MG MAN....an excellent model update!!! Sterling Moss...

Postby Monk BANzai » December 20th, 2008, 3:27 pm

the old one...

General specifications
Country of origin Germany
Chassis number 0004/55 & 0003/55
Numbers built 8
Produced in 1955

Major wins

* 1955 Mille Miglia (Stirling Moss and Denis Jenkinson in 0004/55)
* 1955 Tourist Trophy (Stirling Moss and John Fitch in 0004/55)
* 1955 Targa Florio (Stirling Moss and Peter Collins in 0004/55)

Engine
Configuration M 196 S Straight 8
Location Front, longitudinally mounted
Construction silumin block and head
Displacement 2.982 liter / 182 cu in
Bore / Stroke 78.0 mm (3.1 in) / 78.0 mm (3.1 in)
Compression 9.0:1
Valvetrain 2 valves / cylinder, DOHC, with desmodromic valve operation
Fuel feed Bosch Direct fuel injection
Aspiration Naturally Aspirated

Drivetrain
Chassis/body elektron body on steel tubular spaceframe
Front suspension double wishbones, torsion bars, telescopic shock absorbers
Rear suspension swing axles, torsion bars, telescopic shock absorbers
Steering worm-and-sector
Brakes inboard drums, all-round
Gearbox 5 speed Manual
Drive Rear wheel drive

Dimensions
Weight 901 kilo / 1986.4 lbs
Length / Width / Height 4300 mm (169.3 in) / 1740 mm (68.5 in) / 1100 mm (43.3 in)
Wheelbase / Track (fr/r) 2370 mm (93.3 in) / 1330 mm (52.4 in) / 1380 mm (54.3 in)

Performance figures
Power 310 bhp / 231 KW @ 7400 rpm
Torque 311 Nm / 229 ft lbs @ 5950 rpm
BHP/Liter 104 bhp / liter
Power to weight 0.34 bhp / kg
Top Speed 300 km/h / 186 mph

article readup here... http://www.ultimatecarpage.com/car/363/ ... dster.html

the 2009 version

General specifications
Country of origin Germany
Numbers built 75 (Proposed)
Produced in 2009

Engine
Configuration AMG 90º V 8
Location Front, longitudinally mounted
Displacement 5.439 liter / 331.9 cu in
Bore / Stroke 97.0 mm (3.8 in) / 92.0 mm (3.6 in)
Compression 8.8:1
Valvetrain 3 valves / cylinder, SOHC
Fuel feed Fuel injection
Aspiration Supercharger

Drivetrain
Chassis/body carbon fibre monocoque
Front suspension double wishbones, coil springs over gas pressurised dampers, stabilizer
Rear suspension double wishbones, coil springs over gas pressurised dampers
Steering rack-and-pinion, power assisted
Brakes carbon fibre vented discs, all-round
Gearbox 5 speed Automatic
Drive Rear wheel drive

Dimensions
Wheelbase / Track (fr/r) 2700 mm (106.3 in) / 1638 mm (64.5 in) / 1569 mm (61.8 in)

Performance figures
Power 650 bhp / 485 KW @ 6500 rpm
Torque 820 Nm / 605 ft lbs @ 3250 rpm
BHP/Liter 120 bhp / liter
Top Speed 350 km/h / 217 mph
0-60 mph 3.4 s

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 20th, 2008, 4:28 pm

:| :faint:

Tarantula

Re: MG MAN....an excellent model update!!! Sterling Moss...

Postby Tarantula » December 21st, 2008, 10:10 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

:shock: YOWSER!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock:

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » December 21st, 2008, 10:11 pm

any pics of the truck only??

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 21st, 2008, 10:14 pm

v8? i well say they wuda stuff a v12 in that beast

Postby wagonrunner » December 21st, 2008, 11:11 pm

Tarantula wrote:any pics of the truck only??

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 10:23 am

some designs just too timeless to be updated
I have an article somewhere on the restoration of the truck
AMAZING

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 10:25 am

was a good attaempt though.....very well thought out....not "ooooooh we have mocho mooolah for porject!! lets turn kindergarden kids!!!"

