The Official Car Care Thread

dok_tec

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby dok_tec » June 6th, 2012, 1:44 am

i got some stuff today, porter cable 7424xp and some meguiars pads... i still have alot of the polish and pads to come, waiting on the meguiars fine cut to start getting rid of the swirls on my navara which isnt bad atm....gonnna attempt to do a full detail on it when i get everything

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 6th, 2012, 9:33 am

Dok_tec, that is a nice dual action polisher you go there and some great polishing pads. When next you are ordering pads get the Meguiar's 2.0 pads as they are machine washable and they last longer.

What color is your Navara?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 6th, 2012, 11:47 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:ive washed the car twice since and the rims weren't that tough to clean but the brakes do give off a lot of dust...think this is the first vehicle ive owned that give off so much lol.....

car is still on the factory 18" wheels and with the brake upgrade there isn't much clearance to clean in inside area of the rim... *tote*

All the euro cars do that. It's not only the pads, the rotors are going also. If you want to reduce the dust you can get ceramic pads, but keep in mind they will be a lot worse in initial bite and will require heating up a bit before they work as well.

What brake upgrade does it have?

Karim Khan wrote:Foam
Hey Nemesis, the foaming solution i used , was to gently "loosen" the existing wax and bonded contaminants. So in this case yes.

Brake Dust Barrier-
Euro cars = plenty brake dust. lol
The brake dust barrier is a rim sealant, it will not fully prevent the accumulation of brake dust on the rim, but it makes cleaning them much easier. You really have to try it to see the results.

Ahh, so one of dem citrus wax remover washes? Squeezy for it! :)
I'll try the brake dust barrier sometime soon I suppose. Have the chemical guys wheel guard on now, but it's so much harder to to apply than a spray on. And honestly, doesn't do anything different than wiping on any other sealant. The nice beading and shiny look can be achieved with a variety of products, but I want one that will make the brake dust stick to the wheels less.

Congrats on the porter cable. Supposed to be a really good polisher.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 6th, 2012, 11:58 am

nemesis wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:ive washed the car twice since and the rims weren't that tough to clean but the brakes do give off a lot of dust...think this is the first vehicle ive owned that give off so much lol.....

car is still on the factory 18" wheels and with the brake upgrade there isn't much clearance to clean in inside area of the rim... *tote*

All the euro cars do that. It's not only the pads, the rotors are going also. If you want to reduce the dust you can get ceramic pads, but keep in mind they will be a lot worse in initial bite and will require heating up a bit before they work as well.

Pads are pads right? Or do I need specific ceramic brake pads for say Volkswagen?

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 6th, 2012, 1:43 pm

standard

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 7th, 2012, 11:01 am

Oh, nice upgrade there. I'm guessing not ceramic though or else you wouldn't get as much dust as stock brakes.

Allerg....: While you shouldn't just use anything that fits the caliper, there will be a few options available. If you're looking at cost saving your best bet would be to get a set from the firm, read all the labels etc and figure out who makes them, then buy that same brand on Amazon. Or, research online and hope it's reliable.
Most times just stamping the vehicle brand on the box makes it cost 2x.

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 7th, 2012, 11:57 am

Cool. Thanks.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 7th, 2012, 1:16 pm

currently in motion......

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 7th, 2012, 5:31 pm

KKhan, what can I use to remove oxidation on my Carbon bonnet, I have tried three stage Mothers with no success, it is seen in the clear. I am afraid to try wetsanding on it.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 7th, 2012, 7:08 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Image

What do you sit down on? You should change your laundry detergent. It does not seem to be very effective in cleaning your clothes.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 7th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Karim, your assistant there wearing jeans to polish. Ent yuh supposed to be all cotton to go near the vehicle while work in progress? j/k

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 7th, 2012, 7:20 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Image

What do you sit down on? You should change your laundry detergent. It does not seem to be very effective in cleaning your clothes.

front of seat is a shadow.....the "stains" are actually die transfer from jeans....

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 7th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Today was a really good great day detailing. The morning started off gloomy as the weather was not its best. Started off with the Benz with a full interior job then moved on to the Hilux for a full interior and exterior correction then moved on to the Accord for a simple detail. It was a detailing Marathon but it was all enjoyable. I could not have done this without my good friend Nigel London.Nigel knows his stuff and just like myself he has a serious passion for detailing and he is a really cool guy.

