Another Sigma Build (lots of pics)

sigma-turbo

Another Sigma Build (lots of pics)

Postby sigma-turbo » May 1st, 2010, 6:53 am

Got this thing for spare parts but couldn't bring myself to strip it so i decided to turn it into something fun

First was to change its look with some paint and wheels, then i had a brain fart and decided to put a toyota sc14 supercharger on the 2l engine

Then i got sick of playing around with 4 cylinders and rang my engineer and had a talk about fitting something more like just MORE after a short chat and a few calculations i got the green light to fit a 302ci V8, I could have gone 351ci but im not

how it was when i got it, it had some body damage and some dodgy repairs that needed attention

body straight and with the first hifill coats on

On goes the white

on goes the silver grey metallic and some different wheels

and then the pin stripe to break it up

Well to get the car engineered with the V8 engine the engineer requested that the following mods be carried out

Vented front brakes, a minimum of 10" rear drums and stiffer front suspension

I didnt want to bother with drum brakes so i decided to upgrade the entire diff and brake assembly, I gave the factory flimsy unit the flick and got an 5 stud LSD 3.45 BTR unit out of an XR6 falcon, much better unit than the sigma one all i had to do was cut it down and get it to fit :roll:

New diff before mods

stripped out and with brackets cut off

chop chop :shock:

to ensure the housing remains straight when its being welded back together, I made a housing bar that passes through the diff and has machined collars that fit where the bearings would normally go

collars

tube ends tacked into place

Re-splined axles

test assembled

Before final welding of the housing i had to position the suspension arm mounts, to do this i made another jig that the factory diff and suspension arms bolted to

factory diff bolted in place to show how it works, All that left to do is cut the mounts off the diff, bolt them to the jig and sit the replacement diff into the jig

New diff fully welded ready for assembly and installation, note the top mounts, the original diff had them cast to the diff and the new diff was much larger, this meant i had to relocate the top mount and make new offset top arms

new top arms look like these but have the Mitsubishi ends welded on

in the car

sits nice and has lots of room for bigger tyres, Simmons wheels go well with the color

The diff conversion has cost me $320aud (would be $300 if i didnt paint the jig) that including both the suspension jig and housing bar

Will add the front suspension/brakes tomorrow
Last edited by sigma-turbo on May 1st, 2010, 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

rxforever

Postby rxforever » May 1st, 2010, 7:19 am

very interesting man....following patiently... :mrgreen:

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » May 1st, 2010, 9:22 am

I've always followed your posts with some interest...

...and i must say it's a nice job there m8!!!

Sure does look the part!!! :twisted:

TechArt

Postby TechArt » May 1st, 2010, 9:22 am

This is what happens when a job is planned out properly, you seem to have the patience and the mindset. Kudos and good luck with the build, I am sure others will learn from this build like ME :D .

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2010, 10:03 am

well done looking froward to more contributions, love the stance with the new diff

Postby Rooki3 » May 1st, 2010, 10:13 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » May 1st, 2010, 12:31 pm

didnt think this was possible :shock:

Postby Mark! » May 1st, 2010, 6:40 pm

very nice...

Postby Monk BANzai » May 1st, 2010, 8:05 pm

ShIvAm wrote:didnt think this was possible :shock:

ahhh good lad...this is Auzzie technology...they've been pioneering stuff like this for years...

Good build.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 1st, 2010, 8:29 pm

I Like ............

We need that FB Button here .

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 1st, 2010, 9:45 pm

Excellent workmanship. Congrats! Now lets see more pix of the V8 installation.

BTW What trans/gearbox did you use? Anything special for front suspension & brakes?

Postby Damien » May 1st, 2010, 11:50 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 3rd, 2010, 7:24 am

Thank for the good feedback :D

This cars just a banger for the wife to drive around and do burnout comps with, so its not the neatest thing

Sorry Sanctifier no engine pics as yet and wont be for a few weeks, need to do the heads and cam first

The replacement engine is a Ford 302ci Cleveland (same as a 351 clevo but has a 3" stroke) engine will be very mild as reliability and driveability is what im after

Trans is just an old C4 3 speed auto with a shift kit and a 3000rpm stall

Front suspension had to be upgraded to cope with the extra weight, i was going to get some custom valved strut inserts and springs made but i decided to look for something oem just incase it ever needs replacing

Basically I made a list of cars that came with V8's or big inline 6 engines and had strut front ends, then went on a measuring spree to see what would fit

The end result was Chrysler Centura 6 cyl springs and inserts on the Factory Sigma strut bodies, Basically these were a bolt in job
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chrysler_Centura

Front brakes are Ford XA Falcon slotted rotors with Holden WB Caprice calipers

Discs are a bolt on but i needed to make an adapter to mount the caliper

Sits high in the front end but the V8 should get it back down

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 3rd, 2010, 10:35 am

Love the body work....straight lines & seams ftw

Postby Razkal » May 3rd, 2010, 11:03 am

hmmm...just when i thought the governor plum ah munchin was the BEST thing that happen today...very nice build man..excellent stuffs :)

legoRB

Postby legoRB » May 3rd, 2010, 2:23 pm

This cars just a banger for the wife to drive around and do burnout comps with, so its not the neatest thing

^^Ah wah ah woman like dat! :lol:
Nice ongoing build that i will follow... :mrgreen:

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » May 3rd, 2010, 3:02 pm

:shock: wow! this will be intresting.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 3rd, 2010, 6:19 pm

great sigma..ill b monitoring your build to improve on mine....

engine line up..chevy small block

Transmission going in..... tunnel made bigger

Engine set ..sump modified to clear cross member...

