed that you had to remove your HAT in this new car....the indignity of it all :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 12th, 2010, 11:54 am

ah spot something! in a youface vid.

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2010, 12:57 pm

cinco wrote:werent those originally designed to let the smoke out when its raining since everyone smoked pipes an shite back in england?

you are probably correct. I never dug much into the origins of it....

I know that there was a time Rolls Royce lost sales with a new model because of it's sleeker roofline...apparently the European aristocracy was perturbed that you had to remove your HAT in this new car....the indignity of it all :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

yup hence the high square rooflines of russian cars
but theirs was more necessary so they can keep their warm hats on in the cold weather.
not to digress too much but dont people realise japanese are short ppl hence their ability to make such small cars and tell everyone fit in it!

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » February 12th, 2010, 8:41 pm

oh gorm man................moo dee wingroad from dis ched nah
allyuh want it to get like the other thread orr? :lol:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 12th, 2010, 8:49 pm

wow..I real miss ours dred. PU 5785.. the guy that bought it after we had it for 18yrs put a diesel in it and let it rot out.

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2010, 10:24 pm

wow that man has an awesome body man or he doesnt drive that car ever the body panels are straight even the factory hubcaps

triniboy

Postby triniboy » February 13th, 2010, 5:45 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:ah spot something! in a youface vid.

dred, ah had to look to see where u get that image from and i have to say.... i real like the old video of trinidad.... I DONT CARE if is ah damn repost !!!!

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 13th, 2010, 4:43 pm

ImageImage

Postby cinco » February 13th, 2010, 6:09 pm

wait is that a wolesley
where these things appear from?

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 13th, 2010, 6:36 pm