T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Capleton

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Capleton » March 8th, 2021, 9:07 am

New Hilux pricing:

4x2 manual 2.4L (low-lux) @ $217,000

4x4 manual 2.4L (mid) @ $281,000
4x4 manual 2.8L (mid) @ $290,000

4x4 automatic 2.4L (mid spc) @ $320,000
4x4 automatic 2.8L (mid spc) @ $332,000

4x4 automatic 2.8L (high spc) @ $356,000
4x4 automatic 2.8L (leather spc) @ $370,000

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » March 8th, 2021, 9:39 am

agent007 wrote:Thanks guys. A vehicle with lasers is definitely something to insure under comprehensive risks.

Alluh remember the guy with the Cerato parked by the oval who got his lights stolen? Remember the SS quote was like 20k IIRC? Well A172, I think replacement lasers is probably an E141 not an E121 lol.

Coming back to the Hilux, whilst I like it very much, the Sportero still comes with a better safety tech package. Having 6 airbags is one thing but the L200 has blind spot, cross traffic alert, lane sensing and assistance, collision alert and mitigation. It also has 360 camera (subject to confirmation) and front/rear parking assist. For $5k less than the Hilux? Why not? I guess the resale value and forecasted reliability will swing people more towards the toyota but I feel the mitsu has a little edge.

FB_IMG_1615166221094.jpegFB_IMG_1615166223399.jpeg

Is this new van available now in Trinidad?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 8th, 2021, 11:38 am

Feeldavibe, since November last year they got them..

Capleton, prices updated thanks.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 8th, 2021, 2:30 pm

I saw the new L200 on the road. It has presence. Compared to other vans, I've always found the back on the L200 to be underwhelming. This new one is definitely not so. Mitsubishi did good with the design of this and features wise, it is competitively priced in the van segment.

I guess the toss up is who has crappier service, Ansa motors or TTTL as that may decide where buyers go to.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 8th, 2021, 7:55 pm

Agreed carluva.

Guys, I think I saw the 2021 Jaguar I-Pace.

Also, look who’s here now:

IMG_3476.JPG
IMG_3480.JPG
IMG_3477.JPG
IMG_3478.JPG

IMG_3479.JPG

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 8th, 2021, 10:39 pm

agent007 wrote:Agreed carluva.

IMG_3476.JPG
IMG_3480.JPG
IMG_3477.JPG
IMG_3478.JPG

IMG_3479.JPG

Wow this is great. First ‘luxury’ hybrid vehicle to be offered by an official dealer locally.
Well minus Porsche.
First plug in hybrid then?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 9th, 2021, 7:24 am

What would be the house electrical wiring for this vehicle? That's a huge price jump compared to the normal fuel.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 9th, 2021, 8:34 am

Carluva, the cost is actually cheaper if you do a CBA.
You have to look at the potential cost difference of using gasoline cost vs electricity.
So instead of paying at the pump, you just pay your bill online which is much easier and convenient.
And then there is the opportunity cost of time saved from having to go to a gas station vs plugging in every night.
I believe the EV range is 60km so if you work at a job where you can plug in as well, that's a big savings.

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » March 9th, 2021, 9:01 am

My friend just took delivery of his XC40 Recharge. I haven't seen it personally but he loves it. He travels from the west to close to the airport for work and says it was basically all on EV mode. 1.1 L / 100km on his dash. Car came with cables to plug into both 110v and 220v. Bout 5 hours to charge using 110v.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » March 9th, 2021, 9:12 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
agent007 wrote:Agreed carluva.

IMG_3476.JPGIMG_3480.JPGIMG_3477.JPGIMG_3478.JPG
IMG_3479.JPG

Wow this is great. First ‘luxury’ hybrid vehicle to be offered by an official dealer locally.
Well minus Porsche.
First plug in hybrid then?

No, it is not the first. Lifestyle has been wheeling and dealing in hybrids since before it was a "thing" in Trinidad. You just can't simply minus Porsche!

