The Official Car Care Thread

trvs

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby trvs » May 9th, 2012, 10:48 am

I used the 2 bucket method Sunday. When I was finished washing my vehicle the soap bucket had no dirt. the water was clear and sudsy.

I also bought the wash and rinse spray nozzle from pricesmart like r3iXmann. It comes with two items. The he he has in the picture and a "fire hose" type nozzle. I using it long one as my temporary foam gun and to reach the hood on my van since it's very hard to reach. My power washer is down so until I fix it or get a new one I'll have to use this.

It's a good product, not enough foam like a foam cannon on a power washer but good enough.

Karim, what's a good product to use under my fenders to keep it looking black and nice? The front has the usual plastic but the rear fenders have a rust proofing coat which kinda hard to clean with a sponge as it's a textured sticky kinda thing.

I know Chemical guys has a Bare Bones Undercarriage Detailing spray but I think that may only work in the front.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 9th, 2012, 10:55 am

My car isn't getting any kinda loving with the amount of rain these days :(

Looking to try a wash mitt as well, only use microfibre cloths.

trvs

Postby trvs » May 9th, 2012, 11:06 am

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 9th, 2012, 5:02 pm

I saw a huge mitt on Adams Carecare products website. Looks alot better than the meguairs.

trvs

Postby trvs » May 9th, 2012, 11:21 pm

The Adams mitt looks cool. Trust me, you want something white so you will know when it's dirty after you make a pass on your paint.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 11th, 2012, 1:31 pm

crazychinee wrote:I saw a huge mitt on Adams Carecare products website. Looks alot better than the meguairs.

Huge wash mitt, like a huge drying cloth isn't always an advantage. Yes you can pick up more water, but it's much more difficult to maintain control and swipe it right. I actually have big wash mitts that I generally prefer not to use. Last drying cloth I got I chose by who made the smaller ones.

Also currently testing Wolfgang deep gloss sealant vs AG EGP half and half on a hood.
Wolfgang slightly thicker so easier to control but more difficult to apply and remove. Both beading the same, look the same (to me). I guess how long they last will determine which I choose in the future.
P21S washer fluid is doing what they say. Clean with no streaks. Working great when you drive after the rain and get that light road splash from other cars that you need to keep spraying.
Purple Haze Pro looking great. Beads nicely. Looks and behaves exactly the same 10washes later (only about 2 weeks though). I like thus far. Was easy to use but more difficult to get the cure time right as compared to other waxes I've used. Leave it too long and it smears badly. Too short and it's a bit more difficult to remove. I found it worked well around 20mins. This was on one of our few dry days.

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » May 11th, 2012, 3:46 pm

Check what I just got in !

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 21st, 2012, 12:43 pm

So did anyone do any detailing over the weekend . ?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 21st, 2012, 2:22 pm

nice stuff you get there karim

Postby Trini Hookah » May 21st, 2012, 2:34 pm

Best $30 I ever spent.

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 2:50 pm

where u buy that ^ ?
looking for something to remove rim stains. Karim recommend something please.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 21st, 2012, 4:23 pm

S_2NR wrote:where u buy that ^ ?

S_2NR what kind of wheel you have ?

chrome? aluminum ? painted ?

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 4:27 pm

its for stock aluminum rims on a mazda 3.

have some stains that refuse to come out.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 21st, 2012, 4:31 pm

Those wheels are painted then clear coated.

Try using a clay bar and then follow up with a cleaner wax. If this does not work you may have to repaint the rim

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 4:34 pm

all that! paint over?! :(

so would purple blaster do more harm than good?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 21st, 2012, 5:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:all that! paint over?! :(

doh ever say that name in here ..men will start to get fits.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 21st, 2012, 9:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:all that! paint over?! :(

Is purple blaster the man say :faint:

Purple blaster is a very good degreaser. But if not diluted correctly it can cause more harm than good. If you used purple blaster on your rims before,(without proper dilution) then this MAY be the probable cause of your rim stains.

I would only recommend chemicals that are designed for cars to be used on cars as it was made for that intended purpose. Using chemicals that are not designed for automotive use many not yield favorable results,therefore it is best to used products that is intended for a specific purpose. e.g. Use a rim cleaner to clean your rim, use a car wash for washing cars or use dish washing liquid of washing dishes etc.

Guys let me remind you that your vehicle is next most valuable asset other than your house, to others it may be the most expensive single investment they have ever made. You have made this investment for some sort of return be it functional , to increasing your bling factor or just some sort of intrinsic satisfaction. What you need to do is protect this lofty investment by following the correct maintenance schedule and using the best products and services you can afford.
So skimping on what you put in or on your car may not be the best option as it may be cheap now but costly in the long run.

There are many different car care products on the market to suit your budget so cost should not be an excuse. If you don't know what to use , do some research on the internet or ask a question on this forum. I am sure one of us will be glad to assist.

To this end no question is stupid so feel free to ask

And remember protect your investment!

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2012, 10:36 pm

what's the best way to remove stuck tar droplets from road paving ?
tried claybar business before and did not work
some say just melt them off with kerosene

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 10:38 pm

never used purple blaster before Karim.

the stains look like hard water stains, idk how else to describe it.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 21st, 2012, 10:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:where u buy that ^ ?

