The Official Car Care Thread

FineToothDetailing

Re: Ask A detailer

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 7:55 pm

abducted wrote:
Brad32 wrote:Anyone who has a bissel little green extractor to sell or know of where i can purchase one?

Do these work well? Compared to what the pros use
They work well. Just don't use it for anything like mud.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 8:02 pm

Had to buff this today. The customer drives through mud often and whoever used to wash it started in the middle of the car. The mud stuck to the mitt and scratched the entire vehicle. Even while I was buffing mud that stuck to the paint was coming onto the pad so I had to change pads to get the work done. Trying to upload a video with the scratches but it's not working.
IMG_20210809_100644.jpg

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 8:08 pm

The darker picture shows the scratches. Look at how the light is not focused and is reflecting in long lines with a scattered look.
Screenshot_20210809_200642_com.google.android.apps.photos.jpg
Screenshot_20210809_200611_com.google.android.apps.photos.jpg

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 8:21 pm

kamakazi wrote:Are there any decent budget DA polishers
SPTA Buffer Polisher, 780W 110V 5Inch & 6Inch Dual Action Random Orbital Car Polisher, 41pcs Car Detailing Kit with Polishing Pads, Sanding Papers, Wool Pads, Tool Bag for Car Polishing and Waxing https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YY5XV49/re ... CGCTV0224D
Check to see which pads are for cutting and which are for polishing.
You might be able to get better results with different pads. Chemical guys pads for example.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Rovin wrote:yall ever watch this guy's YT videos ? https://www.youtube.com/c/TheDetailGeek/videos

ppl does let their rides get rel stink n dutty with even garbage & food in it & bring it to this dude to clean ...
I do! It's good to know that nasty cars are common. Also I learn things from their channel.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 9th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Thanks for the response

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 9th, 2021, 8:52 pm

kamakazi wrote:Thanks for the response
No problem. If you don't have much experience with a DA/polisher/buffer don't use the wool or microfibre pads. They go through clear coat the fastest. It's better to go light multiple times than to go heavy once through the clear coat. Clear coat protects the color coat from the sun as well as contaminants. The more that remains on the vehicle the better.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » August 9th, 2021, 10:58 pm

Zalos wrote:Whats a good extractor solution?
Breeze and water not cutting it for these seats

Totally Awesome Cleaner is a yellow, cheap all purpose cleaner. 10:1 dilution for upholstery. Pre soak, scrub and extract. Use water in the extractor.

Postby MG Man » August 10th, 2021, 10:54 am

I had this late night call from Beena and she said Harry working night shift so she ready for a man to chunkay she talkarie.....so I reach by Beena only to find out is tomato choka season, and well....meem able wid dat, so she say daz ok, de back door open..........buttt.................Beena din have no lube, so I had a half bottle of Meguiar's Hyper Wash...........well ting run good, but now Beena only farting pink bubbles....should we be worried?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 10th, 2021, 11:08 am

MG Man wrote:I had this late night call from Beena and she said Harry working night shift so she ready for a man to chunkay she talkarie.....so I reach by Beena only to find out is tomato choka season, and well....meem able wid dat, so she say daz ok, de back door open..........buttt.................Beena din have no lube, so I had a half bottle of Meguiar's Hyper Wash...........well ting run good, but now Beena only farting pink bubbles....should we be worried?
You have to rinse it after you soap it and agitate. Do the thing properly nuh. Open it back up and hose it down. Should be good after that.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 10th, 2021, 7:18 pm

Love up this old thing today. 1985 Nissan laurel GL
Interior in good condition so just cleaned it up and dressed it to protect it from sun damage. The paint doesn't have clear coat. But it behaves like the paint they use on Vans and taxis. Polished it with a soft pad because I felt buffing raw paint would be too risky. Polished up the Chrome, cleaned up the lights. Steering wheel take too much lix so I couldn't do much, cleaning couldn't do anything. Ended up just polishing the little emblems and such.
IMG_20210810_151101.jpg
IMG_20210810_150856.jpg
IMG_20210810_150242.jpg

Postby Dave » August 10th, 2021, 7:20 pm

Old school spotters stuff.
More pics?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 10th, 2021, 7:47 pm

Can do more tomorrow. What you guys wanna see?