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 9th, 2021, 11:16 am

So the official hybrid/electric and CNG listing from authorized dealers are:

Hyundai Ioniq hybrid
Hyundai Ioniq electric
Kia Niro hybrid
Porsche Cayenne hybrid
Porsche Panamera hybrid
Toyota Prius (not sure if TTTL will ever import this again)
Toyota Prius C (soon to be discontinued in Japan so I suspect this is the end for this)
Volvo S90 hybrid
Volvo XC40 hybrid
Volvo XC90 hybrid

**Possibly Volvo XC60 hybrid?**

CNG:

Honda City 1.5 CNG (OEM from Thailand)
Suzuki Ciaz 1.4 CNG (Indian built but kit installed in T&T)

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » March 9th, 2021, 11:55 am

Hey guys, is anyone here a business owner that actually knows the in's and out's of purchasing T vehicles vs P vehicles for staff? I know that companies generally tend to favor T vehicles because it's a good tax write off for the company, but does anyone know what buying a P vehicle for staff members entails? Example who pays the tax on the car, if it's a 'gift in kind' or perk to the employee that the employee must pay tax on, etc. Thanks. Not looking for thoughts, hoping someone here has done it themselves and knows the story.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 9th, 2021, 12:52 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Carluva, the cost is actually cheaper if you do a CBA.
You have to look at the potential cost difference of using gasoline cost vs electricity.
So instead of paying at the pump, you just pay your bill online which is much easier and convenient.
And then there is the opportunity cost of time saved from having to go to a gas station vs plugging in every night.
I believe the EV range is 60km so if you work at a job where you can plug in as well, that's a big savings.

Maybe, but still not convinced. Here's why...

Cost of hybrid is $569,000
Cost of fuel engine is $410,000 (from front page)

Difference in cost = $569,000 - $400,000 = 169,000
Estimated cost to fill up tank = $500 (conservative which caters for potential fuel price increases)

Assuming that the $169,000 is money saved in buying the fuel engine, that money can be used for gas. So:

Number of tank fill ups = $169,000 / $500 = 338

Assuming I fill up the car weekly, then $169,000 will get me gas for 338 weeks or 6.5 years. Within that time, that Volvo would be sold, or if the trend applies with Euros in Trinidad (and my bad personal experiences with two, namely Audi and VW) that Volvo would likely not even last me that long and would have issues within that time.

So for $569,000 I can buy the normal XC40 plus gas for 6.5 years in which case I may have a dud well before.

Comparing to the Hybrid, I will likely have initial investment for house wiring changes, the initial $569,000 initial investment, an increase in electricity bill (plus further increases if electricity rates are amended) and the fact that fuel still has to be used and purchased for the vehicle. So, in 6.5 years, I have spent more money and still end up with a potential dud.

That is my rough and dirty... care to share your cost benefit analysis which may demonstrate the opposite?

Postby aaron17 » March 9th, 2021, 7:10 pm

Ent it have corolla hybrid?

Capleton

Postby Capleton » March 10th, 2021, 8:06 am

agent007 wrote:So the official hybrid/electric and CNG listing from authorized dealers are:

Hyundai Ioniq hybrid
Hyundai Ioniq electric
Kia Niro hybrid
Porsche Cayenne hybrid
Porsche Panamera hybrid
Toyota Prius (not sure if TTTL will ever import this again)
Toyota Prius C (soon to be discontinued in Japan so I suspect this is the end for this)
Volvo S90 hybrid
Volvo XC40 hybrid
Volvo XC90 hybrid

**Possibly Volvo XC60 hybrid?**

CNG:

Honda City 1.5 CNG (OEM from Thailand)
Suzuki Ciaz 1.4 CNG (Indian built but kit installed in T&T)

Not forgetting the Porsche Taycan 8-)

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 10th, 2021, 3:02 pm

Oh yes that’s true. I also forgot to include the Audi A6 mild hybrid as well.
The attachment IMG_3523.JPG is no longer available
IMG_3523.JPG
IMG_3525.JPG

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 10th, 2021, 6:10 pm

carluva wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Carluva, the cost is actually cheaper if you do a CBA.

Maybe, but still not convinced. Here's why...

Cost of hybrid is $569,000
Cost of fuel engine is $410,000 (from front page)

Difference in cost = $569,000 - $400,000 = 169,000
Estimated cost to fill up tank = $500 (conservative which caters for potential fuel price increases)

Assuming that the $169,000 is money saved in buying the fuel engine, that money can be used for gas. So:

Number of tank fill ups = $169,000 / $500 = 338

Assuming I fill up the car weekly, then $169,000 will get me gas for 338 weeks or 6.5 years. Within that time, that Volvo would be sold, or if the trend applies with Euros in Trinidad (and my bad personal experiences with two, namely Audi and VW) that Volvo would likely not even last me that long and would have issues within that time.

So for $569,000 I can buy the normal XC40 plus gas for 6.5 years in which case I may have a dud well before.

