Old School Projects

nismotrinidappa

Re: Old School Projects

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 20th, 2012, 1:13 am

to the hillman hunter guys.. do you get original parts such as shocks spring brakes etc? i have a mind to do a project on one.. was thinking a subaru 4wd setup but too costly.. i like the idea of the pinto engine.. how much for one with tranny and what brakes and suspension work is needed for dex?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 20th, 2012, 6:52 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Where could i get 280c parts? i need some finishers and stuff but Scrap yards have rell toots :/

bumper annn thingg

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 20th, 2012, 9:17 pm

V8boys, good stuff, and don't let the cancer keep you back from what you love!!! Teach me some skills please!!!

Postby rspann » December 22nd, 2012, 1:52 pm

nismoid wrote:
MG Man wrote:a guy down my parents side used to ahve a crown like that, with a rover V8 and auto tranny :p

rspann had one of these with a V8 also, his was red with a corvette rear complete with the 4 tail lights

.............and corvette fenders,and engine.Boy that thing was fast.

d spike

Postby d spike » December 23rd, 2012, 9:55 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:to the hillman hunter guys.. do you get original parts such as shocks spring brakes etc? i have a mind to do a project on one..

These are easily modified. Give NOMOSS a buzz. If you really want original parts, Partsman should be able to help you there (753-5228).

nismotrinidappa wrote: i like the idea of the pinto engine.. how much for one with tranny and what brakes and suspension work is needed for dex?

Do you really want to dex an automatic? A 2000cc Pinto would be a serious contender... but the losses of a stock trans will hurt you. Of course you can modify the transmission, but that is a field I knows nuttens about.
Buying one requires patience and good ears. Check around. Unfortunately, the price depends on the owner's attitude. A good engine could cost anywhere between $500 and $1500 - that's how hairy it can get. The best one I ever had cost $300, while one I paid $1500 for was in really sad condition. The best place to look is in the south. Check any mature mechanic to see if he has heard of any deals - Thanks to the ESS-ARR craze, Pintos are ignored and tossed. Unfortunately, the scrap-iron dealers that have spawned all over the place have reduced the available plants.
If you are hoping to buy an already modified engine, the owner often recalls all the money he "spent on the engine" and it could easily be $4000. For less than that you can buy an entire car (your best bet) and pull out the engine and drivetrain - this way you can see the engine working. Of course that leaves you with an entire shell to dump or "parts out". Thanks to this technique, I have an ENTIRE Mk5 Cortina in good condition taking up space in a driveway! (The plan was to chop it up, but the car is in such good shape that I refuse to commit such heresy.)
The safest thing to do is to get a cheap engine and rebuild it. The parts are available cheaply - check Gayah's in Sando (657-9207).
Check Praim in Orangefield Road (793-8925). Give Bouyan a check too - he is at the northern end of Antigua Road in Wallerfield (343-9093).

The standard brakes are good enough for dex. These can be upgraded if you want, but it isn't necessary unless you modify the engine. The only suspension work required is to make sure there are anti-sway bars forward and rear in place.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 23rd, 2012, 7:16 pm

rspann wrote:
nismoid wrote:
MG Man wrote:a guy down my parents side used to ahve a crown like that, with a rover V8 and auto tranny :p

rspann had one of these with a V8 also, his was red with a corvette rear complete with the 4 tail lights

.............and corvette fenders,and engine.Boy that thing was fast.

Haha I remember, those were the days, I'm probably sure you figured out who I am by now, or do you need another hint

Postby rspann » December 23rd, 2012, 7:20 pm

Yeah I need a hint!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 24th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Spann, on Saturday night we had a lil get together and my father & uncles were telling stories from the days of Teddy & Naim... The rotary was king in those days- When you had a Rotary in Trini, yuh owned the streets :lol:

My cousin Marcus told us that Chief & Naim both had Rx2's with their faces airbrushed on the doors and when the fella finish washing both cars, they would stick wet hundred dollar bills over the head of both faces :lol:
The dentist Rx2 & Teddy's Rx7 were all in the conversation.. Dem men even started to talk about who was the best driver for the San Juan mob :lol: I think that honor went to "Ganjaman" :lol:
Then there was my uncle red Cressida (PAO 1136) with the gold 15" motoritsa rims. That car was probably the best looking Cress in the area at that time. Your V8 Commador was also mentioned, together with he Royal Saloon limo yuh built.

