2009 Porsche Cayenne GTS

Postby RASC » January 31st, 2008, 8:09 pm

A V-8 and a manual: Has Porsche finally perfected the Cayenne?

Our relationship with the Porsche Cayenne has been love/hate from the beginning. First, the idea—let alone the execution—of a big, heavy Porsche ute was something not everyone loved. But Porsche gave all Cayenne models a serious power upgrade for ’08, which we all loved. Then it announced the Cayenne hybrid, which put some of us off again. But Porsche is roping us back in at the Frankfurt auto show with this tasty dish: the 2009 Cayenne GTS.

Powered by an enhanced version of the Cayenne S’s naturally aspirated 4.8-liter V-8 with a tidy 400 horsepower, the GTS is a distinctly sport-flavored model that slots in nicely between the mid-level 385-hp S and the top-dog 500-hp Cayenne Turbo. Even better, the GTS will be available with—get this—a true six-speed manual transmission as a no-cost option. We’re, um, sorta looking forward to trying out that combo.

Other changes include a tightened chassis, which gets all kinds of techie stuff like electronic dampers, an air suspension, and Porsche’s excellent stability-control system as standard. Gorgeous multispoke 21-inch wheels and 295/35 tires reside under slight fender flares. Much more aggressive lower-body addenda, new fascias, a more aggressive rear spoiler, and cool quad tailpipes are among the rest of the revisions. Sport seats and two new available colors—Nordic Gold and GTS Red—round out the GTS-specific features.

Now, if only Porsche could put the big girl on a weight-loss program, we might consider it perfected. In the meantime, the GTS looks darn close. We’ll see the 2009 Cayenne GTS here next March (2008) at an expected price of $69,300.

Postby RASC » January 31st, 2008, 8:35 pm

Is it in the Porsche Trinidad showroom as yet?
...if not, do they plan to have any in stock soon?

plex

Postby plex » January 31st, 2008, 9:46 pm

One sweet suv with nice horsepower to kill...

By the way the vid was posted before, but no harm done caused its a sweet suv..

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=166935

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 31st, 2008, 11:46 pm

I Like :twisted:

Dr. RF

Postby Dr. RF » February 1st, 2008, 11:24 am

SWEET

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 2nd, 2008, 12:31 pm

I doh find it that ugly :oops:

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 2nd, 2008, 2:06 pm

umm i in wuv

StangSai

Postby StangSai » February 3rd, 2008, 11:54 am

Conrad wrote:I doh find it that ugly :oops:

not anymore...it used to be. i like how it look now.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 3rd, 2008, 11:58 am

StangSai wrote:
Conrad wrote:I doh find it that ugly :oops:

not anymore...it used to be. i like how it look now.

But I never found it looked ugly...just not pretty as some other stuff.

Postby RASC » February 3rd, 2008, 12:07 pm

HUTRINI wrote:Is it in the Porsche Trinidad showroom as yet?
...if not, do they plan to have any in stock soon?

...anyone know the answer to these questions :?:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » February 3rd, 2008, 1:57 pm

and ppl hating my RR sport coupe? :roll: :P

Postby Razkal » February 4th, 2008, 3:29 pm

^fcuk them! i like that MUCH more! :mrgreen:

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » February 5th, 2008, 4:00 pm

I find is a WASTE. UPGRADE THE TURBO VERSION make it affordable and then sho the land rover sport a ting or two :P