I must say thanks to Aaron , Adrian and their dad for the opportunity to detail the cars and enjoy the passion of detailing.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 7th, 2012, 7:52 pm

Anyone tried those long lasting sealants on wheels? OptiSeal or C4?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 7th, 2012, 8:44 pm

TriniGT wrote:KKhan, what can I use to remove oxidation on my Carbon bonnet, I have tried three stage Mothers with no success, it is seen in the clear. I am afraid to try wetsanding on it.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 7th, 2012, 9:20 pm

nemesis wrote:Karim, your assistant there wearing jeans to polish. Ent yuh supposed to be all cotton to go near the vehicle while work in progress? j/k

lol i did most of the leaning over the vehicle lol.

nemesis wrote:Anyone tried those long lasting sealants on wheels? OptiSeal or C4?

Yes i did the Nano coating on wheels, but your best bet is the Meguiar's Brake dust barrier.

TriniGT wrote:
TriniGT wrote:KKhan, what can I use to remove oxidation on my Carbon bonnet, I have tried three stage Mothers with no success, it is seen in the clear. I am afraid to try wetsanding on it.
TriniGT wrote:

TriniGT, i would have to see the vehicle to diagnose it. But you may need a more aggressive product than the Mothers. You can try the Meguiar's Ultimate compound this may assist.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 7th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Guys, I need some advice. I have a Suzuki SX4, which has the black trim right around the body. What can I use on it? I tired Mothers protectant, and back to black, but it goes away after a week or a little more and wash with water only. What could I use to keep it looking black and is available locally so I can get it by weekend.
Also, should I wax first and then handle the trim? The trim is a bit annoying to clean since some product always gets on the paint. Is that a problem?

Thanks.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 7th, 2012, 10:15 pm

aidan wrote:Guys, I need some advice. I have a Suzuki SX4, which has the black trim right around the body. What can I use on it? I tired Mothers protectant, and back to black, but it goes away after a week or a little more and wash with water only. What could I use to keep it looking black and is available locally so I can get it by weekend.
Also, should I wax first and then handle the trim? The trim is a bit annoying to clean since some product always gets on the paint. Is that a problem?

Thanks.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 7th, 2012, 10:46 pm

^^Nice, where will I find that tomorrow?

trvs

Postby trvs » June 7th, 2012, 11:13 pm

Bel air store, Marabella
Price Club, chaguanas

Might have them.

Great job Karim!

aidan

Postby aidan » June 7th, 2012, 11:21 pm

^Thanks guys!

That accord lookin wett!!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 8th, 2012, 10:22 am

aidan wrote:Guys, I need some advice. I have a Suzuki SX4, which has the black trim right around the body. What can I use on it? I tired Mothers protectant, and back to black, but it goes away after a week or a little more and wash with water only. What could I use to keep it looking black and is available locally so I can get it by weekend.

Thanks.

Painters tape for the trim before dealing with the paint. Will significantly reduce the cleaning of the trim after.

You can use the above product, or the common choice in the US, the 303 protectant.

TriniGT : Try the Ultimate Compound by hand. It has very safe and controllable cut. While using, wipe off at intervals to determine when you have the right amount of working time.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 8th, 2012, 1:23 pm

303 protectant... damn good stuff.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 8th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Saw the accord in traffic this morning. Very shiny :D

jdeen

Postby jdeen » June 8th, 2012, 7:07 pm

I sold some shining monkey car wash to some of my co workers and I'm getting some great reviews. One of the guys don't wanna buy he insists on using squezy... Lol. Can squezy harm ur vehicle?

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 8th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Yes

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 8th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Thanks.

303 aerospace protectant.

The best - period.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 8th, 2012, 8:25 pm

jdeen wrote:I sold some shining monkey car wash to some of my co workers and I'm getting some great reviews. One of the guys don't wanna buy he insists on using squezy... Lol. Can squezy harm ur vehicle?

leave stupid alone nah :lol:

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » June 8th, 2012, 8:26 pm

my word look how hot dat accord lookin.

and come nah man, squeezy? wah about blu soap. 1 facepalm. cheap ting no good