Old school days was the best with a lot of iconic cars roaming the streets & Wallers

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 24th, 2012, 4:00 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Spann, on Saturday night we had a lil get together and my father & uncles were telling stories from the days of Teddy & Naim... The rotary was king in those days- When you had a Rotary in Trini, yuh owned the streets :lol:

My cousin Marcus told us that Chief & Naim both had Rx2's with their faces airbrushed on the doors and when the fella finish washing both cars, they would stick wet hundred dollar bills over the head of both faces :lol:
The dentist Rx2 & Teddy's Rx7 were all in the conversation.. Dem men even started to talk about who was the best driver for the San Juan mob :lol: I think that honor went to "Ganjaman" :lol:
Then there was my uncle red Cressida (PAO 1136) with the gold 15" motoritsa rims. That car was probably the best looking Cress in the area at that time. Your V8 Commador was also mentioned, together with he Royal Saloon limo yuh built.

Old school days was the best with a lot of iconic cars roaming the streets & Wallers

Did your uncles mentioned the other RX's of that era like Drake's RX2 and Cato's Rx2, Cato( the present Transport Commissioner) We all used to have our Saturday night cruise/lime around the savannah on the electric avenue back then.
Drake's RX2 had an IDA carb that he had to cut a hole in the bonnet to fit it with the filter.
Then there was the Racing Beat RE that Buddith bought aka "the bronze" and Dave Maraj (Navin Father of D&D Auto parts) green on green Street port 13B .
Those were the days.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 24th, 2012, 5:31 pm

I remembered Buddit & a few other cars. They did mention a mechanic in St James who built a very fast Rx2 and crashed it during a test drive. One of my dad's friend's son died in that crash - He was a young fella from Barataria. Spann might know the story bcuz the fella was related to "Boyboy" aka the "outlaw" Deville from Barataria

Ruff

Postby Ruff » December 24th, 2012, 6:13 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:a mechanic in St James who built a very fast Rx2

Doc/ Scobie... We called the car "Bhaigan", not aware of crash though.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 24th, 2012, 6:52 pm

Ruff wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:a mechanic in St James who built a very fast Rx2

Doc/ Scobie... We called the car "Bhaigan", not aware of crash though.

very fast rx2 indeed called snow white . did 13 sec flat at wallers against corbin's sb chevy running against the breeze.

actually mellow [buddit's brother] was the real terror with rotary in those days.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » December 24th, 2012, 7:19 pm

I was actually referring to the purple RE. Not sure if its the same car.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 24th, 2012, 7:49 pm

I believe the car was indeed purple.. This story was also given to me by Michael Ali (Outlaw Deville) when he lived in NY. The same mechanic was building a 283 stroker motor for a 1950 split window Pontiac for the fella that died. The car got handed down to Outlaw Ali, but he passed away 6-7yrs ago. I believe the Pontiac is still parked up under the house on 12st Barataria (somebody should go get some drive by pics :lol:)

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 24th, 2012, 7:50 pm

Ruff wrote:I was actually referring to the purple RE. Not sure if its the same car.

Nah not the same car,, the purple/bhaigan colored RE was mine PT 7711

Postby rspann » December 24th, 2012, 7:58 pm

nismoid wrote:
Ruff wrote:I was actually referring to the purple RE. Not sure if its the same car.

Nah not the same car,, the purple/bhaigan colored RE was mine PT 7711

O.K dat is enough hint,it now dawn on me who it is! :lol: Those were the days!Rotaryboyz,that cressida was really nice.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 24th, 2012, 9:21 pm

^^^ how are you my brother?

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 25th, 2012, 5:07 am

white 4 door rx2 called snow white

nigie

Postby nigie » December 26th, 2012, 8:38 pm

German tech at its best.....!!!

Last edited by nigie on December 27th, 2012, 9:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MG Man » December 27th, 2012, 8:02 am

that wasn't german tech at its best.....it was german simplicity at its best

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » December 27th, 2012, 7:12 pm

nigie wrote:OLE SKOOL CROWN.... :P

I want a Crown so.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 28th, 2012, 9:13 am

NISSAN SUNNY RESTORATION..... :P :P :P

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » December 29th, 2012, 8:15 pm

nigie wrote:Rare find....1200 fender... :lol:

What about this? :lol: :lol:

:D

nigie

Postby nigie » December 30th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Thats new old stock...or used?

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » December 30th, 2012, 8:39 pm

New stock.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 30th, 2012, 9:00 pm

SAFARI VW II :lol:

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » December 30th, 2012, 10:11 pm

^^^ lord have mercy ^^^

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2012, 8:53 am

lawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwd fadda O_O

nigie

Postby nigie » December 31st, 2012, 2:31 pm

What???? :?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 31st, 2012, 4:14 pm

anybody have any old school vans like in the expendables movie? gf dont like the hillman hunter so looking for something else maybe a beetle?