<<TriniTuner 2009 F1 Thread>>

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 25th, 2009, 9:14 am

Alonso is actually Spanish not French and I've always said I think he is the best F1 driver in the world today, although I know many would disagree with me on that. He is a complete driver, he is technically strong, knows the mechanics of the thing, knows how to give the right feedback to the team and how to manage all the resources given to him. He is a bright guy when it comes to racing and in fact I consider him a cross between Alain Prost and Schumacher with a big temper thrown in.

He is the only current F1 driver that i've see beat Schumacher at his game.

From what I understand, Renault made a mistake in their interpretation of the rules last year as a result their car was underpowered. That has been corrected this year so they will be coming out with more straightline speed.

I also forgot to mention, the darkhorse will be the exhonda team under Ross Braun. He is da man, and if anyone can do it, it would be him. Now that theyve gotten rid of that Japanese sheit engine and put a real man's engine they have a chance.

Ok go ahead, launch your attack, im waiting.....

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 25th, 2009, 9:41 am

Alonso is actually Spanish not French

I'm sure Banzai knows that..think he was referring to his attitude...
Its also unfair to say that he beat Schummi at his game because for the last 2 years he was givne a rubbish car - and he still did a good job of competing with it...

BraWn's team is looking really good, but every year the Honda teams start off like that in testing, and he did acquire Honda's racing team, so it may just be a continuing trend...

Back to FA being a complete driver...i disagree...he is alot harder on the car than people give him credit for, and it showed alot last year - as well as his earlier years where his late turning style killed the Renault's tyres...he is also one of those "JPM" type drivers in that unless you give him something competitive to put near the front of the grid, don't expect him to pull off any 'honorable' drives...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 25th, 2009, 9:50 am

"JPM"...now that was a wicked man...

Massa all the way...I always liked Kimi from back in the McLaren days but i think he couldn't be bothered to put up a fight if he doesn't get a win in the first three races, i don't think he's a fighter...more a party guy! he got his championship and now he there to make more money.

Massa on the other hand, will want to prove that his run last year was no fluke, but as we all know, once the Ferrari's get back their consistency and the drivers stay away from the walls, they will always be there and thereabouts...Alonso to the Scuderia in 2010.

always had a dislike for Hamilton, and people try to compare him to Schumie, who i really liked but i just don't see it!

Postby noshownogo » March 25th, 2009, 9:58 am

nah man...i'm not the biggest FA fan but i've seen him start from almost the back of the pack and work his was to the front...he is a great driver no doubt but JPM was my favourite :oops: ballz out on corners and would even make Michael take notice. He and Michael always had spats about who had the advantage on certain corners.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 25th, 2009, 10:06 am

Something on Alonso here....Brundle and I share the same view.

Brundle on Alonso

By Martin Brundle
BBC Formula 1 broadcaster

Fernando Alonso may not be the clear favourite to win the 2009 drivers' crown but I am expecting a lot from him this season.

There is no doubt the Spaniard, who won back-to-back championships with Renault in 2005 and 2006, will fancy a shot at a third title under the radical new rules. He will be pushing the limits.

Winter Formula 1 testing can be very misleading and confusing but the signs are good.

Renault seem quite perky and, as ugly as the R29 looks, it appears to have solid pace.

Renault - and Red Bull, who are also powered by Renault - will have 0.2 seconds per lap improvement relative to their rivals because they were allowed to modify their engine over the winter. Alonso has the brainpower to manage a race from start to finish and that will critical in 2009

They demonstrated that they were running with less power last season because they had interpreted the development freeze more literally. The upshot was the other teams agreed they could upgrade their 2009 engine.

Whether Alonso has got a car capable of winning the world championship I don't know, but he seems confident that he has.

If he's right then he has all the other ingredients needed to win third world title.

I don't see many weaknesses in Alonso when he is behind the wheel - he has the full deck of cards.

Right now the 27-year-old is the most complete F1 driver out there in my view.

He is in the Michael Schumacher and Alain Prost mould - and they won 11 titles between them.

He is capable of driving the car consistently close to its limit while still maintaining enough mental capacity to work out what is going on around him with his tyres, the track, and race strategy.

Alonso has the brainpower to manage a race from start to finish and that will be even more critical within the 2009 regulations.