Postby Dave » August 10th, 2021, 8:04 pm

Interior...engine...full front/back.
For sale?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 11th, 2021, 6:29 am

https://youtube.com/user/doriansorzano
Uploading vids rn. The porshe 911 black and the white Nissan Laurel Gt.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 11th, 2021, 10:22 am

More pics of laurel.
They fixing something with the AC so can't dress the engine until they are finished. Will find out if it's for sale.
IMG_20210811_101953.jpg
IMG_20210811_102004.jpg
IMG_20210811_102010.jpg
IMG_20210811_102032.jpg

Postby timelapse » August 11th, 2021, 10:29 am

Original upholstery?The owner did really good
if it is

Postby Dave » August 11th, 2021, 10:37 am

Local ones came grey and the foreign ones red interior.
Either way was well preserved.
Plate is PB??????

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 11th, 2021, 2:36 pm

timelapse wrote:Original upholstery?The owner did really good
if it is
Yip original.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 11th, 2021, 2:38 pm

Dave wrote:Local ones came grey and the foreign ones red interior.
Either way was well preserved.
Plate is PB??????
Yip pb series. The impressive thing is I didn't have to do much cleaning on the inside.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 11th, 2021, 4:40 pm

Last one. Customer just left
IMG_20210811_163907.jpg

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 12th, 2021, 1:47 pm

Hey guys preparing a post about clear coat. Anything you guys unsure of or want to know?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 12th, 2021, 3:55 pm

Hopefully polishing tomorrow.
IMG_20210812_155445.jpg

Brad32

Postby Brad32 » August 13th, 2021, 7:05 pm

Any one step product that can do polishing and remove scratches that you recommend?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 13th, 2021, 7:55 pm

I use both of these. My Father sells the c1 compound and polish. And well chemical guys should have the VSS.
Depending on the situation one might outperform the other.

The vss is more user friendly but has fillers, meaning after a couple washes the deeper scratches will reappear. Its an apply and remove procedure.

The C1 is more what u see is what u get. A bit harder to learn when u start. But with practice it performs really well. I use it when I'm doing headlights or when Im NOT under time constraints. You use it like compound with a cutting pad then have to use a polishing pad with a lower speed

My advice would be to have a clear idea of what u wanna do.
I used the vss to polish a black vehicle then I applied wax. Because the customer didn't have time for a full paint correction. The only way the finish can be undone is if the car is washed with dish soap or intentionally removed with isopropyl alcohol. But the car look amaaaazing In the sun.

Had more time on another vehicle so I used the C1 alone. The results were great and even if it's washed with dish soap the no scratches will reappear but will look dull because the soap took shine out the paint. Posted both cars

If you are still unclear describe the situation to me and I'll try to advise.

PXL_20210716_164306901.NIGHT.jpg
IMG_20210813_144119.jpg
7c3fb3e9-121d-441a-9b67-fe79009cfe38_1.252692349fc77329459cc1e7a3d5c4a9.jpg
PXL_20210627_120752804_edited.jpg

Brad32

Postby Brad32 » August 13th, 2021, 10:36 pm

Wow both vehicles looked amazing really top notch worked, appreciate the advice, was already looking into the VSS, so you cleared it up for me. Thanks alot for the info appreciate it alot

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 14th, 2021, 12:07 am

https://youtube.com/user/doriansorzano
Started posting videos of my work here. Will update as much as I can.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 14th, 2021, 12:08 am

Brad32 wrote:Wow both vehicles looked amazing really top notch worked, appreciate the advice, was already looking into the VSS, so you cleared it up for me. Thanks alot for the info appreciate it alot
No problem bro.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 15th, 2021, 6:45 pm

In your experience... How quickly have you observed, if ever, a ceramic coating fail on the lower half of the front doors, on a daily driven vehicle, due to constant blasting of sand/water from the front wheels.

Or put another way how often do you find yourself having to reapply ceramic coating to areas that are more exposed to road debris on a daily driven vehicle

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 15th, 2021, 6:54 pm

Never heard of a ceramic coating fail to be honest. But they can. If it's too much abuse and not enough maintenance it will definitely happen. Did the car cure for the proper amount of time? Alot of things can be the reason it fails. But having to do it constantly is a bit odd. You doing it yourself or is a professional doing it?