Price Club Chaguanas, in the lane itself, not at the front of it.

And I have some stains on my rims as well, residue from different types of Tire shining products over the years.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 22nd, 2012, 10:39 am

Karim Khan wrote:I would only recommend chemicals that are designed for cars to be used on cars as it was made for that intended purpose. Using chemicals that are not designed for automotive use many not yield favorable results,therefore it is best to used products that is intended for a specific purpose. e.g. Use a rim cleaner to clean your rim, use a car wash for washing cars or use dish washing liquid of washing dishes etc.

that said, what wind shield washer fluid would you recommend under normal conditions? or just plain water is fine? I know there are countless debates on this on the auto tech forum but what do you suggest?

trvs

Postby trvs » May 22nd, 2012, 10:48 am

Postby Trini Hookah » May 22nd, 2012, 1:45 pm

^ If you need those you have to make a trip to:

Calypso Marine Canvas Limited - Peake Yacht Services

Chaguarmas, TT

Telephone: 868-634-4012

..according to the site. You get yours anywhere else?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 22nd, 2012, 9:18 pm

S_2NR wrote:never used purple blaster before Karim.

the stains look like hard water stains, idk how else to describe it.

S_2NR, if its a painted surface and it looks like hard water stains, try some of the cleaner wax, it should either remove it or there should be at the very least some improvement.

pugboy wrote:what's the best way to remove stuck tar droplets from road paving ?

Pugboy, i have great results removing tar from paint using the clay bar check the pic below

I think you may need to try the clay bar for a longer time. If this does not work get a dedicated tar remover but make sure and read the instructions before using it.
Kerosene does remove tar, but it can have many potential side effects to you and your car. So its not something i would recommend.

searchingone wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:I would only recommend chemicals that are designed for cars to be used on cars as it was made for that intended purpose. Using chemicals that are not designed for automotive use many not yield favorable results,therefore it is best to used products that is intended for a specific purpose. e.g. Use a rim cleaner to clean your rim, use a car wash for washing cars or use dish washing liquid of washing dishes etc.

that said, what wind shield washer fluid would you recommend under normal conditions? or just plain water is fine? I know there are countless debates on this on the auto tech forum but what do you suggest?

If you maintain your vehicle regularly as in claying the windscreen, wiping the windshield rubbers regularly and change them as needed and using and using a automotive glass cleaner, plain water should be fine.

If you want to use a dedicated windshield washer fluid go and get something you like . IMO it does not matter what brand, but how clean the surface is.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 22nd, 2012, 9:35 pm

That Turtle ICE for wheels I Posted is a bit harsh on skin I should add, some accidentally blew back on my fingers and noticed the skin peeling.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 22nd, 2012, 9:44 pm

Anytime i am using any type of wheel cleaners i always wear rubber gloves. PPE is very important.

trvs

Postby trvs » May 22nd, 2012, 11:33 pm

Hookah, I get my stuff from amazon. I had a bottle of 303 aerospace protectant about 2 years now and it now finish. And I wash my vehicles every week :)

303 on all plastics. I'm using Meguiar's Natrual Shine right now since I'm all out of 303.

Both of them don't have that sticky shines residue that I hate.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » May 23rd, 2012, 7:23 am

^^303 is some of the best stuff for interiors....period. Excellent choice bub.

That Turtle ICE for wheels I Posted is a bit harsh on skin I should add, some accidentally blew back on my fingers and noticed the skin peeling.

Because it's most likely acidic. MOst wheel cleaners are intended to remove heavy brake dust and buildup, not dirt from driving through rain.

In terms of brake dust, Sonax Xtreme Wheel cleaner is good. Smells like crap though.

what's the best way to remove stuck tar droplets from road paving ?

You could get a dedicated tar remover. But claying should work. Clays come in different grades, and the mild ones commonly available won't remove tar as easily. It'll take a couple of passes to get all the gunk out.

MOre aggressive clays will remove tar quicker, but can be a bit harder to use. For example, for me, Mother's Clay is THE easiest to use (IMO), but is also the weakest. Megs (white) Clay is a bit harder to use (I find it can streak/grab on occassion, even with liberal QD applied), but it grabs up gunk FAST. It's noticeably more aggressive (but I find the red bottle QD smells horrible). I find that's the best for tar removal on lower panels.

I tried Pinnacle Poly clay some months ago...falls right in the middle of those two if memory serves. Plus their clay lube smells nice.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 23rd, 2012, 7:27 am

seeing the megs clay is more aggressive does it cause marring of the finish?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 23rd, 2012, 7:29 am

Karim Khan wrote:
searchingone wrote:

If you maintain your vehicle regularly as in claying the windscreen, wiping the windshield rubbers regularly and change them as needed and using and using a automotive glass cleaner, plain water should be fine.

If you want to use a dedicated windshield washer fluid go and get something you like . IMO it does not matter what brand, but how clean the surface is.

with so much dust and smoke in the place it so hard to keep windscreen and wipers clean all the time :( but thanks for that bit I'll try the claying thing one of these days.

also, trvs, thanks I'll check that 303 thing out it sounds economical.