There are extra cockpit controls to activate the kinetic energy recovery (Kers) boost which is worth an extra 80 horsepower - the total power of a small family car - for just under seven seconds per lap.

Adjustable front-wing flaps over a six degree range permitted twice per lap to fine tune the handling will also increase driver workload.

The Spaniard also has great qualifying pace, he knows how to set up the car, and how to galvanise the team around him. He's not a crasher either.

When Alonso won his world titles with Renault we saw all this come to fruition.

He demonstrated his ability to adapt to changing circumstances with pure confidence behind the wheel. If Alonso had kept his head together at McLaren he would have won the championship but he threw it away with his tantrums

In qualifying for the Italian Grand Prix in 2006, for example, he seemed to defy the laws of physics.

An earlier burst tyre had seriously damaged his car but he still managed to produce an incredible qualifying lap, finishing fifth before a subsequent demotion for supposed blocking.

It would not be a true depiction to paint Alonso as Mr Perfect - his single, tumultuous season at McLaren painfully proved that.

His experience there was very costly, both for his reputation and his chances of another world title.

Alonso could not cope with then team-mate Lewis Hamilton or McLaren's approach in that, despite being double world champion, he was not treated as the team's number one driver.

He went down a lot as a person in my estimation with his antics at the Hungarian Grand Prix.

After a bust-up with team principal Ron Dennis, he threatened to hand over information to the sport's governing body, the FIA, incriminating McLaren in the escalating spy row over Ferrari data.

He also apparently demanded that Hamilton's championship charge be compromised in his favour.

In my view, if he had kept his head together he would have won the championship but he threw it away with his tantrums.

If the McLaren episode tarnished his reputation then last year he began to recover some respect when he returned to Renault and got his head down.

In the early part of the 2008 season, it was obvious that he was still carrying the frustration of 2007 with him.

In Monaco, he barged Nick Heidfeld's BMW Sauber in a really amateurish move. He was also reckless in Hockenheim, spinning off a couple of times.

But towards the end of the season, Renault changed the front wing on the car and Alonso seemed to much prefer the handling.

He claimed two brilliant if slightly opportunistic victories in Singapore and Japan.

Now he has a chance to push on again and there is no doubt he has more world championships in him.
Alonso topped the times during winter testing in Renault's new car

But Hamilton is quickly catching him up as the ultimate driver on the grid.

And it will not be long before Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel and BMW's Robert Kubica fully find their feet and gain the experience to match their impressive speed.

This is Alonso's time. He should be knocking off race victories and challenging for the world championship, but ultimately his chances this season depend on the car Renault have given him to drive.

Martin Brundle was talking to BBC Sport's Sarah Holt.

Postby noshownogo » March 25th, 2009, 10:15 am

sweet lord that was a lengthy read to explain that Alonso is a challenger for the title this season :lol:

But yes the KERS setup will work as a boost which can be controlled from the steering wheel for an additional 85hp as i understand for a 6.6sec burst per lap.

Will be interesting to see the drivers toggle constantly with the steering wheel as the KERS, brake balance and aerodynamics can all be controlled on the fly with minimal restrictions.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 25th, 2009, 10:16 am

noshownogo wrote:nah man...i'm not the biggest FA fan but i've seen him start from almost the back of the pack and work his was to the front...he is a great driver no doubt but JPM was my favourite :oops: ballz out on corners and would even make Michael take notice. He and Michael always had spats about who had the advantage on certain corners.

JPM was my favourite too, but Alonso not llike him, hes more calculating, less emotional on the track.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 25th, 2009, 10:23 am

Maserati wrote:Official dates:

01. 27-29 Mar. 2009 - Australian GP
02. 3-5 Apr. 2009 - Malaysian GP
03. 17-19 Apr. 2009 - Chinese GP
04. 24-26 Apr. 2009 - Bahrain GP
05. 8-10 May 2009 - Spanish GP
06. 21-24 May 2009 - Monaco GP
07. 5-7 June 2009 - Turkish GP
08. 19-21 June 2009 - British GP
09. 10-12 July 2009 - German GP
10. 24-26 July 2009 - Hungarian GP
11. 21-23 Aug. 2009 - European GP
12. 28-30 Aug. 2009 - Belgian GP
13. 11-13 Sept. 2009 - Italian GP
14. 25-27 Sept. 2009 - Singapore GP
15. 2-4 Oct. 2009 - Japanese GP
16. 16-18 Oct. 2009 - Brazilian GP
17. 30 Oct - 1 Nov 2009 - Abu Dhabi GP

Good info

:cry: :cry: No Canadian GP :cry:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 25th, 2009, 11:03 am

Something on Alonso here....Brundle and I share the same view.

