T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Gladiator » April 1st, 2020, 11:01 pm

kamakazi wrote:All manufactures are cutting corners unless you looking at a flagship model

I honestly thought the Korean cousins got better but they are 5 year/100k km vehicles... This also goes for budget Euro models from luxury brands.

What additional features do you look for that could potentially sway a purchasing decision; many people say features are lacking but no one says what features they were looking forward to

When it comes to Trini car sales they just look for maximum profit. If that means reducing the specs of the vehicle below standard then so be it. I personally was totally disappointed in Toyota. I had the Rav4 (last model) and it was so bleh. The car felt cheap and light. The Engine was strong but the CVT was so loud and drony. It had very basic features, And for that legendary Toyota reliability, engine light came on and never throw any codes. Toyota tech say the harness was damaged. Even the paint job was sub standard. The clearcoat is thin and minimal.

Decided to go with a Euro after and was very pleased. Once you customize your spec you get what you want (Rims, Tyres, Safety features, Paint, Engine, Seats, Steering Wheel, Pedals, Suspension, Lights etc) I actually sat with the rep and built the car from a basic spec.

Walked into a BMW showroom on Richmond St and asked the lady to see the 3 series. She show me some 3 cyl 1.5L crap with a plastic dashboard. Damn the Rav 4 looked better than that. Saw a 2 series with an M Sport kit and a 2L engine. Asked she if its RWD or FWD. She mumble fumble and try calling somebody on the phone. I went under and check and had to educate the poor woman. Good thing they give up that dealership yes.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 2nd, 2020, 9:48 am

2020 Volvo XC90
IMG_2229.JPG

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » April 2nd, 2020, 11:09 am

If that exact XC90 in the image is what they are selling as the 2020 model year I have a serious problem with that

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 3rd, 2020, 11:40 am

Shalom, you lost me there, care to explain?

Just an update guys, the all new 2020 Suzuki XL7 7 seater 1.5 crossover is priced at $200,000.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » April 3rd, 2020, 12:15 pm

agent007 wrote:Shalom, you lost me there, care to explain?

Just an update guys, the all new 2020 Suzuki XL7 7 seater 1.5 crossover is priced at $200,000.

The 2020 Volvo XC90 was facelifted although a very minor one. If the 2020 XC90 that is being sold locally looks exactly like the one in the image then it actually isnt the 2020 model.

The price on that new XL7 is really competitive tho :shock: considering going against a vehicle like the Livina.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 3rd, 2020, 12:30 pm

Yes it is quite competitive. You did well to notice the facelift in the XC90. Up to now I can’t really tell the difference.

Postby Gladiator » April 4th, 2020, 10:54 am

I dunno bout allyuh.... but the Kia Looks much Better than the Suzuki...

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » April 4th, 2020, 11:29 am

Most definitely. But just remember its a different class of vehicle too

Postby Dave » April 4th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Kia 7 seats?

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 4th, 2020, 7:37 pm

New car fire sale??????

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 6th, 2020, 1:14 am

I understand both may be available locally with only 2 airbags?

Postby Gladiator » April 6th, 2020, 10:59 am

Wish they had bring back this monster.... 2.0L V6 Ladder Chassis 4WD

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 6th, 2020, 3:17 pm

7 seats, body on frame chassis, RWD with longitudinal mounted engine with electronic fuel injection (not direct injection), automatic transmission (non CVT), 6 airbags, legendary Toyota reliability and resale value. Somewhat worthy now isn’t it? $229k
Adjustments.JPG

Postby Dizzy28 » April 6th, 2020, 4:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:Wish they had bring back this monster.... 2.0L V6 Ladder Chassis 4WD

One of my past work places had that as a pool vehicle. That Suzuki was pretty horrid on gas consumption though. South runs would more or less be 1/2 tank without too much off highway driving.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

It was either a 2.5 or 2.7 old tech V6 toting 3400+lbs so I’ll cut it some slack.

Postby Gladiator » April 7th, 2020, 10:30 am

Gladiator wrote:Wish they had bring back this monster.... 2.0L V6 Ladder Chassis 4WD

One of my past work places had that as a pool vehicle. That Suzuki was pretty horrid on gas consumption though. South runs would more or less be 1/2 tank without too much off highway driving.

Yeah... i had the smaller one with the 1.6L... it was a slow gas guzzler as well, but strong like an OX and very capable offroad...

Postby eliteauto » April 8th, 2020, 1:06 am

agent007 wrote:7 seats, body on frame chassis, RWD with longitudinal mounted engine with electronic fuel injection (not direct injection), automatic transmission (non CVT), 6 airbags, legendary Toyota reliability and resale value. Somewhat worthy now isn’t it? $229k
Adjustments.JPG

cheap plastics, uncomfortable for 4 adults far less 7 persons older than 10, narrow, reliability is yet to be proven and apparently underpowered when moving with 4 persons on hills. All my comments are from actual experience of having one for a week as a back up vehicle for my business

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2020, 4:45 pm

eliteauto wrote:
agent007 wrote:7 seats, body on frame chassis, RWD with longitudinal mounted engine with electronic fuel injection (not direct injection), automatic transmission (non CVT), 6 airbags, legendary Toyota reliability and resale value. Somewhat worthy now isn’t it? $229k
Adjustments.JPG

cheap plastics, uncomfortable for 4 adults far less 7 persons older than 10, narrow, reliability is yet to be proven and apparently underpowered when moving with 4 persons on hills. All my comments are from actual experience of having one for a week as a back up vehicle for my business

I hear it has a cool sound system though.... you got a chance to play with it?