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 10:27 am

design just does not have the purity if line of the original
I would much rather see a fresh design with some nostalgic cues than a revamp

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 22nd, 2008, 10:31 am

I no likey the new one.

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 11:03 am

Lotus got it better

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 11:59 am

agreed...but Lotus is ofa differnt scale of design...i think if a new desig nwas brought forward..the nay sayers wud say "wheres the analogy in the design?"....HOLOCUST!!!!!

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 12:13 pm

remember whrn the XK8 was launched?
It paid homage to the E-type but was not a modern rehash of a retro design....same for the S-Type
Merc fail with this one

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 22nd, 2008, 12:15 pm

Give me the Original any day .

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 12:16 pm

MG Man wrote:remember whrn the XK8 was launched?
It paid homage to the E-type but was not a modern rehash of a retro design....same for the S-Type
Merc fail with this one

ahhhhhhhhhh...understands........yeh merc FAIL

(goes and worships God..)

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 12:33 pm

idiot :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
when you done playing, you still have a Mini Cooper to wash.....and lookie lookie, yet another interpretation of a timeless design that was done properly

Postby wagonrunner » December 22nd, 2008, 12:46 pm

MG Man,
wait wait wait, now yuh saying d mini cooper is "yet another interpretation of a timeless design that was done properly".

nah,
*goes on zorce, and the dex forums for yuh previous reviews of that car*

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 12:50 pm

***waits***

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 22nd, 2008, 12:50 pm

Mini Cooper sounds like a stripper name.
(yes, that just dawned on me this very second)

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 1:12 pm

^^^ haahahahahaaaaaaaaaa apart from the ORIGINAL Cooper S redone..i'm not a fan of the new cooper....and drop the word "mini"...its a full fledged car!! dammit!!!

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 22nd, 2008, 1:20 pm

^For real, I agree with you. I like the car, but It ain't "mini" any more.
Similar has happened to the VW beetle.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 1:24 pm

zodiaque wrote:^For real, I agree with you. I like the car, but It ain't "mini" any more.
Similar has happened to the VW beetle.

oh gawd no!!!>.thats a WASTE of design.....TOTAL!!.....is best they'd kept the original and simply added more power.....

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » December 22nd, 2008, 2:36 pm

Tarantula wrote:any pics of the truck only??

rasta u gone off on a different tangent here WTMC!!
whey the pics??

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 23rd, 2008, 4:11 am

MG Man wrote:some designs just too timeless to be updated
AMAZING

well...doh stick
honestly...that tow truck rel rel bad...the entire combination jus oozes bonerific appeal...too bad new cars these days don't have that much soul

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » December 23rd, 2008, 7:55 am

**goes to google meaning of bonerific**

Postby MG Man » December 23rd, 2008, 10:24 am

Tsuchiya wrote:
AMAZING

well...doh stick
honestly...that tow truck rel rel bad...the entire combination jus oozes bonerific appeal...too bad new cars these days don't have that much soul

I have to dig thru about a thousand magazines. everything went all wonky when we did house renovations.......the Mini is not Mini anymore, I agree, but it still looks better than any other econobox out there, and handles better too

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 23rd, 2008, 10:40 am

Tsuchiya wrote:
AMAZING

well...doh stick

I have to dig thru about a thousand magazines. everything went all wonky when we did house renovations.......the Mini is not Mini anymore, I agree, but it still looks better than any other econobox out there, and handles better too

*enter, the Swift sport*
lol!

Postby Monk BANzai » December 23rd, 2008, 10:50 am

^^ mans got a point!! and the swift sport is prettier too!!

Postby MG Man » December 23rd, 2008, 11:01 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ mans got a point!! and the swift sport is prettier too!!

the swift sport does not handle better than a cooper S, same way the standard Swift does not handle better than a standard Cooper
The Swift's greenhouse is taken directly from the Mini
could you possibly reqind and come again?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 23rd, 2008, 11:12 am

It went from british to german and at 3000 lbs and 1.6 litres of displacement...the "mini" is all in the name. like puttin a GTiR sticker on an elephant, or a size 1 carnival costume on a mampii, it's just wrong. But i hear that Mini chassis is one of the best fwd platforms out there, and it can take a beating jus like the original.