And there'll be alot of people who have similar views on Massa, Kimi, Hammie and co...that's just how it goes :lol:

JPM was my favourite too, but Alonso not llike him, hes more calculating, less emotional on the track.

Correct...didn't mean their styles were alike, i meant that they both only care to be in the spotlight; when they're not (such as having a bad quali weekend), unless fighting for the championship or so, they'll just fade off and try nothing risky or focus on gaining as many spots as they can...a case where 3 points and 2 or 1 point is worth the same because noone is gona care anyway...

I figure FA's biggest weapon will be the KERS like someone said, cause Renault seem to be leaps and bounds ahead of the other teams with their confidence in it...

Postby Maserati » March 25th, 2009, 11:05 am

aR&D wrote:
Maserati wrote:Official dates:

01. 27-29 Mar. 2009 - Australian GP
02. 3-5 Apr. 2009 - Malaysian GP
03. 17-19 Apr. 2009 - Chinese GP
04. 24-26 Apr. 2009 - Bahrain GP
05. 8-10 May 2009 - Spanish GP
06. 21-24 May 2009 - Monaco GP
07. 5-7 June 2009 - Turkish GP
08. 19-21 June 2009 - British GP
09. 10-12 July 2009 - German GP
10. 24-26 July 2009 - Hungarian GP
11. 21-23 Aug. 2009 - European GP
12. 28-30 Aug. 2009 - Belgian GP
13. 11-13 Sept. 2009 - Italian GP
14. 25-27 Sept. 2009 - Singapore GP
15. 2-4 Oct. 2009 - Japanese GP
16. 16-18 Oct. 2009 - Brazilian GP
17. 30 Oct - 1 Nov 2009 - Abu Dhabi GP

Good info

:cry: :cry: No Canadian GP :cry:

:cry: :cry: I know, if it were on I would have most certainly been there this year!!

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » March 25th, 2009, 7:31 pm

Massa - i think ppl don't realize how much talent he actually has. And becuz he drives for the prancing horse, i would really like to see him with the #1 in2010. He's abit ignorant tho, i've seen him get passed cleanly on the last few laps and then stomp around like a 5 y.o. However, he performs when he has to, i think the car had to do some catching up to him last year.

Hamilton - i've seen some brilliant throttle application and steering in the wet and i'd like just a few more nay-sayers to shut up the fact that he's black. He's not a black racer, he's a talented F1 driver *full stop*. So once again i hope hammie keeps his cool and his championship and shows how an F1 champ should act on and off the track.

Kimi - is blisteringly fast but it seems like he can only activate the "nitrous" for a few laps. I like the fact that he doesn't have much to say and is jus calm and collected and that has to get under his competitors skin. I don't think he has driven well to deserve the championship; but he has shown alot of inkling that he can.

Alonso - i admired Alonso in his debut year because he took the blows when he had to and dealt the damage. But after seeing him act like Paris Hilton in that whole team-mate 'row' with Hammie, he kind of lost my support. Maybe the fame had gotten to his head. It seems he's calmed down tho and he's pulled rabbits out of the hats for renault, when the odds are against him.

Kubica - another good driver, but he has 1 problem, the other competitors. He shakes things up abit and as an underdog, puts the 'big boys' on their toes.

Barrichelo - the old man...i don't think he has a chance, but its been awhile since he last won a race

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 25th, 2009, 7:45 pm

gosh i can feel the tension.... I cant wait for this weekend.

Kimi FTW.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 25th, 2009, 7:57 pm

i admired Alonso in his debut year because he took the blows when he had to and dealt the damage.

ahm...by debut year which are you referring to?
His debut was with Minardi a long time ago eh...alongside marques in 01 or 02 if i rembr correctly...when the team switched colours to black :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 25th, 2009, 11:29 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:Massa - i think ppl don't realize how much talent he actually has. And becuz he drives for the prancing horse, i would really like to see him with the #1 in2010. He's abit ignorant tho, i've seen him get passed cleanly on the last few laps and then stomp around like a 5 y.o. However, he performs when he has to, i think the car had to do some catching up to him last year.