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 10th, 2020, 10:29 pm

I hear you elite. Maybe if the fully loaded Rush was $195k instead of the $229k then we probably would be less harsh on it. Previously it was $249k so maybe after this pandemic we may see more competitive pricing.

Concerning the sound system, I saw some models came with the factory supplied head unit. I’m not sure who the OEM supplier is, maybe Fujitsu Ten (Eclipse), Clarion or Pioneer feeding 8 speakers. Thing is though, I’ve also seen TTTL import them without a head unit and they’ve resorted to installing a Blaupunkt 50x4 mosfet touch screen unit. Not sure what adjustments they made but the preamp spread across 8 speakers would drop rms per channel as peak power doesn’t change from 200W. All that to say, I trust the OEM unit over the Blaupunkt but I’ll need an audio guy to step in and clarify.

Postby Gladiator » April 11th, 2020, 12:39 am

agent007 wrote:I hear you elite. Maybe if the fully loaded Rush was $195k instead of the $229k then we probably would be less harsh on it. Previously it was $249k so maybe after this pandemic we may see more competitive pricing.

Concerning the sound system, I saw some models came with the factory supplied head unit. I’m not sure who the OEM supplier is, maybe Fujitsu Ten (Eclipse), Clarion or Pioneer feeding 8 speakers. Thing is though, I’ve also seen TTTL import them without a head unit and they’ve resorted to installing a Blaupunkt 50x4 mosfet touch screen unit. Not sure what adjustments they made but the preamp spread across 8 speakers would drop rms per channel as peak power doesn’t change from 200W. All that to say, I trust the OEM unit over the Blaupunkt but I’ll need an audio guy to step in and clarify.

Thanks for the feedback... I was never a fan of the Rush... I actually condemned you for praising it so highly. But after a while, I no longer gag at the sight of it. Its tolerable.... good for a family vehicle on a budget.

Who knows with a lift kit and some offroad tyres and fender flares it might turn into beast mode... Toyota CRush

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2020, 10:05 am

With all that extra weight from the larger tires rims and flare the rush 0-60 time might be around 20 seconds.

The demographics of the rush buyers seem to be ladies over 50.
I know 7 rush owners and they all fit that pattern.

Postby aaron17 » April 11th, 2020, 10:40 am

The rush needs to be stretched out as a wide body in order for it to look good.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 11th, 2020, 11:22 am

The black one looks good...very doable with the ladder frame.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 12th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Dunno if it was mentioned before,but you all know the Rush is just a Daihatsu Terios with a Toyota badge right?

wing

Postby wing » April 12th, 2020, 3:44 pm

Correct!
1200px-2018_Daihatsu_Terios_1.5_R_Deluxe_wagon_(F800RG%3B_01-12-2019)%2C_South_Tangerang.jpeg

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 13th, 2020, 5:44 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Dunno if it was mentioned before,but you all know the Rush is just a Daihatsu Terios with a Toyota badge right?

Well that explains a lot

Any BMW G20 (new model 3 series) owners in here or anyone can give feedback about them?

Postby A172 » April 13th, 2020, 5:54 pm

i checked out and test drove the 330i abroad also the first one that ANSA had last year

I was deciding between the STi and G20 because they are around the same price for me

honestly if you coming from your F30 it didn't make me feel like i must have this car nowww but it is def better and makes the F30 seem like an ole car. If you getting one make sure and get the virtual instrument panel as well as the laser lights. The laser lights in particular is a must because the other 2 headlight trims make the car look poverty af

another thing to consider is the W206 coming out just now and as with the last F30/W205 generation that were only 2 years apart the benz was far superior and made the F30 look like an ole donkey even back then

i'll def buy a G20 next year though

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 13th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Yea I was doing some research on them and the non Laser light DRL is failure. That option expensive AF though.
Heard the first batch of g20s having some minor electronics issues; nothing disabling though. More annoyance than anything else.

My F30 got written off earlier this year. Hence why I’m in the market for another.

Ironic btw, (re: your choices now) as I came from a 2014 STi and went to a 2017 F30.
Definitely prefer the F30 personally.

Was wondering how it compared; the F30 to the G20 wrt to driving dynamics.
I’ll have wait after this COVID thing until I could test drive it.

Never really liked how the Mercs drove tbh. The upcoming model has to come rel good for me to Change my mind. I figure it’ll look similar to the new CLA and GLC and GLB or at least have the same design language.

Considered the XE and new A5 as well but haven’t got that much long term feedback from anyone locally.

Toyed with the idea of getting an Evo X and an X1 later on for the inevitable upcoming family.
Always had a weakness for those CZ4As.

Postby A172 » April 13th, 2020, 9:02 pm

a 2014 sti would have been 2008 ole model so an F30 would have been an upgrade for sure

a G20 is much better than an F30 in every possible way, I don't think you would be disappointed, just get it in the highest m sport trim

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » April 14th, 2020, 12:07 am

Does anyone know the cost of a new Lexus RX SUV with the FSport kit?. I have seen a few new ones on the road but not sure if they came through Toyota or Roll on roll off.