Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby wagonrunner » September 12th, 2010, 1:29 pm

was the AE86 drifting?
seemed to be using more grip to me.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2010, 4:26 pm

sr20ve wrote:Drift would beat the togue . I tried that run R32 GTR vs AE86 .

HMMMMm a practicum application!!! do expand!!

moti

Postby moti » September 12th, 2010, 8:03 pm

wagonrunner wrote:^^
was the AE86 drifting?

yup, was using grip. no drift applied

just an example of a fast RWD vs a really really fast FWD on a touge

Postby wagonrunner » September 12th, 2010, 8:34 pm

moti wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:^^
was the AE86 drifting?

yup, was using grip. no drift applied

just an example of a fast RWD vs a really really fast FWD on a touge

Postby Razkal » September 12th, 2010, 9:06 pm

^yeah that one lost me...

on the other hand, i present to you: Balandra>Big Yard : 9:03:**

maintained the "one lane" business.

beach was rough, fishing was sheit, sun was hot btw..

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2010, 9:14 pm

lol I was up there today
man it had freakin sea turtles frolicking off the point!!!!!

Postby wagonrunner » September 12th, 2010, 10:19 pm

MG Man wrote:lol I was up there today

you sir, are dead to me.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2010, 11:17 pm

we really need to make a collective run up there.....sooon!!

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2010, 12:06 am

Another Toco Touge??? Just say when

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 13th, 2010, 12:10 am

Actually...both have their flaws because neither used in its own right exclusively will lead to the fastest time.

A purely precision drive which encourages no slide, could ineveitably slow times down based on teh platform being used....e.g. A Swift Sport.

If the car (a FWD with strange OE camber settings which help promote throttle lift oversteer) were driven as the typical hamfisted driver would....avoiding tyre slip, then you'd have to inevitably slow just a bit more for corners so that you wouldn't have to overload the front open diff on the way out of the corner (lack of grip on the front tyres basically)....

....on in otherwords, you'd get hefty understeer if you went into a given corner too hot with simple "hold on tight" technique.

The real answer to approaching a given corner (say a mild reducing radius left) in a car like the SSS....esp if you were heading downhill (lets say back to town :D), would be to employ JUST a bit of slide as you approach the apex of the said corner...

....by virtue of throttle lift oversteer in that car. It'd help rotate the car toward your exit point and help power application "threshold" by being able to do so with less steering angle.

Point of all this?

Sometimes the fastest way around a "Street" course would be induce just a hint of slide/oversteer as you come into the 30-40% mark of a corner, and then use pure grip technique on the way out.

That should not be confused however with a "tail out" drifting thing - which is purely showboating.

It's a combination of both styles....and the requirement for approach is based on the CAR in question.

So discussing this topic without having a specific car, or even drivetrain layout as a basis, is POINTLESS.

Back to you Unkle Banzai.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 13th, 2010, 12:13 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

its was pretty much r32 gtr vs ae86, s13, 180sx
went through maraval went through the hills came out diego , then headed to town up lady chancellor down into st anns then up lady young into barataria . On the highway the r32 had no competition but as we hit curves on the hill side the r32 had massive braking and buy the time it slowed down to accelerate again we kept losing sight of the drift men. The r32 gtr drove at the back of the pack .

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 13th, 2010, 1:13 am

sr20ve wrote:

On the highway the r32 had no competition but as we hit curves on the hill side the r32 had massive braking and buy the time it slowed down to accelerate again we kept losing sight of the drift men.

practical vs. theory ftw!

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 13th, 2010, 1:35 am

on the highway the 6 cylinder will have an upper hand on the top end.... because of a wider power band...

but corner to corner, short distance.... the 6 takes a tad longer to accelerate,

engines that use vct, vvl, vvt/i etc... tend to hold rpm within the crest of a narrower power band,

allowing you to play with more power and it has relatively sharp or "peaky" power delivery.

a 4 cylinder engine imo, is better suited for the lady young touge... with a narrower tuned range in the power band...

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » September 13th, 2010, 1:43 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:

Point of all this?

Sometimes the fastest way around a "Street" course would be induce just a hint of slide/oversteer as you come into the 30-40% mark of a corner, and then use pure grip technique on the way out.
That should not be confused however with a "tail out" drifting thing - which is purely showboating.

It's a combination of both styles....and the requirement for approach is based on the CAR in question.
So discussing this topic without having a specific car, or even drivetrain layout as a basis, is POINTLESS.

x10 :D as said before....... scenario too vague :|

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 6:12 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:Sometimes the fastest way around a "Street" course would be induce just a hint of slide/oversteer as you come into the 30-40% mark of a corner, and then use pure grip technique on the way out.

why would the technique for a street corner be different from a track corner?