Engine in car
Image....

Will try 2 find more pics......

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 3rd, 2010, 11:48 pm

Thats tops nigie looks like you had to do some work to the trans tunnel

I wont need to do touch the tunnel or the engine sump to fit my chosen engine and trans as the clevo has a front sump and the C4 bell is pretty compact

See the car behind yours in the bottom pic, that car will have the same brake calipers as what im using

A friend of mine is using S13-14 Nissan struts and brakes on the front of his car says it was a pretty straight forward job

nigie

Postby nigie » May 4th, 2010, 9:26 am

Actually sigma ....i had lined up a 351 ford cleveland at first but found clearance challenges so I opted for the easier chevy setup...the cleveland was front sump..so it didnt need the sump clearance as the chevy..but the tunnel still needed work with the FMX box...yes the car behind is our holden kingwood hz...if u can ...send pics of your caliper mods or of the s13-14 conversion that will b great.....the Firewall had 2 b clearanced for the chevy distributor..which is to the back..unlike the ford.. and the firewall was recessed a bit for the right side head..i tied the chassis using shedule 40 steel to the front..and the modified transmission tunnel is braced with multiple steel straps

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 4th, 2010, 10:17 am

nigie wrote:Actually sigma ....i had lined up a 351 ford cleveland at first but found clearance challenges so I opted for the easier chevy setup...the cleveland was front sump..so it didnt need the sump clearance as the chevy..but the tunnel still needed work with the FMX box...yes the car behind is our holden kingwood hz...if u can ...send pics of your caliper mods or of the s13-14 conversion that will b great.....the Firewall had 2 b clearanced for the chevy distributor..which is to the back..unlike the ford.. and the firewall was recessed a bit for the right side head..i tied the chassis using shedule 40 steel to the front..and the modified transmission tunnel is braced with multiple steel straps

join and add some pics of your sig
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sigma-Gal ... 9095074584

Clevo fits with ample room, if its an auto body you wont need to mod the trans tunnel if using a C4

nigie

Postby nigie » May 4th, 2010, 12:01 pm

Well...mine was a manual trans car hence the tunnel mod..... guess you have 2 cut into the front of the car for the radiator

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 4th, 2010, 6:27 pm

nigie wrote:Well...mine was a manual trans car hence the tunnel mod..... guess you have 2 cut into the front of the car for the radiator

depends what water pump is used

if its a short pump the there is just enough room to fit a 3 row radiator, electric fans need to go infront of the radiator

Theres a fair few clevo sigmas getting around Aus

fatts

Postby fatts » May 4th, 2010, 6:47 pm

that galant was reel reel bad,big props to legin racing great work saw the car @ the ve car show in skinners but did not get ah chance to see under the hood

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 4th, 2010, 10:39 pm

nigie wrote:great sigma..ill b monitoring your build to improve on mine....

engine line up..chevy small block

Transmission going in..... tunnel made bigger

Engine set ..sump modified to clear cross member...

Engine in car
Image....

Will try 2 find more pics......

Is this PAA 9645?
If it is lemme know.
Major sentimental value attached to that car...

nigie

Postby nigie » May 4th, 2010, 10:44 pm

No its not 9645 aye Sigma what brakes master cylinder and booster are they using on that sigma with the clevo

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 5th, 2010, 1:54 am

nigie wrote:No its not 9645 aye Sigma what brakes master cylinder and booster are they using on that sigma with the clevo

on the mine or the yellow one?

***assuming that your struts are the same as mine***

OEM struts used in my sigma

FRONT

On mine im using the factory brake booster with a 1" ford master cylinder (sigma is 13/16) its a direct bolt on, (same as on the yellow car)

My front brakes are Vented 2 piece hub/disc XA falcon rotors that have had the hub thickness machined down 9mm with HZ holden wheel bearings, this will fit onto factory Sigma stubs (Yellow car has ford brakes)

Discs measure 287mm dia and 24mm thick

xw-xa two piece disc

My front Calipers are alloy girlock style from a WB caprice, these were also on hj hz hx

They are held in place by some adapter brackets made from 10mm steel plate, there is spacers between the strut and adapter to set the caliper offset

Adapter

Brake hoses are custom

REAR

I used the brakes that were on the replacement BTR diff

They are solid 299mm dia 10.5mm thick 1997 XR6 Falcon with matching calipers

nigie

Postby nigie » May 5th, 2010, 9:20 am

sigma... where can i get deeper gears for the holden salsbury diff something like 3.23 or 3.5 do some of the holdens come with these ratios..is there a aftermarket shop in australia catering for salburys

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 5th, 2010, 9:58 am

firstly how many bolts are on the diff cover 8 or 10 ?

I have had little to do with these diffs, but i know theres a fairly wide range or gear sets though they're getting hard to get

Not too many shops that deal with these axles as theres better and cheaper options like the BTR (borg warner) and 9"

nigie

Postby nigie » May 5th, 2010, 12:18 pm

a 9 inch ...is very hard to get here..what vehicle is the BTR from....