My FD3S drag/ street project (Chevy V8)

moti

Re: My FD3S drift/ street project (SR20DET)

Postby moti » June 30th, 2014, 7:47 pm

I does study you, but for some reason I just can't pass that exam.

Postby black start » June 30th, 2014, 7:52 pm

GTR Fever wrote:also have access to a 2JZ n/a that was turbo'd in Japan with the original 5 Speed and all necessary harness for a swap

If you not taking it can I has it? Pweese?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » June 30th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Give me a call tomorrow to explain it to you..doubt I'll use it

689-2663/ 319-7405

Postby black start » June 30th, 2014, 8:54 pm

np man....will give you a shout..

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » July 1st, 2014, 5:15 pm

Wouldn't go with a 1JZ.
If you looking to save weight you might as well just leave the V8 in the because the JZ just as heavy

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 1st, 2014, 5:24 pm

Could be heavier depending on the V8 he has in. Not to mention the JZ would most likely hang further forward.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 8th, 2014, 11:03 am

OK guys...so just a small update.

Spoke to a guy to assist in getting it street-worthy with the V8 in it. That means install Power Steering, Air Conditioning, proper alternator etc etc..tune the carb, timing whatever else it needs to get it working reliable.

Have a set of coilovers in hand already to adjust the suspension height and hopefully get some more weight/ traction at the back.

Also located an OEM hood to build a custom cowl ram instead of that huge scoop presently on.

The reason for this is simple to start using the car and getting familiar with it before I decide to just change engine or whatever else. After a while I will figure out EXACTLY what I want out of the car and power goals etc etc..

So in a few days/ weeks progress pics shall be loaded :)

nigie

Postby nigie » July 8th, 2014, 11:10 am

GREAT !!!! fully endorse the sentiments there is a v8 zx daily driver coming back out soon ill talk 2 the owner about the handling and prob u 2 could collaborate...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 8th, 2014, 11:14 am

Convert to EFI perhaps?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 8th, 2014, 3:38 pm

have a brand new Holley 850cfm dominator at home together with a few other parts I purchased so unlikely to convert to EFI.

Maybe in the future to get it more efficient yeah but not right now.

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » July 8th, 2014, 6:40 pm

I've seen a black third gen in five rivers a couple times .carb'd and manual.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 9th, 2014, 10:07 am

is it still V8 powered? last I heard it was sold as a rolling shell

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » July 9th, 2014, 10:41 am

Don't know.Haven't been up there in a while .

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 9th, 2014, 11:34 am

I was now gonna ask you if you was selling the V8 lol

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 10th, 2014, 9:28 am

lol...pops doesn't wanna let it go, don't know why

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 12th, 2014, 8:05 pm

I was thinkin chrome pipes stickin out the sides, a set of 315/60/15 Mickey Thompson WIDE street radials complete with the white writing, jacked up a little at the back, a nice raked look, and some flames on the bonnet....oh, oh...and a huge spoiler out back to keep the d'eriere planted.
10406546_863531550342636_5573128734136951734_n.jpg
10406546_863531550342636_5573128734136951734_n.jpg (10.19 KiB) Viewed 3453 times

let the hatin begin!

Postby Ted_v2 » July 12th, 2014, 8:45 pm

Sweet

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 13th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Well I was gonna update but that's already taken care of lol

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 14th, 2014, 12:05 pm

allyuh for real wid dah thing on d bonnet?

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 14th, 2014, 12:16 pm

It's gonna be removed and a more subtle bonnet made

But yeah we serious..function>form!

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 14th, 2014, 4:49 pm

and one day

Postby Ted_v2 » July 14th, 2014, 6:42 pm

Dream setup there.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 14th, 2014, 8:27 pm

Similar finished product..but not efi..carb with this one

GTR Fever

Re: My FD3S drift/ street project (Chevy V8)

Postby GTR Fever » July 16th, 2014, 10:55 am

So thread has been renamed to reflect the actual project. Haters gonna hate more now? :drinking: :drinking:

Anyways, pops and I have decided to "try out" the V8 setup before pulling it out. With that said, she was dropped off by V8 Boys on 12th July for some work to be done and come out as a potential daily driver/ gas guzzler. All amenities like A/C, power steering etc etc and a proper working V8 powerhouse.

Coilovers should be in hand within the next week or two to lower the back, stiffen the front and transfer some of the weight to the back, hopefully gaining traction.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 16th, 2014, 10:57 am

some more recent pics :twisted: :twisted:
IMG-20140712-1200 - Copy.JPG
IMG-20140712-1202 - Copy.JPG
IMG-20140712-1204 - Copy.JPG
IMG-20140712-1205 - Copy.JPG

nigie

Postby nigie » July 16th, 2014, 11:27 am

nice project GTR....just the gass guzzling part puzzles me ..u prob over carbed or over ratioed....
this is a v8 in a car under 3000 lbs ...great gas mileage should be forth coming

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 16th, 2014, 12:11 pm

it's a Holley 850cfm carb...and it was never driven slowly before, hence gas guzzling lol

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » July 16th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Nice eh .but oh gorm yuh could give the car a lil wash before you dropped it off.are you converting to manual ?seeing that drifting is the intended purpose

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » July 16th, 2014, 12:58 pm

those pics are still in my garage..but no, Cliff said to bring it as-is...less work for me lol

on the cards right now is just to get it as a street car. If the V8 is what we're sticking with then yeah, we will convert it to manual.

nigie

Postby nigie » July 16th, 2014, 1:01 pm

GTR Fever wrote:it's a Holley 850cfm carb...and it was never driven slowly before, hence gas guzzling lol

ok that explains it....either over carbed or its a devious engine... :P