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 6:14 am

MG Man wrote:lol I was up there today

you sir, are dead to me.

ok I won't mention the local rambling whiteman was standing next to me at the time

Postby crazybalhead » September 13th, 2010, 7:25 am

As always, being the buzzkill buzzkillington that I am, the random patch of gravel or diesel would be deadly if said run were to take place.

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2010, 7:33 am

^ news will have a field day with that one...and still get it wrong...

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2010, 8:46 am

crazybalhead wrote:As always, being the buzzkill buzzkillington that I am, the random patch of gravel or diesel would be deadly if said run were to take place.

said runs take place already, there are many Santa Cruz/Mourne Coco/LYR grip and drift runs at night

Postby Monk BANzai » September 13th, 2010, 8:49 am

sr20ve wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

its was pretty much r32 gtr vs ae86, s13, 180sx
went through maraval went through the hills came out diego , then headed to town up lady chancellor down into st anns then up lady young into barataria . On the highway the r32 had no competition but as we hit curves on the hill side the r32 had massive braking and buy the time it slowed down to accelerate again we kept losing sight of the drift men. The r32 gtr drove at the back of the pack .

hmm....who was driving the R32?....never mind dont answer that..... but i understand how a rwd drift applied technique cud make the Gr32 lag behind.....IF the r32 driver doesnt know his/her way around a heavy 4wd based car.....once that is learned...it becomes a more interesting matchup...

I was up Lady Chancellor on Saturday with a 330ci....that run is bliss....while the car isnt exactly "Responsive", its tracking is superb!!....and Lady Chancellor has a some exciting curve combinations...that require litle to no input in terms of setting up the car....

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2010, 8:52 am

^^I disagree with not needing to set up suspension for Lady Chancellor, sure any stock car can run it but do it a well set up car and it becomes way more fun

I've said many times Lady Chancellor would make a fun hill climb event locally (hadda use what we've got)

Postby Monk BANzai » September 13th, 2010, 8:53 am

crazybalhead wrote:As always, being the buzzkill buzzkillington that I am, the random patch of gravel or diesel would be deadly if said run were to take place.

im lost...."were to take place"?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 13th, 2010, 9:14 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:Sometimes the fastest way around a "Street" course would be induce just a hint of slide/oversteer as you come into the 30-40% mark of a corner, and then use pure grip technique on the way out.

why would the technique for a street corner be different from a track corner?

It's a poor use of terminology on my part admittedly, but I was alluding to a tighter course with narrower trackwidth.....say like Streets of Willow, vs. Laguna Seca (corkscrew not withstanding).

That, and trying to stick to a given lane (assuming the public road is never closed) means that the very line anyone follows would be shifted ever so slightly to the left...which ultimately means that any help in rotating through the corner with minimal steering angle (to fight understeer in the case of the FWD SSS I used in the example) would help keep momentum up.

But of course, I'm no racer/dexer, so what would I know.

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 9:17 am

lol sorry but if I doin that crap on the street, I using up the whole damn road

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 9:20 am

eliteauto wrote:

said runs take place already, there are many Santa Cruz/Mourne Coco/LYR grip and drift runs at night

so jus because I issa sarcastic, euro lovin, MINI drivin KANT, I cya come and play onde LYR too? :cry:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 13th, 2010, 9:24 am

When you mean the whole street, you mean you'll need the whole stretch of road to accelerate to just 60?

Postby crazybalhead » September 13th, 2010, 9:27 am

eliteauto wrote:^^I disagree with not needing to set up suspension for Lady Chancellor, sure any stock car can run it but do it a well set up car and it becomes way more fun

I've said many times Lady Chancellor would make a fun hill climb event locally (hadda use what we've got)

Yes, that's how Zort wrote off his car many moons ago.

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2010, 9:28 am

eliteauto wrote:

so jus because I issa sarcastic, euro lovin, MINI drivin KANT, I cya come and play onde LYR too? :cry:

it's not that at all.......AH HEAR!!! you wouldn't get yuh permission slip signed

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2010, 9:30 am

crazybalhead wrote:
eliteauto wrote:^^I disagree with not needing to set up suspension for Lady Chancellor, sure any stock car can run it but do it a well set up car and it becomes way more fun

Yes, that's how Zort wrote off his car many moons ago.

trying to run it? That's why it needs to be closed off with proper marshaling I'm not talking about some wily nily run just so juss so cause if vehicles are coming down ....well, but the road is nice for what it is

Postby Monk BANzai » September 13th, 2010, 9:50 am

i think yu mis interpreted my saying "set up the car"..i meant in terms of entering the corner, setting up the car's velocity/angle of entry...not physical set up as what yu are alluding to.....