Old School Projects

nigie

Old School Projects

Postby nigie » July 26th, 2010, 2:21 pm

Dont be ashamed ..put up your old school projects....b proud... :mrgreen:

Project mini....

moti

Re: Old School Projects

Postby moti » July 26th, 2010, 3:24 pm

i'm at a lost for words when it comes to how that body work will go.

thinking that car may not have once piece of original metal on it when finished.

but where the other ole skool projects that are hidden out there :)

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2010, 7:49 pm

that car needs a Heritage shell

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 27th, 2010, 7:14 am

Man get it stripped down and blasted and from there you know what can be salvaged. It should not be too expensive to blast as the car is relatively small. Once everything is blasted then you can see exactly what needs cutting and replacing. Looking at it properly the paint needs removing, the metal in some areas like the driverside flooring needs to be cut and replaced but everything else does not seem bad but you need to be thorough, check door jams and the bottom of doors etc.

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 7:25 am

he should speak to Sanctifier about blasting. Not everyone with a media blaster has common sense, and last thing you want is to warp the metal

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 7:29 am

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 27th, 2010, 7:49 am

I tihnk it's baking soda you wanna use on metals, it is not like walnut shels and sand that can harm the metal and warp it, and easier yet is when you're done it can be washed away and the metal prepped one time to prevent rust.

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 8:51 am

Like i said put up your old school projects ....come on dont b afriad....you are not alone out there.....

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 8:54 am

Mg man have u brought in any of those shells ..if so how much did it cost..

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 8:54 am

Mg man have u brought in any of those shells ..if so how much did it cost..

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2010, 9:01 am

^^ Where u getting parts for the mini?

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 9:13 am

PS series mini...

got some parts from the mini man in central...go over the montrose flyover if u heading north turn left on the western side of the highway then turn right on the second or third road..

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 9:21 am

Nigie, last time I checked, an MGB shell was about 3,500 pountsw plus shipping from the UK
A Mini shell should be cheaper, and I believe they can be sourced in ths US as well

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 9:42 am

ok d mini man said its 25,000 for a shell..... so like is mucho bondo and patching and a lil fiber glass

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » July 27th, 2010, 11:16 am

Mr Toolsie in Claxton Bay at the base of the hill past Cara Suites heading toward Sando had some good Mini parts but haven't checked him lately.

Anyone know where you can get foreign used 1300 engines for Minis?

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 11:17 am

PZ renault 12 wagon

Inspiration... :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 1:02 pm

nigie wrote:ok d mini man said its 25,000 for a shell..... so like is mucho bondo and patching and a lil fiber glass

..............work out the cost for a good body job, and weigh the cost difference of a structurally sound shell against the risk of having a patched together car on the road
The handling of a Mini is directly tied to the straightness and rigidity of the shell. Get it wrong and yuor subframe will not line up and your car will crab and track on the road......

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 1:51 pm

yes... that unimpeachable voice from the SS enterprise will show me the correct expensive way... :mrgreen: ....but the owner needs a cheap/econo way 2 get this baby on the road

see that rotten hood im thinking about suggesting chopping it off and making a convertable

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 3:37 pm

you want to compromise the structural rigidity of a shell that is already questionable?
you guys should thank the car gods this is not the UK

nigie

Postby nigie » July 27th, 2010, 4:19 pm

lol ..aye when we finish laying our 18 guage electro dipped floor pan ...it stronger than before..

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2010, 4:35 pm

just make sure you weld some RHS inside the car to maintain the straightness b4 u cut

X2Board

Postby X2Board » July 29th, 2010, 5:58 am

Good Luck on the mini project there Nigie.... a word of advice having gone thru several minis in the past....weld in some steel under the car (1x3 rhs i think ??) to act as subframe connectors in addition to bracing up the inside of the car with RHS as MG said.
If u need any parts & tips we have plenty mini ppl on the forum here.. myself, minipresident, bigchief, dlittlelion, etc..

my old school project is moving on vey slowly .. but moving... check it out
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3054676
rover eng.jpg
rover.jpg

nigie

Postby nigie » July 29th, 2010, 8:31 am

Thanks x2...i know where u are so ill b in consultation..and im putting your project in the ttv8 thread also...if its ok.....good luck with the resto/mod

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=306779&p=4684282#p4684282

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » July 29th, 2010, 3:45 pm

whoa son, that's alot o rust :!:

X2Board

Postby X2Board » July 29th, 2010, 9:13 pm

bigchief3679 wrote:whoa son, that's alot o rust :!:

yuh know they came from the factory with rust as an option right?

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2010, 9:26 am

you had to pay extra for dat

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 30th, 2010, 12:41 pm

i feel sick lookin at that mini :sick:

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » July 30th, 2010, 5:44 pm

nigie wrote:yes... that unimpeachable voice from the SS enterprise will show me the correct expensive way... :mrgreen: ....but the owner needs a cheap/econo way 2 get this baby on the road

see that rotten hood im thinking about suggesting chopping it off and making a convertable

daiz your first problem right there. a cheapskate-mini is the cutest death trap one can ever hope to own :oops: :oops: :|

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2010, 6:08 pm

I give up on tryin to beat nigie with logic :-(

So much to go wrong with the handling when a mini is not built properly

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 31st, 2010, 7:15 pm

From my experience CHEAP and OLD SCHOOL RESTO PROJECT should not be in the same sentence.
Yuh really dont want to end up with a filler box. And you lucky with a mini cus it still have foreign used shells available.