Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

Re: Trinidad & Tobago V8 Car Club

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2011, 6:54 am

oh lord go easy on dem nah
yuh done know dey compensatin' already

nigie

Postby nigie » April 3rd, 2011, 1:36 pm

The phorqe yuh talkin bout.... First time out with a new car, inexperienced crew & NA engine with baby boost and the man reeled off a few 9 second passes with major directional problems... Rug Ductor & Richie Rich around 15+ years now and dey still barely running 9's.. TALK NAH!! *Pastor Stewart's voice* :lol:

Project V8killa is coming soon.... Doh say ah didn't warn allyuh V8 men :lol:[/quote]

Thats exactly what im talking about ...1...why the fastest time for that meet is held by dem "old dinasaur car" with dem old carbarated boat engine....and why the finals in open class is a battle between "dem old schedule forty'' ark weld car...we waiting on the V8 killar years now...
remember pastor nigie predicted the fastest time would of come from one of dem old 15 yrs plus car....

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 3rd, 2011, 4:25 pm

Yuh better doh let TTASA hear dem car have arc weld chassis because yuh know daiz not FIA approve thing.. Dem records will not be recognized by TTASA :lol:

Here's something to make everybody piggy hard.. A small tire Cortina with a Fuel injected, Twin turbo ford small block. Just in case you missed it, I said SMALL TIRE

Enjoy

Last edited by RoTaRyBoYz on April 3rd, 2011, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 3rd, 2011, 4:28 pm

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2011, 8:29 pm

my piggy thanks you for inspiring it to maximum hardnessity

Greenday

Postby Greenday » April 4th, 2011, 7:50 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Image

Nice ! but should have been Green

Greenday

Postby Greenday » April 4th, 2011, 8:03 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
nigie wrote:hummmm there is always some super fast....mega horsepower..."import car" or jap swap car coming....always...and if u hear the talk and predictions for such..u would understand..there were a few on the boat to grenada last week.... :mrgreen:

The phorqe yuh talkin bout.... First time out with a new car, inexperienced crew & NA engine with baby boost and the man reeled off a few 9 second passes with major directional problems... Rug Ductor & Richie Rich around 15+ years now and dey still barely running 9's.. TALK NAH!! *Pastor Stewart's voice* :lol:

Project V8killa is coming soon.... Doh say ah didn't warn allyuh V8 men :lol:

I think we all need to understand that most V8 men are always broke and run with what they have.Most import guys have mega dollars and spend lot of wasted money on Horsepower ,some take months to get their car sorted out.V8 men run for fun these engines will keep on running and running. With an import u always have fiddle about with the engine via laptops,software boostcontrol ect. With a V8 all you need is a screw driver to adjust your Cab. A V8 will run all season while with import there always a problem.I think it all boils down to is how much cash u have to spend and down time at the race track.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 4th, 2011, 9:24 am

Here's something to make everybody piggy hard.. A small tire Cortina with a Fuel injected, Twin turbo ford small block. Just in case you missed it, I said SMALL TIRE

Aye we had our own green day here already ..that used 2 make people piggy hard.... :mrgreen:

nigie

Postby nigie » April 4th, 2011, 10:09 am

Chevelle rejuvenation

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 5th, 2011, 12:28 am

MG Man wrote:my piggy thanks you for inspiring it to maximum hardnessity

Tell your piggy that I'm trying to convince those V8 men to dump the flying toilet and get into the 21st century.. EFI is where it's at!!!
That way yuh have permanent stiffness all year long... If they trade in the spray for a pair of hair dryers, then yuh nipples will also be standing at attention :lol:

Come nah man Nigie... Leh we see ah lil twin turbo 350 from the V8 club nah.. Oh gord man :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2011, 6:49 am

lol V8 carbs is for rednecks
yeah i have carbs only cars, but is only cuz I like the originality, but EFI kicks carbs in the nuts
EFI gives you optimum fuel / air mixture across the rpm range: power AND efficiency
Carbs always have a compromise
Eventually I WILL put some ITBs on the HSR........only a matter of time