Comparing to the Hybrid, I will likely have initial investment for house wiring changes, the initial $569,000 initial investment, an increase in electricity bill (plus further increases if electricity rates are amended) and the fact that fuel still has to be used and purchased for the vehicle. So, in 6.5 years, I have spent more money and still end up with a potential dud.

That is my rough and dirty... care to share your cost benefit analysis which may demonstrate the opposite?

Couldn't agree more. I was looking at getting an I-pace...there's at least one down here and it's absolutely gorgeous...but for all the reasons mentioned above, makes very little sense.

2WNBoost

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby 2WNBoost » March 10th, 2021, 6:22 pm

feeldavibe wrote:Hey guys, is anyone here a business owner that actually knows the in's and out's of purchasing T vehicles vs P vehicles for staff? I know that companies generally tend to favor T vehicles because it's a good tax write off for the company, but does anyone know what buying a P vehicle for staff members entails? Example who pays the tax on the car, if it's a 'gift in kind' or perk to the employee that the employee must pay tax on, etc. Thanks. Not looking for thoughts, hoping someone here has done it themselves and knows the story.

I don’t have the specifics but Inland Revenue will categorize the vehicle as a taxable benefit. It would be better to leave the vehicle in the company’s name and have staff use them to perform their work. They will get to take the vehicles home so that they can respond to after hours call out events.

The company adds a depreciation charge for the effective life of the vehicle, e.g. 5 years. So at the end of 5 years the book value could be 25% of the acquisition cost: a $200,000 vehicle will have a book value of $50,000 after 5 years.

At the end of 5 years the company updates the fleet and the staff get the option to purchase the old vehicles at the deprecated book value, if not they are sold on the open market.

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » March 10th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Seems like Honda now selling out their 2019 stock to make room for the 2020 crv.
E010BF44-7705-4FAB-B448-4B8D2D80DBDF.jpeg

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 10th, 2021, 9:20 pm

2021 Isuzu D-Max prices.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 10th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Seeing corrolla hybrid for 350k
See page 1
aaron17 wrote:Ent it have corolla hybrid?

Postby Dave » March 10th, 2021, 10:09 pm

That 1.9l engine on some serious steroids or is the 3.0l underpowered?
wheelbarrow wrote:Image
2021 Isuzu D-Max prices.

rebound

Postby rebound » March 11th, 2021, 10:43 am

Its looking very rugged...I like

Capleton

Postby Capleton » March 11th, 2021, 11:20 am

Anyone got a chance to check out the new Kia Sonet. Starting at $198K, looks to be a solid contender in the SUV B segment. What are your thoughts?

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » March 11th, 2021, 11:27 am

2021 Isuzu D-Max prices.

Which company selling these if you dont mind me asking? I find the price not bad at all considering the saftey systems and features and the overall look of the Dmax now. Would be interesting to see the price of the new BT50 considering it uses the same powertrain.

Postby foss » March 11th, 2021, 11:37 am

Southern Sales is the dealer ^

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 11th, 2021, 11:39 am

Dave wrote:That 1.9l engine on some serious steroids or is the 3.0l underpowered?
2021 Isuzu D-Max prices.

Mercedes was able to achieve as much as 241hp and 500Nm from their 1950cc diesel 4. The 1898cc Isuzu with 148hp and 350Nm is a testament to their conservative approach by not over stressing the head/block combo which ultimately results in longevity/reliability.

The 3.0 peak output numbers are exactly the same as Nissan’s YD25DDTi high power in the NP300 LE which we all know is a 2.5. I get Isuzu’s approach. A bit noisy but some mechanics swear by an Isuzu built diesel engine.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 11th, 2021, 11:44 am

Capleton wrote:Anyone got a chance to check out the new Kia Sonet. Starting at $198K, looks to be a solid contender in the SUV B segment. What are your thoughts?

Great, another Indian built third world entry to our wonderful market. Sure it going to sell like hot hops cause it have features to shame a Toyota RAV4.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 11th, 2021, 12:10 pm

So a certain person WhatsApp me a photo to put in this thread. His words were, “get ready”. So fella here you go:
IMG_3538.JPG

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 11th, 2021, 12:29 pm

Before someone says I’m biased...hold these one time:
IMG_3539.JPG
IMG_3539.JPG (20.37 KiB) Viewed 2994 times
IMG_3540.JPG
IMG_3541.JPG
IMG_3541.JPG (15.31 KiB) Viewed 2994 times
IMG_3542.JPG