Hamilton - i've seen some brilliant throttle application and steering in the wet and i'd like just a few more nay-sayers to shut up the fact that he's black. He's not a black racer, he's a talented F1 driver *full stop*. So once again i hope hammie keeps his cool and his championship and shows how an F1 champ should act on and off the track.

Kimi - is blisteringly fast but it seems like he can only activate the "nitrous" for a few laps. I like the fact that he doesn't have much to say and is jus calm and collected and that has to get under his competitors skin. I don't think he has driven well to deserve the championship; but he has shown alot of inkling that he can.

Alonso - i admired Alonso in his debut year because he took the blows when he had to and dealt the damage. But after seeing him act like Paris Hilton in that whole team-mate 'row' with Hammie, he kind of lost my support. Maybe the fame had gotten to his head. It seems he's calmed down tho and he's pulled rabbits out of the hats for renault, when the odds are against him.

Kubica - another good driver, but he has 1 problem, the other competitors. He shakes things up abit and as an underdog, puts the 'big boys' on their toes.

Barrichelo - the old man...i don't think he has a chance, but its been awhile since he last won a race

MA MAN!!!!

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 26th, 2009, 12:06 am

I remember in 2007 i was predicting a Massa upset, but i guess Massa day ent done (sorry I had to say it) :D

Postby Maserati » March 26th, 2009, 11:19 am

look thing

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsp ... 965056.stm
With F1 just days away from the start of the new season in Australia, the FIA has ruled that the cars of Brawn GP, Toyota and Williams are all legal.

will be very interesting to see how practice and qualifying goes!

lol kimmi done looking fed up

Postby noshownogo » March 26th, 2009, 1:11 pm

yuh know what interesting about the BBC article...it shows that the top teams are very concerned about the pace of Brawn GP, Toyota and Williams, believing that they gaining an advantage with the "illegal diffusers".

Clearly based on FIA spec they are within regulations and will all start which makes this weekend even more interesting. Lookout for Brawn GP, Toyota and Williams to put some pressure on Ferrari, Renault and BMW Sauber who all believe the part is giving the teams an unfair advantage. :twisted:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 26th, 2009, 1:15 pm

^ i dont think it will take long for all teams to be running the more efficient diffuser

Postby Maserati » March 26th, 2009, 2:31 pm

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 26th, 2009, 2:44 pm

it shows that the top teams are very concerned about the pace of Brawn GP, Toyota and Williams, believing that they gaining an advantage with the "illegal diffusers".

Don't think its a case of illegal diffusers as it is "getting a headstart"...

Brawn GP is essentially Honda's team from last year...they got started on this year's car very very early because of the abysmal season they were having, to the point that they were including everything they could on last year's car for real race weekend trials...
Toyota has the biggest budget and as the new rules were announced, they were perhaps the most financially capable of setting up another team to concentrate on this year's car...not to mention like Williams, they had nothing to really fight for last season and could've spent almost the entire half of last season trying to find a way to produce a more compettive car this year...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 26th, 2009, 2:47 pm

turn 11 & 12 will be tricky with the new front wing

Postby 16 cycles » March 26th, 2009, 8:49 pm

http://www.vimeo.com/3853118

^ milld '08 review

Postby Maserati » March 26th, 2009, 11:54 pm

1st post edited with the teams and drivers shown...will post up the current cars soon..lol well when ah in work and bored :lol: :lol:

plex

Postby plex » March 27th, 2009, 8:19 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/HNhM7sTnGbY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Freelander

Postby Freelander » March 27th, 2009, 8:26 am

after watching that vid the muusic has inspired me to do something... dont know what yet but imma do something

dam those practice results looking :shock:

JWT

Postby JWT » March 27th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Speed showed the friday practice at 1am in d morning

the Brawn GP car looks really good and he is certainly taking advantage of the diffuser loop holes

but masssaaaaa go weennnn
:mrgreen:

Postby Maserati » March 28th, 2009, 2:43 am

Brawn so very fast..Q2 just done

Postby Maserati » March 28th, 2009, 3:03 am

Button on pole.
Barrichello second

worksux101