Postby zoom rader » April 5th, 2011, 7:56 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
MG Man wrote:my piggy thanks you for inspiring it to maximum hardnessity

Tell your piggy that I'm trying to convince those V8 men to dump the flying toilet and get into the 21st century.. EFI is where it's at!!!
That way yuh have permanent stiffness all year long... If they trade in the spray for a pair of hair dryers, then yuh nipples will also be standing at attention :lol:

Come nah man Nigie... Leh we see ah lil twin turbo 350 from the V8 club nah.. Oh gord man :lol: :lol:

Dude we have a guy with a twin turbo 350 V8 in a Nissan ZX down south. Dont forget we also had Hero with his twin Turbo set up years aback. Twin Turbo/Superchargin is nothing new to V8s it just cost alot of money.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 5th, 2011, 9:57 am

Aye efi vs carbs thats another debate ...
1... id just like rotaryboyz to admit (since he is very influential here) that....
with a V8 you get the most amount of horsepower per dollar invested...especially of its a small block chevy or ford...
and 2...old school tunability is much easier and simplistic as compared to dem jz and new school rotas with 18lbs of harness and boost....
and last but not least ...the V8 just sounds better..and has an appeal of its own... :mrgreen:

anyhow we are awaiting the real v8 killer...since we only hearing about the potential of cars and times expected and done ...but in competition we see a diferent story....

Postby zoom rader » April 5th, 2011, 11:18 am

nigie wrote:Aye efi vs carbs thats another debate ...
1... id just like rotaryboyz to admit (since he is very influential here) that....
with a V8 you get the most amount of horsepower per dollar invested...especially of its a small block chevy or ford...
and 2...old school tunability is much easier and simplistic as compared to dem jz and new school rotas with 18lbs of harness and boost....
and last but not least ...the V8 just sounds better..and has an appeal of its own... :mrgreen:

anyhow we are awaiting the real v8 killer...since we only hearing about the potential of cars and times expected and done ...but in competition we see a diferent story....

Import V8 killer? can this last a racing season. Most of these imports always seem to have problems they not reliable in the racing world.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 5th, 2011, 2:28 pm

nigie wrote:Aye efi vs carbs thats another debate ...

Import V8 killer? can this last a racing season. Most of these imports always seem to have problems they not reliable in the racing world.
Any engine that's being pushed to the limits will no be as reliable as if it was running under the normal conditions it was originally designed for. Most of these small displacement engines are being pushed to the outer edge of their design capabilities, that's why you tend to see them requiring more attention than a larger displacement engine. The V8's that being used in those cars locally are not being pushed to the limits, but I bet you if they were, then things would be much different for them. Take a look at top fuel dragsters and other drag racing V8's that's making upwards of 8000hp from a measly 500CI motor. How long do those engines last? It seems like every pass each one of them put out a few cylinders. It's not that they are faulty or under engineered, it's just that they are being pushed to the absolute maximum, 100% of the time.
Another thing - Imports in Trinidad cannot be compared to other Imports around the world. Don't get me wrong. Trinidad have a few people that's capable of doing great things in their own right, but with time, they'll get to the point where Imports will become more reliable and be able to compete on an international level.. There are many times when all you need to have is a laptop on hand to make minor adjustments and other times you need to have a spare engine or tranny on hand :lol:
That's the price you pay when you have an engine that was originally designed for a certain about of HP, and now you're beating it to extract upwards of 6-7 times that amount.

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » April 7th, 2011, 3:29 am

The problem is most people don't know what they want, they just know they want to go fast. Very few want to go fast JUST on the track, they want their power to be 'streetable' - which requires building an entirely different car. But most people don't know that, or don't care, so they spend ridiculous amounts of money on parts that should only be on a drag car, and then piss and moan when their 'street' car keeps breaking.

I myself just experienced a major setback on a car I was building to be driven every day but the forged internals, wildly ported head, and custom ground cams were intended for cars that would be going in a straight line down the 1320. It lasted 3,000 miles. That's it. One dropped valve later, I'm starting over. (Okay, I admit, I cheap'd out and stuck with the stock valvetrain when I knew I should've been running something a bit more robust for the cams)

I'm not mad though, how could I be? When you're building an engine you're essentially building a bomb. Once you accept the fact that your shiny new engine will eventually blow the f*** up, it gets easier to swallow the cost and heartache of pulling it back out for rebuild.

Like the old saying goes... you have three choices: cheap, fast, reliable - but you can only pick two of those options.

As far as the whole carb vs efi goes... EFI>Carb all day here in the states. There's just no comparison to running tuned, reliable power with a fuel system that can keep up. The key is tuning, and that's where the idiots tend to screw things up and have everyone believing carb is the way to go.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 7th, 2011, 9:49 am

Well we are here in sweet T&T and there are many badly running EFI cars here especially when it comes to engine transplants..... race and hot street cars ...i have personally seen a engine last 40 minutes after a insatll due 2 bad/no tuning....so untill our local mechs get their act together in my opinion... here carb is the way 2 go Secondly i dont think when u are at the starting grid or at the traffic light people care how much money u spent on your ride..thats something only u would really know anyhow..they just expect a level of performance..its up 2 u to have the acumen to deal with your opponent..fact is we are here in trinidad awaiting the V8 killer and given the number of super jap swaps and killer combos some reported to produce enormous power im quite surprised that the V8 men are still fearless.. :mrgreen:

nigie

Postby nigie » April 10th, 2011, 11:07 pm

Keep on Truckin

POWERPLANT BIG BLOCK CHEVY!!!

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » April 11th, 2011, 8:46 am

nice............
how convenient the gas station rite over the road :lol: :lol: :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » April 15th, 2011, 3:53 pm

YEAH FRENCH CHAMBORD COMMING ALONG....... SHORTMAN BY GLENS IN CUREPE PUTTING DOWN WUK.....
ANOTHER COAT OF WHITE 2 GO B4 THE RED....

Postby MG Man » April 16th, 2011, 11:12 am

please tell me they NOT keepin those uglyass rims

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 16th, 2011, 11:57 am

^^^ I hope not ......

nigie

Postby nigie » April 18th, 2011, 12:49 am

MG Man wrote:please tell me they NOT keepin those uglyass rims

lol ....question....... will mg man ever give the V8 ters some words of encouragement?

Postby cinco » April 20th, 2011, 6:31 am

that last pic have level orange peel too

zedtt

Postby zedtt » April 27th, 2011, 2:55 am

nigie wrote:yep simca was a french auto maker ...the original car looked similar 2 the fist pic.... 2 toned in red and white ..the owner bought another car and this is the amalgamation of the two with seemingly a full nissan suspension and of course drivetrain..pryor 2 the 351 c engine it ran a 383 chevy small block..i will get a pic of the original car soon....

Well that Simca brings back some memories. That looks like the car that got me started on my long love affair with cars. I'm gonna date myself with this comment but about 39 years ago a friend had a Chevy-equipped Chambord that he let me keep for a while. in those days it was fresh and tight and that exhaust note compared to everything else was just amazing. Back then the car lived in the St. James area and before that in Cascade. Recently picked up a 1:18 scale model on eBay to add to the collection just for the memories. And yes I'm still drivin'. Some pics of my '65..

zedtt
Top down.jpg
Top up.jpg
eng-LH.JPG
eng-RH.JPG
undercarriage.jpg
S3 - Chassis in Primer.jpg
Last edited by zedtt on April 27th, 2011, 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » April 27th, 2011, 7:03 am

cinco wrote:

nah nigie might say is ripples from de V8 torque

nigie

Postby nigie » April 27th, 2011, 10:49 am

cinco wrote:

??? i not seeing any paint peelin :?: :?: :?:

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2011, 12:01 pm

nigie

Postby nigie » April 27th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Gosh is only primer ....geeeeeez

it prob went on thick as a filler....another coat of it....b4 the red goes on....geeeezzzz

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Nigie i eh bashin eh
but starting with a bad base will result in a poor top coat